Power and the grid
31 MW energized plus sources of undisclosed size (totals add sources with a stated size; they can overlap)
- Duke Energy Carolinas grid Serving the campusserving utility; no campus or expansion MW published News report · April 2025
- Solar farm next to the data center (Project Dolphin) Operating20 MW; AC; power sold to Duke Energy; existing campus asset News report · 2012
Getting on the grid
- No MW figure has been published for the expansion or the campus; the solar and fuel-cell figures are separate generation assets and should not be added up as campus load. News report · Oct. 2026
- No new utility commission or state air filing for the expansion was found as of Oct. 2026. News report · Oct. 2026
- A 2016 county lease lets Apple run a fuel-cell plant on treated methane from the county's Blackburn landfill. Local government · June 2016
Permits checklist
4 granted
Approvals on record for the expansion and, for context, the existing campus.
- ✓Expansion building permits GrantedCatawba County · April 2025: reported by local press; permit numbers not published News report · April 2025
- ✓State incentive agreement reset GrantedState of North Carolina · Nov. 27, 2025: includes $448M of data-center expansion (press) News report · Nov. 2025
- ✓County site-expansion agreement (second amendment) GrantedCatawba County Board of Commissioners · 2016: 237 acres; $1B more committed spending Local government · 2016
- ✓Fuel-cell addition, 4.8 to 10 MW GrantedNorth Carolina Utilities Commission · Dec. 11, 2012: existing campus News report · Dec. 2012
What could slow it down
- MediumScope not disclosedApple has given no North Carolina dollars, MW or timeline itself; the $175M figure comes from permit reporting. News report · Feb. 2025
- WatchTwo dollar figuresThe Nov. 2025 incentive reset cites $448M for data-center expansion, far above the $175M building figure, and the sources do not reconcile them. see Permits
- WatchConstruction seen only through Apple's statementNo county site-plan action or new incentive record for the 2025 expansion was found online. Local government · Oct. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- July 6, 2009Money Apple signs its first economic development agreement with Catawba County Local government · 2016
- Dec. 11, 2012Power State utility commission accepts Apple's fuel-cell expansion to 10 MW News report · Dec. 2012
- 2016Money County amends the deal to let Apple expand the site by 237 acres, with $1B more committed Local government · 2016
- June 6, 2016Power County approves a 16-year lease for Apple's landfill-gas fuel-cell site Local government · June 2016
- Feb. 24, 2025Site Apple's US investment pledge names more data-center capacity in North Carolina, without figures News report · Feb. 2025
- April 2025Permits Permits show a 237,600 sq ft data center on Apple land; press puts it at $175M News report · April 2025
- Aug. 6, 2025Construction Apple says construction is under way to expand the Maiden data center News report · Aug. 2025
- Nov. 27, 2025Money Apple's state incentive deal is reset, including $448M for data-center expansion in Catawba County (press) News report · Nov. 2025
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- Apple Inc.: owner, operator and user
- Catawba County Board of Commissioners: economic development agreement and landfill lease
- North Carolina Utilities Commission: on-site generation filings
- Duke Energy Carolinas: serving utility
- Bloom Energy: fuel cells
- Quadrogen Power Systems: treats county landfill methane for Apple
Open questions
- MW of the expansion.
- Completion date.
- Which dollar figure covers the expansion.
