Power and the grid
160 MW contracted
- Backup diesel generators (40 installed) Permitted100 MW; emergency only; the permit bars peak shaving and grid supply State agency · March 2025
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- June 23, 2023Utility files for approvalThe utility asks the state to approve the QTS discounted rate contract and the dedicated 230 kV line. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- June 2024State approvesThe Public Utilities Commission approves the contract as conditioned and grants a certificate for the line, which QTS pays for. News report · Oct. 2026
- The contract runs at least ten years and gives QTS a confidential percentage discount off standard transmission rates. Utility regulator · June 2024
Backup generators on file
Emergency units only; they are not a power supply for the campus.
- Air construction permit Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment - Air… · 22AR0210 (Issuance 2) · issued (Issuance 2) · March 7, 2025Construction permit for QTS DEN1 emergency generators (GEN1-GEN40, Kohler KD2500 / MTU / CAT options) issued to QTS Aurora, LLC at 1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora, Arapahoe County; AIRS ID 005-1777. Permit covers the 40… State agency · March 2025
Permits checklist
2 pending · 4 granted
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ◷Air permit change for 98 more generators PendingColorado Air Pollution Control Division · July 2025: under review, no issuance found as of Oct. 2026; a 30-day public comment period is expected News report · July 2026
- ◷State compliance review of construction PendingColorado Air Pollution Control Division · July 2026: opened after a news inquiry to check that construction activity fits air rules News report · July 2026
- ✓Power contract at a discounted rate GrantedColorado Public Utilities Commission · June 2024: 10-year minimum term; the discount is confidential News report · June 2024
- ✓Certificate for the 230 kV line GrantedColorado Public Utilities Commission · June 2024: noise and magnetic fields found within reasonable limits Utility regulator · June 2024
- ✓Local construction permits GrantedCity of Aurora · Feb. 2025: per a QTS spokesperson (press) News report · July 2026
- ✓Air permit for 40 emergency generators GrantedColorado Air Pollution Control Division · March 7, 2025: emergency use only, each engine capped at 500 hours a year, no peak shaving or grid supply State agency · March 2025
What could slow it down
- HighGenerator expansion fightThe request for 98 more diesel generators sits in a severe ozone nonattainment area, and the NRDC and residents oppose it; the state has not issued it. News report · July 2026
- MediumNew city rules comingAurora's council voted against a pause but told staff to write data center rules on cooling and buffers; they would apply to future developments. News report · Sept. 2026
- MediumState compliance reviewState air officials said they would check whether construction activity complies with air rules. see Permits
- WatchConfidential discountThe approved rate discount is confidential, so what other ratepayers carry is not visible. News report · Oct. 2024
Money on record
$28M QTS payment for the dedicated 230 kV line (press report; the line is owned and run by the utility). News report · Oct. 2024
What happened, and what is due
- May 2022Site QTS lists a Denver campus with 177 MW of critical power on 67 acres (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- June 23, 2023Power Xcel Energy's Colorado utility asks state regulators to approve the QTS discounted power contract and a customer-funded 230 kV line Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- July 25, 2023Permits The state air division issues the first permit for the emergency diesel generators State agency · Oct. 2026
- June 2024Power The Colorado Public Utilities Commission approves the power contract and grants a certificate for the transmission line News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 2025Construction Aurora issues local construction permits (press) News report · July 2026
- March 7, 2025Permits The generator permit is reissued for 40 emergency engines with operating limits State agency · Oct. 2026
- July 2025Permits QTS applies to add 98 diesel generators, taking the fleet from 40 to 138 units News report · July 2026
- July 8, 2026Legal Environmental groups and residents oppose the generator request; the state promises a 30-day public comment period News report · July 2026
- Aug. 10, 2026Permits Aurora City Council declines a development pause and directs staff to draft data center rules; existing campuses are not paused News report · Sept. 2026
Since Sept. 2026: 1 FAA filing (Sept. 2026): a 300 ft crane. FAA · Sept. 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- QTS Aurora, LLC: facility owner and air permit holder
- QTS Aurora Infrastructure, LLC: customer on the power contract
- Blackstone: owner of QTS since 2021 (press)
- Public Service Company of Colorado (Xcel Energy): serving utility, builds the 230 kV line
- Colorado Public Utilities Commission: power contract and line
- Colorado Air Pollution Control Division: generator permits
- Aurora City Council: land use and future data center rules
Open questions
- Outcome and timing of the generator permit change.
- Whether the campus has any tenants.
- How much of the 160 MW is energized today.
