Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Oct. 15, 2025State pauses new large-load connectionsThe Public Service Commission halts connection of loads of 25 MW or more in Delmarva territory until a tariff exists. see Permits
- Dec. 19, 2025Delmarva proposes a tariffThe proposed large-load class would cover customers of 50 MW or more. News report · Feb. 2026
- April 14, 2026Tariff schedule suspendedThe hearing schedule is suspended pending state legislation and PJM reforms. News report · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 26, 2026State law signedA new law requires a separate large-load rate class and commission approval of a service agreement before any connection. State agency · Oct. 2026
- State staff, the environmental agency and the public advocate called Delmarva's proposed tariff a serious risk to customers. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
2 pending · 2 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- ◷Exploratory land development plan (No. 20240215) PendingNew Castle County Dept. of Land Use · Nov. 17, 2025: revised plan filed; no approval; data center use unconfirmed News report · Oct. 2026
- ◷Connection of a large load PendingDelaware Public Service Commission · Oct. 15, 2025: a utility commission matter, not zoning; paused for all new large loads Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- ✓County data center rules (Mar. 2026) GrantedNew Castle County Council · March 10, 2026: adopted; this plan is grandfathered and exempt from them News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓County capacity-certification rule (Oct. 2026) GrantedNew Castle County Council · Oct. 13, 2026: adopted; not retroactive, so it does not apply to this plan; awaiting the executive's signature News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Electric service agreement, Incentive or development agreement
What could slow it down
- HighNo power pathThe state has paused large-load connections, and no service agreement can be approved until new rules are written. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- HighUse unconfirmedThe applicant has not said it is a data center, and the plan is still at the exploratory stage. News report · Dec. 2025
- MediumTighter county rulesThe county adopted rules on buffers, cooling and grid proof; this plan is exempt for now but political sentiment has shifted. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchCustomer cost pushbackState agencies warn that large data center load could raise Delaware wholesale power prices (portfolio-wide modeling, not this campus). News report · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: no incentive, abatement or financing: project is at the exploratory stage Analysis · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- 2024Permits Exploratory plan filed as a warehouse project: three buildings of about 2.5M sq ft plus 155 homes. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 15, 2025Power State commission pauses new large-load connections in Delmarva territory. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 17, 2025Permits Revised plan drops "logistics" from the name, grows to 6.5M sq ft and 366 homes, and mentions data centers. News report · Oct. 2026
- Dec. 16, 2025Site County planners say the use is unclarified; two councilmembers say the plans are likely data centers. News report · Oct. 2026
- March 10, 2026Permits County adopts its first data center rules and grandfathers this plan. News report · March 2026
- June 11, 2026Power A records-request story reports a 300 MW figure for Delmarva's load pipeline (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 26, 2026Power Delaware signs a law creating a large-load rate class and requiring approved service agreements. State agency · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2, 2026Site A seasonal attraction opens on the site; no demolition or construction has begun. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 13, 2026Permits County council adopts a second rule requiring proof of grid capacity; it does not apply to this plan. News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 22, 2027Power Utilities must file large-load rate applications under the new law. State agency · Aug. 2026
Specs
- By right: data centers allowed without a vote in the business park zoning News report · Dec. 2025
Owners, partners and builders
- Parkway Gravel Inc.: applicant and developer
- Greggo & Ferrara: parent, per press
- Nicholas Ferrara IV: owner of record on the plan
- New Castle County Council and Dept. of Land Use
- Delaware Public Service Commission
- County Executive Marcus Henry
- Delmarva Power & Light (Exelon): utility
- Verdantas: engineer
Open questions
- Whether the developer confirms a data center use.
- How much load the site would actually need.
- When the state will allow new large-load connections.
