Permits checklist
1 withdrawn · 2 pending · 1 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ↩Conditional use permit WithdrawnHanover County · May 2026: filed Dec. 2025 for data centers, a private power plant, substation, batteries and rooftop solar; reported withdrawn, not verified in county minutes News report · May 2026
- ◷Grid studies agreement (co-located load) PendingFERC and PJM · March 14, 2025: filed with a requested effective date of May 14, 2025; protested by the cooperative; no FERC acceptance order located State agency · March 2025
- ◷Building height exception (85 ft) PendingHanover County · Dec. 2025: filed with the permit above; no separate outcome on record News report · March 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Zoning hearing
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighApplication reported withdrawnThe one source for the May 2026 withdrawal is a citizen-written county case study, so the project's status rests on thin evidence either way. see Permits
- MediumCo-location rules in fluxFERC found PJM's rules for co-located plants and data centers unjust and unreasonable, so the framework for a Doswell-style deal is being rewritten (press). News report · Feb. 2026
- MediumOnly five years of plant powerThe planned power sale from the plant runs five years, after which the campus would buy retail power through a new substation. News report · April 2025
- WatchCounty-wide oppositionThe group Stop Hanover Data Centers lists this site among the Hanover projects it opposes (advocacy site not opened). News report · Oct. 2026
Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
- On-site gas turbine (GE LM6000) Proposedthe application papers show a 40 to 50 MW class turbine (press); the county application was reported withdrawn News report · March 2026
- Retail grid power after the plant sale ends Plannedfrom another retail provider through a planned on-site substation; Rappahannock Electric Cooperative serves the area News report · April 2025
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- March 14, 2025Studies agreement filedPJM files a necessary studies agreement with FERC to study the co-located data center; the plant's capacity is not booked as campus load. State agency · March 2025
- April 4, 2025ProtestOld Dominion Electric Cooperative protests; PJM answers on Apr. 22 that the protest is premature. State agency · April 2025
- Not setNo FERC acceptance order locatedNo order accepting the agreement is on record, and no service contract for the campus is public. see Permits
- The Doswell combined-cycle plant (746 MW) is nearby plant capacity and is never counted as campus load. Utility regulator · March 2018
What happened, and what is due
- March 14, 2025Power PJM files a studies agreement with FERC to study a data center co-located at the Doswell plant State agency · March 2025
- April 4, 2025Legal Old Dominion Electric Cooperative protests the filing for lacking construction timing and grid details State agency · April 2025
- April 22, 2025Legal PJM answers that the protest is premature Utility regulator · June 2025
- Dec. 2025Permits LS Power applies to Hanover County for a conditional use permit and a building height exception News report · March 2026
- Dec. 18, 2025Power FERC rules PJM's rules for co-located plants and data centers unclear and orders changes (press) News report · Feb. 2026
- Jan. 30, 2026Site NRG Energy completes its purchase of LS Power's gas plants, including Doswell; the data center entity stays with LS Power Company · Jan. 2026
- March 5, 2026Site Press reports LS Power is in early planning with no community meetings scheduled News report · March 2026
- May 2026Permits The county application is reported withdrawn by attorney letter (single source) News report · May 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- LS Power: sponsor, and owner of the Doswell plant until Jan. 30, 2026
- LSP Digital Infrastructure, LLC: LS Power affiliate and PJM counterparty
- NRG Energy: owns the Doswell Energy Center since Jan. 30, 2026
- Doswell II LLC: owns the two simple-cycle units meant to supply the data center
- Rappahannock Electric Cooperative: retail utility for the area
- Old Dominion Electric Cooperative: wholesale supplier that protested the FERC filing
- FERC and PJM Interconnection: grid study agreement
- Hanover County: land use
Open questions
- Confirmation of the withdrawal in county records.
- Any data center tenant or executed power contract.
- FERC's decision on the studies agreement.