100 records from 13 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records and utility regulator dockets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (20)
- On-site generation: 100 MW“These engines are designated as an emergency power generator, and therefore must only be operated to provide back-up power to the facility”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Backup generators: 40 units“GEN1-GEN40, points 001-040: diesel-fueled internal combustion emergency engines, Kohler KD2500 and options, NSPS Subpart IIII Tier 2”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Utility service: 160 MW“with an average estimated total load of approximately 160 MW at full capacity (ramped into over a period of five to ten years)”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- Power plan: grid“Public Service will construct, own, and operate a dedicated, doublecircuit 230 kilovolt transmission line and associated transmission facilities fully funded by QTS”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- Utility: Public Service Company of Colorado (Xcel Energy)“Public Service Company of Colorado (Public Service or Company) filed an Application for Approval of a Non-Standard Economic Development Rate (EDR) Contract”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“with an average estimated total load of approximately 160 MW at full capacity (ramped into over a period of five to ten years)”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- Jurisdiction: City of Aurora (land use and building permits); CDPHE APCD (air permits); Colorado PUC (rate and transmission); Arapahoe County (property tax)“QTS received local construction permits in February 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- QTS adds its Denver Data Center Campus (1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora) to its website: 177 MW of critical power capacity planned on 67 acres.“The company says it plans to offer 177MWs of critical power capacity on 67 acres of land at 1160 N. Gun Club Rd, Aurora, Colorado”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The customer-funded double-circuit 230 kV line is reported capable of supporting almost 1,000 MW of transfer capacity - utility headroom far above the 160 MW EDR load. NOT booked as campus MW (signals only, per brief).“The line is capable of supporting almost 1,000 megawatts of transfer capacity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site location: Eastern edge of Aurora, south of Denver International Airport“On the eastern edge of Aurora, QTS, a leading data center developer, is rapidly transforming a 65-acre property south of Denver International Airport.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 65 acres“On the eastern edge of Aurora, QTS, a leading data center developer, is rapidly transforming a 65-acre property south of Denver International Airport.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Developer: QTS Data Centers“QTS, a leading data center developer, is rapidly transforming a 65-acre property south of Denver International Airport”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: not stated“While we don't disclose specific power capacity for security and confidentiality reasons, our projects go through all the appropriate reviews”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Backup generators count applied: 138 units“it plans to add 98 diesel backup generators to its fleet of 40 hulking engines already installed at the Aurora campus”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Backup fleet of 40 diesel generators installed, with 98 more proposed (138 total); CPR notes the full fleet could output around 345 MW - a press estimate of backup capacity only“The full set of 138 generators could output around 345 megawatts of electricity, more than twice the reported energy appetite of the Aurora facility.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- QTS applies to CDPHE to add 98 SCR-equipped diesel generators (fleet 40 to 138 units, ~345 MW) and raise testing hours; application still under review a year later with a public comment period pending.“Colorado air regulators are currently reviewing the QTS application to modify its pollution permit”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Developer: QTS (Quality Technology Services)“extend to a new substation on the data center campus being developed by Quality Technology Services (QTS)”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
- Utility: Xcel Energy“Adams County commissioners on Feb. 25 approved an Xcel Energy permit to build a roughly 1.3-mile overhead transmission line”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
- IT capacity: 177 MW“The company says it plans to offer 177MWs of critical power capacity on 67 acres of land at 1160 N. Gun Club Rd, Aurora, Colorado, 80018.”News report · June 2022 · grade C
- IT capacity: 177 MW“The company says it plans to offer 177MWs of critical power capacity on 67 acres of land at 1160 N. Gun Club Rd, Aurora, Colorado”News report · May 2022 · grade C
Money and contracts (15)
- electric service agreement (EDR): term minimum 10 years“QTS has committed to taking electric service from the Company for a minimum of ten years”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- electric service agreement (EDR): rate discount“subject to receiving a percentage discount off standard base rates under Schedule Transmission General (TG)”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- electric service agreement (EDR): condition, EDR eligibility found (HB18-1271 economic development rate)“The Recommended Decision finds that QTS is eligible to receive an EDR, approves the EDR”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- electric service agreement (EDR): termination, FINDING: no termination, cancellation or early-exit clause is stated in the public decision; the EDR contract itself is not public“The Non-Standard Economic Development Rate Customer Service Agreement between Public Service and QTS Aurora Infrastructure, LLC is approved as conditioned and clarified by this Recommended Decision”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- transmission construction agreement (TSA): scope, PSCo to construct, own and operate a dedicated double-circuit 230 kV transmission line and associated facilities (incl. on-site substation)“Public Service will construct, own, and operate a dedicated, doublecircuit 230 kilovolt transmission line and associated transmission facilities fully funded by QTS”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- transmission construction agreement (TSA): funding, transmission facilities fully funded by QTS (customer-funded)“a dedicated, doublecircuit 230 kilovolt transmission line and associated transmission facilities fully funded by QTS (QTS Transmission Facilities)”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- transmission construction agreement (TSA): CPCN, certificate granted for the QTS Transmission Facilities (no-CPCN determination denied)“It is found and concluded that the QTS Transmission Project is reasonable and in the public interest. Based thereupon, a CPCN will be granted”Utility regulator · June 2024 · grade B
