Power and the grid
Energized, size not disclosed
- AEP Ohio grid service Energizedno megawatt figure on record; service falls under the PUCO-approved tariff for data centers over 25 MW News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- July 9, 2025Data-center tariff approvedOhio's utility commission approves AEP Ohio's tariff: new or expanding data centers over 25 MW pay for at least 85% of subscribed capacity, for up to 12 years. Amazon and Google lost their rehearing bid. News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 28, 2025Buildings already occupiedThe city lists partial occupancy of many AWS buildings, so grid power is flowing to the campus. see Permits
- Ohio's utility commission (PUCO) sets the tariff; zoning belongs to the City of New Albany. State agency · Oct. 2026
Grid upgrades
No grid upgrade for this campus's load is on record. Related grid records in the area:
- PJM's approved B4068 baseline family (49 components, $2,767.96M - 51 line items across the Ohio and Indiana tables, with B4068.3/.4 cross-listed in both at identical cost; all required in-service 6/1/2030, TEAC… Dataset · Dec. 2025
Permits checklist
4 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file
The city is the zoning and permitting authority; the state utility commission only sets power tariffs.
- ✓Tax abatement and water agreement GrantedNew Albany City Council · Sept. 19, 2023: adopted with all six members present voting yes Local government · Sept. 2023
- ✓Landscaping variance, Miller Rd GrantedNew Albany Board of Zoning Appeals · Feb. 24, 2025: delays required screening along neighbouring homes Local government · Feb. 2025
- ✓Building construction starts GrantedNew Albany Community Development · Nov. 2024: Buildings A, E and F started Oct. to Nov. 2024 Local government · Feb. 2025
- ✓Partial occupancy GrantedNew Albany Community Development · Feb. 28, 2025: many AWS buildings listed Local government · Feb. 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit, Power-siting certificate
What could slow it down
- MediumExpensive grid termsThe AEP Ohio tariff makes new large users pay for 85% of reserved power for up to 12 years, with exit fees. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumTax break under fireOhio's sales-tax exemption cost far more than forecast; a repeal for future data centers was vetoed, and existing deals stand. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchPermits not visibleNo air permit was found, and the city's agreements are not public, so clawback terms are unknown. Local government · Oct. 2026
Money on record
5 recorded land documents for the campus company in county records (April 2020 to Dec. 2025); 5 list a price. 2 related-party transfers are shown greyed. 5 sales or conveyances by the campus company or to public bodies are not listed. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.
- April 2020 MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc · $65,520 · 1 parcel County deed records · April 2020
- Jan. 2023 MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc · $116.7M County deed records · Jan. 2023
- Nov. 2023 MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc · $4.5M · 2 parcels County deed records · Nov. 2023
+4 more
- April 2024 MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc · $2.4M County deed records · April 2024
- Oct. 2024 Amazon Data Services Inc to Amazon Data Services Inc · price not recorded · 1 parcel · related-party transfer County deed records · Oct. 2024
- April 2025 Amazon Data Services Inc to Amazon Data Services Inc · price not recorded · 1 parcel · related-party transfer County deed records · April 2025
- Dec. 2025 MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc · $3.8M · 1 parcel County deed records · Dec. 2025
What happened, and what is due
- April 20, 2020Money Land purchase recorded at $65,520: MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc (1 parcel) County deed records · April 2020
- Dec. 2020Money City council approves a 15-year property tax abatement for the 112-acre Beech and Jug parcel (press) News report · April 2021
- April 20, 2021Site Amazon buys 112 acres at Beech Road and Jug Street for about $21.8M (press) News report · April 2021
- Jan. 17, 2023Money Land purchase recorded at $116.7M: MBJ Holdings LLC to Amazon Data Services Inc County deed records · Jan. 2023
- June 26, 2023Money Ohio's governor announces Amazon will invest an estimated $7.8B in Central Ohio by 2029 News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 19, 2023Money City council adopts the tax abatement and water agreement for the $3.5B, five-building plan Local government · Sept. 2023
- Oct. 2024Construction Construction starts on Building E; Buildings A and F follow in Nov. 2024 Local government · Feb. 2025
- Feb. 24, 2025Permits Zoning appeals board grants a landscaping variance at 13360 Miller Road Local government · Feb. 2025
- Feb. 28, 2025Construction City partial-occupancy list shows many AWS buildings in use Local government · Feb. 2025
- July 9, 2025Power Ohio utility commission approves AEP Ohio's data-center tariff News report · Oct. 2026
- 2030Money Deadline for the $3.5B investment and 105 jobs under the city agreement Local government · Sept. 2023
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- Amazon Data Services, Inc.: developer and owner
- Amazon Web Services, Inc.: operator brand and self-use tenant
- City of New Albany: zoning, tax abatement and water agreement
- Ohio Tax Credit Authority: state sales-tax exemption
- AEP Ohio: serving utility, regulated by Ohio's utility commission
Open questions
- Megawatts of the campus, from any company or utility filing.
