Power and the grid
27.3 MW contracted · 236 MW permitted
- Rocky Mountain Power grid line Constrained200 MW; company lists 200 MW of future capacity at the substation; the utility could not supply the full need until 2031 (press) Local government · Aug. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Dec. 19, 2024Gas plant air permit issuedUtah air regulators approve 72 gas engines, stating they are needed because grid power is not available. see Permits
- March 2025Utility shortfall disclosed (press)Novva's request to EPA says Rocky Mountain Power could not supply full power until 2031, and even then it was not guaranteed. News report · Feb. 2026
- July 11, 2025Fuel-cell bridge power exemptedBloom Energy obtains a small source exemption to supply power while the gas engines are built. see Permits
- Aug. 18, 2026Gas plant still under constructionA city packet compiled from the air-permit file shows the 72 engines still being built, behind the press expectation of operation earlier in 2026. Local government · Oct. 2026
- Not setNo utility service contract foundNo electric service agreement for Novva appears in the state utility commission record, so grid terms are not visible. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- Diesel backup generators (about 77 MW) are on site but are emergency power, not supply. Local government · Aug. 2026
- Novva told EPA it wanted a two-year exemption to run diesel generators without limits as interim power; it says it never received an answer. News report · Feb. 2026
On-site generation on file
- Air quality Approval Order Utah Division of Air Quality (DEQ) · DAQE-NN160660003-24 · intent to approve issued for 30-day… · Nov. 17, 2024Expand power generation at the existing West Jordan data center: 72 new natural gas-fired IC engines powering generators providing primary power for the two new buildings; source reclassifies as major CO/HAP (Title V)… State agency · Nov. 2024
- Air quality Notice of Intent Utah Division of Air Quality (DEQ) · submitted May 30, 2024 - diesel emergency… · May 30, 2024Separate NOI covering updates to diesel-fired emergency engine generators and diesel storage tanks at the campus (described within DAQE-NN160660003-24) State agency · May 2024
Permits checklist
1 denied · 1 pending · 4 granted
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ✕Federal Clean Air Act exemption DeniedU.S. EPA · March 2025: requested by Novva; no response, so not granted (CEO says) News report · March 2025
- ◷Air permit upgrade PendingUtah Division of Air Quality · Feb. 24, 2026: company says it is working on one; no new notice found News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Air approval order, 72 gas engines GrantedUtah Division of Air Quality · Dec. 19, 2024: makes the campus a Title V major source; 47 tons of NOx offsets bought State agency · Dec. 2024
- ✓Fuel-cell small source exemption GrantedUtah Division of Air Quality · July 11, 2025: Bloom Energy bridge power State agency · July 2025
- ✓Temporary diesel engine concurrence GrantedUtah Division of Air Quality · Aug. 26, 2025: up to 7 rented nonroad engines for commissioning and black start, under 12 months State agency · Aug. 2025
- ✓Power plant subdivision (2 lots, 27.65 acres) GrantedWest Jordan Planning Commission · Jan. 7, 2025: preliminary approval for the gas plant parcel; final plat and site plan are staff-level approvals News report · Jan. 2025
What could slow it down
- HighGrid power short until 2031 (press)The utility reportedly cannot meet full demand until 2031, so growth depends on on-site gas and fuel cells. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumGas plant behind scheduleThe engines were still under construction in Aug. 2026, after press expected operation in early 2026. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumAir permit and emissionsThe gas plant is a Title V major source (carbon monoxide and hazardous air pollutants), with nitrogen oxides capped at 51 tons a year. Local government · Aug. 2026
- WatchTenants undisclosedLease terms and tenant names are not public. Company · March 2025
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- July 22, 2020Site State officials announce Novva is building a 380,000 sq ft data center in West Jordan. News report · July 2020
- Sept. 2021Construction Phase 1 begins operating (company says since 2021). Local government · Aug. 2026
- 2023Money Campus fully leased to a global tech company (company says). Company · March 2025
- Dec. 2023Construction Phase 2 construction begins; Phase 3 follows in Jan. 2024. Company · March 2025
- Dec. 19, 2024Permits State air regulators approve 72 on-site gas engines. State agency · Dec. 2024
- Jan. 7, 2025Permits City planning commission gives preliminary approval to the power plant subdivision. News report · Jan. 2025
- March 5, 2025Money Novva and CIM announce a $2B construction loan. Company · March 2025
- July 11, 2025Power Bloom fuel cells get a state exemption as bridge power. State agency · July 2025
- 2026Construction Company's target for completing Phases 2 and 3. Company · March 2025
- Feb. 24, 2026Legal Press reports Novva asked EPA for a diesel exemption and got no answer. News report · March 2025
- Aug. 18, 2026Construction Gas plant still under construction. Local government · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Title V major source: gas plant caps: NOx 51 tons a year (47 tons offset), CO 203 tons a year Local government · Aug. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Novva Data Centers: developer and operator
- CIM Group: co-founder and equity backer
- Novva SLC Common LLC: air permit holder
- J.P. Morgan and Starwood Property Trust: $2B loan
- Bloom Energy: fuel-cell bridge power
- INNIO Jenbacher: gas engine maker
- Utah Division of Air Quality: air permits
- City of West Jordan: land use
- Rocky Mountain Power: electric utility
Open questions
- When the gas plant starts running.
