Permits checklist
1 denied · 1 withdrawn · 2 granted · 4 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ✕Three-year special permit extension DeniedWestfield Planning Board · Oct. 13, 2026: the written decision was not yet in city records; a 20-day court appeal window was still open and no appeal was located News report · Oct. 2026
- ↩Grid interconnection WithdrawnEversource and ISO New England · Feb. 2022: Servistar left the site study; no interconnection agreement was ever signed News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓State Chapter 121A project approval GrantedMassachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development · Nov. 2021: approved with a regulatory agreement; any change to the project needs state approval Local government · Oct. 2026
- ✓Special permits and site plan (master plan, phase 1) GrantedWestfield Planning Board · Oct. 19, 2021: granted 7-0 in 2021, but never exercised; it lapsed on Oct. 19, 2026 Local government · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: State environmental review (MEPA), Wetlands order of conditions, Air permit for backup generators, Building permit
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighPermit lapsed, extension deniedWith the extension refused and the 2021 permit past its lapse date, nothing remains to revive. A new proposal would start from zero. News report · Oct. 2026
- HighMoratorium until about July 2027A citywide 12-month data center moratorium blocks a new application, and a councilor said any future plan must protect the city's water supply. News report · Sept. 2026
- MediumNew state conditionsA Sept. 2026 executive order bars state permits for data centers over 25 MW unless the developer follows the state framework and signs a community benefits agreement. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchDeveloper says it is ongoingDeveloper Erik Bartone told the board the project was continuing with grid work; this matches no permit, filing or land record. News report · Oct. 2026
Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- July 2021Grid request filedEversource's affiliate filed with federal regulators to connect 150 MW to the site, an interconnection request and not IT capacity (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 2022Servistar leaves the grid studyThe developer withdrew from the site study for the grid upgrades the campus needed. see Permits
- Not setPower contracts: noneNo interconnection agreement with Eversource and ISO New England and no supply contract with Westfield Gas and Electric was ever signed, though the city's agreement made construction conditional on the former. News report · Oct. 2026
- The campus was to be an independent customer of the city utility, islanded from its distribution system and fed from the transmission lines crossing the site. Company · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: city agreement had no build deadline: no clawback, no construction deadline, minimum investment, jobs floor or clawback, so five dormant years breached nothing Local government · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- May 18, 2021Paper trail Servistar Realties LLC registered in Massachusetts
- May 20, 2021Permits Servistar files its state Chapter 121A application (amended July 29, 2021) for a 10-building campus Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 19, 2021Permits Planning Board unanimously grants the special permits and site plan approval; construction of phase 1 must start within 3 years Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 21, 2021Permits City Council approves the tax-payment agreement; the state housing agency signs off in Nov. 2021 Local government · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 2022Power Servistar withdraws from the Eversource grid-improvement study for the site News report · Oct. 2026
- 2024Site The project is dormant in the public record: no environmental filing, wetlands permit or land purchase News report · Oct. 2026
- July 2026Permits City Council enacts a 12-month data center moratorium; Servistar is exempt while its permit stays valid News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 15, 2026Permits Planning Board postpones the extension request and asks the city's lawyers whether the permit is still valid News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 13, 2026Permits Planning Board denies the three-year extension (press: unanimous), effectively ending the project Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Permits The 2021 special permit reaches its lapse date with no construction started News report · June 2026
- July 2027Permits City moratorium expires, the earliest point at which a new application could be filed; state permits would then require a community benefits agreement News report · Sept. 2026
Specs
- Closed-loop cooling: about 400 gallons a day per building of potable water in 2021 testimony; part of the site is in an aquifer recharge zone Local government · Oct. 2021
Owners, partners and builders
- Servistar Realties LLC: developer and state-approval applicant
- Servistar DC LLC: planned ground lessee and operator
- Erik Bartone: principal (also at EBS Energy)
- Eversource Energy: owns two 115 kV lines crossing the site
- Westfield Gas and Electric: municipal utility that was expected to supply wholesale power; no contract signed
- Westfield Planning Board: special permit and extension
- Westfield City Council: tax agreement and moratorium
- Massachusetts housing agency: Chapter 121A approval
Open questions
- Whether anyone appeals the denial in court.
