Permits checklist
2 pending · 4 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup generators), and what we found.
- ◷Preliminary intent for tax-in-lieu agreement, data center PendingGrant County Quorum Court · Oct. 20, 2025: adopted 8-0 as preliminary intent only; the earlier July 2025 version was repealed; no agreement executed Local government · Oct. 2026
- ◷Preliminary intent for tax-in-lieu agreement, paired solar PendingGrant County Quorum Court · Oct. 20, 2025: tabled in July 2025, adopted 8-0 in Oct. 2025 as preliminary intent Local government · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Executed tax-in-lieu agreement or bond, County building or land-use permit, Special rate contract or utility filing, Air, water or stormwater permit
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighStalled at preliminary intentNo tax agreement, permit, utility filing or site document exists a year after the county vote. News report · Oct. 2026
- HighOrganized local oppositionA Facebook group and petition of about 630 signatures, aquifer and tree-loss testimony, and repeated public comment through Feb. 2026. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNo confirmed tenantEdgeConneX is reported by one outlet as a letter-of-intent party; a resident's Meta claim has no support. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumHostile state backdropA non-binding state council resolution urges a statewide moratorium while standards are developed. State agency · Oct. 2026
- WatchSponsor sells rather than operatesClean Cloud assembles land and power, then looks for an operator or buyer. News report · Oct. 2026
1 case on record
- Filed July 22, 2025; dismissed without prejudice Sept. 2025 Channell v. Grant County Quorum Court, County Judge and ClerkGrant County circuit court (retired judge sitting) News report · Oct. 2026public-records suit over the July 21 meeting; he can refile
Power and the grid
- Grid power, presumptively Entergy Arkansas, with paired on-site solar Proposed, nothing filedno MW, utility agreement or rate contract filed; solar tax agreement was only a preliminary intent News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Oct. 20, 2025Solar tax intent adoptedThe county voted 8-0 for preliminary intent to enter a tax-in-lieu agreement for a paired solar project (reNRG AR 1 LLC). News report · Oct. 2026
- As of Oct. 2026No utility filing foundNo Arkansas Public Service Commission docket or special rate contract exists for the project; Entergy's large-load examples do not include it. see Permits
- The state utility commission regulates rates and contracts, not land use; the county Quorum Court is the only local body that has acted. News report · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: executed tax-in-lieu agreement: county resolutions are preliminary intent only Local government · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- April 25, 2025Site Sheridan Data Center LLC is formed in Delaware.
- April 25, 2025Paper trail Sheridan Data Center LLC registered in Delaware
- June 16, 2025Site Clean Cloud Energy presents a 3,953-acre data center and solar proposal to the Quorum Court. News report · Oct. 2026
- July 21, 2025Permits Quorum Court votes 7-0 for preliminary intent on a tax-in-lieu agreement; the solar version is tabled after interruptions. News report · Oct. 2026
- July 22, 2025Site A resident files a public-records lawsuit against the court over the July 21 meeting. News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 2025Site The lawsuit is dismissed without prejudice; the judge notes the resolution had not been signed. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 20, 2025Permits Court adopts both preliminary-intent resolutions 8-0 after heavy opposition; this is its last action on record. News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 23, 2026Site Residents again urge the court to scrutinize the project and abatement; no action. News report · Oct. 2026
- July 8, 2026Site A project tracker still lists it as proposed at 500 MW with no tenant. News report · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 14, 2026Permits Arkansas Legislative Council interim resolution encourages a statewide data-center moratorium (non-binding). State agency · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 4, 2026Money One outlet reports an EdgeConneX letter of intent on the Arkansas proposal; unconfirmed (press). News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- No site plan: no parcel, address or deed published News report · Aug. 2025
Owners, partners and builders
- Clean Cloud Energy (formerly reNRG Partners): developer
- Sheridan Data Center LLC: county counterparty
- reNRG AR 1 LLC: paired solar entity
- Grant County Quorum Court and County Judge Randy Pruitt
- Arkansas Public Service Commission: utility contracts
- EdgeConneX: reported letter of intent only (press)
- Stop Grant County Data Center group (Brody Channell)
- George Murray and other residents
Open questions
- Exact site and land control.
- Whether a tax agreement is ever signed.
- Who the real end user is.
- Utility and power supply plan.