- Tenant names and lease terms.
- Whether grid power from the utility arrives before 2031.
135 records from 18 documents
Drawn from company statements, state agency records, news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets, our own analysis and utility regulator dockets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (34)
- Bloom Energy obtained a UDAQ small source exemption for solid oxide fuel cell Energy Servers at the campus, bridge power while the Jenbacher prime fleet is fabricated“Bloom Energy recently obtained a small source permit exemption from UDAQ on July 11th for this installation”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 27.3 MW“One 'stamp' is equal to 2.275MW. Two-500kW engine operation during commissioning is only required for the first 12-stamps, or for the first 27.3MW”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade A
- County code: Salt Lake County, UT (49035)“Novva West Jordan Power Generation is located North of Old Bingham Highway at approximately 6524 West (west of Mountain View Corridor)”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- Jurisdiction: Land use: City of West Jordan (M-1 zone; data-center site plans are staff-level approvals). Air quality: Utah Division of Air Quality (state NSR under R307-401; state preempts local air regulation). Electri“The Site Plan is a staff level approval in the M-1 Zone”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- Announced: Nov. 17, 2024“The source is requesting to install 72 new natural gas-fired IC engines which will power generators providing primary power for the site's two new data center buildings.”State agency · Nov. 2024 · grade A
- EIA registration status: Not listed in EIA-860M (Aug 2026) under any sheet; no EIA plant ID; not a CAMPD facility“Inventory of Operating Generators as of August 2026”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Negative observation for the permitted prime plant: in an Aug 22, 2025 letter to the Utah DAQ director, Bloom Energy states the 72-engine prime power generators approved under AO DAQE-AN160660003-24 were still being fabr“While those prime power generators are being fabricated, the site has contracted with Bloom Energy to provide power”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 200 MW“Utility Power | 200MW future capacity at substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Grid operator: none (WECC / PacifiCorp balancing area)“POWER Grid + gas engines. Rocky Mountain Power via a dedicated 1.5-mile transmission line”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 200 MW“Utility Power 200MW future capacity at substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 200 MW“Centralized and secure on-campus 200MW substation with N+1 redundancy”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Water use: approx. 4.7 million gallons/year (company-reported 2025 average 394,667 gallons/month); air-cooled waterless cooling design“Novva uses ~394,667 gallons/month (4.7 million gallons/year) — the same as 26 homes”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- The 72-engine gas plant remained under construction as of Aug 2026 (Spanish Fork packet compiled from the DAQ file), past the Feb 2026 press expectation of operation 'in the coming months'“72 natural-gas reciprocating engines, ~236 MW, permitted as primary power — under construction”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Novva's Utah page lists 15MW-30MW of on-site solar power; no permit, interconnection or construction record for a solar array at the campus was located, so solar is NOT booked in mw generation onsite“Sustainability 15MW - 30MW on site solar power, waterless cooling”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Permitted emissions at the gas plant: NOx 51 t/yr, CO 203 t/yr, VOC 48 t/yr, PM2.5 31 t/yr and roughly 1.0M t CO2e/yr, figures third parties now cite when benchmarking other Utah data-center permits“CARBON ~1.0M t CO2e/yr permitted at ~236 MW of gas engines”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Rocky Mountain Power (PacifiCorp)“Rocky Mountain Power via a dedicated 1.5-mile transmission line; utility can't supply the full need until 2031 (CEO, Feb 2026)”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 236 MW“72 natural-gas reciprocating engines, ~236 MW, permitted as primary power — under construction”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 77 MW“BACKUP 37 diesel generators, ~77 MW, eleven 8,000-gal tanks”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: operating (Phase 1) + building (Phases 2-3 buildings and on-site gas plant)“NOVVA · WEST JORDAN (OPERATING SINCE 2021)”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: Operating base (Phase 1, since Sep 2021) with expansion buildings completing 2026 and the on-site gas plant under construction“72 natural-gas reciprocating engines, ~236 MW, permitted as primary power — under construction”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: hybrid: RMP grid (constrained) + on-site gas prime power + Bloom fuel-cell bridge“These generators are being installed due to the lack of availability of grid power for the site”Analysis · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 175 MW“When completed, the Salt Lake City data center campus will span a total of one million square feet