Permits checklist
2 pending · 1 draft · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ◷Air construction permit, gas plant (2026-06-032) PendingMissouri Department of Natural Resources · July 20, 2026: filed June 18, 2026; complete July 20; no draft permit yet State agency · Oct. 2026
- ◷Development agreement DraftNodaway County · as of Oct. 2026: not executed; being drafted by the county attorney Local government · Oct. 2026
- ◷Water service PendingPublic Water Supply District No. 1 · June 23, 2026: draft study out; no determination and no preferred option Local government · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Stormwater permit for land disturbance, Federal water action (NWK-2026-00145), Utility certificate
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighCounty moratoriumCommissioners paused data-center construction to Jan. 21, 2027, and residents petition to extend it; permitting and surveying reportedly continue. News report · July 2026
- HighNo customerThe model is to build the site and assign it to an unnamed hyperscaler; none has been identified. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumPower path unprovenThe gas plant's air permit is pending, and the reported Evergy service has no agreement or state filing behind it. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumWater undecidedThe water district has made no determination; options are reclaimed city water or potable water from another town. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumLocal oppositionA group called Nodaway Says No has held rallies and meetings and circulates a petition to extend the moratorium. News report · Oct. 2026
Power and the grid
- Evergy grid service (reported) Unverifiedpress says Evergy would serve the data center; no agreement or state filing found Local government · Oct. 2026
- White Cloud Generating gas plant (12 simple-cycle turbines) Air permit pending600 MW; application says it would sell up to 600 MW to the bulk grid; a separate company from the data center Local government · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- June 18, 2026Gas plant air permit filedWhite Cloud Generating applies to the Missouri DNR for a 12-turbine plant at Barnard. Local government · Oct. 2026
- July 20, 2026Application deemed completeThe state calls the application administratively complete; no draft permit has been issued. Local government · Oct. 2026
- Not setUtility commission: no filingNo Missouri Public Service Commission case exists for the project, although one does for a separate Evergy plant nearby. see Permits
- Evergy's 440 MW Mullin Creek plant in the same county is a separate utility project, not this campus. News report · Oct. 2026
- The gas plant's 600 MW is generation for sale and must not be added to the data center's 600 MW load. Dataset · Oct. 2026
Money on record
$6B+ combined data center and gas plant investment (developer says) (an earlier press report put the data center at $4B). Company · Oct. 2026
Not on record: price Scale paid for Reload, Feb. 2026: undisclosed, EQT is Scale's equity partner with a material commitment Company · Oct. 2026; tax abatements requested or granted: county statement, June 9, 2026 Local government · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- Dec. 16, 2025Site ReLoad introduces a data center campus to the county commissioners Local government · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 23, 2026Money Scale Microgrids acquires ReLoad and takes over the project Company · Oct. 2026
- April 2, 2026Site Scale is introduced to the county commission as the new developer Local government · Oct. 2026
- June 9, 2026Money County states no tax abatements have been requested or granted Local government · Oct. 2026
- June 18, 2026Permits White Cloud Generating files its state air permit application for the gas plant Local government · Oct. 2026
- June 23, 2026Site Water district releases a draft study on supplying the data center Local government · Oct. 2026
- July 20, 2026Permits State deems the air permit application complete Local government · Oct. 2026
- July 21, 2026Permits County commissioners enact a six-month data-center moratorium, 3-0 Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Site County posts a public briefing on the project; water source and utility remain undecided Dataset · Oct. 2026
- Jan. 21, 2027Permits Moratorium period ends unless extended by six months Local government · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Two entities: White Cloud Acres (data center) and White Cloud Generating (gas plant), same developer News report · July 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Scale Microgrids: current developer; will keep the gas plant
- ReLoad, Inc.: original developer, acquired Feb. 2026
- EQT: Scale's equity partner
- Nodaway County Commission: moratorium and development agreement
- Missouri Department of Natural Resources: air permit
- Public Water Supply District No. 1: water service
- Missouri Public Service Commission: utility certificates
- Nodaway Says No
Open questions
- Who the end customer will be.
- Whether the moratorium is extended past Jan. 2027.
- Who would supply grid power, if any.
- Where the water comes from.
