Power and the grid
- On-site gas-fed fuel cells ProposedGlobal Common says the campus is powered by fuel cells on natural gas from three Enbridge pipelines crossing the site; no supplier, unit count, capacity or supply contract has been disclosed News report · Oct. 2026
- Eversource grid service Auxiliary onlydeveloper says grid power would serve office and auxiliary loads only, if required News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- March 19, 2026Marketing deckThe developer's deck shows 130+ acres, a 50 MW first phase and 300+ MW at full build-out, citing state incentives and Green Bank fuel-cell funding as available. News report · Oct. 2026
- Not setSiting Council petition required: none filedState rules require a petition for a declaratory ruling from the Connecticut Siting Council before fuel cells are built; none has been filed. see Permits
- Not setGas and power contracts: none publicNo gas supply, fuel cell supply, interconnection or service agreement has been disclosed. News report · Oct. 2026
- The three Enbridge interstate pipelines run in a single right-of-way across the site; the company names them but no firm transportation agreement is public. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- –Checked, nothing on file: Zoning, Site plan and wetlands, Fuel cell siting petition
What could slow it down
- HighNothing filed and no tenantNo application, supply contract or tenant exists; the campus is marketed speculatively. Company · Oct. 2026
- HighUnproven fuel-cell power planThe 300 MW-plus plan depends on fuel cells with no supplier, capacity or gas contract disclosed, and a state siting petition not yet filed. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumOrganized local oppositionThe site adjoins a new middle school; a petition and a resident group are active, and a second moratorium try is discussed. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchUnverified land controlNo deed, option or purchase agreement for the Geer Street assemblage appears in public records. Local government · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- March 19, 2026Site Global Common's marketing deck circulates: 130+ acres, site control claimed, 300+ MW at full build-out News report · March 2026
- Aug. 14, 2026Permits Town planning staff asks counsel for an opinion on a data center moratorium, before any application exists Local government · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 18, 2026Permits Planning commission introduces a 12-month moratorium and sets a hearing Local government · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 24, 2026Permits Commission rejects the moratorium 5-2 at its hearing News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 10, 2026Legal Residents publish a petition against the campus, citing the nearby schools News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 16, 2026Legal Opposition group Stop Cromwell CT Data Center is active; opponents discuss a second moratorium attempt News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
159 acres farmland owned by Gardner's Nurseries, with an existing sand-and-gravel trucking operation. Local government · Oct. 2026
- Closed-loop cooling: the developer's claim; this would be its first data center News report · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Global Common LLC: developer, no prior data centers
- Robert J. Foxen: chief executive
- Robert B. Catell: partner, former KeySpan chairman
- Gardner's Nurseries: landowner (per resident correspondence)
- Enbridge: owner of the three pipelines crossing the site
- Eversource: electric utility
- Cromwell Planning and Zoning Commission: site plan and zoning
- Connecticut Siting Council: fuel cell petition
- Stop Cromwell CT Data Center: resident group
Open questions
- A site plan or any application to the town.
- Fuel cell supplier, capacity and gas contract.
- A tenant.
- Proof of site ownership or option.
102 records from 17 documents
Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets, state agency records, local government records and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (28)
- Siting jurisdiction: Buildings: Town of Cromwell P&Z site plan approval plus inland wetlands. On-site fuel-cell generation: CT Siting Council declaratory ruling under CGS 16-50k (petition required; none filed)“The Council is also required by statute to review and approve certain new jurisdictional facilities by a petition for a declaratory ruling, including, but not limited to, fuel cells”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 6.24 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 0.75 km (Algonquin Gas Transmission, Enbridge)Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation: 3.04 km - Rocky Hill Substation (, Eversource); nearest >=345 kV substation is Kleen Substation at 9.60 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Developer: Global Common LLC“Global Common is a leading developer of renewable and fossil fuel energy projects including RNG, power plants, microgrids and data centers”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site power technology: fuel cell“Discover why the demand for data centers is skyrocketing and how Global Common is developing on-site generation with fuel cells to meet this need”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Residents submitted letters supporting the moratorium ahead of the Sep 24 hearing; correspondence identifies the site as Gardner's Nurseries farmland adjacent to the new Cromwell Middle School“there is currently a plan to develop the farmland in the northern part of town (owned by Gardner's Nurseries) and to build a data center directly adjacent to Cromwell middle school”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Address: Geer Street, Cromwell, CT“a Long Island-based energy services entrepreneur is already advertising a data center it would build off Geer Street in Cromwell”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: 300 MW“Full build-out of up to 300-plus megawatts IT can be delivered within 26-32 months from equipment deposits or may be phased in over several years”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: 40 MW“Phase 1 will provide about 40 megawatts of IT power within 18-21 months of equipment deposit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: not stated“Grid power is expected to be available for office needs and auxiliary loads if required”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: not stated“Full build-out of up to 300-plus megawatts IT can be delivered within 26-32 months from equipment deposits or may be phased in over several years”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: not stated“Global Common LLC is developing a data center campus powered by fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Gas