Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Jan. 19, 2026Facility study fundedAfter a system impact study, Gemini funds Xcel's detailed facility study; a service agreement would follow. News report · Jan. 2026
- March 24, 2026State sets separate data-center service termsSouth Dakota's new law (SB 135) makes data centers of 10 MW or more reimburse all costs attributed to them, including stranded costs if they leave. State agency · March 2026
- Not setService agreement: none filedNo agreement with Xcel is on file with the state Public Utilities Commission. see Permits
- The developer pays 100% of utility extensions, easements, the on-site substation and Xcel's upgrades, without reimbursement. News report · Jan. 2026
- Backup generators are expected on site but are not a power source; capacity is not stated. Company · Oct. 2026
Grid upgrades
No grid upgrade for this campus's load is on record. Related grid records in the area:
- Sioux Falls load pocket (Xcel Energy / Northern States Power), MTEP25 Appendix A: project 50489 Split Rock - Chanarambie 345 kV line JTIQ (Local Needs, est. $165.0M, ISD 6/30/2033) terminates at Split Rock 345 kV - this… Dataset · Aug. 2025
What is next door
Distances from mapped lines and plants. OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
4 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- ✓Comprehensive plan change (growth Tier 3 to Tier 1) GrantedSioux Falls City Council · Aug. 2025: allows future industrial zoning News report · Aug. 2025
- ✓Annexation of the 164 acres GrantedSioux Falls City Council · Oct. 7, 2025: developer funds utility extensions News report · Oct. 2025
- ✓Rezoning to light industrial GrantedSioux Falls City Council · Jan. 6, 2026: 7-0; a referendum petition fell short and the ordinance stands Local government · Jan. 2026
- ✓Preliminary subdivision plan GrantedSioux Falls City Council · Jan. 6, 2026: approved as amended after an initial 4-3 failure; water-use cap added News report · Jan. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Building permits, Electric service agreement, Air and stormwater permits
What could slow it down
- HighNo tenantThe developer says it is not the end user and is seeking one; no tenant is named in any source. News report · April 2026
- HighNo power contractA facility study is under way but no electric service agreement is signed or filed; the study says 500 MW is feasible, not delivered. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNew local rules may followA coalition wants a moratorium on data-center building permits; whether new rules would reach this already-zoned site is unresolved. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNo state tax breakBoth sales-tax incentive bills failed, which the developer has tied to its focus on state competitiveness. News report · Feb. 2026
1 case on record
- Filed Feb. 19, 2026 A1 Development Solutions v. Kyle PetersMinnehaha County Circuit Court News report · Feb. 2026allegation that a former partner took the Gemini account; project-adjacent, not a challenge to the project
Money on record
Not on record: sales-tax bills failed in 2025 and 2026: no state tax break, SB 177 lost 17-18 in the Senate, HB 1005 died in committee News report · Feb. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- 2023Money Gemini Capital allegedly buys the 164 acres from Xcel for $170 million (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- Dec. 23, 2024Paper trail Gemini Data Center SD LLC registered in Delaware and South Dakota
- July 2, 2025Permits City Planning Commission backs the project's petition (a recommendation; the council decides) News report · July 2025
- Oct. 7, 2025Permits City Council annexes the parcel News report · Oct. 2025
- Jan. 6, 2026Permits Council rezones the site to light industrial 7-0 and approves the preliminary plan with a water cap News report · Jan. 2026
- Jan. 19, 2026Power Gemini funds Xcel's facility study; developer cites a 500 MW study result News report · Jan. 2026
- Jan. 30, 2026Site Referendum drive against the rezoning fails: 5,012 signatures against 6,704 needed Local government · Jan. 2026
- March 24, 2026Power South Dakota signs SB 135 setting separate data-center electric terms; local rules are not preempted State agency · March 2026
- April 2, 2026Site Developer says the project is still alive and entitled; still seeking a tenant News report · April 2026
- Oct. 13, 2026Site Council forms a four-member oversight committee on data-center rules News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 27, 2026Site Joint city and Lincoln County hearing on data-center rules for their joint planning area News report
- Jan. 12, 2027Site Oversight committee's recommendations due to the full council News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Domestic water only: city water capped by meter size; closed-loop cooling News report · Jan. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Gemini Data Center SD LLC: developer and landowner of record
- Gemini Capital (Gemini Family Office), California: sponsor led by founder Michael Anvar
- A1 Development Solutions and Harvest Group: project development coordinators
- Infrastructure Design Group: engineering consultant
- Kyle Peters: consultant and lobbyist for the project
- Sioux Falls City Council: annexation, rezoning and plan approvals
- Xcel Energy: serving utility and seller of the land
- South Dakota Public Utilities Commission: utility service terms
- Lincoln County Commission: joint hearing on rules
- Let Sioux Falls Vote
- South Dakota for Data Center Transparency
- Dakota Rural Action
Open questions
- Who the tenant will be.
