Data center profile · 31800 W. 196th St., Logistics Park Kansas City, Edgerton, Johnson County, Kansas

DAMAC Heartland (Edgerton, Kansas)

Reported $860 million conversion of a 378,000 sq ft warehouse in Edgerton, Kansas, into a DAMAC Digital data center, city-approved but in petition litigation.

Site plan approved, plat and ballot fight pending. Edgerton's council overrode the planning commission's denial on July 16, 2026, but a final plat still had to return for approval. Residents' petition for a public vote is in court, and no MW figure or air permit is on record.
378,000 sq ft
existing warehouse to be reused
developer filing, June 9, 2026
$860M
project value (press)
no figure in council minutes
4-0
council vote overriding the planning commission denial
July 16, 2026; one member absent
MW not disclosed
DAMAC has never stated a capacity
none in any city, press or company source found
OperatorDAMAC Digital Solutions Kansas, LLC (DAMAC Digital, formerly Edgenex)
CustomerNot disclosed
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 (range 2027 to 2033).
Next stepCourt ruling on the petition lawsuit seeking a public vote (briefs were due Oct. 9, 2026); final plat approvals also pending
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed
Backup generators (emergency use, not a power supply)

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. Nov. 2025
    Evergy large-load tariff approved
    The state commission approves Evergy's tariff for loads over 75 MW. It is the framework, not a contract for this campus. News report · Nov. 2025
  2. As of Oct. 2026
    No state docket for the project
    No Kansas Corporation Commission docket names DAMAC or Heartland. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits

Permits checklist

2 denied · 1 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.

Risks

What could slow it down

Lawsuits

2 cases on record

Money

Money on record

$860M reported project value (press; not in city minutes). News report · July 2026

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Oct. 6, 2025
    Paper trail DAMAC Digital Solutions Kansas LLC registered in Delaware
  2. Nov. 2025
    Power Kansas regulators approve Evergy's large-load tariff News report · Nov. 2025
  3. May 12, 2026
    Permits Planning commission motion to approve the site plan fails 2-2 and is tabled News report · May 2026
  4. June 11, 2026
    Permits The council denies a proposed moratorium on data center applications, 3-2 Local government · June 2026
  5. July 16, 2026
    Permits The council overrides the planning commission's denial in a special meeting with no public comment Local government · July 2026
  6. Aug. 4, 2026
    Legal The city sues petition organizers to void a petition for a public vote (press) News report · Aug. 2026
  7. Sept. 3, 2026
    Legal A judge strikes the city's suit under the state speech-protection law News report · Sept. 2026
  8. Sept. 24, 2026
    Legal Hearing in a separate suit seeking to put the petition on the ballot; no ruling found by Oct. 19 News report · Sept. 2026
The buildings

Specs

Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners and developers
  • DAMAC Digital Solutions Kansas, LLC: applicant
  • DAMAC Digital (formerly Edgenex): parent, founded 2021 by Hussain Sajwani
Decision-makers
  • Edgerton City Council: overrode the commission 4-0
  • Edgerton Planning Commission: denied the plan in June 2026
  • Johnson County District Court: petition cases
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