- How many buildings the campus will reach beyond the five in the press plan.
- Whether an Ohio air permit exists for backup generators.
93 records from 13 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets, state agency records and our own analysis, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (7)
- Interconnection status: AEP Ohio service, energized; campus load sits inside AEP Ohio's PJM large-load forecast submissions, which since the 2026 forecast count only load with a signed LOA or take-or-pay ESA; no campus-l“In order for load additions to be included in the forecast they must have a signed LOA and/or ESA.”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- Utility service: not stated“Negative searches of PUCO DIS, the OPSB case list, Ohio EPA eDoc and City of New Albany sources located no campus-specific contracted MW”grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“Negative searches of the OPSB case list and Ohio EPA eDoc located no on-site generation project or air permit for this campus”grade B
- Power plan: grid“will see new data centers pay for a minimum of 85 percent of the energy they say they need each month”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Ohio Power Company d/b/a AEP Ohio“American Electric Power's (AEP) recently approved rate structure for the data center sector”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PUCO approved AEP Ohio's data center tariff (Case 24-0508-EL-ATA): new or expanding data centers over 25 MW pay for a minimum of 85% of subscribed capacity, on terms up to 12 years, with exit fees and financial-viability“will see new data centers pay for a minimum of 85 percent of the energy they say they need each month”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PJM's approved B4068 baseline family (49 components, $2,767.96M - 51 line items across the Ohio and Indiana tables, with B4068.3/.4 cross-listed in both at identical cost; all required in-service 6/1/2030, TEAC 1/6/2026,“At West Millersport-Kirk 345 kV, rebuild 6.37-mile section of the double-circuit West Millersport-Kirk 345 kV circuit.”Dataset · Dec. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (48)
- State sales/use tax exemption (ORC 122.175): eligibility Eligible site: at least $100M capital investment at the project site over 3 consecutive calendar years (projects beginning in or after 2015) and at least $1.5M ann“make payments for a capital investment project of at least one hundred million dollars at the project site”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- State sales/use tax exemption (ORC 122.175): noncompliance remedy On noncompliance the Tax Credit Authority may amend the agreement to reduce the exemption percentage or shorten the term; the statute provides no dollar c“the tax credit authority may amend the agreement to reduce the percentage of the exemption or term during which the exemption applies”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: termination FINDING: not public - the executed CRA agreement text is not published by the city; termination, cancellation and clawback clauses could not be reviewed this pass“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Memorandum of Understanding (water/infrastructure): termination FINDING: not public - the MOU text is not published; no termination or default terms are public“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Amazon announced plans to invest an additional $10B in Ohio data center infrastructure; planned Ohio investment to surpass $23B by 2030 (portfolio context, not campus-specific)“Amazon announced plans to invest an additional $10 billion in Ohio to expand its data center infrastructure”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Amazon invested $6.2B in AWS data center infrastructure in Licking County 2015-2024 (~$1.4B GDP contribution; ~1,550 FTE jobs supported annually on average) and paid $3.1M in property taxes and fees in Licking County in“Between 2015-2024, Amazon invested $6.2 billion in its Amazon Web Services (AWS) data center infrastructure in Licking County”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 5433300 USD“Recorded: March 9, 2026 · Price: $5,433,300 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: AEP OHIO TRANSMISSION COMPANY INC · Parcel number: 095-111408-00.000 · Address: 3885 BEECH RD NW · City: NEW ALBANY”County deed records · March 2026 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 3840200 USD“Recorded: Dec. 18, 2025 · Price: $3,840,200 · Grantor: MBJ HOLDINGS LLC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Parcel number: 095-112248-00.000 · Address: 13757 MILLER RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · Dec. 2025 