110 records from 19 documents
Drawn from local government records, news reports, state agency records, company statements, public and commercial datasets and securities filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (19)
- Developer: Scale Microgrids“introduced the Commission to Dan Scheffler, VP Development, Data Centers with Scale Microgrids. Scale Microgrids recently acquired the project from RELOAD, Inc.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Filing record: No SEC filing states any load figure for this campus; Scale Microgrids and White Cloud LLC have no campus-named EDGAR footprint and no Form D“No SEC filing states a campus MW figure for this campus”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Sponsor equity: EQT (equity partner of Scale Microgrids)“material capital commitment from EQT”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site location: Southern Nodaway County; generation facility addressed 340th Street and Jet Road, Barnard, MO 64423“The proposed energy facility's Missouri DNR application identifies the location as 340th Street and Jet Road, Barnard, Missouri 64423.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 600 MW“The project includes a 600-megawatt data center alongside a natural gas-powered energy facility, representing a combined investment of more than $6 billion.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 600 MW“Application states the facility would sell up to 600 MW to the local bulk electric system.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: not stated“The project includes a 600-megawatt data center alongside a natural gas-powered energy facility”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“Public reporting indicates Evergy would serve the proposed data center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: onsite gas generation (behind-the-meter) plus grid sales; no utility ESA“Application states the facility would sell up to 600 MW to the local bulk electric system.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Scale Microgrids acquired Reload (ReLoad, Inc.), taking over the White Cloud Acres project; transaction terms undisclosed; EQT is Scale's equity partner.“the acquisition of Reload, a platform that sites, designs, and permits gigawatt-scale data center campuses paired with rapidly deployable on-site power infrastructure”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Source record“On July 31, 2025, the Missouri Public Service Commission issued its Report and Order in Case No. EA-2025-0075”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Build-and-assign structure stated by the developer: Scale performs all horizontal development, then assigns the land and materials to an unnamed hyperscaler who will own and operate the data center; Scale separately reta“Scale is performing all horizontal development of the site. Upon completion, Scale will assign the land and materials to a hyperscaler”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 600 MW“According to the project's own marketing site, it would consist of a 600 MW data center plus a co-located natural-gas power plant - combined investment "of more than $6 billion"”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: Behind-the-meter self-supply by design: Scale Microgrids (which acquired developer ReLoad in February 2026) plans co-located natural-gas generation for the campus; NO interconnection agreement wit“Scale Microgrids, which specializes in behind-the-meter natural-gas power generation — a structure that lets the project bypass the utility-regulatory process that would otherwise apply if power came from Evergy or Ameren.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 600 MW“According to the project's own marketing site, it would consist of a 600 MW data center plus a co-located natural-gas power plant”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Press reporting indicates Evergy would serve the proposed data center (relayed in the county presentation). UNVERIFIED: no Evergy agreement, PSC filing or tariff application for this campus exists in the record opened; t“Public reporting indicates Evergy would serve the proposed data center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site geography: Proposed campus near U.S. Highway 71 and 340th Street / Jet Road, south of Maryville near Barnard, southern Nodaway County (per Nodaway County's October 2026 public briefing); split structure: White Cloud“Nodaway County's October 2026 public briefing describes a proposed 600 MW data center near U.S. Highway 71 and 340th Street/Jet Road.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Separate generation warning: DO NOT ADD: the White Cloud Generating project's own ~600 MW figure (marketing) is a generation figure for a separate grid-sale project, not additional data center load; Evergy's 440 MW Mulli“The proposed generation project's 600 MW figure must not be added as another data center load.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project structure: Split into two projects under the same developer: White Cloud Acres (the data center) and White Cloud Generating (the co-located natural-gas generation system, which has applied to Missouri DNR for a p“One is under White Cloud Acres, which would run the data center, and White Cloud Generating, which would run the generator system”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (16)
- tax abatement: finding none No abatements requested or granted“Commission stated no abatements have been granted nor requested at this time”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- county order - temporary moratorium: enactment Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- press reports it applies to construction and does not affect permitting or surveying; the DNR applicati“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Tenants: not stated“No hyperscale/end-use customer has been publicly identified”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: none identified; build-and-assign model (unnamed hyperscaler to own/operate the data center; Scale retains the gas facility)“Scale is performing all horizontal development of the site. Upon completion, Scale will assign the land and materials to a hyperscaler”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Investment stated: more than $6 billion (combined data center + energy facility) USD“The project includes a 600-megawatt data center alongside a natural gas-powered energy facility, representing a combined investment of more than $6 billion.