Permits checklist
1 denied · 4 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this needs, and what we found. The state siting council came first, ahead of any town review.
- ✕Site boundary change for lease areas DeniedConnecticut Siting Council (state siting body) · Jan. 4, 2024: declined without prejudice as premature; Dominion could refile and never did State agency · Jan. 2024
- –Checked, nothing on file: Zoning and site plan, Building permit, State tax exemption agreement, Federal nuclear review
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighSiting gate never clearedThe state council declined the boundary change in Jan. 2024 and Dominion, which controls the land, never refiled. State agency · Oct. 2026
- HighFee agreement lapsedThe Mar. 2026 permit deadline passed with no application; no official termination notice was found. see Permits
- MediumPower never contractedThe power purchase agreement with Dominion was never signed and the interconnection design stayed conceptual. State agency · Oct. 2026
- MediumRatepayer and resident oppositionResidents and state legislators objected to taking about 300 MW off the grid-serving plant; a 2024 bill aimed at such deals passed the Senate and died. News report · Oct. 2026
Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Feb. 2022Dominion and NE Edge sign a memorandumDominion would lease land and the parties would develop a direct power purchase from Units 2 and 3. State agency · Oct. 2026
- Jan. 4, 2024Siting council declines the carve-outThe council called the petition premature, citing missing detail on the direct interconnection to the reactors. State agency · Oct. 2026
- Not setNo power agreement, no grid queue positionNo executed power purchase agreement exists and the interconnection design stayed conceptual. State agency · Oct. 2026
- No diesel backup was proposed, so reliability would have rested on the two reactors. The state record noted the effect of a Millstone shutdown on the data centers was unknown. State agency · Oct. 2026
- The plan would have taken about 15% of Millstone's output behind the meter, away from Connecticut's long-term contract with the plant. This drew the ratepayer objections. State agency · Oct. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Feb. 2022Paper trail Dominion and NE Edge sign a memorandum on land and a direct power purchase State agency · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 22, 2023Money Waterford approves the host fee agreement State agency · Feb. 2023
- March 17, 2023Money Host fee agreement signed, worth $231 million over 30 years State agency · Oct. 2026
- July 28, 2023Permits Dominion petitions the state siting council to carve out the 55 acres State agency · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 14, 2023Legal Council grants the town party status and denies seven requests for a public hearing State agency · Sept. 2023
- Jan. 4, 2024Permits Council declines the petition as premature State agency · Jan. 2024
- April 16, 2025Paper trail Selectmen approve moving the fee agreement to NE Edge Waterford, LLC, 2-1 News report · April 2025
- March 17, 2026Permits Deadline for the first building permit application passes with nothing filed Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Site NE Edge moves to a different Connecticut site, in Killingly News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Switchyard: about 6 acres, below 69 kV, fed from the Millstone switchyard State agency · Oct. 2026
- Closed-loop cooling: minimal water use, developer says Local government · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- NE Edge, LLC and NE Edge Waterford, LLC: developer, East Greenwich, Rhode Island
- Dominion Energy Nuclear Connecticut: landowner and Millstone operator
- Connecticut Siting Council: site boundary ruling
- Town of Waterford: fee agreement, zoning and permits
- Connecticut Dept. of Economic and Community Development: tax exemption agreement
- Waterford and East Lyme residents, including intervenor Michelle Neri
Open questions
- Whether the town formally ended the fee agreement.
- Whether Dominion will offer the land to another developer.
- Any tenant.
