Data center profile · 13490 University Boulevard, Gainesville, Prince William County, Virginia

Microsoft MNZ07 Wellington (Gainesville, Prince William County)

Microsoft's two-building campus on 123 acres near Gainesville, Virginia, bought in 2024 for a reported $465.5 million; up to 3.8 million sq ft rezoning pending.

Rezoning pending, permits filed. In 2026 Microsoft filed state and federal wetlands applications for two buildings and a substation on the 124-acre site. A rezoning for up to 3.8 million sq ft is pending; no capacity, construction start or energization date is disclosed.
$465.5M
price for 124 acres (press)
bought in 2024 from local landowner Chuck Kuhn
2 buildings
one-story data centers plus a substation on 123 acres
federal wetlands application, Sept. 2026
3.8M sq ft
data-center space sought in the pending rezoning
plus a new substation (press)
Not disclosed
campus power in MW
Microsoft has given no capacity or energization date
OperatorMicrosoft (owner and developer)
CustomerNone named beyond Microsoft
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet).
Next stepCounty rezoning decision and federal wetlands permit (no dates published)
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Permits

Permits checklist

3 pending · 1 checked, nothing on file

County, state and federal approvals the campus needs, and where each stands.

Risks

What could slow it down

Money

Money on record

$465.5M
Microsoft's 2024 purchase price for 124 acres (press)
from Chuck Kuhn News report · 2024
$46.9M
price a Kuhn-affiliated company paid for the site in 2020 (press)
Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. 2020
    Site A company affiliated with landowner Chuck Kuhn buys the site for $46.9M (press) News report · Dec. 2024
  2. 2023
    Permits Rezoning application filed seeking up to 3.8M sq ft of data-center space and a substation (press) News report · Dec. 2024
  3. 2024
    Site Microsoft buys the 124 acres for $465.5M (press) News report · 2024
  4. July 2026
    Permits State water protection application filed News report · July 2026
  5. Sept. 2026
    Permits Federal wetlands application filed for two buildings and a substation News report · Sept. 2026
Construction activity

Building activity by quarter

Since Sept. 2026: 4 FAA filings (Sept. 2026): tallest crane 255 ft (Sept. 2026).

FAA filings
’26
Dot size: records in the quarter, largest = 4. Two-digit years mark each first quarter.
The buildings

Specs

123 acres
area of the filed plan for two one-story buildings and a substation
955 ft and 1.95 acres
stream channel and wetlands the filed plan would affect (press)
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owner
  • Microsoft: owner and developer
Sellers
  • Chuck Kuhn: local landowner who sold the site
  • 41992 John Marshall Highway LLC: Kuhn-affiliated prior owner
Government
  • Prince William County: rezoning
  • Virginia Department of Environmental Quality: water protection permit
  • Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District: wetlands permit
Utility
  • Dominion Energy: incumbent utility
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

30 records from 6 documents

Drawn from news reports and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 5State agency 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (2)
  • Project identity: Microsoft MNZ07 Wellington Data Center: proposed campus at 13490 University Boulevard, Gainesville, Prince William County, VA; two one-story data center buildings and an on-site substation on 123 acres
    “It has filed an application with the US Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District, for the MNZ07 Wellington Data Center at 13490 University Boulevard.”
  • Dominion Energy is the incumbent utility in Prince William County; the federal application includes an on-site substation but no load figure, interconnection agreement or SCC filing for MNZ07 has been published.
    “The company aims to build two one-story data center buildings and an on-site substation on 123 acres”
Money and contracts (6)
  • Project status: PERMITTING: USACE Section 404 application filed for the MNZ07 Wellington campus (impacts: 955 linear feet of stream channels and 1.95 acres of wetlands) and a Virginia DEQ application filed in July 2026;
    “The project would impact 955 linear feet of stream channels and 1.95 acres of wetlands.”
  • Project status: land acquired 2024 wetlands permit filed 2026 rezoning pending
    “Microsoft acquired the site in 2024 from local landowner Chuck Kuhn, buying 124 acres for $465.5 million.”
  • The filed plan would impact 955 linear feet of stream channels and 1.95 acres of wetlands
    “The project would impact 955 linear feet of stream channels and 1.95 acres of wetlands.”
  • Microsoft also acquired 92.6 acres of potential data center land in Bristow in 2021, near the MNZ07 plots; separate parcels in the same corridor
    “In 2021 Microsoft acquired 92.6 acres of potential data center land in Prince William County in Bristow near the newly acquired plots”
  • Announced: March 4, 2024
    “BizJournal reports Microsoft bought vacant plots of land in Gainesville for $465.5 million from local landowner Chuck Kuhn.”
  • Land purchase: land acquisition 465.5 USD million
    “Microsoft acquired the site in 2024 from local landowner Chuck Kuhn, buying 124 acres for $465.5 million.”
Permits and government (8)
  • permit type=FAA obstruction evaluation (7460-1) (stated in detail per this folde: Evaluating
    “ASN 2026-AEA-11167-OE: MNZ 04, Crane, 255 ft AGL, 584 ft AMSL, 38.77996,-77.57081, Evaluating, submitted 2026-09-22”
  • permit type=FAA obstruction evaluation (7460-1) (stated in detail per this folde: Pending
    “ASN 2026-AEA-11168-OE: MNZ 04, Crane, 255 ft AGL, 569 ft AMSL, 38.77921,-77.56809, Pending, submitted 2026-09-22”
  • permit type=FAA obstruction evaluation (7460-1) (stated in detail per this folde: Pending
    “ASN 2026-AEA-11169-OE: MNZ 04, Crane, 255 ft AGL, 555 ft AMSL, 38.77815,-77.56865, Pending, submitted 2026-09-22”
  • permit type=FAA obstruction evaluation (7460-1) (stated in detail per this folde: Evaluating
    “ASN 2026-AEA-11170-OE: MNZ 04, Crane, 255 ft AGL, 573 ft AMSL, 38.77913,-77.57118, Evaluating, submitted 2026-09-22”
  • FAA OE/AAA records four 255-ft cranes filed as 'MNZ 04' (ASNs 2026-AEA-11167-OE - 2026-AEA-11170-OE, submitted Sept. 22, 2026) 0.98-1.12 km from the Microsoft Prince William campus point - the first OE/AAA filings dating ver
    “ASN 2026-AEA-11167-OE: MNZ 04, Crane, 255 ft AGL, 584 ft AMSL, 38.77996,-77.57081, Evaluating, submitted 2026-09-22”
  • Microsoft application for the MNZ07 Wellington Data Center at 13490 University B: application filed
    “It has filed an application with the US Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District, for the MNZ07 Wellington Data Center at 13490 University Boulevard.”
  • A Virginia Water Protection application for the MNZ07 Wellington project was fil: application filed
    “An application for the project was filed with the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality in July.”
  • Rezoning REZ2023-00019 seeks a density allowance for up to 3.8M sq ft of data center use and a new substation across the assemblage; the filed federal plan is two buildings
    “a pending rezoning application submitted last year is seeking an increased density allowance for up to 3.8 million square feet of data center uses and a new substation”
Site and other (2)
  • County code: 51153
    “Microsoft has filed an application with the US Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District, for the proposed MNZ07 Wellington Data Center at 13490 University Boulevard in Prince William County, Virginia.”
  • The adjacent 181-acre Sharpless Enterprises campus in Bristow (Google-linked, approved March 2024) is a separate project; it is not part of Microsoft's MNZ07 site
    “In March 2024, a Google-linked company, Sharpless Enterprises, got approval for an 181-acre data center campus in Bristow, Virginia.”