Data center profile · Kent County, Delaware (site not disclosed)

Unnamed Kent County, Delaware 100 MW data center project

Unnamed 100 MW data center listed only by Delmarva Power as under review in Delaware; no developer, site or local filing, and new interconnections paused.

Unnamed, under utility review. Delmarva Power told state regulators in a large-load tariff case that it has a 100 MW project under review in Kent County; the developer and exact location are unknown. Delaware's large-load interconnection pause was still in force as of Oct. 2026 with no tariff adopted.
100 MW
estimated utility demand, per Delmarva (press)
as reported from Delmarva's response in the tariff case; not IT capacity
4 projects
on Delmarva's list under review
two in New Castle County at 1,200 MW and 300 MW, this one in Kent County, and a fourth of undetermined size
25 MW
threshold of the proposed large-load tariff
Delmarva proposed raising it to 50 MW
OperatorNot named
CustomerNot named
Planned IT capacity80 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company or utility power figure)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet).
Next stepNone published; depends on a state tariff decision
Power

Power and the grid

None energized or contracted yet

Delmarva Power grid serviceUnder utility review, paused
100 MW
estimated demand in the utility's response (press); no service agreement; blocked by the interconnection pause News report · June 2026
Proposed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. Sept. 3, 2025
    Docket opened and pause imposed
    The state commission opens a large-load tariff docket and pauses new large-load interconnections. News report · Sept. 2025
  2. Dec. 2025
    Tariff proposed
    Delmarva files a tariff for customers of 25 MW or more. News report · Dec. 2025
  3. April 14, 2026
    Schedule suspended
    The docket's procedural schedule is suspended with no tariff adopted. State agency · Sept. 2025
Permits

Permits checklist

1 restricted · 1 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.

Risks

What could slow it down

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Sept. 3, 2025
    Power Delaware regulators vote to open a large-load tariff docket and pause new large-load interconnections in Delmarva territory News report · Sept. 2025
  2. Dec. 2025
    Power Delmarva files its proposed large-load tariff for customers of 25 MW or more News report · Dec. 2025
  3. April 14, 2026
    Power The tariff docket's schedule is suspended and no tariff has been adopted State agency · Sept. 2025
  4. June 10, 2026
    Site Delmarva's data responses list a 100 MW Kent County project under review, with no developer named News report · June 2026
  5. July 21, 2026
    Permits Kent County Levy Court votes 7-0 for rules limiting where data centers can be built; officials had received no data center application News report · July 2026
  6. Aug. 20, 2026
    Site Press says the developer and exact location of the 100 MW project are still unknown News report · Aug. 2026
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Utility and regulators
  • Delmarva Power & Light: serving utility; listed the project
  • Delaware Public Service Commission: large-load tariff case
  • Delaware Division of the Public Advocate: asked the questions that surfaced the list
Local decision-makers
  • Kent County Levy Court: adopted data center siting rules
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