- Whether an electric service agreement is signed with Xcel.
- Whether new city rules will apply to this site.
- When building permits are filed.
114 records from 27 documents
Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets, state agency records, business registries, local government records, company statements and securities filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (26)
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 2.37 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: 2.28 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 0.0 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Utility: Xcel Energy (Northern States Power Company d/b/a Xcel Energy)“including Xcel Energy's Splitrock substation, Angus-Anson peaking plant, multiple high-voltage transmission lines, and local distribution lines”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Substation: Split Rock Substation (Xcel Energy)“Xcel Energy's Splitrock substation, Angus-Anson peaking plant, multiple high-voltage transmission lines”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“These systems are subject to permitting and operational limits and are not used as a primary power source”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Cooling: Closed-loop / air-assisted cooling; city potable water limited to domestic use“most new data centers use closed-loop and air-assisted cooling systems that reuse water rather than consume it continuously”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: grid, Xcel retail service via Split Rock Substation; no on-site generation (emergency backup generators only, capacity unstated)“In South Dakota, projects similar to Gemini's are required to fund the substations, transformers, and transmission upgrades needed to serve them, rather than spreading those costs across existing customers”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Registry status: No SD DANR air permit and no SD construction-stormwater (SDR10) record for Gemini Data Center LLC found in DANR public notices or EPA ECHO as of Oct. 18, 2026. The project rezoned its 164 acres in Jan 2026“The Gemini Data Center has already gone through the zoning process. Next, it has permitting requirements from the city”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: not stated“Ultimately, there would be an electric service agreement that would be signed with Xcel, and there's a very formal process for that”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: not stated“That said, he also noted that Gemini won't be the end user, just the developer”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Water use stated: Closed-loop cooling; project FAQ equates a fully built 500MW campus's water use to about two commercial car washes; council condition caps city water to domestic use by meter size“a fully built 500MW campus using modern closed-loop cooling would also use about the same amount of water as two commercial car washes”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- electric service agreement filing: none filed“Ultimately, there would be an electric service agreement that would be signed with Xcel”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grid operator: MISO“MISO, the Midwest's electric grid operator, has warned that demand is outpacing new generation”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“Xcel Energy completed a "detailed System Impact Study (SIS) to evaluate whether the regional transmission system can serve the project at full build-out," which concluded that the project can serve up to 500 MW through the Split Rock Substation”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“Xcel Energy completed a "detailed System Impact Study (SIS) to evaluate whether the regional transmission system can serve the project at full build-out," which concluded that the project can serve up to 500 MW through the Split Rock Substation”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: Interconnection study stage - Xcel Energy (Northern States Power) completed the System Impact Study, which concluded the Split Rock Substation (345/230/161/115 kV, adjacent to the site) can serve“which concluded that the project can serve up to 500 MW through the Split Rock Substation”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Acres: 164 acres“The group acquired 164 acres from Xcel Energy in late 2023 just south of Xcel's Split Rock substation and Angus Anson power station”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Grid connection: Supply via Xcel Split Rock Substation; developer to build an on-site substation and fund Xcel transmission/distribution upgrades at its own cost“it would require Gemini to build a substation on its land and would require Xcel to make upgrades to its infrastructure — all at Gemini's cost”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“They have determined the site can support the needs of a 500 megawatt data center”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: Interconnection application filed and System Impact Study completed; developer-funded Facility Study in process as of Jan 2026; electric service agreement not yet negotiated or executed“Gemini now has funded a facility study, which is in process, and after that, the two proceed to working through an agreement”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Buildings stated: 5 buildings of 100 MW each (developer illustration of full build-out)“Altogether, if we had five buildings of 100 megawatts, we're talking about the equivalent of a residential project of 50 homes”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Xcel Facility Study funded by Gemini and in process; an electric service agreement would follow and be filed publicly with the SD PUC, the campus's next hard milestone. No completion or ESA reported through Oct 2026.