94 records from 20 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, utility regulator dockets, business registries, local government records, public and commercial datasets and securities filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (19)
- Registry status: No Arkansas DEQ air permit or NPDES record for Sheridan Data Center LLC or Clean Cloud Energy found; the only Sheridan air facilities in ECHO are Kohler Co. (Permit 0791-AR-14) and Sheridan White Rock, b“ECHO air pull at the Sheridan point returned 4 facilities including KOHLER CO. (SHERIDAN), 415 South Oklahoma Street, and SHERIDAN WHITE ROCK”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Entergy Arkansas (presumptive; not confirmed for this site)“Arkansas counties - Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Garland, Grant, Greene”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Campus name: Grant County Data Center“Grant County Data Center - Reported MW, 500, Developer, Clean Cloud Energy, Owner / tenant, Undisclosed, Last source update, Jul 8, 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“Reported MW, 500, Developer, Clean Cloud Energy, Owner / tenant, Undisclosed, Last source update, Jul 8, 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: not stated“Reported MW, 500, Developer, Clean Cloud Energy, Owner / tenant, Undisclosed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: not stated“The Google SRC and the Avaio agreement for electric service pending Commission approval in Docket No. 26-011-U are prime examples”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: not stated“The court read Resolution No. 2025-03, expressing preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with reNRG AR 1 LLC for a solar generation facility”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grid operator: MISO“Arkansas counties - Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Garland, Grant, Greene”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: hybrid (proposed: grid supply + paired on-site solar)“Clean Cloud's other proposals include an expanded 800-megawatt Arkansas project paired with a solar farm”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: not stated“Grant County Data Center - Reported MW, 500, Developer, Clean Cloud Energy, Owner / tenant, Undisclosed, Last source update, Jul 8, 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Water use stated: not stated“The meeting record does not include detailed PILOT contract terms, specific water or power consumption figures, or timelines for next steps on either project”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service / special rate contract filing: none found (documented absence)“The Google SRC and the Avaio agreement for electric service pending Commission approval in Docket No. 26-011-U are prime examples”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Quorum Court adopts Resolution Feb. 2025 (7-0), preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with Sheridan Data Center LLC; the companion solar PILOT (Res. March 2025, reNRG AR 1 LLC) is tabled after gallery interruptions and the moti“The court recorded a 7-0 vote in favor. The resolution indicates the county's preliminary willingness to pursue a PILOT with the company”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Quorum Court adopts Resolution March 2025 (reNRG AR 1 LLC solar PILOT preliminary intent) and Resolution June 2025 (Sheridan Data Center LLC PILOT preliminary intent, repealing Feb. 2025), both 8-0, after extended opposition co“The court voted 8-0 to approve Resolution No. 2025-03, expressing preliminary intent to enter a PILOT arrangement with reNRG AR 1 LLC for a solar generation facility, and later voted 8-0 to approve Resolution No. 2025-06”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project tracker update: still Proposed, 500 MW reported, owner/tenant Undisclosed, documented community opposition. No MW, tenant or status advancement in 12+ months since announcement.“Reported MW, 500, Developer, Clean Cloud Energy, Owner / tenant, Undisclosed, Last source update, Jul 8, 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sponsor's model is assemble-and-flip: Clean Cloud Energy assembles land, power, water and permitting arrangements before finding an eventual operator or buyer - i.e., the sponsor is not the operator, and its portfolio cl“The company typically assembles land, power, water and permitting arrangements before finding an eventual data center operator or buyer”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“500 per datacenterally/FracTracker tracker (updated Jul 8 2026)”grade C
- Stated campus size: 500 MW“500 per datacenterally/FracTracker tracker (updated Jul 8 2026)”grade C
- Interconnection status: none - no utility position is public: Sheridan / Grant County is Entergy Arkansas territory, but no Arkansas PSC docket, Entergy Arkansas special contract, interconnection study or service agreeme“Grant County Justices voted 7-0 to express preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with Sheridan Data Center LLC”News report · July 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (20)
