Power
Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Ameren Missouri grid via an on-site switchyardProposed
CRG's stated design capacity; no utility contract or regulator filing states any MW Company · June 2026
Proposed
Getting on the grid
- CRG's site plan includes a substation pad and an Ameren switchyard, with Tier 4 diesel generators for backup. Company · June 2026
- Under the agreement, CRG pays 100% of energy costs and the cost of new water, sewer and energy infrastructure. Company · March 2026
- No state utility commission case names the campus; Ameren's large-load rates were approved Nov. 24, 2025. Company · Oct. 2026
Permits
Permits checklist
2 contested · 1 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
City approvals on record; all are under legal challenge.
- !Rezoning ContestedFestus City Council · Nov. 27, 2025: lawsuit asks the court to invalidate the vote News report · April 2026
- !Infrastructure development agreement (Bill No. 4876) ContestedFestus City Council · March 30, 2026: approved 6-2 at a special meeting; challenged in court Company · March 2026
- ✓Annexation of parcels near Route 67 GrantedFestus City Council · 2025: unanimous (press) News report · 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for backup generators
Risks
What could slow it down
- HighLawsuitResidents ask a court to reverse the rezoning and the agreement, alleging secret meetings and Sunshine Law violations (allegations). News report · April 2026
- HighPolitical backlashVoters replaced all four incumbents on the ballot a week after the vote, and a mayoral recall petition followed (press). News report · April 2026
- MediumNo tenant or capacity disclosedNo end user is named and CRG has not disclosed IT capacity. News report · March 2026
- WatchWaterThe agreement lets CRG drill private wells from the same aquifer if city water cannot meet demand (press). News report · March 2026
Lawsuits
1 case on record
- Filed Apr. 8, 2026 Wake Up JeffCo LLC, Sherman Doyle, Vernon and Sharon Valish and Rozilyn Daniels v. City of Festus and CRGCourt not named in coverage News report · April 202612 counts including Sunshine Law violations, civil conspiracy and due process (allegations)
Money
Money on record
$0
real property tax abatement requested
city will back a partial personal property abatement bid Local government · March 2026
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- 2025Permits Council unanimously annexes parcels near Route 67 ahead of the data center (press) News report · 2025
- Nov. 27, 2025Permits City Council rezones the site News report · April 2026
- March 20, 2026Money Mayor says CRG will not seek real property tax abatement Local government · March 2026
- March 30, 2026Permits Council approves the infrastructure agreement 6-2 in a high-school gym; public comment cut off at two hours Company · March 2026
- April 7, 2026Site All four incumbent council members on the ballot lose to anti-data-center candidates News report · April 2026
- April 8, 2026Legal Wake Up JeffCo and four property owners file a 12-count lawsuit to reverse the approvals News report · April 2026
- June 2026Site CRG's own site still presents the campus, with an Ameren switchyard on the plan Company · June 2026
The buildings
Specs
- Private wells: CRG may drill them if city water falls short (press) News report · March 2026
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Owners
- CRG (CRG Acquisition, LLC): developer, the real estate arm of St. Louis-based Clayco
- Bob Clark: Clayco executive chairman
Decision-makers
- Festus City Council and Mayor: rezoning and infrastructure agreement
- Jefferson County Port Authority: would rule on a personal property tax abatement
Power partners
- Ameren Missouri: switchyard on CRG's site plan
Opponents
- Wake Up JeffCo LLC and four property owners (lawsuit)
- Council members elected Apr. 2026 on anti-data-center platforms
Still unknown
Open questions
- End-user tenant and IT capacity.
- Ameren service agreement.
- Outcome of the lawsuit.