117 records from 17 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, utility regulator dockets, public and commercial datasets and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (33)
- FERC docket pleading: protest filed“Protest of Old Dominion Electric Cooperative under ER25-1623”State agency · April 2025 · grade A
- Interconnection status: NSA SA No. 7476 filed at FERC (ER25-1623); ODEC protest and PJM answer on the record; no FERC acceptance order located“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- FERC tariff filing (Necessary Studies Agreement): filed“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Supply plant: the Doswell ISA (SA No. 3808) covers 746 MW Maximum Facility Output for Doswell Complex 5 and 6 combined-cycle units at 10098 Old Ridge Road, Ashland - plant capacity, never booked as campus MW“The Doswell ISA facilitates the interconnection to the PJM transmission system of 746 MW (Maximum Facility Output) at the Doswell Facility, comprised of Doswell Complex 5 and Doswell Complex 6 combined cycle units”Utility regulator · March 2018 · grade A
- NRG Energy completes its ~$12B acquisition of LS Power's generation portfolio and CPower; the Doswell plant - the campus's supply asset - changes owners while the data-center entity stays LS Power-side“The acquisition includes 18 natural-gas-fired generation facilities totaling approximately 13 GW of capacity, along with CPower's commercial and industrial virtual power plant platform”Company · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Grid operator: PJM“PJM argued that ODEC's protest of the Necessary Studies Agreement between PJM and LSP Digital Infrastructure, LLC is premature”Utility regulator · June 2025 · grade B
- FERC docket pleading: answer filed“PJM argued that ODEC's protest of the Necessary Studies Agreement between PJM and LSP Digital Infrastructure, LLC is premature and does not demonstrate that the agreement is unjust and unreasonable”Utility regulator · June 2025 · grade B
- County code: 51085“LS Power is proposing a 205-acre data center campus at 10165 Old Ridge Road in Hanover County.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: application withdrawn (reported); no construction - FERC study agreement only“Old Ridge Road (LS Power), withdrawn by attorney letter in May 2026”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Aliases: Old Ridge Road Data Center“New Jersey-based LS Power applied for a conditional use permit at 10165 Old Ridge Road in December that would allow for data centers at the site”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Developer: LS Power“An energy infrastructure developer is eyeing 205 acres of land south of Kings Dominion to build data centers and power generation and battery storage”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Address: 10165 Old Ridge Road, Ashland, VA“New Jersey-based LS Power applied for a conditional use permit at 10165 Old Ridge Road in December that would allow for data centers at the site”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 205 acres“The Richmond Dispatch reports LS Power is proposing a 205-acre data center campus at 10165 Old Ridge Road in Hanover County”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: not stated“The application is requesting to build a private power plant, electric substation, public wastewater station, Tier 2 battery storage systems and solar power to be installed on the roofs of data centers”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: not stated“Paperwork filed with the application also shows plans to include a GE Vernova LM6000 gas turbine. The jet engine-derived design can generate 40 to 50 megawatts of electricity”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Substation: Planned on-site electric substation (county CUP application)“The application is requesting to build a private power plant, electric substation, public wastewater station, Tier 2 battery storage systems and solar power to be installed on the roofs of data centers”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: not stated“LS Power remains in the early phases of planning, and no community meetings have been scheduled”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Plant ownership change: NRG Energy closed its ~$12B acquisition of LS Power's 18-facility, ~13 GW gas portfolio plus CPower on Jan 30, 2026; the Doswell plant was one of the acquired facilities. LS Power entities remain“NRG Energy has finalised the purchase of a portfolio from LS Power comprising 18 natural gas-fired generation facilities with a combined capacity of around 13GW, as well as CPower's commercial and industrial virtual power plant (VPP) platform.”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: announced only - Hanover County conditional-use application pending (reported Dec 2025 - Oct 2026); no construction start confirmed“A data center outside Richmond is being planned that could potentially feature a behind-the-meter connection to a nearby natural gas plant.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Current stage: announced“A data center outside Richmond is being planned that could potentially feature a behind-the-meter connection to a nearby natural gas plant.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- On-site generation plan: GE Vernova LM6000 gas turbine plus on-site solar (planned)“The development would include a GE Vernova LM6000 gas turbine, though it is unclear if the campus would be entirely reliant on natural gas.