126 records from 27 documents
Drawn from news reports, our own analysis, utility regulator dockets, public and commercial datasets, state agency records, court filings and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (24)
- large load tariff docket: petition filed“IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF STAFF OF THE DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION REGARDING A LARGE LOAD TARIFF TO BE PROMULGATED BY DELMARVA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- interconnection pause order: order signed“On October 15th, 2025, the Commission signed Order number 10829 formally opening a docket to establish a large load tariff”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- proposed large load tariff: proposed tariff filed by Delmarva“On December 19, 2025, Delmarva filed a proposed tariff.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Interconnection status: No interconnection request naming this campus is public; interconnection of new large load facilities in Delmarva territory is paused under PSC Order No. 10829 (Oct 15, 2025) until a large load ta“On October 15th, 2025, the Commission signed Order number 10829 formally opening a docket to establish a large load tariff”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 8.43 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 6.68 km (unnamed, )Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation: 7.43 km - unnamed ; nearest >=345 kV substation is Red Lion Substation (, 230000;138000, Delmarva Power) at 9.09 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Utility service: 300 MW“Project 2 - Size: 300 MW - County: New Castle - Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis - Possible match: Frightland / St. Georges proposal”Utility regulator · June 2026 · grade B
- large load interconnection request: Pending cluster study analysis“Size: 300 MW - County: New Castle - Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis - Possible match: Frightland / St. Georges proposal”Utility regulator · June 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Delmarva Power & Light Company (Exelon)“pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities in Delmarva Power & Light (Delmarva) territory until a large load tariff is established”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Grid operator: PJM“Large load tariffs have been adopted or are being considered in numerous other states, including states across the PJM region.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no IT-load figure for this campus appears in any source opened; the only MW figure in the record is Delmarva's unnamed-project peak-demand estimate.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no campus capacity figure is stated by the developer or in the county exploratory plan in any source opened.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no on-site generation - prime, bridge, or backup - is proposed in the exploratory plan coverage or any other source opened.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Electric service agreement signed: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no Electric Service Agreement for this campus exists in any source opened; under HS1 for HB 233 an ESA must be PSC-approved before interconnection.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- large load tariff docket: procedural schedule suspended“On April 14, the PSC's Senior Hearing Examiner issued a temporary suspension of the procedural schedule in Docket 25-0826”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Technical.ly's FOIA-based story (Jun 11, 2026) is the first public appearance of the 300 MW figure“Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time: a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The White Clay Center plan (Newark, county Project #20260021) and Blue Diamond Industrial Park plan (Stoltz) are also separate projects that added data-center optionality in Nov 2025.“a 1,200 MW project in New Castle County, a 300 MW project in New Castle County, a 100 MW project in Kent County”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Delmarva Power's FOIA'd interconnection/cluster response lists a 300 MW New Castle County project 'pending cluster study analysis' - Technical.ly flags it only as a POSSIBLE match to the Frightland / St. Georges proposal“Size: 300 MW; County: New Castle; Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis; Possible match: Frightland / St. Georges proposal”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Delmarva Power & Light (Delmarva Power) - the site is in Delmarva territory; Delmarva identified four data center projects under review in the state large-load tariff case, and new large-load interconnections ar“in its response to questions posed by the DPA in the state's large-load tariff case, Delmarva Power identified four data center projects under review at the time”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: No campus-named grid position: the only utility-side record is Delmarva's unnamed 300 MW New Castle County project 'pending cluster study analysis' in Delaware PSC Docket 25-0826 (possible/inferre“the overlap with Delmarva's 300 MW utility-side project is not confirmed”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: 300 MW“Size: 300 MW - County: New Castle - Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis - Possible match: Frightland / St. Georges proposal”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: grid“This project may be the St. Georges-area proposal tied to the Frightland haunted attraction”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Registry status: NO AGENCY RECORD OF ANY KIND; No DNREC record exists for the St; Georges Business Park proposal: no Coastal Zone Act status decision, no air permit, no water permit for Parkway Gravel Inc or any data-cen“Project 2 - Size: 300 MW - County: New Castle - Status in Delmarva's response: Pending cluster study analysis - Possible match: Frightland / St. Georges proposal”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (19)