and feature 175MW of capacity”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 72 MW“Phase 2 of the project began construction in December 2023 and will feature the campus’s second 318,000-square-foot data center, which will have the capacity to produce 72MW of critical IT load”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 72 MW“Phase 3 started construction in January 2024 and will also feature a 318,000-square-foot data center with 72MW critical IT capacity”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 175 MW“Phase 2 will feature the campus's second 318,000-square-foot data center, which will have the capacity to produce 72MW of critical IT load”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 72 MW“Phase 2 of the project began construction in December 2023 and will feature the campus's second 318,000-square-foot data center, which will have the capacity to produce 72MW of critical IT load”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 72 MW“Phase 3 started construction in January 2024 and will also feature a 318,000-square-foot data center with 72MW critical IT capacity”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 30 MW“Critical IT Power 30 MW critical IT load”Company · Oct. 2024 · grade B
- Novva's Mar 2025 EPA exemption application (as reported) states Rocky Mountain Power cannot provide the full electricity the site needs until 2031, and even then not guaranteed, the driver of the entire on-site power st“Rocky Mountain Power, the local utility, was not able to provide the full amount of energy that the data center needed until 2031”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: 200 MW“Locked out of options with Rocky Mountain, Novva decided to build its own natural gas plant near its data center to provide 200 megawatts of power.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Rocky Mountain Power could not provide the full energy the campus needs until 2031, and even then not guaranteed - the driver for the on-site gas plant (Grist)“Rocky Mountain Power, the local utility, was not able to provide the full amount of energy that the data center needed until 2031 — and even then it wasn’t guaranteed.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Novva gas plant expected operational in the coming months as of Feb 2026 reporting; company working on upgrading its state air quality permit“Novva’s natural gas plant is expected to be operational in the coming months. The company is currently working on upgrading its state air quality permit.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Mar 2025: Novva asked EPA for a two-year presidential Clean Air Act exemption to run 96 diesel generators without limits while finishing its gas plant; CEO later said no response and no exemption granted (Grist, records-“Novva sought a two-year exemption to run 96 diesel generators without any limits while it finishes construction of its natural gas plant, which already has approval from the Utah Department of Environmental Quality.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- Original target date: 2021“The first phase, currently under construction, consists of a substation and a 300,000-sf Data Center Hall, and an additional 80,000 sf of office space. The data center will be available for client deployments in early 2021”News report · July 2020 · grade C
Money and contracts (29)
- bridge power contract: execution Contracted solid oxide fuel cell Energy Servers to supply power while the permitted prime-power generators are being fabricated“While those prime power generators are being fabricated, the site has contracted with Bloom Energy to provide power from the operation of solid oxide fuel cell Energy Servers”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade A
- bridge power contract: scope Energy Servers installed in tranches ('stamps' of 2.275 MW); the first 12 stamps (27.3 MW) are the documented commissioning scope; total contracted capacity not disclosed“Bloom Energy plans to install its Energy Servers in tranches, accordingly, it will require additional power to accommodate black starts”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: existence Executed development agreement exists; referenced by city staff as the instrument requiring the power-generation subdivision. Executed text and terms are not in the public packet.“In addition to this subdivision which is required by a development agreement, staff is currently reviewing a Site Plan for a Power Generation Station”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: scope Covers the Novva West Jordan Power Generation parcel at 6524 W Old Bingham Hwy (Lots 5-6; power generation use on Lot 5, next to the campus substation)“Lot 5 has access to 6600 West, and Lot 6 will have access to both 6600 West and Old Bingham Highway”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- Name: Novva West Jordan Campus“Our flagship data center is the largest data center in Utah, spanning 100 acres with 1.5 million square feet of purpose-built data center space”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site area: 100 acres“100 acre campus with over 1.5 million square feet of data center space”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- utility service: termination FINDING: no electric service agreement, ESA or PSC-filed large-load