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Name: LS Power Doswell“LS Power plans to sell electricity from two-gas fired units at the company's Doswell power plant in Ashland, Virginia, to a potential behind-the-meter data center”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- IT capacity: not stated“The data center campus will consist of up to five 60-MW always-on, mission-critical data center buildings”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Utility: Rappahannock Electric Cooperative“The Doswell power plant is in an area served by Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, an ODEC member, according to the filing”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power plan: behind-the-meter co-located (plant PPA, then grid retail)“When the PPA ends, the data center will buy power from another retail provider via a planned substation, according to the filing”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Utility: no grid interconnection figure exists“LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Campus plan: up to five 60-MW buildings“The data center campus will consist of up to five 60-MW “always-on, mission-critical” data center buildings”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- FERC/PJM interconnection studies agreement: filed; protested by ODEC“PJM said it submitted the agreement “out of an abundance of caution.””News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Utility service: 300 MW“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- Interconnection status: Behind-the-meter by design - no grid interconnection serves the campus load during the PPA term: supply is a direct sale from the adjacent Doswell Energy Center (Units 2 and 3) studied under PJM's“When the PPA ends, the data center will buy power from another retail provider via a planned substation, according to the filing.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- large load interconnection request: NSA filed mid-March 2025; protested by Old Dominion Electric Cooperative“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- Utility service: 300 MW“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- PPA supply units: Doswell SC Units 2 and 3 (Doswell II LLC), two GE 7FA simple-cycle turbines, 340 MW Maximum Facility Output under Queue AA1-145 - the same queue number carried in the 2025 NSA filing“This is a simple cycle gas turbine generating facility to be located in Ashland, Hanover County, Virginia, with a Maximum Facility Output of 340 MW. It will be made up of two General Electric 7FA simple cycle gas turbines”News report · Sept. 2016 · grade C
Money and contracts (18)
- First announced: March 2025“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Necessary Studies Agreement: scope SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Necessary Studies Agreement: term / effective date May 14, 2025 (requested effective date)“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Necessary Studies Agreement: termination (finding)“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Asset purchase agreement (plant ownership): scope 18 natural-gas facilities, approx. 13 GW, plus CPower“The acquisition includes 18 natural-gas-fired generation facilities totaling approximately 13 GW of capacity, along with CPower's commercial and industrial virtual power plant platform”Company · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Operator: LSP Digital Infrastructure, LLC“PJM argued that ODEC's protest of the Necessary Studies Agreement between PJM and LSP Digital Infrastructure, LLC is premature”Utility regulator · June 2025 · grade B
- County CUP application reported withdrawn by attorney letter (single citizen source; unverified in county minutes)“Old Ridge Road (LS Power), withdrawn by attorney letter in May 2026”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- LS Power files Hanover County CUP and special exception applications for the 10165 Old Ridge Road campus (data centers, private power plant with LM6000, substation, Tier 2 BESS, rooftop solar)“New Jersey-based LS Power applied for a conditional use permit at 10165 Old Ridge Road in December that would allow for data centers at the site”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Asset purchase agreement (plant ownership): scope (Doswell facility) Doswell Energy Center among the acquired facilities“The Doswell site was one of the acquired facilities”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Tenants: not stated“The data center campus will consist of up to five 60-MW always-on, mission-critical data center buildings, located at one or more parcels next to or near the Doswell site”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: no tenant announced“The data center campus will consist of up to five 60-MW always-on, mission-critical data center buildings”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Necessary Studies Agreement: study scope PJM studies of the co-located load configuration, filed out of an abundance of caution“outlining the grid operator's plan to study the effects of the project by LSP Digital Infrastructure, an LS Power affiliate”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power purchase agreement (contemplated, behind-the-meter): supply amount 300 MW“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power purchase agreement (contemplated, behind-the-meter): term 5 years“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power purchase agreement (contemplated, behind-the-meter): post-term supply After the PPA term the data center buys power from another retail provider via a planned