60 records from 14 documents

Drawn from news reports and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 12State agency 2
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (19)
  • Interconnection status: Paused - Delaware PSC paused interconnection of new large load facilities in Delmarva territory until a large load tariff is established
    “to pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities in Delmarva Power & Light ("Delmarva") territory until a large load tariff is established”
  • large load tariff docket / interconnection pause: docket opened; interconnections paused
    “the Commission granted the request to open a docket to develop a large load tariff and to pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities”
  • County code: 10001
    “a 100 MW project in Kent County (Kent County, Delaware -> 10001; exact site within the county is not disclosed in any source).”
  • Dover officials have been approached about potential plans for more than one data center project in the city, with no developer information and no formal application - a possible but unconfirmed locality for unnamed Kent
    “Dover officials have already been approached about potential plans for more than one data center project in the city, Hall said.”
  • Project status: announced only (unnamed project under utility review; developer and exact location unknown)
    “Technical.ly previously reported that Delmarva Power records list an unnamed 100-megawatt data center project somewhere in Kent County.”
  • Two months after the FOIA reporting, the Kent County 100 MW project remained a mystery: developer and exact location still unknown, and whether the Harrington vote affects it is unknown.
    “Its developer and exact location are still unknown, so we don't yet know whether the Harrington vote affects that project.”
  • Harrington's unanimous rejection of a 24 MW data center zoning change is a different, named, in-city project; it does not decide the unnamed 100 MW Kent County project, whose location is still unknown
    “On Monday, Harrington City Council voted unanimously against a zoning change that would have allowed a proposed 24-megawatt data center at the former Harrington Logistics property.”
  • As of the July 21, 2026 ordinance adoption Kent County officials said they had received no data center application or inquiry, and Dover officials likewise report approaches but no formal application (Oct. 12, 2026): the unnam
    “County officials said they had not received a data center application or inquiry when the ordinance passed.”
  • Utility service: 100 MW
    “They show that in its response to questions posed by the DPA in the state's large-load tariff case, Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time”
  • Developer: undisclosed (not named in any source found)
    “Technical.ly could not confirm a publicly identified 100 MW project that clearly matches Delmarva's description.”
  • Utility: Delmarva Power & Light (Delmarva Power)
    “Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time”
  • Utility review status: Pending cluster study analysis
    “Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis”
  • Site acreage: not disclosed
    “Technical.ly could not confirm a publicly identified 100 MW project that clearly matches Delmarva's description.”
  • Announced: June 11, 2026
    “Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time: a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County, a 100 MW project in Kent County”
  • Queue 100 MW is mw utility (estimated peak demand) per Delmarva Power's PSC large-load tariff-case response as reported by Technical.ly; it is not an IT MW figure, and no developer or site is named in the response
    “Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time: a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County, a 100 MW project in Kent County”
  • The unnamed project sits under Delaware's large-load interconnection pause: the PSC large-load proceeding paused new large-load interconnections in Delmarva territory pending a tariff (state-level context only; the PSC d
    “All of these proposals are impacted by Delaware's statewide moratorium on new large-load interconnections, set to take effect in October 2025.”
  • Project status: under review unnamed
    “Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time”
  • Delmarva's response to the Division of the Public Advocate in the large-load tariff case lists four projects under review, including a 100 MW project in Kent County; the developer and site are not identified
    “Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time: a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County, a 100 MW project in Kent County”
  • Delaware PSC Docket No. 25-0826 (Delmarva large-load tariff for customers >=25 MW) is the proceeding in which the project list surfaced
    “At its core, the question is whether the protections in Docket No. 25-0826 are strong enough to prevent the major infrastructure cost burden from landing on existing residential and small-business customers.”
Money and contracts (1)
  • regulatory proceeding: large load tariff + interconnection pause 25 MW threshold (facilities at or above)
    “jointly presented a petition to the Delaware Public Service Commission ("Commission") to establish a large load tariff”
Permits and government (14)
  • On the joint petition of PSC Staff and the Division of the Public Advocate, the : Large load tariff docket opened Sep 3, 2025 with a PAUSE on new large-load interconnections in Delmarva territory; procedural schedule SUS
    “the Commission granted the request to open a docket to develop a large load tariff and to pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities in Delmarva Power & Light (“Delmarva”) territory until a large load tariff is established”
  • Dover's 18-month moratorium (adopted Oct. 12, 2026) pauses city review of data center proposals over 30 MW until about April 2028 - the earliest a Dover-sited large proposal could resume review, if the unnamed project surfa
    “Dover's new ordinance now pauses the city's official review of proposals for large energy-use facilities”
  • Dover City Council:
    “The Dover City Council on Monday unanimously approved a 18-month moratorium on the construction of data centers in Delaware's capital city.”
  • The ONLY evidence of this campus is Delmarva's own project list in the tariff docket: an unnamed 100 MW Kent County data center 'under review'; Technical.ly's later check (Aug 2026) confirms 'Technical.ly previously repo
    “Technical.ly previously reported that Delmarva Power records list an unnamed 100-megawatt data center project somewhere in Kent County. Its developer and exact location are still unknown”
  • zoning change (SEPARATE 24 MW project: denied (unanimous)
    “On Monday, Harrington City Council voted unanimously against a zoning change that would have allowed a proposed 24-megawatt data center at the former Harrington Logistics property.”
  • Harrington City Council:
    “On Monday, Harrington City Council voted unanimously against a zoning change that would have allowed a proposed 24-megawatt data center at the former Harrington Logistics property.”
  • county data center ordinance: ordinance adopted
    “Kent County Director of Planning Services Sarah Kiefer said the county's ordinance was modeled in part after recently updated rules in Loudoun County, Virginia”
  • Kent County's new ordinance allows data centers only in Limited Industrial or General Industrial zoning on unincorporated land, with noise, setback, cooling and water conditions - the land-use frame any future filing for
    “They are allowed only in areas zoned Limited Industrial or General Industrial, and only if they meet the ordinance's conditions.”
  • Kent County Levy Court:
    “Kent County Levy Court on Tuesday unanimously approved new rules for data centers, establishing limits on where they can be built”
  • Kent County Regional Planning Commission:
    “The ordinance passed unanimously, without any real debate. It comes despite there being no plans in place for any data center in Kent County.”
  • In response to Division of Public Advocate questions in Docket 25-0826, Delmarva: Delmarva data responses in the large-load docket identify a 100 MW Kent County project under review - developer not named
    “a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County, a 100 MW project in Kent County”
  • Delmarva filed its proposed large-load tariff in December 2025 covering customer: Delmarva large-load tariff filed Dec. 2025 (>=25 MW; company proposed raising threshold to 50 MW)
    “Delmarva filed its tariff in December 2025 covering customers at 25 MW or more, though it has recommended raising the threshold to 50 MW instead”
  • Delaware's October 2025 moratorium on new large-load interconnections affects all four listed proposals including the Kent County project
    “All of these proposals are impacted by Delaware's statewide moratorium on new large-load interconnections, set to take effect in October 2025.”
  • On a joint petition by PSC Staff and the Division of Public Advocate (filed Sept: docket opened to develop a Delmarva large-load tariff; new large-load interconnections paused
    “the Commission granted the request to open a docket to develop a large load tariff and to pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities in Delmarva Power & Light territory”
Site and other (2)
  • Site location: Kent County, DE (exact site undisclosed)
    “Its developer and exact location are still unknown, so we don't yet know whether the Harrington vote affects that project.”
  • Kent County officials said they had not received a data center application or inquiry when the county ordinance passed in July 2026 - consistent with this project existing only as a utility-side listing.
    “County officials said they had not received a data center application or inquiry when the ordinance passed.”