Data center profile · Mountain Road (Route 33) and Winns Church Road, Hanover County, Virginia, near the Henrico County line

Tract Mountain Road Technology Park (Hanover County, Virginia)

A proposed 900 MW, 427-acre speculative data center park from Tract in Hanover County, Virginia, cancelled when supervisors denied the rezoning 4-3 on May 27, 2026

Cancelled. Hanover County's Board of Supervisors denied the rezoning, substation permit and height exception, each 4-3, on May 27, 2026, after the Planning Commission recommended approval. The land is zoned agricultural; no appeal or new application found as of Sept. 2026.
900 MW
park capacity, developer says
an applicant figure, not utility capacity or IT capacity; no load was ever contracted
427 acres
site to be rezoned
from agricultural to light industrial; about 130 acres of planned building area (press)
4-3
board vote to deny, May 27, 2026
three approval motions failed 3-4 and three denial motions carried 4-3
Late 2029
first power Dominion anticipated, per the application
an expectation only; no service or interconnection agreement was signed
OperatorTract (developer; Denver-based, with project affiliate VALCO Hanover County Four)
CustomerNone named; a speculative park with end users never identified
Planned IT capacity720 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company's 0.9 GW campus power figure)
Next stepNone published; the county is drafting a data center policy and no new application has been located
Permits

Permits checklist

3 denied · 1 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.

Risks

Why it stopped, what could revive it

Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. May 29, 2026
    Dominion's expected timeline
    Application documents said Dominion anticipated first power in late 2029, for a phased build-out through at least 2034. No load was ever contracted. News report · May 2026
  2. Not set
    Service agreement: none
    No service or interconnection agreement was signed and no state commission filing names the campus. see Permits
Money

Money on record

$901M
county property tax revenue, 2025 to 2044, applicant projection
plus $2.07B in sales and use tax; never independently verified, and the chair ruled revenue was not a deciding factor (press) News report · May 2026
$15M
proffered for a county pump station and water tank
a rezoning commitment that never took effect because the rezoning was denied News report · May 2026
300 to 350 jobs
at full build, applicant estimate
from the applicant-side projections reported by the press News report · May 2026
Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. July 23, 2025
    Site Tract holds a community meeting on its application, the earliest public record News report · July 2025
  2. Sept. 2025
    Permits Tract and the landowners file for a rezoning, a substation permit and a height exception News report · May 2026
  3. April 16, 2026
    Permits Planning Commission recommends approval 6-1 after two deferrals (a recommendation only) News report · April 2026
  4. May 15, 2026
    Permits County staff report issues no recommendation and notes missing electricity-usage and sound information Dataset · Sept. 2026
  5. May 21, 2026
    Money Revised proffers add a $15M pump station and water tank commitment, and a $6M conservation and parks payment is floated News report · May 2026
  6. May 27, 2026
    Permits Board of Supervisors denies the rezoning, substation permit and height exception, each 4-3 Local government · May 2026
  7. June 24, 2026
    Permits Board unanimously directs staff to draft a county data center policy Local government · June 2026
The buildings

Specs

Up to 3 substations
requested through a conditional use permit, denied
600,000 gallons a day
average water use, with a 2 million gallon peak, applicant figures never approved
7 parcels
owned by several landowners, near a closed Tyson chicken plant
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners and developers
  • Tract: developer of powered-land data center parks
  • Marchetti Properties III: landowner and rezoning applicant
  • Tyson Farms, Square Holding LLC and the Tribble family: other landowners
Power
  • Dominion Energy Virginia: retail utility for the site
Decision-makers
  • Hanover County Board of Supervisors: denied the applications (Prichard, Floyd, Davis and Stoneman voted to deny)
  • Hanover County Planning Commission: recommended approval
  • Hirschler: the applicants' land-use counsel
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