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- acquisition: transaction“the acquisition of Reload, a platform that sites, designs, and permits gigawatt-scale data center campuses paired with rapidly deployable on-site power infrastructure”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- acquisition: financial terms not disclosed in the release“the acquisition of Reload, a platform that sites, designs, and permits gigawatt-scale data center campuses paired with rapidly deployable on-site power infrastructure”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- development agreement (proposed): status NOT EXECUTED as of Oct 2026“What property has actually been purchased, optioned, or otherwise controlled?”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- development agreement (proposed): water protection Development Agreement is intended to bar direct withdrawal from, or discharge into, the 102 River within the project boundaries“The Development Agreement is intended to ensure the project does not directly withdraw water from or discharge water into the 102 River within the project boundaries.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- development agreement (proposed): cost responsibility White Cloud Generating LLC pays capital improvements required to serve the project; costs not passed to existing District customers“White Cloud Generating LLC will be responsible for capital improvements required to serve the project. Costs will not be passed to existing District customers.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- county order - temporary moratorium: term and extension Six-month period concluding January 21, 2027; Commission may extend by an additional six months“It is not a permanent ban.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- electric service agreement: finding none No ESA or utility service contract exists“Public reporting indicates Evergy would serve the proposed data center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- all agreements: termination clauses finding FINDING: no executed agreement exists for this campus, so no termination, clawback or condition clause exists to extract. The only executed instrument is the county moratorium“What property has actually been purchased, optioned, or otherwise controlled?”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: none - no construction; the developer holds land options (one landowner reports being told the option would not be exercised for about a year) and is running sound-baseline studies; the project was pu“On December 16, 2025, representatives from Chicago-based ReLoad Energy met privately with the Nodaway County Commission to discuss a $4 billion data center campus south of Maryville”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- water service agreement: finding none No service agreement; district has made no determination and selected no preferred alternative“The District has not made any determination regarding whether water service will be provided, nor has it selected a preferred alternative.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (23)
- Construction stage: not stated“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Stage: announced only“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Original target date: not stated“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County enacted a temporary data-center moratorium for due diligence (unanimous vote); the six-month period concludes Jan 21, 2027 and may be extended six months.“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City of Maryville separately proposed (Council Bill 2026-58) a six-month moratorium on large-scale development over 60 contiguous acres within city limits. The campus is on unincorporated county land, so the county morat“The ordinance is being considered in response to increased interest in large-scale development activity within Nodaway County”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: ReLoad, Inc. introduction to the Commission (Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel, Michael Bendok)“Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel and Michael Bendok from ReLoad, Inc. stopped in to introduce themselves to the Commissioners.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: Commission attended TEAMS meeting with Missouri Partnership (Subash Alias, Evan Glantz, Janelle Higgins) and Josh McKim (NCED) regarding a potential data center“regarding potential data center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: Scale Microgrids project update: Josh McKim (NCED) introduced Dan Scheffler, VP Development, Data Centers, Scale Microgrids; Scale recently acquired the project from RELOAD, Inc.“introduced the Commission to Dan Scheffler, VP Development, Data Centers with Scale Microgrids. Scale Microgrids recently acquired the project from RELOAD, Inc.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: Abatement status stated on the record“Commission stated no abatements have been granted nor requested at this time”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: County attorney Travis Elliott reported his team is still researching and drafting the ordinance that would allow the county to explore a moratorium; closed session scheduled Jun 23, 2026 under“still researching and drafting the ordinance that would allow Nodaway County to explore a moratorium”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: Tentative presentation of the draft Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers; draft shared with the public; press release sent to media“tentative presentation of An Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nodaway County Commission: Moratorium enacted: Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence“Burns made a motion to enact an Order and Ordinance Enacting a Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Maryville City Council: Council Bill No. 2026-58 (agenda item): proposed Large-Scale Development Moratorium Ordinance - six-month pause on projects exceeding 60 contiguous acres within the City of Maryville“The proposed Large-Scale Development Moratorium Ordinance establishes a temporary six-month pause on the acceptance, processing, approval, and permitting of certain commercial, industrial, and mixed-use development projects exceeding sixty (60) contiguous acres within the City of Maryville.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Air construction permit application: Application filed - pending“A separate proposed natural-gas generation facility has Missouri DNR air application 2026-06-032 (site 147-0052).”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- air construction permit: application filed“Missouri DNR - White Cloud Generating LLC construction permit application (2026-06-032).”