- Whether Servistar or a buyer reapplies after the moratorium.
- Who the claimed Fortune 50 prospects were, if any.
146 records from 19 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, company statements, business registries and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (17)
- IT capacity: not stated“the ten data center buildings are expected to consist of between 18 to 42 megawatts of critical IT electric load”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Grid operator: ISO New England“an electrical transmission interconnection agreement with Eversource Energy (Eversource) and ISO-New England (ISO-NE)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Jurisdiction: City of Westfield (Planning Board special permit/site plan/stormwater; City Council + Mayor under c.121A) + MA DHCD (c.121A approval; Section 18C regulatory agreement); MEPA, NHESP/MESA and Conservation Com“any material and nonmaterial changes/deviations/alterations/additions to the Project or the Agreement require prior review and approval of DHCD”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Utility: Westfield Gas & Electric (municipal), wholesale electricity, natural gas, fiber; transmission: Eversource Energy (115 kV lines crossing site)“the Applicant is expected to partner with the local municipal utility Westfield Gas and Electric (WG&E) and the City for these services”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade A
- On-site generation: not stated“24 megawatt data center peak load of 36 megawatts generators roughly around 3 megawatt generators one is Cummins. Each Data center would have 13, additional unit.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: grid, transmission-interconnected (Eversource 115 kV); wholesale supply via Westfield Gas & Electric as an independent customer islanded from the WG&E distribution system; never interconnected“The Servistar Data Center Campus will be an Independent Customer of Westfield Gas & Electric (WG&E) and will not be directly connected to the WG&E's distribution system”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Westfield Gas & Electric“The Servistar Data Center Campus will be an Independent Customer of Westfield Gas & Electric (WG&E)”Local government · June 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“Documents filed this summer indicated the site plans to have 150 megawatts of power capacity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Transmission interconnection study: withdrawn“instead, that February, it withdrew from a site study related to necessary grid improvements on the property, which has two high-voltage power lines owned by Eversource running through it”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NSTAR (Eversource) applied to federal energy regulators to connect 150 MW to the site, the project's only developer-era MW figure: an interconnection request, not IT capacity“Documents filed this summer indicated the site plans to have 150 megawatts of power capacity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Servistar withdrew from the Eversource site study for the grid improvements the campus required; opponents later testified it also refused delivery of the 2021 permits and never applied to ISO New England“instead, that February, it withdrew from a site study related to necessary grid improvements on the property, which has two high-voltage power lines owned by Eversource running through it”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Planning Board voted unanimously to POSTPONE the extension decision and to ask the Law Department whether the special permit is still valid; opponents argued the permit was never recorded at the Registry of Deeds and had“The Planning Board, chaired by William Carellas, voted unanimously to postpone the decision on granting a three-year extension of the special permit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Bartone told the Board the project was ongoing, with major grid and electric system work taking place, and disputed characterizations of poor communication, unverified against any permit, filing or land record“Company officials have said the project is ongoing, with major grid and electric system work taking place so far”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: 274 MW“If fully built out, the Globe noted, the data center would have required 274 megawatts of electricity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: 274 MW“If fully built out, the Globe noted, the data center would have required 274 megawatts of electricity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer's claimed grid/electric work is unverified; WAMC reported the complex isn't complete and critics cited scrapping the 155-acre project“Critics have argued little communication, potential grid strain and other issues should be grounds for scrapping the 155-acre project.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection application capacity: 150 MW (2021 application)“Documents filed this summer indicated the site plans to have 150 megawatts of power capacity”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
Money and contracts (37)