“Gemini now has funded a facility study, which is in process, and after that, the two proceed to working through an agreement”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Developer’s build-out concept: five buildings of 100 MW each (500 MW total) on the 164-acre annexed site; construction contingent on tenant RFP outcomes and utility facility study“Altogether, if we had five buildings of 100 megawatts, we’re talking about the equivalent of a residential project of 50 homes”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Conditions of approval: Preliminary plan (Jan 6, 2026): potable water limited to domestic use as determined by meter size (recorded on the plan); setbacks 45-200 ft; buffer yards; ~17 acres conservation zoning; landscape“limiting potable water to domestic use as determined by meter size”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Sioux Falls load pocket (Xcel Energy / Northern States Power), MTEP25 Appendix A: project 50489 Split Rock - Chanarambie 345 kV line JTIQ (Local Needs, est. $165.0M, ISD 6/30/2033) terminates at Split Rock 345 kV - this“This project resolves stability and congestion issues in southern Minnesota, supports load serving in the Sioux Falls area, and relieves generation deliverability issues identified in MTEP24.”Dataset · Aug. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (13)
- electric service terms, statutory framework for any future ESA: termination / stranded-cost reimbursement Data center must reimburse all costs fairly attributed to it, including costs incurred to serve it if it departs“The terms and conditions must require that the data center reimburse any provider of electricity for all costs fairly attributed to the data center for service demand and utility consumption”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- Land price: not stated“allegedly acquired by Gemini Capital for $170 million in late 2023, according to a lawsuit filed in connection with the project”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: Entitled, pre-construction: comprehensive-plan amendment (Aug 2025), annexation (Oct 7, 2025), rezoning and preliminary plan (Jan 6, 2026) complete; NO tenant, NO electric service agreement, NO building permits. S“The Gemini Data Center has already gone through the zoning process. Next, it has permitting requirements from the city”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- electric service agreement: status, NOT EXECUTED (finding)“Ultimately, there would be an electric service agreement that would be signed with Xcel”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- development agreement / TIF / incentive agreement: missing, NONE FOUND (finding)“several bills were rejected around potential data center tax breaks”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: No tenant / end user; developer states it is not the operator and is seeking a hyperscale or neocloud end user“Right now, the focus is on the possibility of securing a tenant and continuing to evaluate how South Dakota can be made competitive in the current environment”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- land purchase: transaction 164 acres“was listed for sale by Xcel Energy and then allegedly acquired by Gemini Capital for $170 million in late 2023”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- Sponsor status statement (Anvar email, Apr 1, 2026): project 'still alive' and 'fully entitled,' power access 'viable'; focus on securing a tenant and on SD competitiveness after the 2026 incentive failures. No tenant an“is not on hold and is fully entitled, power access is viable and much of the heavy lifting has been done”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- Incentives status: No city incentive, TIF, or development agreement identified; state sales-tax incentive bills failed (SB 177 refund bill defeated in the Senate Mar 2025, 17-18; HB 1005 exemption killed in House State A“House Bill 1005 proposing a 50-year sales-tax exemption on data center IT equipment and software, in order to remain competitive with other states”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- preliminary subdivision plan conditions: condition, water use cap Potable water limited to domestic use as determined by meter size; recorded on the plan“limiting potable water to domestic use as determined by meter size”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- preliminary subdivision plan conditions: condition, site / scope Setbacks 45-200 ft; buffer yards; ~17 acres conservation zoning; landscape plan requires Planning Commission approval“multiple stipulations were placed on the project, including minimum setbacks ranging from 45 to 200 feet on various sides of the building, requirements for buffer yards”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- annexation / utility extension funding commitment: scope, developer-funded infrastructure Developer pays 100% of utility extensions, easements, on-site substation and Xcel upgrades; no reimbursement“the applicant is expected to design utilities to an advanced level of detail, secure easements and pay for utility extensions without reimbursement”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Land control date: 2023“was listed for sale by Xcel Energy and then allegedly acquired by Gemini Capital for $170 million in late 2023”News report · 2023 · grade C