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD“Recorded: Aug. 28, 2025 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: CITY OF NEW ALBANY · Parcel number: 095-111648-00.000 · Address: MILLER RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- County code: Licking County, OH (39089)“Amazon invested $6.2 billion in its Amazon Web Services (AWS) data center infrastructure in Licking County”Local government · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Tenant status: committed (owner-occupied)“AWS's newest data center campus in New Albany has completed construction and staffing for two of its buildings”Local government · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 2406000 USD“Recorded: June 11, 2025 · Price: $2,406,000 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: BEECH AXIS LLC · Parcel number: 095-111870-00.001 · Address: 3922 BEECH RD NW · City: NEW ALBANY”County deed records · June 2025 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD“Recorded: April 3, 2025 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Parcel number: 095-111870-00.001 · Address: 3922 BEECH RD NW · City: NEW ALBANY”County deed records · April 2025 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 1742100 USD“Recorded: Feb. 13, 2025 · Price: $1,742,100 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: AEP OHIO TRANSMISSION COMPANY INC · Parcel number: 095-111648-00.000 · Address: MILLER RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD“Recorded: Oct. 31, 2024 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Parcel number: 095-111648-00.000 · Address: MILLER RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · Oct. 2024 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 2374500 USD“Recorded: April 2, 2024 · Price: $2,374,500 · Grantor: MBJ HOLDINGS LLC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Address: 000 ADDRESS EXCEPTION · City: CITY EXCEPTION”County deed records · April 2024 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 1110600 USD“Recorded: Dec. 21, 2023 · Price: $1,110,600 · Grantor: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Grantee: OFFLO POWER COMPANY · Parcel number: 095-111618-04.000 · Address: BEECH RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · Dec. 2023 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 4523200 USD“Recorded: Nov. 2, 2023 · Price: $4,523,200 · Grantor: MBJ HOLDINGS LLC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Parcel number: 095-111870-00.000 · Address: 000 ADDRESS EXCEPTION · City: CITY EXCEPTION”County deed records · Nov. 2023 · grade B
- Campus name: AWS New Albany“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- City: New Albany“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Investment committed: 3500000000 USD“support the investment of 3.5 billion dollar investment by 2030 on the 1st 83 acres of that development site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Payroll committed: 9000000 USD/yr“with an estimated payroll of $9 million”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Building size typical: 250000 sq ft“Each data center in this phase of the project will occupy an estimated 250,000 square feet in building area”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Tenants: Amazon Web Services (self-use)“Manager of Public Policy for Amazon Web Services”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: execution Authorized and approved for execution by Resolution R-41-2023, adopted Sept. 19, 2023 (6 present, all yes, 1 excused)“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: incentive 100% real property tax abatement, years 1-15 (state Mega Project structure)“the CRA agreement includes a real property tax incentive, 100% for the 1st 15 years and 75% for the additional 15 years thereafter”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: incentive 75% real property tax abatement, years 16-30“the CRA agreement includes a real property tax incentive, 100% for the 1st 15 years and 75% for the additional 15 years thereafter”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: investment commitment 3500000000 USD“support the investment of 3.5 billion dollar investment by 2030 on the 1st 83 acres of that development site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: jobs commitment 105+ FTE at full operation (staff estimate); estimated payroll $9,000,000/yr“Once fully operational more than 105 full time employees”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: minimum payment Annual minimum payment based on the city's revenue-generation-per-square-foot formula for data centers; the minimum payment is required for an additional 5 yea“the annual minimum payment will be required for an additional five years after the