Data center profile · South Sanford, York County, Maine

Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus (Sanford, Maine)

Proposed 100 to 300 MW data center in South Sanford, Maine, to run entirely on fuel cells, solar and batteries, under a city moratorium.

Proposed, city moratorium. The developers told a legislative committee in Feb. 2026 the project would need no grid power. Sanford enacted an emergency data center moratorium in May 2026 and, per press, a 180-day moratorium on Aug. 4, 2026; no application found.
100 to 300 MW
data center size, developers say (press)
the developers' range; load type not stated
300 MW
hydrogen fuel cell plant planned on site (press)
generation for the campus, not grid power; the legislative committee briefing also mentions solar and batteries
1,060 acres
wooded site owned by the developer's family (press)
the data center is one part of a larger industrial campus
$2.16B
cumulative investment, per Sanford's city manager (press)
for the whole campus, not the data center alone
OperatorNorthern New England Energy Company (developer, per press)
CustomerNot named
Planned IT capacity185 MW at full build-out (our estimate from on-site generation)
Next deadlineJan. 29, 2027: Governor's data center advisory council due to deliver recommendations (state policy, not a project deadline)
Permits

Permits checklist

2 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.

Risks

Why it stopped, what could revive it

Power

Power and the grid

None energized or contracted yet

On-site hydrogen fuel cellsProposed
300 MW
developers say a 300 MW fuel cell plant; not built or permitted News report · Feb. 2026
Proposed
Other sources, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Money

Money on record

$2.16B cumulative campus investment (press) (per the city manager; whole campus). News report · Feb. 2026

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Feb. 19, 2026
    Site Developers present the campus, with a 300 MW fuel cell plant feeding a 100 to 300 MW data center, to a Maine legislative committee News report · Feb. 2026
  2. March 5, 2026
    Legal Legislative committee advances a statewide data center moratorium bill 8-5; the developer says it would kill the deal News report · March 2026
  3. April 24, 2026
    Legal Governor vetoes the statewide moratorium bill, and the House override fails 72-65 on Apr. 29 News report · April 2026
  4. May 5, 2026
    Permits Sanford City Council votes unanimously to bring an emergency data center moratorium forward News report · May 2026
  5. May 20, 2026
    Permits Sanford enacts a three-month moratorium on data centers while the city studies them News report · May 2026
  6. July 21, 2026
    Permits City council holds a hearing on a citizen-initiated 180-day moratorium Local government · July 2026
  7. Aug. 4, 2026
    Permits Council passes two moratoriums, one on data centers and one on biosolids (press) News report · Aug. 2026
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Developers
  • Randy Gibbs: co-developer; his family owns New England Energy Company and the land (press)
  • Walt Bussells: co-developer (press)
  • Northern New England Energy Company: named developer (press)
Decision-makers
  • Sanford City Council: moratorium votes
  • Maine Legislature and Gov. Mills: statewide moratorium bill, vetoed
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