Permits and government (27)
- Regulatory framework: Land use: City of Sioux Falls (zoning, annexation, preliminary plan). Electric service terms: SD PUC under SDCL Title 49 as amended by SB 135 (2026), separate data-center service terms with full co“The state may not preempt or otherwise limit the authority of the governing body of a county, municipality, or other political subdivision to adopt ordinances and resolutions limiting, prohibiting, or otherwise regulating the construction, development, or operation of data centers”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- SD SB 135 ('Data Center Bill of Rights for Citizens') signed into law (Ch. 190): separate PUC-regulated service terms for data centers >=10 MW peak; full reimbursement of fairly attributed costs incl. stranded costs on d“A provider of electricity shall establish and maintain separate terms and conditions for electric service applicable to a data center”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- rezoning: adopted; in effect“By law the City Clerk must and has rejected the petition, and the ordinance remains in effect”Local government · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Let Sioux Falls Vote referendum against the rezoning failed: 5,012 signatures submitted vs 6,704 required (5% of registered voters, SDCL 9-20-8; 378 petition sheets); City Clerk rejected the petition and the rezoning ord“By law the City Clerk must and has rejected the petition, and the ordinance remains in effect”Local government · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Rezoning date: Jan. 6, 2026“a City Ordinance as adopted on January 6, 2026, to rezone property located south of East Rice Street and east of N. Veterans Parkway (Rezone No. 022049-2025)”Local government · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Site acres: 164 acres“Area: 164 Acres Existing Zoning: AG Agricultural Existing Land Use/Form: Agriculture/Undeveloped”Local government · Dec. 2025 · grade B
- Sioux Falls City Council / Lincoln County Commission (joint public hearing): Data-center concerns and potential regulations in the joint planning area, incl. moratorium discussion“the Sioux Falls City Council and Lincoln County Commission will hold a joint meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 27, to discuss data center-related concerns and potential regulations”News report · grade C
- Construction stage: none, entitled only“the project has yet to receive all approvals and could still be denied, according to statements made by the city's director of planning and development services, Jeff Eckhoff, to local news station Keloland”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- building permits: none filed“The coalition asked Sioux Falls leaders to put a moratorium on building permits for data centers until those ordinances are established”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sioux Falls City Council: Formation of a Regulatory Oversight Committee on data center regulations“Sioux Falls City Council announced it's convening a Regulatory Oversight Committee to study potential regulations on data centers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City Council announced a four-member Regulatory Oversight Committee (Pankonin, Oppenheimer, Spellerberg, Merkouris) to study data-center regulations and gather public input over ~3 months, with a report/ordinance recomme“Sioux Falls City Council announced it's convening a Regulatory Oversight Committee to study potential regulations on data centers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Opposition: Let Sioux Falls Vote (referendum drive, failed Jan 2026); South Dakota for Data Center Transparency (founder Matthew Breyfogle; ~3,600-member Facebook group); Dakota Rural Action; Oct 2026 coalition seeks a“We are asking for a temporary moratorium. Not a ban. Not forever. Just a pause”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Coalition (South Dakota for Data Center Transparency, Let Sioux Falls Vote, Dakota Rural Action) pressed the city for a temporary moratorium on data-center building permits until noise/water ordinances exist, arguing new“We are asking for a temporary moratorium. Not a ban. Not forever. Just a pause”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - land annexed Oct 7, 2025 and rezoned AG to I-1 light industrial with the preliminary plan accepted Jan 6, 2026; no building permits applied for as of October 2026; the project was reported stil“on Jan. 6, after nearly four hours of public input, voted unanimously to rezone the property to light industrial and