- electric service agreement (ESA) - FINDING: none exists: existence No ESA exists or has been filed for this campus; no ESA could be approved until the PSC promulgates ESA regulations under HS1 for HB 233“ESAs shall be reviewed and approved by the Commission prior to the interconnection of a large energy use facility”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- interconnection agreement - FINDING: none exists: existence No interconnection agreement exists; interconnection of new large load facilities in Delmarva territory is paused until a large load tariff is established“the Commission signed Order number 10829 formally opening a docket to establish a large load tariff”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- large load tariff (proposed) - missing terms FINDING: termination No termination, exit-notice, minimum-bill, or collateral terms are in effect for any Delaware large load customer: Delmarva's Dec 19, 2025 proposal is una“the Act sets forth minimum requirements for Electric Service Agreements (ESAs) and Transmission Security Agreement (TSAs) to be in place for any large energy use facility”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- statutory framework - large energy use facilities (HS1 HB 233): scope Regulated utilities must establish a separate rate class for large energy use facilities; infrastructure and reliability costs are directly assigned t“This Act requires regulated utilities to establish a separate rate class for large energy use facilities”State agency · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- statutory framework - large energy use facilities (HS1 HB 233): interruption Large energy use facilities are subject to interruptibility requirements protecting other customers' reliability; a facility that constructs ne“The Act further establishes interruptability requirements for large energy use facilities to ensure other customers are protected from reliability impacts”State agency · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- statutory framework - large energy use facilities (HS1 HB 233): deadline Regulated utilities must file an application to establish the rates required by the Act within 180 days of its effective date“regulated utilities must file an application to establish rates required under this Act within 180 days of the effective date”State agency · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- Tenants: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no tenant is named in any source opened; the county plan identifies no end user for the industrial buildings.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- development agreement / incentives - FINDING: none exists: existence No development agreement, PILOT, tax abatement, or incentive agreement for this campus appears in any source opened; the project is at exploratory-plan“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no development agreement or incentive agreement for the St. Georges Business Park appears in the county plan coverage or any other source opened.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- termination clauses - FINDING: none exist: termination No executed agreement of any kind exists for this campus, so no termination, cancellation, condition-precedent, or scope clauses exist to capture; the absence is str“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no executed agreement for this campus was found in county, PSC, DNREC, court, or press records searched.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original exploratory plan filed with New Castle County (Project No. 20240215) as a warehouse/logistics project: three distribution buildings totaling about 2.5M sq ft plus the 155-home Lighthouse Farms subdivision.“filed plans last year to turn close to 1,500 acres of land into 2.5 million square feet of warehouse space across three buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Agency modeling cited in coverage of the joint comments projects that 2.4 GW of new Delaware data center load could raise average wholesale electricity prices about 82 percent by 2029, with 322 hours of load shedding and“Their modeling projects that 2.4 GW of new data center load would raise Delaware's average wholesale electricity prices by 82 percent by 2029”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- large load tariff (proposed) - Delmarva GS-LD: scope Proposed new large-demand service class (GS-LD) with an application process for customers with projected loads of at least 50 MW; filed Dec 19, 2025 in Docket 25-0826;“Delmarva Power proposed a new service class, GS-LD, for large demand customers and outlined an application process for those with projected loads of at least 50 megawatts”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: none - no data center operator or tenant is named in the county filings or press checked; the named parties are landowner Parkway Gravel Inc. and project engineer Verdantas“A letter filed by Verdantas, an engineering firm on the project, notes that parking for data centers is far less than other industrial uses.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Site acres: 1500 acres“Parkway Gravel Inc., owned by Greggaro & Ferrera, filed plans last year to turn close to 1,500 acres of land into 2.5 million square feet of warehouse space across three buildings.