abatement expires on each qualified structure”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) agreement: scope First 83 acres of the ~430-acre site purchased late 2022; each data center ~250,000 sq ft“3.5 billion dollar investment by 2030 on the 1st 83 acres of that development site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Memorandum of Understanding (water/infrastructure): water commitment City memorializes commitments on the capacity of water allocated for the site and the dates water will be available to the site“memorializes our commitments on the capacity of water allocated for the site and the dates water will be available to the site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 116653400 USD“Recorded: Jan. 17, 2023 · Price: $116,653,400 · Grantor: MBJ HOLDINGS LLC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Address: 000 ADDRESS EXCEPTION · City: CITY EXCEPTION”County deed records · Jan. 2023 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 65520 USD“Recorded: April 20, 2020 · Price: $65,520 · Grantor: MBJ HOLDINGS LLC · Grantee: AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC · Parcel number: 095-111618-04.000 · Address: BEECH RD NW · City: JOHNSTOWN”County deed records · April 2020 · grade B
- State sales/use tax exemption (ORC 122.175): execution / scope Statewide agreement signed 2014: 100% sales tax exemption on data center equipment, which could last through 2055; applies to Amazon data centers anywhere in“Amazon, under an affiliate called Vadata Inc., signed an agreement in 2014 for a full sales tax exemption that could last through 2055”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- State sales/use tax exemption (ORC 122.175): value Initially estimated at $77 million in uncollected tax revenue (2014 estimate; statewide, uncapped)“That was initially estimated to cost Ohio $77 million in uncollected tax revenue”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- coverage of this campus rests on the reported st“The tax credit authority has approved 19 active sales tax exemption agreements worth about $549 million at the time of signing”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Property tax abatement (Beech/Jug parcel): termination FINDING: not public - executed abatement text not published; termination/clawback clauses not reviewed“The company's intentions to buy the land was first reported in December when the city council agreed to the tax breaks”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Gov; DeWine, Lt; Gov; Husted and JobsOhio announced AWS will invest an estimated $7.8B by the end of 2029 to expand data center operations in Central Ohio“Amazon Web Services (AWS) will invest an estimated $7.8 billion by the end of 2029 to expand its data center operations in Central Ohio”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“The park now has 68 data center buildings that are either complete or under construction, covering 14.5 million square feet over more than 3,000 acres”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Context for the CRA minimum-payment clause: New Albany collects a data-center assessment based on property valuations at up to roughly three times the office price per square foot; $10M was collected park-wide last year“New Albany collects a special assessment from its data centers based on property valuations that can run as much as three times the price per square foot”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Press phase plan for the CRA phase: ~$1.8B construction and ~$1.7B IT equipment; construction reportedly 2025-2030. The city's own report shows actual construction starts in Oct/Nov 2024, ahead of the reported window“Around $1.8bn would go toward construction, with the remaining $1.7bn spent on IT equipment”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- AEP Ohio Neighbor to Neighbor bill-assistance programme: data center firms committed $18M total; Amazon committed $2.5M (alongside Meta, QTS, SoftBank Energy and Google) - utility-relations context for Amazon's Ohio camp“Meta, which committed $2m per year over five years, QTS, which committed $1m per year over three years, Amazon, which committed $2.5m”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Buildings planned: 5 buildings“The five buildings would total 1.25 million square feet on 85 of 439 acres the company has bought along Beech and Miller roads”News report · Sept. 2023 · grade C
- Total sq ft planned: 1250000 sq ft“The five buildings would total 1.25 million square feet on 85 of 439 acres the company has bought along Beech and Miller roads”News report · Sept. 2023 · grade C