151 records from 19 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, public and commercial datasets, local government records and our own analysis, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (26)
- Address: Millstone Power Station, Rope Ferry Road, Waterford, CT (North Parcel lease areas)“The Amtrak railroad right of way (ROW), located approximately 1/2 mile north of Unit 3, bisects the MPS site into a South Parcel (234 acres) and a North Parcel (292 acres)”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Stated campus size: 300 MW“The expected maximum load from operation of the data centers is approximately 300 MW.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- IT capacity: not stated“The expected maximum load from operation of the data centers is approximately 300 MW.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Utility service: not stated“The MOU between DENC and NEE contemplates the development of a power purchase agreement whereby MPS would supply electricity to the data centers directly from Units 2 and 3”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: not stated“It claims no diesel generators or peak shaving would be employed at the data centers.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Utility: Dominion Energy Nuclear Connecticut, Inc., behind-the-meter host supplier (no distribution-utility service)“The MOU between DENC and NEE contemplates the development of a power purchase agreement whereby MPS would supply electricity to the data centers directly from Units 2 and 3”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Grid operator: ISO-NE (ISO New England)“a potential ISO-NE requirement for the data center interconnection to the MPS switchyard would be limited to review of any changes necessary to the existing MPS Interconnection Agreement”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Interconnection status: No interconnection agreement; conceptual behind-the-meter design only (final design was expected late 2024 and never completed); no ISO-NE queue position“The electrical interconnection design is conceptual. A final design is expected in late 2024.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Substation: Proposed data center switchyard on Lease Area 3 (~6 acres), fed from the existing Millstone switchyard (unnamed)“Lease Area 3: approximately 6 acres for development of an electric switchyard to provide power directly to the data centers”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Substation kV: <69 kV“accomplished through a direct electric distribution level interconnection (< 69-kV) from the existing MPS switchyard to the proposed data center switchyard”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Power plan: behind-the-meter, direct supply from host nuclear station; no grid service“NEE also characterizes the direct purchase of power from DENC for operation of the data centers as behind the meter at no cost to ratepayers.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Host plant: Millstone Power Station, Unit 2 ~870 MW (NRC license to 2035), Unit 3 ~1,150 MW (to 2045); station ~2,100 MW on 526 acres“MPS is the largest zero-carbon electric generating facility in the New England region. It provides regional reliability benefits by generation of approximately 2,100 MW.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- DENC and NE Edge sign an MOU: DENC to lease three Millstone North Parcel areas (~55 acres) for two data center buildings and a switchyard, with a PPA for direct supply from Millstone Units 2 and 3 contemplated.“The MOU between DENC and NEE contemplates the development of a power purchase agreement whereby MPS would supply electricity to the data centers directly from Units 2 and 3”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Ratepayer context: Connecticut's out-of-market PPA keeps Millstone operating through 2029 (~36% of state load; costs borne by Eversource/UI ratepayers). The campus would have diverted ~300 MW, roughly 15% of station out“Connecticut entered an out of market, long-term power purchase agreement with MPS to provide approximately 36% of the state electric load and all environmental attributes associated with MPS through 2029”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 0.06 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 9.25 km (Algonquin Gas Transmission, Enbridge)Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation: 0.34 km - Millstone Substation (, Eversource)Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- County: Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region (New London County equivalent)“All campus components — both data center buildings, the dedicated switchyard, and the host Millstone Power Station — are on the Millstone site in the Town of Waterford, Connecticut (CSC Petition No. 1586 record)”grade B
- County code: Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region, CT (09180)“All campus components — both data center buildings, the dedicated switchyard, and the host Millstone Power Station — are on the Millstone site in the Town of Waterford, Connecticut (CSC Petition No. 1586 record)”grade B
- Registry status: NO PERMIT OF ANY KIND - CANCELLED; No CT DEEP air or water permit application was ever filed and no town building permit application was ever filed for the NE Edge data centers; The gating state action w“PETITION NO. 1586 - Dominion Energy Nuclear Connecticut, Inc. petition for a declaratory ruling, pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. sections 4-176 and 16-50k, for the proposed revision of boundaries of the Millstone Power Station”State agency · Jan. 2024 · grade B