- Gross sq ft: 2740000 sq ft“Agreement relative MGL Chapter 121A/6A submitted by Servistar Realties, construct 10 data center buildings totaling 2.74 million square feet on 155.49 acres”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): scope 10 data center buildings (2.74M sq ft) + 2 accessory buildings on ~155 acres at 199 Servistar Industrial Way; Company acquires a fee interest and groun“the Company will acquire a fee interest in the Project Site and will enter into a ground lease of the Project Site (the Lease) with Servistar DC LLC (the Lessee)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): tenant pass-through Third-party tenant leases contemplated; tenants are not subject to c.121A and need no DHCD approval; tenant rents paid to the Lessee are“tenant rents paid to Lessee are not Company gross income”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): term 40 years from the Effective Date, the first data center building's certificate of occupancy, or earlier written notice. Payment obligations (Paras 3-4)“forty (40) years after the Effective Date”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): excise tax (Section 10) Company pays MA DOR the c.121A Section 10 excise for each calendar year of the Term, due March 15 for the prior calendar year, commen“Company pays DOR the c. 121A Section 10 excise for each calendar year of the Term; due March 15 each year for the prior calendar year”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): 6A contract payments, formula Annual payments to the City in lieu of all ad valorem real/personal property taxes (incl. buildings, generators, substation, b“Land Assessment Value = $3,334,750 in year 1; Mill Rate = $36.55 per $1,000 in year 1; Data Center Building Assessment Value = $60 per sq ft”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): municipal services carve-out The 6A payments do not cover water, sewer or municipal services: the Company still pays for water, sewer and municipal services“Company still pays for water, sewer and municipal services incl. WG&E and Whip City Fiber”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): late payment / collection Payments due within 30 days of the Para 3/4 dates; late payments bear interest at the City's real-estate-tax default rate; the City“late payments bear interest at the City's real-estate-tax default rate”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): transition payments + abatement waiver From the Approval Date to the Effective Date, taxes continue under c.59 and the Company pays them; property installed“Company waives any claim for tax abatements for taxes assessed during the Transition Period”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): gap payments on expiration/termination On expiration of the Term the Company pays a gap payment covering the period until the Project becomes taxable under c“on expiration/termination the Project is no longer subject to c. 121A, provided the deviations and permissions granted by the Planning Board pursuant to the Planning Board Decision survive”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): financial reporting GAAP books; records retained at least 7 years; by April 1 each year of the Term the Company files with the Assessor a CPA-prepared report“records retained at least 7 years; by April 1 each year of the Term the Company files with the Assessor a CPA-prepared report”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): fair cash value cap The Board of Assessors' Total Assessed Values in Exhibit B-3, beginning at $13,918,750 in Year 1 and increasing to $256,495,474 in Year“beginning at $13,918,750 in Year 1 and increasing to $256,495,474 in Year 40, are the maximum fair cash value”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): condition precedent (Para 11) The Company's Para 3/4 payment obligations are conditional in all respects upon issuance to the Company and/or Lessee of all pe“conditional in all respects upon issuance to the Company and/or Lessee of all permissions, approvals, favorable reviews, permits and licenses required”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): condition (recital), interconnection The Company represented it would pursue construction of ~2.74M sq ft upon receipt of all federal, state and local appro“upon receipt of all federal, state and local approvals and an electrical transmission interconnection agreement with Eversource Energy (Eversource) and ISO-New England (ISO-NE)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): changes / DHCD approval (Para 12) Post-execution amendments to c.121A do not affect the Agreement without mutual written consent; any material and nonmateria“any material and nonmaterial changes/deviations/alterations/additions to the Project or the Agreement require prior review and approval of DHCD”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): termination / default (Para 13) Company defaults if: (i) payment failure not cured within 60 days of City notice; (ii) material and substantial change in the“material and substantial change in Special Permit(s) issued for the Project without prior written approval of the Parties”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): force majeure (Para 15) Company not liable for payment/construction delays from force majeure, incl. strikes, market-wide materials shortages, utility failu“any TRO/preliminary/permanent injunction, mandamus or similar order, or any litigation which impedes completion of the