supplier: Enbridge (three interstate pipelines, single ROW across site)“fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines that run in a single ROW directly across the project site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Eversource Energy (Connecticut Light and Power) - auxiliary and office loads only“Grid power is expected to be available for office needs and auxiliary loads if required”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: onsite“Global Common LLC is developing a data center campus powered by fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer marketing deck for the Cromwell campus in circulation: 130+ acres, Phase 1 50 MW, full build-out 300+ MW expandable, PA 21-1 incentives and CT Green Bank fuel-cell funding cited“Full Build-Out 300+ MW expandable”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- change.org petition Cromwell Data Center Opposition published, citing proximity to Cromwell Middle School and Woodside Intermediate School“The proposed site for the data center is alarmingly close to our brand new Cromwell Middle School and Woodside Intermediate School”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stop Cromwell CT Data Center group active (Reddit thread drew 108 replies per the Courant); opponents discussing a second moratorium attempt after the denial“A newly formed group calling itself Stop Cromwell CT Data Center posted an even more emphatic message on Reddit, drawing 108 replies”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: 300 MW“Full build-out of up to 300-plus megawatts IT can be delivered within 26–32 months from equipment deposits or may be phased in over several years.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: proposed - developer-announced only; no application of any kind has been filed with the Town of Cromwell; the company says it intends to seek site plan approval in early 2027“There is currently no application submitted to the town on the property for a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: On-site fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines that cross the site in a single right-of-way (company plan); grid power expected for office and auxiliary loads if required“Global Common LLC is developing a data center campus powered by fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines that run in a single ROW directly across the project site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: 40 MW“Phase 1 will provide about 40 megawatts of IT power within 18-21 months of equipment deposit”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: No interconnection - no application of any kind filed (site plan intended early 2027); primary supply is planned on-site fuel cells (natural gas via Enbridge pipelines crossing the site); grid pow“Phase 1 will provide about 40 megawatts of IT power within 18–21 months of equipment deposit. Grid power is expected to be available for office needs and auxiliary loads if required.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Behind-the-meter model: on-site fuel cells fed by pipeline gas; 159-acre Geer Street assemblage, up to 1.2M sq ft, ~1/3 of the site built at full build-out“Geer Street and Shadow Lane, where the 159-acre site is assembled from several parcels and abuts several residences. It replaces a sand and gravel trucking operation”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Registry status: ANNOUNCED ONLY - NO APPLICATION FILED ANYWHERE; Cromwell's mayor confirmed in October 2026 that no application has been submitted to the town for a data center on the ~159-acre Geer Street property; the“There is currently no application submitted to the town on the property for a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Opposition: Stop Cromwell CT Data Center (resident group); change.org petition Cromwell Data Center Opposition (published Oct. 10, 2026)“The proposed site for the data center is alarmingly close to our brand new Cromwell Middle School and Woodside Intermediate School”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Sept. 2026“The Cromwell Planning & Zoning Commission voted 5-2 in September to reject a proposed one-year moratorium on new data-center applications.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (10)
- Square feet: 1200000 sq ft“The proposal would put 1.2 million square feet of data center space in the middle of a small suburban neighborhood adjoining schools and parks”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenants: not stated“residents are concerned that a Long Island-based energy services entrepreneur is already advertising a data center it would build off Geer Street”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: not stated“Even though no formal zoning application has been put forward, residents are concerned that a Long Island-based energy services entrepreneur is already advertising a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- land control: scope Site control secured (developer claim); 159-acre assemblage on Geer Street; no purchase price or instrument disclosed“130+ acre industrial-zoned parcel with site control secured and preliminary engineering underway”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- land purchase / option: finding Finding: no deed, purchase and sale agreement, or option for the Geer Street assemblage appears in any public record opened; ownership rests on resident correspondence in the town hearing“there is currently a plan to develop the farmland in the northern part of town (owned by Gardner's Nurseries)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- host municipality fee agreement (CT Public Act 21-1): finding Finding: no DECD host municipality agreement and no qualified data center certification located. The developer deck cites PA 21-1 incentives and CT Green Bank“Qualified Data Center Public Act No. 21-1 provides financial incentives CT Green Bank funding for fuel cells”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- electric service agreement / interconnection: finding Finding: no electric service agreement, interconnection agreement, or tariff filing exists. The company states grid power would be available for office needs and auxi“Grid power is expected to be available for office needs and auxiliary loads if required”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- fuel cell supply / EPC / PPA: finding Finding: no fuel cell supply agreement, EPC contract, or power purchase agreement has been disclosed. No OEM, module, unit count, or capacity figure appears in any source opened; a C“Global Common LLC is developing a data center campus powered by fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- natural gas supply / firm transportation: finding Finding: no gas supply or firm transportation agreement has been disclosed. The company states only that three Enbridge interstate pipelines run in a single right-of-way“fuel cells supplied by natural gas from three Enbridge interstate pipelines that run in a single ROW directly across the project site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tenant lease: finding Finding: no tenant, lease, letter of intent, or colocation agreement has been announced; the campus is marketed speculatively“Global Common is a leading developer of renewable and fossil fuel energy projects including RNG, power plants, microgrids and data centers”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (14)