27 records from 12 documents

Drawn from news reports, local government records, company statements and business registries, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 7Local government 4Company 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (2)
  • Across the planning commission record, the council override and the city's FAQ, DAMAC has never stated Heartland's MW - not in its own June 9, 2026 filing. The only numbers in circulation are the 378,000 sq ft warehouse
    “Heartland Data Center - Developed by DAMAC”
  • Planning Commission sequence: on May 12, 2026 a motion to approve the final site plan failed 2-2 and the plan was tabled so DAMAC could supply diesel-generator and noise information; DAMAC submitted supplemental engineer
    “A motion to approve was made Tuesday, but failed by a 2-2 vote. Planning Commission Chair Tina Mathos and Commissioner Ray Soemer voted to approve”
Money and contracts (3)
  • County code: 20091
    “The city council unanimously overrode the commission's June denial of DAMAC Digital's $860 million facility”
  • Project value reported at USD 860 million (Johnson County Post, Jul 2026): conversion of an existing approximately 400,000 sq ft warehouse at Logistics Park Kansas City; Tracker sites additionally claim construction from
    “Plans for an $860 million data center project in Edgerton are moving forward despite the city's planning commission rejecting it in June.”
  • Press describes the project as an $860 million facility; no investment figure appears in the council minutes retrieved, and no MW figure is stated in any source retrieved for this campus
    “The city council unanimously overrode the commission's June denial of DAMAC Digital's $860 million facility”
Permits and government (8)
  • Edgerton City Council (special session):
    “Councilmember Lewis made motion to approve the appeal, citing the applicant's initial April 16, 2026, application and their commitment to comply with UDC, KDHE, IFC, IBC, and other codes without deviations.”
  • Council denied Resolution No. 06-11-26A, which would have imposed a moratorium on UDC submissions (rezoning, variances, plats, site plans) for data centers; the draft would not have halted applications filed before it. N
    “Councilmember Lewis motioned to deny item ten on the Business Requiring Action items, seconded by Councilmember Longanecker. The motion carried 3-2 by the following vote: Yes: Longanecker, Lewis, Malloy”
  • Project status: approved
    “On July 16, the Edgerton City Council unanimously overrode the planning commission's rejection of final plans from Dubai-based DAMAC Digital for a data center project at the Logistics Park Kansas City warehouse at 31800 W. 196th St.”
  • DAMAC Digital Solutions Kansas LLC's Project Heartland: Final site plan denied by Planning Commission, denial overridden by City Council (July 16, 2026)
    “in a special meeting on July 16, local news reports that city councilors overrode the Edgerton Planning Commission's denial”
  • Jul 16, 2026: in a special meeting with public comment not permitted, the City Council overrode the Planning Commission's denial and approved DAMAC's appeal (reported as unanimous; the appeal vote was 4-0). A final plat
    “However, in a special meeting on July 16, local news reports that city councilors overrode the Edgerton Planning Commission's denial. Public comment was not permitted at the meeting.”
  • Jun 15, 2026: the Edgerton City Council voted 3-2 to deny a proposed six-month ban on data centers (this campus's jurisdiction, debated alongside this project). No moratorium is in force.
    “The city council's override comes about a month after the city council voted on June 15 to deny a six-month ban on data centers”
  • Announced: May 12, 2026
    “On Tuesday night, the Edgerton Planning Commission voted 4-0 to approve a preliminary plat that combines three properties to convert an existing 400,000-square-foot warehouse at Logistics Park into a large-scale data center.”
  • In November 2025 the KCC approved Evergy's Large Load Power Service tariff, desi: FRAMEWORK: Evergy Large Load Power Service (LLPS) tariff approved (Nov. 2025) - the tariff any 75 MW+ Kansas load signs under
    “State regulators at the Kansas Corporation Commission in November 2025 approved a large load power service tariff for Evergy”
Legal (3)
  • Separate mandamus suit seeking to compel placement of the petition measure on the ballot: emergency motion for immediate placement denied, city ordered to show cause, hearing held September 24, 2026 with briefs due Octob
    “Judge Goodenow denied an emergency motion for immediate placement but ordered the city to show cause why the measure shouldn't go on the ballot, with a hearing set for September 24, 2026.”
  • Johnson County District Court Judge Stephanie Goodenow granted a motion to strike the City's August 4, 2026 lawsuit against petition organizers Carrie Schmidt, Kimberly Twente and Public Trust Collective Inc., ruling it
    “On Sept. 3 in Johnson County District Court, Judge Stephanie Goodenow sided with defendants Kimberly Twente and Carrie Schmidt, both Edgerton residents, in the city's lawsuit against them”
  • Residents gathered signatures on a petition to force a public vote on a data center ordinance; the City of Edgerton sued the petitioners, asking the court for a declaratory judgment that the petition is void (alleged fal
    “The city is now asking the court for two things: a declaratory judgment stating the petition is void because it contains false statements of fact, and a permanent injunction stopping the ordinance from being passed”