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- air construction permit: administratively complete“Application states the facility would sell up to 600 MW to the local bulk electric system.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- air construction permit: pending - listed on DNR Pending Air Permits“air-related permit applications the department has received and currently is reviewing”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Clean Water Act Section 404 / jurisdictional action: action listed in USACE public regulatory database“U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - NWK-2026-00145, White Cloud Acres, LLC - White Cloud Acres.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- construction land disturbance stormwater permit: not yet obtained - developer states it will be obtained before land disturbance“Prior to land disturbance, the project will obtain the applicable Missouri Department of Natural Resources (MDNR) Construction Land Disturbance Stormwater Permit.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- certificate of convenience and necessity (CCN): no filing - negative finding“On July 31, 2025, the Missouri Public Service Commission issued its Report and Order in Case No. EA-2025-0075”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- White Cloud Generating, LLC filed MO DNR construction-permit application 2026-06-032 for a 12-turbine natural-gas generation facility at Barnard (Site ID 147-0052); administratively complete Jul 20, 2026.“Missouri DNR - White Cloud Generating LLC construction permit application (2026-06-032).”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Nodaway County enacted a six-month data-center moratorium on July 21, 2026, while the White Cloud Acres proposal was under county review; the county's October 2026 public briefing describes proposals and pending decision“The county enacted a six-month data-center moratorium July 21, 2026.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Regulatory status: Six-month county measure VERIFIED as a moratorium: the Nodaway County Commission adopted a data-center moratorium unanimously in July 2026, running six months (terminable early or extendable by six mor“The period will be for six months and can be terminated early by the Commission or extended for another six months. The measure applies to construction and does not affect permitting or surveying”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Site and other (16)
- Developer original: ReLoad, Inc. (Reload)“Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel and Michael Bendok from ReLoad, Inc. stopped in to introduce themselves to the Commissioners.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County: Nodaway County, Missouri“within Nodaway County, Missouri for the Purposes of Due Diligence”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- First announced: Dec. 16, 2025“Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel and Michael Bendok from ReLoad, Inc. stopped in to introduce themselves to the Commissioners.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- First documented developer contact: ReLoad, Inc. (Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel, Michael Bendok) introduced itself to the Nodaway County Commission.“Dan Scheffler, Zach Siegel and Michael Bendok from ReLoad, Inc. stopped in to introduce themselves to the Commissioners.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County code: 29147“Site is in Nodaway County, MO (FIPS 29147)”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Name: White Cloud Acres“White Cloud Acres, LLC - White Cloud Acres”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Current target date: not stated“No hyperscale/end-use customer has been publicly identified”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Regulatory status: County temporary data-center moratorium in effect; six-month period concludes Jan. 21, 2027, extendable by six months“It is not a permanent ban.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Sound-baseline work performed: background sound levels measured for seven days in July 2026 at several locations along the proposed project boundary; compliance to be modeled against a 50 dBA limit (CadnaA / ISO 9613-2).“Background sound levels were measured for seven days at several locations along the proposed project boundary representing nearby non-participating residences.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Water alternatives still open: reclaimed water from the Maryville wastewater treatment facility or potable water from Savannah; final source not determined. Maryville and PWSD No. 1 began discussions in September 2026 re“Two alternatives are currently identified: reclaimed water from the Maryville wastewater treatment facility or potable water from Savannah.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Water demand avg: 82000 gpd“The proposed industrial user will need a minimum of 82,000 gallons per day (gpd), on average, to run the site.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Water service status: No determination made by Public Water Supply District No. 1; no preferred alternative selected“The District has not made any determination regarding whether water service will be provided, nor has it selected a preferred alternative.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Organized local opposition (Nodaway Says No; May 1, 2026 rally; May 26, 2026 community meeting) and a petition demanding the commissioners extend the data-center moratorium, with an independent impact review and farmland“Demand for Nodaway County Commissioners to Extend the Data Center Moratorium”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- County meeting reporting in September 2026 described Grand River Mutual marking utility lines at the White Cloud Generating work site (press-level item relayed in the county presentation).“marking utility lines at the White Cloud Generating work site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aggregator reporting expected a final go/no-go decision by the end of June 2026. No decision occurred; the county instead spent June-July 2026 drafting and enacting the moratorium. The milestone is stale and should carry“final go/no-go decision expected by end of June 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Moratorium: Nodaway County enacted a six-month data center moratorium on July 21, 2026; the moratorium names data centers and, per county discussion, may not reach the separate White Cloud Generating entity“The county enacted a six-month data-center moratorium July 21, 2026.”Dataset · July 2026 · grade C