to accept the data center preliminary plan”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- HB 1005 (50-year sales/use tax exemption for data center equipment and software) killed in House State Affairs (deferred to the 41st legislative day, 9-3). Applied Digital's Deuel County project was subsequently withdraw“House Bill 1005 proposing a 50-year sales-tax exemption on data center IT equipment and software, in order to remain competitive with other states”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- preliminary subdivision plan: approved as amended“Preliminary plan (Item 39): initial approval failed 4–3; motion to reconsider passed 7–0; amendment limiting potable water by meter size passed 4–3”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Sioux Falls City Council: Item 33, rezoning to light industrial; Item 39, preliminary subdivision plan“Rezoning (Item 33): approved 7–0”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Sioux Falls City Council: Rezoning ordinance, first reading“The Sioux Falls City Council held the first reading on Dec. 16”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- annexation: approved by resolution“the council approved a resolution to annex the proposed land for the data center project”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Sioux Falls City Council: Annexation resolution for the Gemini parcel“the council approved a resolution to annex the proposed land for the data center project”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- comprehensive plan amendment: approved“the Sioux Falls City Council approved a land-use change from Tier 3 to Tier 1, allowing for future industrial zoning and amending the Sioux Falls 2040 Comprehensive Plan”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Sioux Falls City Council: 2040 Comprehensive Plan amendment, growth tier Tier 3 to Tier 1“approved a land-use change from Tier 3 to Tier 1, allowing for future industrial zoning and amending the Sioux Falls 2040 Comprehensive Plan”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Announced: July 2, 2025“The Gemini project’s petition was first approved on July 2, 2025, during the City’s Planning Commission Meeting”News report · July 2025 · grade C
- Announced: July 2, 2025“The Gemini project's petition was first approved on July 2, 2025, during the City's Planning Commission Meeting”News report · July 2025 · grade C
- land use petition: approved“The Gemini project's petition was first approved on July 2, 2025, during the City's Planning Commission Meeting”News report · July 2025 · grade C
- Sioux Falls Planning Commission: Gemini data center petition“The Gemini project's petition was first approved on July 2, 2025, during the City's Planning Commission Meeting”News report · July 2025 · grade C
- SB 177 (2025), a data-center sales-tax refund bill the Gemini sponsor lobbied for (consultant Kyle Peters testified), was narrowly defeated in the Senate, 17-18.“Senate Bill 177, which would have authorized a four-year state sales-tax refund on equipment for data-center operations (capped at $500 million in equipment cost), failed on a close roll-call vote”News report · March 2025 · grade C
Legal (1)
- A1 Development Solutions sued former partner Kyle Peters in Minnehaha County Circuit Court alleging he took the Gemini account when leaving to consult for Gemini Data Center SD directly (he denies taking data/clients). P“A1 Development Solutions sued its former partner Kyle Peters on Thursday, February 19, in Minnehaha County Circuit Court”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (8)
- County code: 46099“FCC census block find for latitude 43.5800 longitude -96.6418 returned County FIPS 46099, name Minnehaha County”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Name: Gemini Data Center Sioux Falls Campus“our site near Veterans Parkway and E. Rice Street, which received approval of a rezone application to light industrial”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Aliases: Sioux Falls Technology Park; Split Rock data center campus“The proposed data center campus, if it comes to fruition, would be referred to as Sioux Falls Technology Park”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer: Gemini Data Center SD LLC“The property is owned by Gemini Data Center SD LLC, which is connected to a California-based family office led by Michael Anvar”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sponsor: Gemini Capital / Gemini Family Office, California-based family office led by founder Michael Anvar“Gemini Capital is the project developer and majority stakeholder”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Address: East of N Veterans Parkway, south of E Rice Street, west of N Six Mile Road, Sioux Falls, SD (Minnehaha County)“The so-called Sioux Falls Technology Park would be located east of Veterans Parkway, south of E. Rice Street, and west of N. Six Mile Road”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“It is not on hold, but like any project of this scale, it ultimately comes down to economics”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: 2028“Last year, representatives of Gemini indicated that the plan would be to start construction this year and open a facility in 2028”News report · 2025 · grade C