service contract naming Novva was located in the public record, so minimum-billing and termination terms are not observable“Application of Rocky Mountain Power for Approval of a Large-Load Service Contract between PacifiCorp and a Large-Load Customer”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- $2B construction financing from J.P. Morgan and Starwood Property Trust closed to complete Phases 2-3, reported as one of the largest data-center construction loans of its year“they recently closed a new commitment of $2 billion in financing from J.P. Morgan and Starwood Property Trust”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- bridge power contract: term FINDING: contract term, price and termination provisions are not disclosed in the UDAQ file documents opened“Please note that Bloom's Energy Servers (i.e. fuel cells) may remain at the site for longer than 12 months in accordance with the recent small source exemption”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Tenant status: Phase 1 fully leased (2023); SLC East building fully leased (May 1, 2025); SLC North marketed multi-tenant“Site Development Category: 1. Wholesale Data Center Fully Leased 05/01/2025”Company · May 2025 · grade B
- Site acres: 100 acres“The new financing will allow Novva to complete the second and third phases of construction of its 100-acre data center campus located in the Salt Lake City suburb of West Jordan, Utah.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Tenant status: fully leased 2023 to a leading global tech company (unnamed)“The campus was fully leased in 2023 to a leading global tech company.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Developer: Novva Data Centers“CIM Group and Novva Data Centers announced today that they recently closed a new commitment of $2 billion in financing”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Tenants: unnamed leading global tech company / hyperscaler (identity not disclosed)“The campus was fully leased in 2023 to a leading global tech company”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- construction financing: financing commitment 2000000000 USD“announced today that they recently closed a new commitment of $2 billion in financing from J.P. Morgan and Starwood Property Trust to complete the build-out of Novva’s flagship 175MW Salt Lake City data center.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- lease: full-campus lease“The campus was fully leased in 2023 to a leading global tech company.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- phase delivery: delivery 72 MW critical IT (Phase 2)“Phase 2 of the project began construction in December 2023 and will feature the campus's second 318,000-square-foot data center, which will have the capacity to produce 72MW of critical IT load and is expected to be fully complete by 2026.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- phase delivery: delivery 72 MW critical IT (Phase 3)“Phase 3 started construction in January 2024 and will also feature a 318,000-square-foot data center with 72MW critical IT capacity, and is expected to be complete in 2026.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- construction financing: execution 2000000000 USD“announced today that they recently closed a new commitment of $2 billion in financing from J.P. Morgan and Starwood Property Trust to complete the build-out of Novva's flagship 175MW Salt Lake City data center”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- construction financing: scope Completes Phases 2 and 3 of the West Jordan campus: two 318,000 sq ft buildings with 72 MW critical IT capacity each; campus totals ~1M sq ft and 175 MW on completion“The new financing will allow Novva to complete the second and third phases of construction of its 100-acre data center campus located in the Salt Lake City suburb of West Jordan, Utah”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- construction financing: term FINDING: loan term, interest rate, covenants and termination/prepayment provisions are not disclosed in the public release or any other public document located“J.P. Morgan acted as Lead Arranger and Starwood Property Trust acted as Arranger for the financing”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- hyperscaler lease (Phase 1): execution Campus fully leased in 2023 to a leading global tech company (company statement); tenant identity undisclosed“The campus was fully leased in 2023 to a leading global tech company”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- hyperscaler lease (Phase 1): term FINDING: lease term, rent, minimum-billing/take-or-pay and termination clauses are not disclosed in any public document located“The first phase of the campus began operations in 2023 and has become well-known for its design and engineering aspects”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- development agreement: termination FINDING: no termination, cancellation, clawback or incentive-recapture clause for the development agreement is stated in any public document located; the executed agreement is not publi“staff is currently reviewing a Site Plan for a Power Generation Station (Natural Gas Power Station) that is being constructed to provide electricity for a Data Center”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- wholesale lease (SLC East building): execution SLC East building fully leased as of May 1, 2025 (Novva OCP Ready self-assessment); tenant identity undisclosed“Site Development Category: 1. Wholesale Data Center Fully Leased 05/01/2025”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- federal exemption request: scope Two-year exemption from Clean Air Act limits to run diesel generators without limits as interim power while the natural gas plant is finished“Novva sought a two-year exemption to run 96 diesel generators without any limits while it finishes construction of its natural gas plant”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- federal exemption request: outcome Not granted: the company received no response from EPA (CEO statement to the Salt Lake Tribune and Grist)“company CEO Wes Swenson told The Salt Lake Tribune and Grist that he never heard back from the feds and wasn't granted the exemption”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- utility service: condition RMP was not able to provide the full amount of energy the data center needed until 2031, and even then delivery was not guaranteed (per press reporting of Novva's exemption application and CEO“Rocky Mountain Power, the local utility, was not able to provide the full amount of energy that the data center needed until 2031 — and even then it wasn't guaranteed”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- sponsor equity commitment: execution 450000000 USD“The infusion of funds brings the total equity CIM has committed to the expansion in the past two years to $450M”News report · June 2022 · grade C
Permits and government (22)
- Utah DAQ issued Approval Order DAQE-AN160660003-24 for the 72-engine on-site prime power plant, the permit that unlocks the Phases 2-3 expansion“The project received AO DAQE-AN160660003-24 approving the addition of new prime power generators as part of a planned expansion, on December 19, 2024”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 6477 Wells Park Rd, West Jordan, UT 84081“requesting an exemption from permitting for the use of nonroad engines at the Novva Data Center site located at 6477 Wells Park Road, West Jordan, Utah 84081”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade A
- air quality nonroad engine exemption: UDAQ concurrence issued: no Approval Order required for portable nonroad engines“The request covered the use of up to seven nonroad engines for comissoning and black start purposes; specifically, four Caterpillar 3516B ENGINE units and three Volvo TWD1672GE units”State agency · Aug. 2025 · grade A
- air quality small source exemption: Small source permit exemption obtained (Bloom Energy fuel-cell installation)“Bloom Energy recently obtained a small source permit exemption from UDAQ on July 11th for this installation”State agency · July 2025 · grade A
- land use subdivision: Preliminary major subdivision approved (2 lots, approx. 27.65 acres), Novva West Jordan Power Generation“staff recommends that the Planning Commission approve the Preliminary Major Subdivision for Novva West Jordan Power Generation located on approximately 27.65 acres at 6524 West Old Bingham Highway”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- West Jordan Planning Commission: Item 7: Novva West Jordan Power Generation; 6524 West Old Bingham Highway; Major Subdivision (2 lots on approx. 27.65 acres); M-1 Zone; applicant Novva Data Centers / Chandler Swenson (#3“In addition to this subdivision which is required by a development agreement, staff is currently reviewing a Site Plan for a Power Generation Station (Natural Gas Power Station) that is being constructed to provide electricity for a Data Center”Local government · Jan. 2025 · grade A
- air quality Approval Order: Approval Order issued“The project received AO DAQE-AN160660003-24 approving the addition of new prime power generators as part of a planned expansion, on December 19, 2024”State agency · Dec. 2024 · grade A
- Permittee entity: Novva SLC Common, LLC“Company Name: Novva SLC Common, LLC. Location: Novva SLC Common, LLC. – 6524 W. Old Bingham Highway, West Jordan, UT”State agency · Nov. 2024 · grade A
- air quality Approval Order: intent to approve issued for 30-day public comment“Novva has requested to expand power generation at its existing West Jordan Data Center. The source is requesting to install 72 new natural gas-fired IC engines”State agency · Nov. 2024 · grade A
- air quality NSR (NOI): Intent to Approve published; 30-day public comment period opened“The source is requesting to install 72 new natural gas-fired IC engines which will power generators providing primary power for the site's two new data center buildings”State agency · Nov. 2024 · grade A
- air quality Title V applicability: Source reclassified as major CO/HAP source subject to Title V“This project will reclassify the source as a major Carbon monoxide and Hazardous air pollutant(s) source subject to Title V”State agency · Nov. 2024 · grade A
- air quality Notice of Intent: submitted May 30, 2024 - diesel emergency engine and tank updates“a second change was requested under a separate Notice of Intent submitted on May 30, 2024 which covered multiple updates in both the diesel-fired emergency engine generators and diesel storage tanks.”State agency · May 2024 · grade A