67 records from 9 documents

Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 6Local government 1Dataset 1State agency 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (10)
  • IT capacity: not stated
    “Every quantity describing the project — its demand, its emissions, its employment, its tax yield — came from the applicant”
  • Utility service: not stated
    “Dominion Energy anticipated the first electrical service to be delivered in late 2029”
  • On-site generation: not stated
    “The park would have been located along Route 33/Mountain Road in Hanover County and was set to offer 900MW of capacity”
  • Power was a stated application expectation only: Dominion Energy anticipated first electrical service in late 2029 (Q4 2029 energization) for a phased buildout through at least 2034/full buildout 2035. No load was ever c
    “The proposal was intended to be developed in phases through at least 2034, though Dominion Energy anticipated the first electrical service to be delivered in late 2029”
  • Applicant-side fiscal projections as reported: $901 million property tax revenue 2025-2044 and $2.068 billion sales/use tax revenue; 300-350 jobs at full build. Never independently verified; the chair ruled revenue proje
    “The project was projected to bring the county $901 million in revenue from property taxes between 2025 and 2044”
  • Stated campus size: 900 MW
    “The Mountain Road Technology Park was planned to be a 900-megawatt project that would have featured multiple data centers and supporting facilities like substations”
  • Applications filed: REZ2025-00023 (A-1 to M-1), CUP2025-00016 (substations), SE2025-00023 (height exceptions) by Tract with Marchetti Properties, Square Holding LLC, Tyson Farms Inc. and the Tribbles
    “filed to rezone the land from A1-agriculture to M-1 light industrial in September”
  • Interconnection status: none, no interconnection agreement; rezoning/CUP denied May 27, 2026 (several reports date the vote May 28, 2026); Dominion Energy had anticipated first electrical service in late 2029 per the applic
    “Dominion Energy anticipated the first electrical service to be delivered in late 2029”
  • Power plan: grid (proposed, never approved)
    “a conditional use permit for up to three substations”
  • Mountain Road Technology Park (430 acres, 900 MW proposed in application, three substations planned) denied by the Hanover County Board of Supervisors (4-3) at the rezoning/CUP stage; no grid position was ever establishe
    “The park would have been located along Route 33/Mountain Road in Hanover County and was set to offer 900MW of capacity”
Money and contracts (10)
  • finding, no executed agreement: finding
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • Four weeks after the denial the Board unanimously directed staff to research data center impacts and develop a county data center policy/ordinance, and kept the data center equipment tax rate at $0.45 per $100 (adopted f
    “The Board unanimously approved a motion for County staff to research the impact of data centers and develop a County data center policy and/or ordinance”
  • rezoning proffers (voluntary proffer statement): instrument
    “Voluntary Proffer Statement, Mountain Road Technology Park Project, dated April 30, 2026, executed May 5, 2026 by Jeffrey P. Geiger, attorney-in-fact (seventeen numbered conditions)”
  • staff-recommended CUP conditions (never adopted): condition (recommended only)
    “Staff Report, May 15, 2026, pp. 42-44, Conditional Use Permit (Substations): Staff's Recommended Conditions... Recommended, never adopted; the CUP was denied 4-3 on May 27, 2026”
  • rezoning proffers: financial commitment 15000000 USD
    “Tract agreed to pay $15 million to Hanover for the design and construction of a pump station and water storage tank at the project site”
  • rezoning proffers: condition
    “an additional proffered agreement to allow the county's planning director to request additional noise studies, which would be done at the owner's expenses up to one time per year”
  • rezoning proffers: financial commitment 6000000 USD
    “The company also floated a $6 million payment to the county for land conservation and parks”
  • rezoning proffers: condition
    “The company also added limitations on when commercial vehicles would access the site, road improvements and offered to pay the Hanover Sheriff's Office to conduct traffic control operations during peak construction hours”
  • Tenants: not stated
    “the operators of the buildings were never identified”
  • Tenant status: none, speculative powered-land park; end users never identified
    “the speculative nature of the development with an unknown end user”
Permits and government (16)
  • Hanover County Board of Supervisors: Motion on Community Development Direction on Data Center Policy (follow-on to the Mountain Road denial)
    “Motion on Community Development Direction on Data Center Policy — The Board unanimously approved a motion for County staff to research the impact of data centers and develop a County data center policy and/or ordinance”
  • Zoning applications: REZ2025-00023 (A-1 to M-1); CUP2025-00016 (substations); SE2025-00023 (building/fence height exceptions)
    “SE2025-00023: VALCO Hanover County Four L.L.C., et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • Jurisdiction: Hanover County Board of Supervisors (county zoning authority; no state preemption of the rezoning decision)