73 records from 17 documents

Drawn from news reports, local government records and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 14Local government 2State agency 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (8)
  • On-site generation: 300 MW
    “The Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus would be powered by a 300-megawatt hydrogen fuel cell power plant that feeds electricity to a 100- to 300-megawatt data center”
  • Project name: Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus
    “The Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus would be powered by a 300-megawatt hydrogen fuel cell power plant”
  • Developer: Northern New England Energy Company (reported also as New England Energy Company), Randy Gibbs / Gibbs family
    “the moratorium would impact a proposed 100-300MW project being proposed by a developer, later named as the Northern New England Energy Company.”
  • Power strategy: Islanded on-site generation: hydrogen fuel cells (initially fueled by natural gas, transitioning to hydrogen within five years) supplemented by solar and battery storage; no power from the regional grid
    “power would not be drawn from the electric grid, but would be developed on-site through hydrogen fuel cells supplemented by solar, according to Harrington.”
  • Developer claim: no power from the regional electric grid would be needed because the entire campus would be self-powered (on-site fuel cells supplemented by solar and battery storage)
    “Gibbs and co-developer Walt Bussells say no power from the regional electric grid would be needed because the entire campus would be self-powered.”
  • The campus is designed to be islanded: per Sen; Harrington's disclosure, the developer briefed him on 'an energy generation project utilizing a mix of American-made fuel cells, solar power, and battery storage to produce
    “plans to develop an energy generation project utilizing a mix of American-made fuel cells, solar power, and battery storage to produce all of the electricity needed to serve a colocated data center”
  • Feb 19, 2026: Gibbs and Bussells presented the Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus - 300 MW hydrogen fuel cell plant feeding a 100-300 MW data center plus greenhouse and cold storage; ~$2.16B cumulative investm
    “The Sanford Woods Industrial and Technical Campus would be powered by a 300-megawatt hydrogen fuel cell power plant that feeds electricity to a 100- to 300-megawatt data center”
  • Sen. Harrington disclosed the previously unreported project in a moratorium work session and follow-up post: energy project (fuel cells, solar, storage) serving a colocated data center in Sanford
    “I was recently briefed by representatives of the Northern New England Energy Company about their plans to develop an energy generation project utilizing a mix of American-made fuel cells, solar power, and battery storage”
Money and contracts (6)
  • Maine's governor signed LD 713 prohibiting data center projects from the state's business development tax incentive programs - a standing economic headwind for this campus if it advances.
    “she signed LD713, which will prohibit data center projects from the State of Maine's business development tax incentive programs”
  • Randy Gibbs and his family have owned the South Sanford land for about 50 years; an oil refinery, a casino, an amusement park and a water theme park were all previously proposed for the site and none proceeded
    “Randy Gibbs, of New England Energy Company, and his family have owned the South Sanford land for about 50 years.”
  • Project status: announced only (conceptual; no site plan application, no DEP filing, no construction)
    “The development timetable provided by Gibbs indicated that marketing, choosing a data center partner, and arranging financing and permitting could take nearly two years.”
  • Investment stated: $2.16 billion cumulative campus investment (tally by Sanford City Manager Steve Buck)
    “Sanford City Manager Steve Buck has tallied the cumulative investment at about $2.16 billion”
  • The developer's own timetable put marketing, choosing a data center partner, and arranging financing and permitting at nearly two years, and Gibbs said he was "comforted" if the state rules goal is regulatory clarity - i
    “Gibbs said he is "comforted" if the goal of the rules is to create clarity in the regulatory environment.”
  • City Manager Steve Buck tallied cumulative campus investment at about $2.16 billion, an approx 80 percent increase in the city's total taxable value
    “Sanford City Manager Steve Buck has tallied the cumulative investment at about $2.16 billion”
Permits and government (19)
  • As of Oct 2026 the operative constraint on this campus is the CITY moratorium (emergency 90-day from May 2026, then the citizen-initiated 180-day ordinance whose final vote was Aug 4, 2026), not the vetoed state LD 307;
    “The ordinance will receive a second reading and final vote at the August 4 meeting.”
  • Sanford City Council:
    “The Council held a public hearing and first reading on a citizen-initiated ordinance establishing a 180-day moratorium on data centers pursuant to City Charter Section 1301.”
  • Sanford City Council:
    “the Council passed two separate moratoriums—one for data centers and one for biosolids processing.”
  • city data center moratorium (emergency / local pause): local pause approved (reported Jun 2026)