- zoning referral (CGS 8-3b): advisory comments issued“Because it is temporary, RiverCOG staff finds no negative intermunicipal impact due to the proposed changes”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- moratorium drafting and legal review: draft moratorium prepared; town counsel review completed“The draft moratorium looks good and the schedule is fine”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Town planning staff requested a legal opinion from town counsel on a data-center moratorium (Aug 14, 2026); draft moratorium circulated Aug 17, 2026 - before any application existed“I am seeking a legal opinion on the process and justification of a Zoning moratorium on data centers”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- RiverCOG Regional Planning Committee issued CGS 8-3b referral comments finding no negative intermunicipal or Long Island Sound impact from the proposed moratorium“Because it is temporary, RiverCOG staff finds no negative intermunicipal impact due to the proposed changes”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Cromwell Planning & Zoning Commission: Zoning moratorium on data centers (Application #26-25) presented as a text amendment; referral to RiverCOG under CGS 8-3b; public hearing scheduled“These comments are provided for the consideration of the Planning & Zoning Commission at a public hearing which is scheduled to commence on September 24, 2026”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Moratoria: 12-month moratorium on data center applications proposed by the Planning & Zoning Commission (Application #26-25)“The petition proposes a moratorium to temporarily prohibit the acceptance and approval of applications for Data Centers for twelve (12) months”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- FAA status: Cromwell point: 0 cases in the 5-NM circle (all statuses, 2021-2026 window). the Cromwell-area circle returned zero cases The queue-point FAA pull failed on repeated attempts (FAA API timeouts, Oct. 19, 2026 - p“FAA OE/AAA circle pull at 41.5950,-72.6436 (5 NM, 2021-2026): 0 cases”FAA · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- zoning text amendment (moratorium): public hearing held; amendment denied“In a 5-2 vote, the Republican-dominated planning and zoning commission last month rejected the proposed moratorium”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Planning & Zoning Commission denied the 12-month data-center moratorium 5-2 at the public hearing; the data-center use remains unregulated by any Cromwell-specific standard“In a 5-2 vote, the Republican-dominated planning and zoning commission last month rejected the proposed moratorium”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Statewide context: concern about data centers has grown across Connecticut in 2026; several towns adopted moratoria while Cromwell's commission declined. The Cromwell campus would be the state's largest announced data ce“Concern about data centers has grown across the state in recent months”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Cromwell Planning & Zoning Commission (special meeting): Public hearing on the proposed 12-month moratorium on data center applications (Application #26-25)“In a 5-2 vote, the Republican-dominated planning and zoning commission last month rejected the proposed moratorium”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Company intends to seek site plan approval in early 2027; site is zoned for data centers by right (site plan approval only, no zoning permit)“Global Common says the site is already zoned for data centers by right and that it intends to seek site plan approval in early 2027, but no application has been filed”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Cromwell Planning & Zoning Commission rejected a proposed one-year data center moratorium 5-2 (Sep 2026)“The Cromwell Planning and Zoning Commission voted 5-2 in September to reject a proposed one-year moratorium on new data-center applications”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Moratoria: Moratorium denied 5-2 at the Sep 24, 2026 public hearing; no moratorium in effect“In a 5-2 vote, the Republican-dominated planning and zoning commission last month rejected the proposed moratorium”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (11)
- County code: 09007“FCC census block find for latitude 41.6260009 longitude -72.6611602 returned County FIPS 09007, name Middlesex County, block 090075702001000”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site acres: 159 acres“The site is a 159-acre assemblage zoned for data centers by right, midway between NY and Boston”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: not stated“There is currently no application submitted to the town on the property for a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: announced only“The project has not yet filed for site plan approval”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“Full build-out of up to 300-plus megawatts IT can be delivered within 26-32 months from equipment deposits or may be phased in over several years”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“The project has not yet filed for site plan approval”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Cooling: closed-loop (developer-claimed)“Although the developer is claiming he will build a closed loop system, this is his first ever data center development”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Existing site use: Farmland (Gardner's Nurseries) with an existing sand-and-gravel trucking operation“there is currently a plan to develop the farmland in the northern part of town (owned by Gardner's Nurseries)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 159 acres“The site is a 159-acre assemblage zoned for data centers 'by right,' midway between NY and Boston.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: announced only“There is currently no application submitted to the town on the property for a data center, Demetriades said”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: March 19, 2026“130+ acre industrial-zoned parcel with site control secured and preliminary engineering underway”News report · March 2026 · grade C