- air quality NSR (NOI): NOI submitted (referenced in DAQE-NN160660003-24)“a second change was requested under a separate Notice of Intent submitted on May 30, 2024 which covered multiple updates in both the diesel-fired emergency engine generators and diesel storage tanks”State agency · May 2024 · grade A
- Approval Order: Approval Order issued“The project received AO DAQE-AN160660003-24 approving the addition of new prime power generators as part of a planned expansion, on December 19, 2024”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Air permit status: Title V major source (CO and HAP) after the Dec 2024 approval order; permitted caps NOx 51 t/yr (with 47 tpy NOx offsets), CO 203 t/yr, VOC 48 t/yr, PM2.5 31 t/yr“AIR PERMIT Title V major source · NOx 51 t/yr (bought 47 t of offsets) · CO 203 · VOC 48 · PM2.5 31”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- Spanish Fork City Council: Volition data-center proposal packet benchmarking Novva West Jordan's DAQ permit terms (72 engines, ~236 MW, Title V caps) against the proposed Spanish Fork project“Sources (captured Aug 18, 2026): Utah DAQ Approval Order DAQE-AN160660003-24 (Dec 19, 2024) · novva.com Utah page (posted water bills) · CIM Group release Mar 5, 2025”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- Novva asked the Trump EPA for a two-year presidential exemption from Clean Air Act limits to run diesel generators as interim power; no response was received and the exemption was not granted“We ask that you provide this exemption to assist in ensuring the United States' Al supremacy”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utah DAQ told reporters it was not aware of Novva's federal exemption attempt, which sought to bypass the state permit caps the agency administers“A spokesperson for Utah's air quality regulator said the agency wasn't aware of Novva's attempt to obtain relief from federal regulations”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Company is working on upgrading its state air quality permit; an updated permit would likely allow increased emissions (Grist, Feb 2026). No new intent-to-approve for Novva was located on the DAQ portal as of this captur“The company is currently working on upgrading its state air quality permit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- air quality permits (as reported): permits received with emission caps; diesel operation limited to 42 hours/year“They capped the volume of emissions the gas-fired generators could produce, and the diesel generators could only be operated 42 hours a year.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- federal Clean Air Act exemption: Presidential exemption requested; not granted“We ask that you provide this exemption to assist in ensuring the United States' Al supremacy”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- West Jordan Planning Commission: Item 7: Novva - WJ Power Generation preliminary major subdivision (hearing outcome)“The commission voted to approve the preliminary major subdivision after a motion by Commissioner Hatch and a second by Commissioner Hollingsworth”News report · Jan. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (10)
- Site address: 6477 Wells Park Rd, West Jordan, UT 84081“6477 Wells Park Rd, West Jordan, UT 84081”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- City of West Jordan publicly promotes the expansion; Mayor Dirk Burton calls Novva 'good neighbors'; city cites property-tax value with under 200 employees“I am excited about NOVVA's expansion in West Jordan, Mayor Dirk Burton said. They are good neighbors”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Novva Data Centers“Novva Data Centers, a state-of-the-art data center company providing purpose-built facilities across the Western U.S.”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Project status: building - expansion phases 2 and 3 under construction; phase 1 operational since 2023“The first phase of the campus began operations in 2023”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Owner sponsor: CIM Group (co-founder and equity backer)“Founded in 2019 by CIM Group and Novva's management team, Novva has moved quickly to bring its vision of purpose-built, sustainable data centers to life”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Current target date: 2026“Phase 2 is expected to be fully complete by 2026. Phase 3 is expected to be complete in 2026”Company · March 2025 · grade B
- Building slc east: SLC East (expansion building): 6381 Wells Park Rd; 132,000 sq ft white space; wholesale, fully leased May 1, 2025“Wholesale Data Center Fully Leased 05/01/2025”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Building slc north: SLC North (Phase 1 building): 6477 Wells Park Rd; 200,000 sq ft white space; multi-tenant“Data Center Location Name Novva SLC North Data Center Location Address 6477 Wells Park Rd, West Jordan, UT 84081”Company · Oct. 2024 · grade B
- County code: 49035“The city of West Jordan is located in Salt Lake County.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First announced: July 22, 2020“The Utah Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED) and the Economic Development Corporation of Utah (EDCUtah) are pleased to announce that Novva, Inc. is building a 380,000 square-foot (sf) multi-tenant data center in West Jordan”News report · July 2020 · grade C