Power and the grid
- SWEPCO grid service Announced, no docketMW not disclosed; Amazon says it will fully fund new and upgraded infrastructure; no regulatory docket yet News report · Feb. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Feb. 23, 2026Amazon pledges to fund power infrastructureAmazon says it will work with SWEPCO and cover all costs for new and upgraded energy infrastructure. News report · Feb. 2026
- As of Oct. 2026No regulatory docket foundNo Louisiana Public Service Commission docket names the Amazon and STACK service arrangements. see Permits
Permits checklist
1 appealed · 1 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- !Special use permit and site plan, Resilient Technology Park AppealedShreveport City Council · Dec. 18, 2025: council unanimously overturned a 4-4 planning commission denial (press); a district court dismissed the challenge and the appeal was heard Sept. 29, 2026 News report · Dec. 2025
- ✓Parish payment-in-lieu-of-taxes framework (Resolution 48) GrantedCaddo Parish Commission · Dec. 4, 2025: adopted 10-2 as a framework; terms sunset Jan. 31, 2026 and apply to the State Line Road site Local government · Dec. 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Utility service, Air permit
What could slow it down
- HighPermit appealThe Shreveport campus permit is on appeal after a planning commission tie vote had blocked it. see Lawsuits
- MediumPower costs unresolvedLouisiana's rules on who pays for large-load power remained an open policy question, and Amazon's pledge has not been tested at the commission. News report · Feb. 2026
- MediumLocal pushbackA commission member's push for a moratorium recommendation failed 4-6 in Aug. 2026. Local government · Aug. 2026
1 case on record
- Heard Sept. 29, 2026, no ruling yet Resident challenge to the Resilient Technology Park special use permitLouisiana Second Circuit Court of Appeal News report · Sept. 2026district judge dismissed it in Apr. 2026; plaintiffs appealed (press)
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Dec. 3, 2025Permits Shreveport's planning commission ties 4-4 on the Resilient Technology Park campus, which blocks it News report · Dec. 2025
- Dec. 4, 2025Money Caddo Parish adopts a payment-in-lieu-of-taxes framework, 10-2 Local government · Dec. 2025
- Dec. 18, 2025Permits Shreveport's council overturns the denial and approves the special use permit (press) News report · Dec. 2025
- Feb. 23, 2026Site Amazon announces a $12 billion program with STACK in Caddo and Bossier Parishes News report · Feb. 2026
- April 2026Legal A Caddo district judge dismisses a resident challenge to the permit (press) News report · Sept. 2026
- Aug. 31, 2026Permits Caddo's commission rejects 4-6 a request to seek a data center moratorium recommendation Local government · Aug. 2026
- Sept. 29, 2026Legal The Second Circuit hears the resident appeal and reserves its ruling News report · Sept. 2026
- Nov. 18, 2026Legal Written appeal decision expected (press estimate) News report · Sept. 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- Amazon (AWS): customer and investor
- STACK Infrastructure: development partner
- Bohler Engineering: applicant of record for the Shreveport permit
- Shreveport City Council: special use permit
- Caddo Parish Commission: tax framework and moratorium vote
- SWEPCO: local utility
Open questions
- Campus MW.
- SWEPCO service filings.
- Appeal decision.
- Which campuses are sited where beyond Shreveport.
28 records from 16 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (4)
- Amazon's stated deal terms for NW Louisiana: 100% of required new energy and grid-upgrade costs borne by Amazon, up to $400M for public water infrastructure, air cooling primary with water use only above ~85 degrees and“Amazon also plans to invest up to $400 million in public water infrastructure and fully fund the water, wastewater, energy and grid improvements needed for its facilities”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Amazon funds 100 percent of new and upgraded SWEPCO energy infrastructure and up to USD 400 million in public water infrastructure; campuses are to use only verified surplus water. Amazon also cites up to 200 MW of solar“Amazon will cover all costs for new and upgraded energy infrastructure with Southwestern Electric Power Company (SWEPCO) to strengthen grid reliability for the AWS AI campuses.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Shreveport City Council approved the same NWLFA term sheet for data centers inside city limits on December 9, 2025, unanimously (Advocate): a data center can ask for a 25-year PILOT waiving 30 to 65 percent of property t“A data center can ask for a 25-year Payment in Lieu of Taxes. Under this PILOT, from 30% to 65% of the center's property taxes will be waived”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- MW basis named: mw utility claim from applicant's engineer testimony, NOT an agency figure - Bohler Engineering's Matias Haubert told the Metropolitan Planning Commission on December 3, 2025 that a campus of this size wo“A campus of this size that's before you likely would generate between 300 to 700 megawatts of power demand”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (5)
- Resolution 48 of 2025 PILOT framework adopted 10-2 on December 4, 2025 - the parish tax agreement later treated as preserved for the State Line Road (near Bethany) site; August 17, 2026 minutes record Administrator Bryan“YEAS: Atkins, Blake, Burrell, Cothran, Gage-Watts, Jones, Lazarus, Thomas, G. Young, and J. Young (10). NAYS: Epperson and Kracman (2).”Local government · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- County code: 22017, 22015“Amazon plans to invest $12 billion in data centers across Caddo and Bossier Parishes in northwest Louisiana”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: announced“Amazon (AMZN) said in a press release on Feb. 23, 2026, it will invest $12 billion to build data-center campuses in Caddo and Bossier Parishes”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“Amazon plans to invest $12 billion to build data-center campuses in Caddo and Bossier Parishes, expanding AWS capacity for AI and cloud computing while funding local infrastructure.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Shreveport City Council voted unanimously on December 18, 2025 (per Center Square / BIZ reporting) to overturn the Metropolitan Planning Commission's December 3 denial (a 4-4 tie) and approve the special use permit and s“The council's vote overturned a Dec. 3 decision by the Metropolitan Planning Commission that had effectively blocked the 2.8 million-square-foot facility at Resilient Technology Park.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (1)
- Caddo Parish Commission (work session):“Mr. J. Young's motion failed, as shown by the following roll call votes: AYES: Commissioners Burrell, Cothran, Kracman, and J. Young (4). NAYS: Commissioners Atkins, Blake, Jones, Lazarus, Thomas, and G. Young (6).”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade A
Legal (1)
- Litigation over the Resilient Technology Park special use permit: Caddo District Judge Ramon Lafitte dismissed the judicial-review challenge in April 2026 (exact day not stated in reports retrieved), affirming the counci“on September 29 the Louisiana Second Circuit Court of Appeal heard a resident challenge to the special-use permit for Amazon's roughly $6 billion Shreveport data center”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C