- Owner entity: Sheridan Data Center LLC“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement With Sheridan Data Center)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Land status: preliminary intent only - no executed PILOT, bond or development agreement“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement With Sheridan Data Center)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PILOT - preliminary intent (Resolution Feb. 2025): status never executed“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement With Sheridan Data Center)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PILOT - preliminary intent (Resolution June 2025, repeals Feb. 2025): preliminary intent“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement With Sheridan Data Center)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PILOT - preliminary intent, paired solar (Resolution March 2025): preliminary intent“Resolution No. 2025-03 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas, Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement with reNRG AR 1 LLC)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PILOT - executed agreement / Act 9 bond: finding no executed agreement“County index lists only Resolutions 2025-03 and 2025-06 for this project (uploaded Oct 21-22, 2025); no executed PILOT agreement, lease or bond ordinance appears - FINDING: no executed agreement exists in the public record through 2026-10-18”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: EdgeConneX (LOI reported only)“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: LOI reported (single-source, unverified); no tenant“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: announced only - stalled at preliminary-PILOT stage“The adopted resolutions state preliminary intent and authorize the county to proceed with discussions; they do not themselves finalize tax agreements or development approvals”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated capital cost: 6000000000 USD“Frank Clement told the court the project, which he said is a $6 billion investment, is going to be 1/2 mile from my door”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PILOT - preliminary intent (Resolution Feb. 2025): preliminary intent“County Judge Randy Pruitt presented Resolution 2025-02, and Justice Jason Roshto moved for approval; Justice Mike Nevens seconded. The court recorded a 7-0 vote in favor”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PILOT - preliminary intent (Resolution June 2025): vote“Justice Mike Nevens moved to adopt, Justice Tony Carder seconded, and the court recorded an 8-0 vote to adopt”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Termination / condition / scope clauses: finding no clauses exist“FINDING: because no PILOT or development agreement was ever executed, there are no termination, condition or scope clauses to extract; the only county instruments are the preliminary-intent resolutions”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Letter of intent (reported): letter of intent reported“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Land control (purchase / option): finding none located“FINDING: no deed, option, land purchase or site-control document for Sheridan Data Center LLC was located in the public sources searched; the only land fact in the record is the entity's Delaware organization, noted by a resident speaker”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Residents urge the court to slow down: Frank Clement cites a $6 billion project a half-mile from his home and ~1,200 construction workers; project manager George Murray hands the court 40 technical questions for Clean Cl“Project manager George Murray, who said he has roughly 35 years' experience managing large projects, presented a handout to the court and described 40 questions that need to be answered by Clean Cloud”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Resident presenter George Murray tells the court the project is in Phase 3 (detailed engineering) and claims Meta would build a ~92-acre facility under a 15-year contract. Murray is a resident, not a company or county so“He said the company confirmed that Meta would construct a facility covering about 92 acres and that Meta's agreement would be for 15 years”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Data Center Signal reports EdgeConneX has signed an LOI related to the Arkansas proposal, with no completed sale or final end user confirmed. Single-source aggregator claim; uncorroborated by EdgeConneX or any second out“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal; no completed sale and no final end user has been confirmed“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Clean Cloud Energy / Sheridan (Grant County) proposal - a tenant-side signal only, NOT a grid position; no completed sale and no final end user has been confirmed (“EdgeConneX has signed a letter of intent related to the Arkansas proposal, but no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (11)
- County land-use / construction permit: none found (documented absence)“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas Expressing the County's Preliminary Intent to Enter Into A Payment-In-Lieu-Of-Taxes (Pilot) Arrangement With Sheridan Data Center)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Arkansas Legislative Council interim resolution IR-2025-008 encourages a statewide moratorium on data center development while the state develops standards - non-binding, but a hostile state-policy backdrop for stalled p“the Legislative Council encourage a moratorium on the development and opening of data centers in Arkansas while the state develops standards for data center development”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Air / water permit: none found (documented absence)“PERMITTEE: Kohler Co. (Sheridan) - Permit #: 0791-AR-16 - AFIN: 27-00004 - COUNTY: Grant County”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Public commenters again oppose the data center and its tax abatement (Channell on the project advisory board; Murray with a pamphlet including a Sheridan Headlight article; Gartman against). No formal county action recor“Three members of the public urged the Grant County Quorum Court on Feb. 23, 2026, to scrutinize a proposed data center and a related tax-abatement plan”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Developer presentation of proposed data center and solar project“Developer presents 3,953-acre data center and solar proposal to Grant County Quorum Court - Grant County Jun 16, 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Resolution Feb. 2025 (PILOT preliminary intent, Sheridan Data Center LLC) adopted; Resolution March 2025 (PILOT preliminary intent, reNRG AR 1 LLC solar) tabled after gallery interruptions, motion r“The court recorded a 7-0 vote in favor. The resolution indicates the county's preliminary willingness to pursue a PILOT with the company”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Public comment on the proposed data center; no action taken“The court did not take any formal action on the data center during the meeting; public comments were recorded as part of the discussion”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Resident presentation (George Murray): project in Phase 3 detailed engineering; claims Meta would build a ~92-acre facility under a 15-year contract; tax-abatement condition questions“Murray also flagged that Meta is reportedly under contract for 15 years for the site and warned this could pose financial risk to residents if the company were to terminate after that period”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Resolution March 2025 adopted (reNRG AR 1 LLC solar PILOT preliminary intent); Resolution June 2025 adopted (Sheridan Data Center LLC PILOT preliminary intent; repeals Resolution Feb. 2025)“The court then read Resolution No. 2025-06, expressing preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with Sheridan Data Center LLC and to repeal Resolution 2025-02”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Resident presenter gives report card on proposed data center (George Murray pamphlet: cooling, technical specifications, NDAs)“Presenter gives report card on proposed data center to Grant County Quorum Court - Grant County Nov 17, 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grant County Quorum Court: Public commenters oppose proposed data center and tax abatement (Channell - oversight advisory board; Murray - pamphlet incl. Sheridan Headlight article; Gartman - against project and abatement“no formal county action on the project was recorded in the meeting minutes”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Legal (10)
- County: Grant County“Resolution No. 2025-06 (A Resolution of the Quorum Court of Grant County, Arkansas”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- State: AR“Grant Co. Courthouse, 101 W Center, Sheridan, AR 72150”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Clean Cloud Energy“Clean Cloud Energy representatives Clark Bixler and Raj Keswani addressed the court and described the expected water and electrical usage for the project”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Acres: 3953 acres“Developer presents 3,953-acre data center and solar proposal to Grant County Quorum Court - Grant County Jun 16, 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First announced: June 16, 2025“Developer presents 3,953-acre data center and solar proposal to Grant County Quorum Court - Grant County Jun 16, 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Clean Cloud Energy presents a proposed 3,953-acre data center + solar project to the Grant County Quorum Court - the project's first public step.“Developer presents 3,953-acre data center and solar proposal to Grant County Quorum Court”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Resident Brody Channell files a pro se Arkansas FOIA lawsuit against the Quorum Court, County Judge Randy Pruitt and Clerk Geral Harrison over the July 21 meeting (off-agenda developer speakers; a Dallas site-visit trip“Channell's complaint claimed that the defendants violated the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act in several ways including the passing of the resolution passed on July 21, 2025, in relation to Clean Cloud Energy; reNRG, and solar farms”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- FOIA suit dismissed without prejudice by retired Judge Grisham Phillips Jr. (both circuit judges had recused). Phillips noted the July 21 resolution had not been signed and so had yet to cause harm; Channell may refile.“Phillips dismissed the lawsuit without prejudice. That means Channell can file his complaint again with or without attorney representation”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- George Murray presents a report card pamphlet on the proposed data center (cooling, technical specifications, NDAs; contact grantcountyfacts@yahoo.com). No court action.“Presenter gives report card on proposed data center to Grant County Quorum Court - Grant County Nov 17, 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - no construction; the county process stalled amid resident opposition through late 2025 after the Quorum Court’s preliminary PILOT intent (Jul 21, 2025); the companion solar PILOT was tabled“Grant County Justices voted 7-0 to express preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with Sheridan Data Center LLC”News report · July 2025 · grade C
Site and other (5)
- Filing record: No SEC filing of any kind names Sheridan Data Center LLC or Clean Cloud Energy: no Form D, no periodic filing, no registration statement“Full-text searches of EDGAR for "Sheridan Data Center" and "Clean Cloud Energy" each returned 0 documents”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Sponsor former name: reNRG Partners“reNRG Partners is now Clean Cloud Energy, signaling its transition from a broader renewable energy developer to a business focused specifically on meeting the energy needs of data centers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City: Sheridan“Grant County Justices voted 7-0 to express preliminary intent to enter a PILOT with Sheridan Data Center LLC”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“no completed sale or final end user has been confirmed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C