Project”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): assignment / successors (Paras 16, 24) Agreement binds successors and assigns, but no successor benefits unless approved by DHCD under c.121A; assignment req“no successor benefits unless approved by DHCD under c. 121A”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): limited recourse (Para 17) Company liability limited solely to its interest in the Property; no personal liability for members/officers; after Term expiratio“Company's liability limited solely to its interest in the Property; no personal liability for members/officers”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): forum / governing law (Paras 18, 31) Massachusetts governing law; exclusive jurisdiction of MA Superior Court, venue Hampden County“exclusive jurisdiction of MA Superior Court, venue Hampden County”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6A agreement (payments in lieu of taxes): finding: missing clauses FINDING: the 6A agreement contains NO construction commencement or completion deadline, NO minimum-investment covenant, NO jobs floo“payment obligations become effective when the Company begins commercial operations, evidenced by a Certificate of Occupancy for the first data center building”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 18C regulatory agreement: scope Executed with DHCD of even date with the DHCD project approval (Nov 2021): Project financed as stated in Para 9 of the Application; separate Project accounts; Company“Company bound by c. 121A and 760 CMR 25.00”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Wholesale supply / services (Westfield Gas & Electric): finding: no contract located FINDING: no executed WG&E wholesale power, natural gas or fiber supply contract for the campus was located in the public record; the ar“WG&E is expected to receive substantial revenue from wholesale electricity services, natural gas supply, and a massive fiber buildout to support the Project”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A application filed with DHCD by Servistar Realties LLC (amended July 29, 2021), with the Section 6A payments agreement and Section 18C regulatory agreement“Application dated May 20, 2021 as amended on July 29, 2021 filed with DHCD”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Pilot total expected: more than $350M over the 40-year Section 6A term (Planning Board finding, 2021)“The total payments in lieu of taxes to the City are expected to be more than $350 million over the forty-year term”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade A
- County code: 25013“construct 10 data center buildings totaling 2.74 million square feet on 155.49 acres at 0 Ampad Road, Westfield, Massachusetts”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Building count planned: 10“construct 10 data center buildings totaling 2.74 million square feet on 155.49 acres at 0 Ampad Road”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Chapter 121A / PILOT framework: tax assessment“PUBLIC HEARING to review an application submitted pursuant to MGL Chapter 121A by Servistar Realties, LLC”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Tenants: not stated“Bartone says his group is representing two potential tenants, which he has described as fortune 50 companies”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none, no data center building was ever constructed; no building permit pulled; site work never commenced“Westfield's Servistar Realties received approval for a $4 billion data center in 2021 but has yet to break ground”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection agreement (Eversource / ISO-NE): finding: never executed FINDING: no executed transmission interconnection agreement appears anywhere in the public record, although the 121A recitals made construction exp“instead, that February, it withdrew from a site study related to necessary grid improvements on the property, which has two high-voltage power lines owned by Eversource running through it”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant lease(s): finding: never executed FINDING: no tenant lease was ever executed or disclosed. The only tenant evidence in the record is the developer's 2021 statement that it represented two unnamed Fortune 50 compan“Bartone says his group is representing two potential tenants, which he has described as fortune 50 companies”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer stated it represented two unnamed Fortune 50 companies as prospective tenants; no tenant was ever named or signed in the project's five-year life“Bartone says his group is representing two potential tenants, which he has described as fortune 50 companies”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: cancelled, special permit granted Oct. 19, 2021, never exercised; three-year extension denied Oct. 13, 2026; permit lapsed Oct. 19, 2026“The Westfield Planning Board declined on Tuesday to extend a construction permit to build a $4 billion data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: none signed, announcement-only (two unnamed Fortune 50 prospects claimed by developer, 2021)“Bartone says his group is representing two potential tenants, which he has described as fortune 50 companies”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- Capital cost: 2700000000 USD“The $2.7B proposal cleared a major hurdle this week, when state officials gave their sign-off on a tax agreement”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- Announced: Aug. 25, 2021“Developers want to build a campus of 10 data center buildings on what’s now vacant land on the north side of the city totaling, after 12 to18 years of phased construction, a $2.7 billion investment”News report · Aug. 2021 · grade C