    “at least four municipalities in southern Maine have recently approved local pauses on data center proposals, including Scarborough, Sanford, and Westbrook.”
  • Southern Maine municipalities moved to local pauses after the state veto and polling showed broad unease; a 2026 Maine Senate candidate profile records support for "the Sanford City Council's emergency moratorium" - corr
    “Maine towns are responding to Governor Janet Mills' veto of a statewide data center moratorium by pursuing restrictions of their own.”
  • Sanford City Council:
    “Sanford enacted its own three-month moratorium in May while the city studies data centers and develops appropriate guidelines.”
  • Sanford City Council:
    “The Sanford City Council voted unanimously Tuesday to bring forward an emergency moratorium on data center development at their next meeting, May 20.”
  • Maine House of Representatives:
    “On April 29 the House voted 72–65 to override, short of the two-thirds needed, so the veto was sustained and the bill died.”
  • LD 307 would have barred acceptance/approval of applications for data centers >=: Statewide data center moratorium PASSED both chambers but VETOED by Gov. Mills Apr 24, 2026; veto override failed - NO moratorium is in fo
    “LD307 passed through both houses, receiving support from the House of Representatives in April and the Senate on April 14”
  • state data center moratorium bill: vetoed Apr 24, 2026; override failed Apr 29, 2026 - bill died
    “The Governor of Maine, Janet Mills, has vetoed a bill that would have enacted the first statewide moratorium on data centers in the US.”
  • Maine Senate:
    “The Senate passed the bill to be enacted 21–13 on April 14, 2026.”
  • LD 307 (Rep. Melanie Sachs), as amended, prohibits approval for the development,: data center moratorium bill (>=20 MW until Nov. 2027) passed the House; would bar approval of this campus
    “to prohibit "approval for the development, construction or operation of a data center with a load of 20 megawatts or more" anywhere in the state until November 2027”
  • LD 307 as amended would impose a moratorium on development of new data centers >: moratorium bill advanced by committee 8-5
    “The bill, LD 307, includes an amendment imposing a moratorium on the development of any new data centers in Maine well into next year. The committee approved the amended bill, 8 to 5”
  • state data center moratorium bill (temporary limitation, 20 MW+): committee approved amended bill 8-5
    “The bill, LD 307, includes an amendment imposing a moratorium on the development of any new data centers in Maine well into next year. The committee approved the amended bill, 8 to 5”
  • Mar 5, 2026: the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee approved LD 307 as amended (moratorium on new data centers well into next year + study council) 8-5, sending it to the full Legislature; Harrington said the bil
    “The bill, LD 307, includes an amendment imposing a moratorium on the development of any new data centers in Maine well into next year. The committee approved the amended bill, 8 to 5”
  • Maine Legislature - Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee:
    “The committee approved the amended bill, 8 to 5, moving it along now to the full Maine Legislature for a vote.”
  • Gibbs told the EUT Committee work session that passage of the state moratorium would kill the Sanford deal and its billions in investment; the project was described as well into planning and had met local officials and t
    “This moratorium's passage will kill this deal”
  • The Sanford project (Northern New England Energy Company; principals Randy Gibbs: no PUC docket, interconnection or ISO-NE queue entry - project is designed as islanded self-generation (framework finding)
    “plans to develop an energy generation project utilizing a mix of American-made fuel cells, solar power, and battery storage to produce all of the electricity needed to serve a colocated data center”
  • Maine Legislature - Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee:
    “co-developer Randy Gibbs told the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee of the Maine Legislature on Feb. 19.”
Site and other (5)
  • Site location: South Sanford, ME - 1,060-acre wooded site bisected by the Mousam River, land owned by New England Energy / the Gibbs family
    “The data center complex would be sited on a 1,060-acre site in south Sanford bisected by the Mousam River”
  • Campus program: Data center plus 50-acre industrial greenhouse, cold storage facility, and potentially advanced manufacturing, warehouse distribution and R&D uses
    “a 50-acre industrial greenhouse, a cold storage facility and potentially a range of other advance manufacturing, warehouse distribution and research and development businesses, Gibbs said.”
  • Water demand stated: Maximum 300,000 gallons per day for the combined campus (developer representatives, per committee reporting)
    “Company representatives say the maximum volume of water needed for the combined campus would be 300,000 gallons a day”
  • County code: 23031
    “saying the project was being targeted on land in Sanford, York County, some 35 miles (56.3km) southwest of Portland.”
  • Project status: proposed
    “An out-of-state company is seeking to build a new industrial complex - including an AI data center - on more than 1,000 acres of wooded land in South Sanford.”