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Announced: 2024“Parkway Gravel Inc., owned by Greggaro & Ferrera, filed plans last year to turn close to 1,500 acres of land into 2.5 million square feet of warehouse space”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Planned industrial sq ft: 3240000 sq ft“In November, new exploratory plans were filed for St. Georges Business Park. This time, the warehouse space would include 3.24 million square feet of space across three buildings”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Developer: Parkway Gravel Inc.“Last year, Verdantas submitted plans on behalf of property owner Parkway Gravel Inc. to build three distribution centers totaling 2.5 million square feet”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: none (no tenant; data-center end use itself unconfirmed)“officials from New Castle County's planning department said they 'have not received any clarification on the proposed use.'”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Square feet: 6482000 sq ft“That's a total of nearly 6.5 million square feet of floor space.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (18)
- PSC Order No. 10829 pauses interconnection of new large load facilities in Delmarva territory until a large load tariff is established - the binding state-level gate on this campus's only identified power path.“the Commission signed Order number 10829 formally opening a docket to establish a large load tariff”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- HS1 for HB 233 signed into law (85 Del. Laws ch. 440): separate large-load rate class, PSC approval of an Electric Service Agreement required before interconnection, interruptibility requirements, and utility implementin“ESAs shall be reviewed and approved by the Commission prior to the interconnection of a large energy use facility”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Delaware Public Service Commission (Hearing Examiner Lawrence): Public comment session, Docket No. 25-0826 - Delmarva large load tariff (hybrid, Dover)“A Hearing Examiner appointed by the Delaware Public Service Commission (the Commission) will conduct a hybrid format public comment session”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- Delaware Public Service Commission: Oral vote granting the Staff/DPA petition to open a large load tariff docket and to pause interconnection of new large load facilities in Delmarva territory“By an oral vote, the Commission granted the request to open a docket to develop a large load tariff and to pause the interconnection of any new large load facilities”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- land development plan (exploratory): filed“filed plans last year to turn close to 1,500 acres of land into 2.5 million square feet of warehouse space across three buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- land development plan (exploratory, revised): revised plan submitted“A letter dated Nov. 17, 2025 describing the exploratory plan was sent to the county by Scott Parker, senior project manager at Verdantas”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- data center ordinance (first): adopted“Other data center proposals in St. George's and Newark are grandfathered in as well.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- data center ordinance (first): signed“County Executive Marcus Henry signed an ordinance that was passed unanimously by the County Council”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- County planning officials state they have received no clarification of the proposed use, while Councilmembers Kilpatrick and Carter both said the St. Georges plans are likely for data centers - the data-center use remain“officials from New Castle County's planning department said they 'have not received any clarification on the proposed use.'”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- In the same signing package, Delaware enacted a 'bring your own power' clean-energy mandate for hyperscale data centers (operators must build clean generation over a ten-year period) and barred data centers from job-crea“The legislation will require operators to generate their own clean energy over a ten-year period.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- data center ordinance (second): adopted“the new ordinance will mandate that any developer who wants to build a large energy-use facility, including data centers, first prove that there will be enough electricity and transmission infrastructure to support it”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- New Castle County Council: Adoption of second data center ordinance (Substitute Ordinance 26-045): PSC certification of adequate electric capacity required before land-use approval of large energy-use facilities“The New Castle County Council on Tuesday overwhelmingly passed its second ordinance regulating data centers - with little debate.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Spotlight Delaware (Aug 28, 2026): the St. Georges proposal remains in preliminary stages while Delaware's Coastal Zone Act fight plays out over a different project (Project Washington, Delaware City)“A proposed data center near St. Georges, which would be built near the land that currently hosts the popular Halloween attraction Frightland, is still in preliminary stages”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- New Castle County Council: Adoption of data center ordinance (Substitute No. 3 to the Carter ordinance): closed-loop cooling, 1,000-foot residential buffer (500 feet with noise compliance), grandfathering for projects al“an ordinance that was passed unanimously by the County Council that established limits on where and how data centers can build”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: proposed (exploratory only) - exploratory land plans filed with New Castle County (revised November 2025: 3.24 million sq ft across three buildings plus 366 homes); the filed buildings are described a“Separately, officials from New Castle County's planning department said they 'have not received any clarification on the proposed use.'”