Permits and government (42)
- Chapter 121A application: filed“Application dated May 20, 2021 as amended on July 29, 2021 filed with DHCD”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A Section 6 advisory report: approved (6-1)“The Project will be subject to the grant of non-use-related Special Permits under the City's Zoning Ordinance and will require a more detailed site plan approval and environmental review by the Planning Board (pending)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Special permit / site plan / stormwater: granted“Phase 1 construction being commenced within 3 years shall be sufficient exercise so as to preserve the validity of the above special permits for all future phases”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A / Section 6A agreement approval: approved“Agreement relative MGL Chapter 121A/6A submitted by Servistar Realties, construct 10 data center buildings totaling 2.74 million square feet on 155.49 acres”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chapter 121A project approval: approved“Company executed a Section 18C regulatory agreement with DHCD of even date”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Joint City Council + Planning Board public hearing on the 121A application (MGL c.121A Section 6); originally scheduled Sep 16, 2021 and cancelled“hearing noticed on/before Sep 20, 2021 (published in The Westfield News, mailed to abutters/applicant)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Planning Board voted 6-1 to approve the 121A application with Section 6 findings (blighted open area / decadent area; public use and benefit; PILOT over $350M expected over the 40-year term)“The total payments in lieu of taxes to the City are expected to be more than $350 million over the forty-year term”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Planning Board granted the special permits / site plan / stormwater approval UNANIMOUSLY (7-0) with master-plan and Phase 1 conditions; Phase 1 construction within 3 years would preserve the permits for all phases; appli“Phase 1 construction being commenced within 3 years shall be sufficient exercise so as to preserve the validity of the above special permits for all future phases”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City Council approved the 121A package (Section 6A agreement; Planning Board report accepted), over roughly 25 conditioning motions filed by Councilor Flaherty“Accept the Planning Board's report relative to Servistar LLC pursuant MGL 121A Section 6A”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- DHCD approved the project (the Approval Date); Section 18C regulatory agreement executed with the state. The 40-year 6A term was keyed to a first-building certificate of occupancy that never occurred“Company executed a Section 18C regulatory agreement with DHCD of even date”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Westfield City Council + Planning Board (joint public hearing): Public hearing on the Servistar Realties LLC Chapter 121A application (MGL c.121A Section 6)“joint public hearing City Council + Planning Board Oct 4, 2021”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Westfield Planning Board: Chapter 121A Section 6 report on the Servistar application“The total payments in lieu of taxes to the City are expected to be more than $350 million over the forty-year term”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Westfield Planning Board: Continuation – Special Permit/Site Plan/Stormwater – Data Center – off Servistar Industrial Way“24 megawatt data center peak load of 36 megawatts generators roughly around 3 megawatt generators one is Cummins. Each Data center would have 13, additional unit.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Westfield City Council: Finance Committee: Chapter 121A/6A agreement (item 10) and acceptance of the Planning Board 121A report (item 11)“Accept the Planning Board's report relative to Servistar LLC pursuant MGL 121A Section 6A”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- MEPA Environmental Notification Form (ENF): never filed“they still need to go through the MEPA and Natural Heritage process”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Air plan approval, backup generator fleet: never filed“24 megawatt data center peak load of 36 megawatts generators roughly around 3 megawatt generators one is Cummins. Each Data center would have 13, additional unit.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Special Permit / Campus Master Plan: approved“The Board grants the following discretionary/use approvals in the context of a complete buildout: Special Permit for Building Height; Special Permit for buildings over 100,000 square feet”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Developer: Servistar Realties LLC“Planning Board Report for Servistar Realties LLC pursuant to M.G.L. Chapter 121A, Section 6”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Chapter 121A application: approved“The Planning Board voted (6-1) to APPROVE the application for this project”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade B