- Land acquisition: 112 acres at Beech Road NW / Jug Street (NE corner), ~$21.8M“Amazon has acquired a 112-acre plot of land to develop another data center just north of its 68-acre New Albany campus”News report · April 2021 · grade C
- Property tax abatement (Beech/Jug parcel): incentive 15-year property tax abatement for the 112-acre Beech Road NW / Jug Street parcel, approved by City Council December 2020“The plot also comes with a 15-year property tax abatement approved by the New Albany City Council”News report · April 2021 · grade C
- Announced: Nov. 2019“Back in November, DCD reported on AWS’s plans to build a $400m, 170,000 sq ft (16,000 sq m), data center in New Albany’s International Business Park.”News report · Nov. 2019 · grade C
Permits and government (12)
- Air permit status: No Ohio EPA air permit for this facility located“Ohio EPA eDoc facility search is JS-gated; no air permit for Amazon Data Services at the Beech/Miller site was retrieved this pass”grade B
- air permit (PTI/PTO): not located (documented absence)“Ohio EPA eDoc facility search is JS-gated; no air permit for Amazon Data Services at the Beech/Miller site was retrieved this pass”grade B
- OPSB certificate: none found / not applicable“Negative searches of the OPSB case list and Ohio EPA eDoc located no on-site generation project or air permit for this campus”grade B
- zoning variance: approved“Variance to Business and Commercial L-GE zoning text section VI(B) to delay the installation of the required landscaping along adjacent residential use properties”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- building construction: construction start“AWS, Building E; Location: Generally located at Beech and Jug; Square Footage: 256,305; Start Date: October 2024”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- building construction: construction start“AWS, Building A; Location: Generally located at Miller and Beech; Square Footage: 251,265; Start Date: November 2024”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- building construction: construction start“AWS, Building F; Location: Generally located at Miller and Beech; Square Footage: 6,933; Start Date: November 2024”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- occupancy: partial occupancy“AWS, Building B; Location: Generally located at Jug and Harrison; Expiration Date: December 28, 2024”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- New Albany Board of Zoning Appeals: Variance at 13360 Miller Road - delay of required landscaping installation (L-GE zoning text VI(B))“Variance to Business and Commercial L-GE zoning text section VI(B) to delay the installation of the required landscaping along adjacent residential use properties”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- New Albany City Council: Resolution R-41-2023 - Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc.“Resolution approving and authorizing the execution of the Community Reinvestment Area Agreement and a Memorandum of Understanding with Amazon Data Services Inc”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Ohio's data-center sales tax exemption (the ORC 122.175 programme behind the Vadata agreement) cost the state an estimated $1.6B in 2025 against a ~$136M forecast; a budget-bill provision to scrap the exemption for futur“Gov. Mike DeWine (R) vetoed the measure, but lawmakers have until the end of this year to override him”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- New Albany City Council: Tax breaks for the 112-acre Beech Road NW / Jug Street parcel (15-year property tax abatement)“The company's intentions to buy the land was first reported in December when the city council agreed to the tax breaks”News report · April 2021 · grade C
Site and other (6)
- Stage: operating (phased; expansion continuing)“AWS's newest data center campus in New Albany has completed construction and staffing for two of its buildings”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Address: 13360 Miller Rd NW, Johnstown, OH 43031“Location: 13360 Miller Road”Local government · Feb. 2025 · grade B
- Land (acres): 430 acres“AWS purchased a 430 acre site in the business park in late 2022”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Jobs committed: 105 FTE“Once fully operational more than 105 full time employees”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Original target date: 2030“3.5 billion dollar investment by 2030 on the 1st 83 acres of that development site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
- Water supply: City MOU commits allocated water capacity and availability dates for the site“memorializes our commitments on the capacity of water allocated for the site and the dates water will be available to the site”Local government · Sept. 2023 · grade B
Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.