36 records from 15 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (6)
- On-site generation: 68 MW“we installed 68 megawatts of Apple-created projects: two 20-megawatt solar projects, an 18-megawatt solar project, and 10 megawatts of biogas fuel cells”Company · April 2026 · grade A
- Electricity use annual: 470000 MWh“ELECTRICITY USE IN 2025 470M KWH”Company · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- Legacy on-site / dedicated renewables (operating since 2013): solar Phase 1 of 21 MWac (Lincoln County) and Phase 2 of 20 MWac (Catawba County) per the Global Energy Monitor tracker, plus the 10 MW Bloom fuel-cell instal“Apple Data Center solar farm is an operating solar photovoltaic (PV) farm in Lincoln County, North Carolina”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Charlotte Observer data-center feature reports the existing 505,000 sq ft Maiden building has 'capacity for 100 MW'; Basis (IT vs facility) is NOT stated by the source; the figure describes the existing building, predate“Apple's data center in Maiden, spanning 505,000 square feet, is currently the state's largest data center with capacity for 100 MW”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Utility: Duke Energy Carolinas (Duke Energy)“The campus is fully powered by renewable energy, using biogas fuel cells from Bloom Energy, two 20MW solar arrays, and direct clean-energy purchases.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Apple's Feb 24, 2025 announcement of more than $500B in US investment over four years named expanding data center capacity in North Carolina (with Iowa, Oregon, Arizona and Nevada) but gave no NC-specific dollars, MW or“the company says that it also intends to continue expanding data center capacity in North Carolina, Iowa, Oregon, Arizona, and Nevada.”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (9)
- Land lease - Blackburn Resource Recovery Facility (landfill gas renewable energy center): land lease for fuel-cell renewable energy facility using treated landfill methane 5569.50 USD per year rent for first five years (“The lease lasts for 16 years with an option to go five years longer.”Local government · June 2016 · grade B
- County economic development agreement - second amendment (site expansion): site expansion and investment commitment 1 USD billions (additional committed expenditures on the new properties, excluding solar and other green“The amendment essentially allows the expansion of Apple's current site by 237 acres.”Local government · 2016 · grade B
- Tenant: Apple (own services campus; supports North American users of Apple services)“a significant investment in its state-of-the-art facility that supports North American users of Apple services”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Expansion investment $175M for a new 237,600 sq ft data center building on Apple-owned land in Catawba County (Apr 2025 figure, reconfirmed Aug 2025); signal only, not a campus total“First announced in April 2025, the $175 million investment will see Apple build a 237,600 sq ft (22,074 sqm) data center”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Developer: Apple Inc.“Apple is set to expand its footprint in North Carolina with a $175 million investment.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Announced investment: 175 USD millions“Apple is set to expand its footprint in North Carolina with a $175 million investment.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Expansion building sq ft: 237600 sq ft“First announced in April 2025, the $175 million investment will see Apple build a 237,600 sq ft (22,074 sqm) data center on land already owned by the company in Catawba County.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Cumulative investment to date: 4 USD billions“The campus was built in 2009, and thus far, Apple has invested around $4 billion in developing the site.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Business North Carolina's 2025 data center survey likewise carries the Maiden expansion at a $175 million planned investment, consistent with the April 2025 permit-based reporting“Apple is planning a $175 million investment at its data center in Maiden in Catawba County.”News report · 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (3)
- April 2025 reporting (The Morganton News Herald via DCD; Baxtel permit summary) : permits reported for the expansion building“No details about construction timelines have been shared.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Business NC separately cites a $175M planned investment at the Maiden data center. No 2025-26 NCUC or NC DEQ expansion filing for Maiden was found in this pass; the campus (opened 2012; ~500,000 sq ft main hall on 171 ac“Apple is planning a $175 million investment at its data center in Maiden in Catawba County.”News report · Jan. 2025 · grade C
- Apple's NCUC filing for the 100-acre Project Dolphin solar farm next to the Maid: certificate application filed for on-site solar generation“it's planned for 20MW energy output, with just under 25 megawatts (DC) generated at the PV module level.”News report · 2012 · grade C
Site and other (5)
- County code: 37035“FCC Census Block API for site point 35.587231,-81.257041: Block FIPS 370350117022075; County FIPS 37035, Catawba County, North Carolina”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Project status: expansion under construction (Apple confirmed construction underway at Maiden in its Aug 6, 2025 American Manufacturing Program announcement, per DCD)“The company also said that construction was underway in Maiden, North Carolina, where it is expanding the capacity of its data center”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Project status: expansion under construction“construction was underway in Maiden, North Carolina, where it is expanding the capacity of its data center”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Project identity: Apple iDataCenter Maiden campus expansion, Startown Road, Maiden, Catawba County, NC (existing Apple campus, operating since 2010-2011)“The company already has a data center campus in the area, spanning around one million sq ft (92,903 sqm) of space, off of Startown Road.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- No Maiden-specific job count stated for this expansion in any source found; Apple's Feb 2025 release gave no NC-specific dollars or jobs (campus employment of ~400 in local coverage is the existing campus, not the expans“Exact investment dollars and jobs for North Carolina were not included in Apple's release.”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C