- Wetlands Protection Act, Order of Conditions: never sought“the project is not 'shovel ready' as no wetlands permits have been sought”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Building permit: never issued“the special permit, for phase 1, was granted 10/19/21 and was good for 3 years, except that a statewide two-year blanket permit extension was passed, so the lapse date [to pull a building permit by] is 10/19/26”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Special permit extension (3-year): postponed“The Planning Board, chaired by William Carellas, voted unanimously to postpone the decision on granting a three-year extension of the special permit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Special permit extension (3-year): denied“The Westfield Planning Board declined on Tuesday to extend a construction permit to build a $4 billion data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Special permit: lapsed“Exception/extension may be made for 'good cause'”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Servistar had told city officials it planned to file MEPA applications in January 2022; it never filed, the first broken milestone of the dormancy period“Originally, Servistar told city officials it planned to file [Massachusetts Environmental Protection Act] permit applications in January of 2022”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- By 2024 the project had gone dormant in the public record: no MEPA filing, no wetlands permits, no land purchase, no ISO-NE application, no construction. Councilor Matthews-Kane (Sept 2026, citing The Shoestring's 2024 r“When Servistar withdrew from the site study, when they ghosted the city and when they refused delivery of permits - as far as I'm concerned, they broke faith with the city”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Planning Board voted unanimously to recommend a 12-month citywide data center moratorium; City Planner Vinskey confirmed Servistar was exempt while its permit remained valid, and stated the permit's lapse date as 10/19/2“After a lengthy public hearing, the Planning Board voted unanimously to recommend a 12-month moratorium on data centers to the City Council”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City Council enacted the 12-month moratorium (first vote June 18, 2026, unanimous; final enactment July 2026). Servistar unaffected while its permit remained valid“even though the City Council in July enacted a one-year moratorium on future data center proposals, Servistar is unaffected”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Gov. Healey signed Executive Order 658: state permitting agencies cannot issue permits for data centers over 25 MW peak demand unless the developer complies with the state data center framework and submits a community be“State permitting agencies cannot issue permits or authorizations for covered projects unless developers comply with the administration's June 2026 data center development and operations framework and submit a community benefits agreement”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Planning Board DENIED the three-year special-permit extension (unanimous), project cancelled. Six days later (Oct 19, 2026) the 2021 permit reached its lapse date with no construction ever commenced“In a unanimous vote, the board denied developer Servistar Realties's request for a special permit extension, effectively killing the project”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Westfield Planning Board: Proposed 12-month data center moratorium, public hearing and recommendation to City Council“After a lengthy public hearing, the Planning Board voted unanimously to recommend a 12-month moratorium on data centers to the City Council”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Westfield City Council: Data center moratorium, public hearing and first vote“The council then voted unanimously for the moratorium. The second reading and vote are scheduled for the next City Council meeting in July”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Westfield City Council: Data center moratorium, final enactment (12 months)“even though the City Council in July enacted a one-year moratorium on future data center proposals, Servistar is unaffected”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Westfield Planning Board: Servistar Realties LLC request for a three-year extension of the special permit originally granted 10/19/21“The Planning Board, chaired by William Carellas, voted unanimously to postpone the decision on granting a three-year extension of the special permit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Westfield Planning Board (special remote meeting): Unfinished business: Servistar Realties LLC special permit extension request (permit originally granted 10/19/21, data center near Ampad Road and Servistar Industrial Wa“According to the publication, City Councilor Kristen Mello, an analytical chemist and a leading critic of the data center project, said the developers are welcome to apply again next July”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: cancelled“In a unanimous vote, the board denied developer Servistar Realties's request for a special permit extension, effectively killing the project.