    “Hanover Board Brief | May 27, 2026 — Planning Public Hearings”
  • rezoning: denied
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • conditional use permit (substations): denied
    “CUP2025-00016: VALCO Hanover County Four, L.L.C., et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • special exception (building/fence heights): denied
    “SE2025-00023: VALCO Hanover County Four L.L.C., et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • DENIED: Board of Supervisors (6:00 p.m.–11:44 p.m. meeting, ~2-hour public hearing, 30+ speakers against, 8 for) denied the rezoning, CUP and special exception, each 4-3, after approval motions failed 3-4
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • Hanover County Board of Supervisors: Planning public hearings: REZ2025-00023 (Marchetti Properties III, et al.), CUP2025-00016 and SE2025-00023 (VALCO Hanover County Four, L.L.C., et al.), Mountain Road Technology Park
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3); CUP2025-00016 — Denied (4-3); SE2025-00023 — Denied (4-3)”
  • Acres: 427 acres
    “the Hanover County Board of Supervisors refused Tract's Mountain Road Technology Park: 427 acres, 900 megawatts”
  • Voluntary Proffer Statement dated (executed May 5, 2026 by Jeffrey P. Geiger, attorney-in-fact; 17 conditions); revised proffers presented May 21, 2026 (18 items). Proffers never took effect, the rezoning they conditioned
    “Voluntary Proffer Statement, Mountain Road Technology Park Project, dated April 30, 2026, executed May 5, 2026”
  • County staff report issued for REZ2025-00023 / CUP2025-00016 / SE2025-00023. Per the case record, staff issued no recommendation on these cases; three outstanding issues were noted, including the applicant's missing elec
    “the applicant had supplied neither the electricity-usage information from the energy provider nor the sound profile that § 15.2-2209.5 requires before a board approves a rezoning”
  • What survives: the land stays A-1 agricultural in the owners' hands (Marchetti Properties III et al.); the Route 33 Gateway Small Area Plan designation (data centers a preferred use) remains in force; no permits, proffer
    “Denial left the property zoned A-1, agricultural... The Route 33 Gateway Small Area Plan remains in force, still designating data centers as preferred business types in the corridor”
  • rezoning application: filed
    “filed to rezone the land from A1-agriculture to M-1 light industrial in September”
  • planning commission recommendation: recommended approval (6-1)
    “The Hanover Planning Commission on Thursday voted 6-1 to endorse a proposal by Denver-based company Tract to rezone nearly 430 acres for a data center development”
  • Planning Commission recommends approval 6-1 after two deferrals; staff cite general alignment with the comprehensive plan and the Route 33 Gateway Small Area Plan (Employment Center designation)
    “County staff say that the project generally aligns with the comprehensive plan's vision for the project site”
  • Hanover County Planning Commission: REZ2025-00023 / CUP2025-00016 / SE2025-00023, Mountain Road Technology Park
    “The Hanover Planning Commission on Thursday voted 6-1 to endorse a proposal by Denver-based company Tract to rezone nearly 430 acres”
Legal (1)
  • No successor application, appeal or developer statement located as of this date; Tract did not respond to press inquiries about its plans after the denial
    “Tract did not immediately return a request for comment about the denial”
Site and other (10)
  • Construction stage: none, no approvals; no construction
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • Current target date: not stated
    “CUP2025-00016: VALCO Hanover County Four, L.L.C., et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3)”
  • Stage: cancelled
    “REZ2025-00023: Marchetti Properties III, et al. (South Anna District) — Denied (4-3); CUP2025-00016 and SE2025-00023 also Denied (4-3)”
  • Original target date: not stated
    “Construction was projected to begin around 2027, with full buildout by 2035 and energization in the fourth quarter of 2029”
  • Water use stated: 600000 gallons/day average; 2000000 gallons/day peak (applicant figures, never approved)
    “The Tract project was anticipated to utilize an average of 600,000 gallons of water per day through a connection to the county's water and sewer service. The campus's peak daily water usage was expected to be 2 million gallons”
  • Name: Mountain Road Technology Park
    “The vote capped off months of review by the county, following Tract's submission of the project, dubbed the Mountain Road Technology Park, in late 2025”
  • Developer: Tract
    “Colorado-based Tract was founded by former Cologix CEO Grant van Rooyen and describes itself as a company that acquires and develops master-planned data center parks”
  • Address: 13074 Mountain Road and 12517 Winns Church Road, Hanover County, VA (U.S. Route 33, near the Henrico County line)
    “a proposal by Denver-based company Tract to rezone nearly 430 acres for a data center development at 13074 Mountain Road and 12517 Winns Church Road”
  • Announced: Oct. 30, 2025
    “Data center developer Tract proposes Mountain Road Tech Park in western Hanover County”
  • Community meeting held on Tract's Mountain Road application (pre-filing outreach)
    “A community meeting about Tract's application is due to be held on July 23”