- transmission construction agreement (TSA): condition, noise and EMF within reasonable limits, no mitigation required (37 dB(A) max; 150 mG)“the projected levels of audible noise and magnetic fields associated with the QTS Transmission Facilities are within reasonable limits and require no further mitigation”Utility regulator · 2024 · grade B
- electric service agreement (EDR): scope 160 MW“The facility is expected to consist of four individual data center buildings on an approximately 80-acre site, with an average estimated total load of approximately 160 MW at full capacity”Utility regulator · June 2023 · grade B
- Tenants: not stated“QTS also promises around-the-clock service for future customers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: No named tenant; wholesale/colocation capacity marketed by QTS“QTS also promises around-the-clock service for future customers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- development agreement: transmission line development agreement“voting 5-0 to grant the Areas and Activities of State Interest (ASI) permit RCU2024-8 and an associated development agreement”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
- electric service agreement (EDR): rate discount, FINDING: approved discount percentage is confidential and is not stated in any public document opened“The PUC-approved discount rate now offered by Xcel to QTS is confidential, so we can only speculate on what that rate is”News report · Oct. 2024 · grade C
- transmission construction agreement (TSA): cost 28000000 USD“QTS paid $28 million for a dual-circuit 230 kV line to connect their building to a nearby Xcel Energy substation”News report · Oct. 2024 · grade C
- regulatory approval: approval, Decision C24-0378 adopts R24-0168 and approves the EDR contract as conditioned“In a June 2024 decision, the PUC followed the 2018 law and approved a wellbelowmarket confidential rate for an expandable HDC - the Blackstoneowned QTS data center in Aurora”News report · June 2024 · grade C
Permits and government (21)
- CDPHE APCD issues construction permit 22AR0210 Issuance 1 (initial approval) for the DEN1 emergency generator fleet.“Issuance 1 July 25, 2023 Issued to Quality Technology Services. Initial Approval.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- CDPHE issues 22AR0210 Issuance 2: 40-genset fleet confirmed; MTU and CAT engine options added; permittee renamed to QTS Aurora, LLC.“Issued to QTS Aurora, LLC. Addition of MTU and CAT engines for use. Removal of self-certification requirements for already-installed and certified engines.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- air construction permit: issued (Issuance 2)“General Description: Emergency generators for data center”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- air construction permit: issued - initial approval“Issuance 1 July 25, 2023 Issued to Quality Technology Services. Initial Approval.”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- air construction permit: issued - modification“Permit Number: 22AR0210 (Issuance 2); Date Issued: 3/7/2025; Issued To: QTS Aurora, LLC; Facility Name: QTS DEN1”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- air construction permit: condition - operating limits“These engines are designated as an emergency power generator, and therefore must only be operated to provide back-up power to the facility when electric power is interrupted”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Public Service Company of Colorado files Proceeding 23A-0330E seeking approval of the QTS EDR contract and a CPCN determination for the customer-funded 230 kV transmission facilities.“On June 23, 2023, Public Service Company of Colorado (Public Service or Company) filed an Application for Approval of a Non-Standard Economic Development Rate (EDR) Contract”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- CDPHE permit 09EP1103) is a separate QTS campus - not booked in this folder.“Issued to: QTS Colorado Springs I, LLC; Facility Name: Building CXC01; Physical Location: 311 Rock Rimmon Blvd., Colorado Springs; County: El Paso”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- FAA obstruction evaluation (7460-1): Determined - No Hazard“ASN 2026-ANM-5848-OE: 330T Crane, Mobile Crane, 300 ft AGL, 5849 ft AMSL, 39.73257,-104.71378, Determined - No Hazard, submitted 2026-09-18”FAA · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Colorado PUC Decision C24-0378 approves the QTS EDR contract and grants a CPCN for the customer-funded transmission facilities.“In a June 2024 decision, the PUC followed the 2018 law and approved a wellbelowmarket confidential rate for an expandable HDC - the Blackstoneowned QTS data center in Aurora”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aurora City Council declines a data-center moratorium and directs staff to draft data-center regulations (evaporative-cooling ban, buffers); existing campuses including DEN1 are not paused.