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“declined on Tuesday to extend a construction permit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City one-year data center moratorium; developer welcome to apply again next July when it expires, per councilor quoted by Globe“the developers are welcome to apply again next July, when the city's one-year moratorium on new data centers expires”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Special Permit extension (3-year): denied“The Westfield Planning Board declined on Tuesday to extend a construction permit to build a $4 billion data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Three-year special permit extension requested; board delayed voting in September 2026 before denying in October“Last month, the board delayed voting on a three-year extension requested by developer Servistar Realties LLC.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Moratorium status: Citywide 12-month data center moratorium enacted July 2026; Servistar expressly exempt while its special permit remained valid“even though the City Council in July enacted a one-year moratorium on future data center proposals, Servistar is unaffected”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Special permit lapse date: Oct. 19, 2026“the special permit, for phase 1, was granted 10/19/21 and was good for 3 years, except that a statewide two-year blanket permit extension was passed, so the lapse date [to pull a building permit by] is 10/19/26”News report · June 2026 · grade C
Legal (1)
- MGL c.40A Section 17 appeal window (20 days from filing of the written denial decision with the City Clerk) still open as of capture; the written decision was not yet in web-indexed city records and no appeal was located“Unfinished Business — request from Servistar Realties LLC for an extension of a permit originally granted on 10/19/21”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (15)
- Campus name: Servistar Data Center Campus“WESTFIELD DATA CENTER CAMPUS 199 SERVISTAR INDUSTRIAL WAY WESTFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 199 Servistar Industrial Way, Westfield, MA 01085“Application dated May 20, 2021 as amended on July 29, 2021 filed with DHCD for approval of the Westfield Data Center Campus at 199 Servistar Industrial Way”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City: Westfield“WESTFIELD DATA CENTER CAMPUS 199 SERVISTAR INDUSTRIAL WAY WESTFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County: Hampden County“WESTFIELD DATA CENTER CAMPUS 199 SERVISTAR INDUSTRIAL WAY WESTFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County code: Hampden County, MA (25013)“Eversource POI 1293, 1302 115KV Lines”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Developer: Servistar Realties LLC“SERVISTAR REALTIES LLC, a Massachusetts limited liability company organized pursuant to General Laws Chapter 156C (the Company)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Site acres: 155.49 acres“Comprises (15) parcels totalling 155.49 acres”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Buildings planned: 10 data center buildings + 2 accessory buildings“ten (10) data center buildings, two (2) accessory buildings”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Critical IT capacity per building: 18-42 per building (application range)“the ten data center buildings are expected to consist of between 18 to 42 megawatts of critical IT electric load”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Jobs claims: 1,800 construction jobs (total); 400+ permanent jobs at full buildout; 1,200+ indirect jobs, applicant estimates“It is estimated that a total of approximately 1,800 construction jobs will be generated by the Project”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Habitat: Eastern Box Turtle habitat on site; MEPA and Natural Heritage (NHESP) review anticipated in 2021 but never filed“consists of vacant land, several existing commercial buildings, wetlands and habitat for the Eastern Box Turtle”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Original target date: not stated“built out over a twelve to eighteen year period”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Water use design: closed-loop cooling; ~400 gallons/day average potable water per building incl. cooling makeup (2021 testimony); 5,000-10,000 GPD non-cooling (2026 fact sheet)“this 400 gallons is potable water it does not include the landscaping, irrigation requirements”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade A
- Aquifer zone: Part of the site lies in the Water Resource Protection District (Barnes Aquifer Zone II recharge area); ~52.15 acres of wetland parcels left undeveloped by design“portions of the Project Area are located in the Water Resource Protection District, which is an area identified as aquifer Zone II recharge area”Local government · Oct. 2021 · grade A
- Address: 199 Servistar Industrial Way, Westfield, MA“development of 199 Servistar Industrial Way and surrounding properties totaling approximately 155.49 acres in Westfield, MA, known as the Westfield Data Center Campus”Local government · May 2021 · grade B