Where this comes from
29 records from 7 documents
Drawn from news reports, company statements and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 6Company 2Local government 1
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (2)
- CRG's own site plan includes an Ameren switchyard and a substation pad - Ameren Missouri is the serving utility on the developer's own record, and service would fall under Ameren's MoPSC-approved large-load tariff. CRG s“Supporting infrastructure includes mechanical and electrical yards for each building, a substation pad, and an Ameren switchyard.”Company · June 2026 · grade B
- under Bill 4876 CRG is responsible for all energy costs, which the agreement states will not be passed on to Festus residents; CRG has not publicly disclosed total IT capacity.“Capacity: CRG has not publicly disclosed total IT capacity.”News report · March 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (7)
- Development agreement framework (Mayor's public statement, Mar 20, 2026): no real property tax abatement - developer commitment“The City has negotiated a commitment from CRG to not request real property tax abatement for the data center. There will be NO cap or abatement on the City's utility taxes.”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- Development agreement framework (Mayor's public statement, Mar 20, 2026): city support for partial personal property tax abatement application (Jefferson County Port Authority)“The City has, in turn, agreed to support the developer's application to the Jefferson County Port Authority for partial personal property tax abatement.”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- infrastructure development agreement: 100% of energy costs paid by CRG - not passed to Festus residents; CRG carries the cost of new water, sewer and energy infrastructure; $45M direct community benefit payments over 10“100% Energy costs paid by CRG — not passed to Festus residents”Company · March 2026 · grade B
- Infrastructure Development Agreement (Bill No. 4876): minimum investment 6000000000 USD minimum“According to the minutes of the meeting on March 30 when the council approved the project, the developer CRG Acquisition, LLC, “intends to invest a minimum of Six Billion and 00/100 Dollars.””News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Infrastructure Development Agreement: private well drilling right if Festus municipal water cannot meet demand, CRG may drill private wells drawing from the same aquifer“The Infrastructure Development Agreement gives CRG the right to drill private wells if Festus municipal water cannot meet demand.”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Project site (drawing on Bill 4876 and the MarksNelson model): $6 billion initial private investment, an estimated $1.3 billion in property taxes, utility taxes and community benefit payments over 25 years, $45M in direc“$6B Initial private investment”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Before the rezoning, the Festus City Council unanimously approved annexation of several land parcels near US Route 67 ahead of the planned data center development (DCD report; ~240 acres at that stage, $1 billion initial“the Festus city council unanimously approved the annexation of several land parcels near US Route 67 last week, ahead of a planned data center development.”News report · 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (4)
- Festus's project record: key terms are drawn from the infrastructure development: Infrastructure Development Agreement approved (Bill No. 4876, Mar. 30, 2026); site rezoned Nov. 2025“Key terms drawn from the infrastructure development agreement (Bill No. 4876, approved March 30, 2026)”Company · March 2026 · grade B
- City of Festus City Council (special meeting):“Authorizing ordinance: Bill No. 4876, infrastructure development agreement, approved 6–2 on March 30, 2026.”Company · March 2026 · grade B
- Project status: approved but legally contested; no construction“Zoning | Complete | Festus City Council rezoned the parcel on Nov 27, 2025; one active lawsuit asks the court to invalidate that vote.”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- All four incumbent council members up for election were ousted by anti-data-center candidates in the Apr 7, 2026 municipal election, a week after the 6-2 approval; a mayoral recall petition followed“All 4 incumbents ousted. Karl Weekley (W1), Allen McCarthy (W2), Dan Moore (W3), Rick Belleville (W4) elected on anti-data center platforms.”News report · April 2026 · grade C
Legal (2)
- Decisive B6 items: Wake Up JeffCo LLC and four property owners filed a 12-count, 54-page lawsuit on Apr 8, 2026 alleging Sunshine Law violations and seeking to reverse the rezoning and development agreement; all four inc“54-page lawsuit filed. Wake Up JeffCo LLC, Sherman Doyle, Vernon & Sharon Valish, Rozilyn Daniels. Attorney Steve Jeffery. 12 counts including Sunshine Law violations, civil conspiracy, due process.”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Nov. 18, 2025“CRG president Chris McKee confirmed the company is pursuing potential data center development on the recently annexed land”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (1)
- County code: 29099“Site: ~360 acres north of Highway 67 and west of Highway CC, City of Festus.”News report · March 2026 · grade C