substation“When the PPA ends, the data center will buy power from another retail provider via a planned substation, according to the filing”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power purchase agreement (contemplated, behind-the-meter): capacity interconnection rights Doswell temporarily surrenders capacity interconnection rights in an amount tied to the data center's load growth rate“The rate of load growth for the data center is a determining factor for the amount of temporarily surrendered capacity interconnection rights by Doswell”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Power purchase agreement (contemplated, behind-the-meter): termination (finding)“The filing indicates that LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: no tenant named - LS Power is the sponsor; the plant itself was sold to NRG (closed Jan 30, 2026) while LS Power still proposes the campus, leaving the PPA counterparty unresolved (A5 conflict)“LS Power will sell up to 300 MW to the behind-the-meter data center under a five-year power purchase agreement.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (9)
- ODEC protests the NSA, arguing the filing lacks construction timing and grid-take details needed to know what PJM will study“Protest of Old Dominion Electric Cooperative under ER25-1623”State agency · April 2025 · grade A
- PJM files NSA SA No. 7476 at FERC (ER25-1623) to study a behind-the-meter data center co-located at the Doswell plant“Original NSA Service Agreement SA No. 7476; Queue No. AA1-145 to be effective 5/14/2025 under ER25-1623”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- PJM answers the ODEC protest, calling it premature“On April 22, 2025, in Docket No. ER25-1623-000, PJM filed an Answer to the Old Dominion Electric Cooperative's (ODEC) April 4, 2025 protest”Utility regulator · June 2025 · grade B
- Conditional use permit: withdrawn (reported)“Old Ridge Road (LS Power), withdrawn by attorney letter in May 2026”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Conditional use permit (data centers, private power plant, substation, Tier 2 BE: application filed“The application is requesting to build a private power plant, electric substation, public wastewater station, Tier 2 battery storage systems and solar power to be installed on the roofs of data centers”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Special exception (building height): application filed“The firm also applied for a special exception to allow buildings up to 85 feet tall”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Hanover County Planning Commission / Board of Supervisors: Old Ridge Road CUP and special exception (10165 Old Ridge Road) - no public hearing or community meeting held or scheduled as of this date“LS Power remains in the early phases of planning, and no community meetings have been scheduled”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- FERC's EL25-49 co-location order finds PJM's tariff unjust and unreasonable for co-located loads, orders three new transmission services and BTMG rule changes, and rejects PJM's generic NSA form without prejudice - the f“the Order concluded that PJM's tariff and other applicable governing documents are unjust and unreasonable due to a lack of clarity and consistency”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- ODEC protest: Old Dominion Electric Cooperative protested the PJM NSA at FERC, arguing it lacked needed detail (construction timing, when the campus begins taking grid power) for anyone to understand what PJM will study.“Neither ODEC nor the commission has a clear description of what is being contemplated, to understand what PJM will study.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
Site and other (7)
- County-wide opposition group Stop Hanover Data Centers lists Old Ridge Road among the proposed Hanover sites it campaigns against (search-result evidence; advocacy site not opened)“Multiple large-scale data center projects, which include the Mountain Road Technology Park, and proposed sites near Route 54 in Ashland (Iron Horse Industrial Park) and Old Ridge Road”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Buildable acres: 98 acres“Two possible site plan options include either three or four data center buildings across 98 acres of buildable area”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Buildings: 4“Two possible site plan options include either three or four data center buildings across 98 acres of buildable area”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Water infrastructure: Developer to pay for water infrastructure upgrades needed to serve the site (Hanover County Public Works)“Hanover County Public Works noted that the developer would have to pay for any possible water infrastructure upgrades needed to service the site”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Regulatory jurisdiction: FERC (wholesale co-location / NSA); Hanover County (land use); VA SCC role for behind-the-meter data centers unsettled“Because there is no precedent or legislation to guide the SCC on this question, we can't say what the SCC's role would be”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“Old Dominion Electric Cooperative filed a protest on Friday over the NSA, saying it lacked needed details such as the timing of the data center's construction”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“Old Dominion Electric Cooperative filed a protest on Friday over the NSA, saying it lacked needed details such as the timing of the data center's construction”News report · April 2025 · grade C