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Zoning: Business park / light industrial (northern portion; data centers permitted by right); suburban (southern residential portion)“Currently, data centers and warehouses are both permitted by right in the light industrial districts in the county”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Jurisdiction: Land use: New Castle County Unified Development Code (county) - data centers by-right in light-industrial/business-park districts; electric interconnection and large-load rates: Delaware PSC (state) - Docke“Currently, data centers and warehouses are both permitted by right in the light industrial districts in the county”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- New Castle County Council: Data center regulation debate: Councilwoman Kilpatrick's amendments to soften the Carter regulatory bill discussed; council members state the St. Georges and Newark plans are likely data center“Councilwoman Janet Kilpatrick, who proposed amendments to water down a regulatory bill for data centers”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
Legal (2)
- Frightland opened its 30th season on the plan-area parcel on Oct 2, 2026 (season runs to Nov 7, 2026) - direct evidence of no demolition or construction on site as of mid-October 2026.“The popular regional attraction opens Friday, Oct. 2 and ends its season Sunday, Nov. 7.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Owner companies: Parkway Gravel Inc.; landowner of record Nicholas Ferrara IV“The applicant is Parkway Gravel of New Castle, and the property owner is Nicholas Ferrara IV.”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (16)
- PSC Staff, DNREC, and the Division of the Public Advocate filed joint comments calling Delmarva's proposed large load tariff a serious risk to Delaware customers and urging a more deliberate approach aligned with PJM, fe“raising serious concerns about risks to Delaware customers. With support from independent experts, we are urging a more deliberate approach”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Name: St. Georges Business Park Data Center“The largest proposal in the works is a component of the St. Georges Business Park in Middletown, just south of Port Penn Road.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Address: 309 Port Penn Road, Middletown, DE (Frightland parcel inside the plan area)“Frightland is open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights from October 2-November 7. Purchase tickets online. 309 Port Penn Road, Middletown”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: not stated“Frightland is returning for another year of scares in 2026, on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no COD or construction schedule has ever been stated for this campus in any source opened.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no COD or construction schedule has ever been stated for this campus in any source opened.”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Revised exploratory plan removes 'logistics center' from the project name, enlarges the buildings (3.24M sq ft footprint / about 6.5M sq ft floor space), raises the homes to 366, and adds the Verdantas parking letter fla“In November, Verdantas submitted new documents that removed the term logistics center from the name of the development”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: announced only“Still, those pending plans have largely been stalled in the face of resident opposition and state regulations.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Land use application: New Castle County Project No. 20240215 - exploratory major land development plan (St. Georges Business Park) with Lighthouse Farms residential subdivision“County file on Project #20240215”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- County: New Castle County“An exploratory plan has been filed with New Castle County for the 1,362-acre property”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- City: Middletown (St. Georges area, unincorporated)“a component of the St. Georges Business Park in Middletown, just south of Port Penn Road”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Project status: announced only“In November, Verdantas submitted new documents that removed the term logistics center from the name of the development and that stated that the parking demand for data centers is 'far less' than for other industrial uses”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Announced: Dec. 16, 2025“The developments are planned for sites off Route 273 near Newark and near the southern approach to the St. Georges Bridge off U.S. Route 13.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Aliases: St. Georges Business Park & Lighthouse Farms; Frightland site“The proposed St. Georges Business Park & Lighthouse Farms would replace the popular Frightland attraction near Middletown.”News report · Dec. 2025 · grade C
- Site acres: 1362 acres“An exploratory plan has been filed with New Castle County for the 1,362-acre property that includes three contiguous parcels”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Buildings: 3“the proposal is for a light industrial site with three buildings, two stories each”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C