“The council voted against a six-month data center moratorium Wiles introduced in August”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Aurora City Council: Data-center moratorium vs. regulation: council declined to impose a development pause and directed the city manager/staff to draft data-center regulations (evaporative-cooling prohibition, buffer zon“The council voted against a six-month data center moratorium Wiles introduced in August. It instead approved a resolution giving the city manager 30 days to bring back measures”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- air permit modification: application filed - under review, not issued“it plans to add 98 diesel backup generators to its fleet of 40 hulking engines already installed at the Aurora campus, according to a permit application submitted to state regulators in July 2025”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- building permits: issued“QTS received local construction permits in February 2025”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- air compliance review: agency compliance inquiry opened“They will investigate what activities have commenced and if those are in line with air regulations”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- After CPR News raised the question, APCD compliance officials said they would look into whether construction activity at the campus complies with state air quality rules; QTS says it is fully authorized under local const“They will investigate what activities have commenced and if those are in line with air regulations”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- QTS receives City of Aurora local construction permits; campus construction proceeds.“QTS received local construction permits in February 2025”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- A state legislative push to regulate data centers (renewables supply, tighter backup-generator standards, environmental-justice input) failed in the 2026 session.“her organization helped lead a failed push to regulate data centers in the last legislative session”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Aurora City Council (town hall hosted by Councilmember Amy Wiles): Town hall on data center development; QTS and Xcel Energy representatives attended and took resident questions on generator noise and pollution“Aurora City Councilperson Amy Wiles organized a town hall on data center development last month, and she said QTS representatives attended to discuss concerns from residents”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- air permit modification: modification application filed; under review, public comment period expected“It plans to add 98 diesel backup generators to its fleet of 40 hulking engines already installed at the Aurora campus, according to a permit application submitted to state regulators in July 2025.”News report · July 2025 · grade C
- Areas and Activities of State Interest (1041/ASI) permit: approved 5-0“voting 5-0 to grant the Areas and Activities of State Interest (ASI) permit RCU2024-8 and an associated development agreement”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (18)
- Campus name: QTS DEN1 (QTS Aurora-Denver Campus)“Facility Name: QTS DEN1; Issued To: QTS Aurora, LLC”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora, CO 80018“Physical Location: 1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County code: Arapahoe County, CO (08005)“County: Arapahoe County”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County code: 08005“County: Arapahoe County”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Site address: 1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora, CO“Physical Location: 1160 N Gun Club Rd, Aurora”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Operator: QTS Aurora, LLC“Issued To: QTS Aurora, LLC”State agency · March 2025 · grade A
- Site acres: 80 acres“The facility is expected to consist of four individual data center buildings on an approximately 80-acre site”Utility regulator · June 2023 · grade B
- Buildings planned: 4 buildings“The facility is expected to consist of four individual data center buildings on an approximately 80-acre site”Utility regulator · June 2023 · grade B
- Stage: building“One of three massive data centers is already complete, a second appears nearly finished and heavy machinery is now prepping a footprint for the third”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- nothing from it is booked here.“The campus is rising about four miles south of the proposed Trident facility”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Building count: 3 buildings“One of three massive data centers is already complete, a second appears nearly finished and heavy machinery is now prepping a footprint for the third.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Project status: building on track“One of three massive data centers is already complete, a second appears nearly finished and heavy machinery is now prepping a footprint for the third.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: DC1 complete (2025); DC2 under construction; DC3 site preparation under way“One of three massive data centers is already complete, a second appears nearly finished and heavy machinery is now prepping a footprint for the third”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“One of three massive data centers is already complete, a second appears nearly finished and heavy machinery is now prepping a footprint for the third”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Water cooling: Closed-loop cooling; about 2,400 gallons of water per day“The QTS facility uses about 2,400 gallons of water daily, according to Shonnie Cline, deputy director of Aurora Water”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Facility uses closed-loop cooling at about 2,400 gallons of water per day per Aurora Water - far below evaporative-cooling peers; relevant to Aurora large-water-user framework.“To comply, the QTS facility will rely on a closed-loop cooling system to prevent its servers from overheating”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- NRDC and Aurora residents oppose the generator expansion in a severe ozone nonattainment area; APCD commits to a 30-day public comment period on the modification.“The QTS Aurora expansion is a perfect example of why Colorado needs strong statewide data center guardrails”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Announced: May 2022“The company added a 'Denver Data Center Campus' to its website in late May, in an update first spotted by the Foundations newsletter.”News report · May 2022 · grade C