- Interconnection status: none - project cancelled; the Host Fee Agreement ended in default in 2026 with no application ever filed; the planned 300 MW was to be supplied behind the meter from the Millstone station under a“A long-standing agreement between NE Edge-Waterford, LLC and the Town of Waterford has ended due to a default, concluding a project to construct a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NE Edge Waterford two-building campus (300 MW developer-stated planned load, to be supplied behind the meter from Millstone) cancelled - the host agreement defaulted after the March 2026 building-permit deadline passed w“A long-standing agreement between NE Edge-Waterford, LLC and the Town of Waterford has ended due to a default, concluding a project to construct a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aliases: Millstone data centers; Millstone Point data center project; NE Edge Millstone campus“Belmont, Mass.-based NE Edge has sought to build a data center consisting of two two-story buildings and a switchyard on 55 acres of the Millstone Power Station property”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 55 acres“NE Edge has sought to build a data center consisting of two two-story buildings and a switchyard on 55 acres of the Millstone Power Station property”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Utility service: 300 MW“According to figures provided by NE Edge, the project would require a $1.6 billion in investment and would consume 300 megawatts of power once operating”News report · April 2024 · grade C
- Utility: Dominion Energy Nuclear Connecticut (Millstone) - planned behind-the-meter supply under a lease and separate power agreement under negotiation; the data center planned to use the grid as backup“According to a Dominion spokesperson, the company is discussing a lease and a separate power agreement with NE Edge.”News report · April 2024 · grade C
Money and contracts (50)
- Buildings: 2 buildings“For purposes of this Agreement, two structure(s) may be located on the Facility property for Qualified Data Center purposes”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Square feet: 1560000 sq ft“a minimum of a five hundred and sixty-six thousand (566,000) square foot of building footprint within a single two story building comprised of up to one million one hundred thirty-two thousand (1,132,000) square feet of buildable area”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Incentives: PA 21-1 tax exemptions (CGS Ch. 203/219) via the HMFA in lieu of taxes, never took effect (DECD agreement never executed)“the benefit of those certain exemptions authorized by the Legislation from taxes imposed by Chapters 203 and 219 of the Connecticut General Statutes”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Jurisdiction: Connecticut Siting Council (site jurisdiction, CGS 16-50i(a)(3)); NRC (radiological safety only); Town of Waterford P&Z/building (never reached); PURA (no docket); DECD (agreement never executed)“MPS is subject to the Council's jurisdiction under CGS 16-50i(a)(3) because it is a nuclear-fueled electric generating facility.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): scope 231037500 USD total benefit over 30-year term“The HMFA was executed on March 17, 2023. The total financial benefit to the Town over the 30-year HMFA term would be $231,037,500.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): term 30 years“this Agreement shall remain in effect for a period of thirty (30) years (so long as a Qualified Investment of at least $400,000,000 is made pursuant to Section 2(b) above) or for a period of twenty (20) years”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): host fee 3500000 USD/year“The Host Municipality Fee for the first Qualified Data Center shall be Three Million Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($3,500,000) per annum for thirty (30) years”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): supplemental payment 10000000 USD“a supplemental payment of Ten Million Dollars ($10,000,000) shall be made thirty (30) days from the issuance of the building permit for the first Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): supplemental payment 6000000 USD x5“five (5) additional supplemental payments of Six Million Dollars ($6,000,000) shall be made (in addition to the Host Municipality Fee) at the fifth (5th), tenth (10th), fifteenth (15th), twentieth (20th), and twenty-fifth (25th) anniversaries”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): host fee 1312500 USD/year“The Host Municipality Fee for the second Qualified Data Center building shall be One Million Three Hundred Twelve Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,312,500) per annum”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): supplemental payment 3750000 USD“a supplemental payment of Three Million Seven Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars ($3,750,000) shall be made thirty (30) days from the issuance of the building permit for this building”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): supplemental payment 2250000 USD x5“five (5) additional payments of Two Million Two Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars ($2,250,000) shall be made (in addition to the Host Municipality Fee payment) at the fifth (5th), tenth (10th) fifteenth (15th), twentieth (20th) and twenty-fifty (25th) anniversaries”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): escalator 2 %/year“The amount paid to Waterford for Host Municipality Fees each year shall be increased annually two (2%) percent over the immediately preceding year's Host Municipality Fee payment”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): qualified investment 200000000 USD minimum“if the agreement entered into between NE Edge and the DECD Commissioner has a term of greater than twenty (20) years, such Qualified Investment shall be at least Four Hundred Million Dollars ($400,000,000)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): permit deadline“on or before thirty-six (36) months after the Execution Date of this Agreement for the first Qualified Data Center and sixty (60) months after the Execution Date of this Agreement for the second Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): condition precedent“NE Edge shall enter into and satisfy all requirements of an agreement with the DECD Commissioner as required by the Legislation with respect to each such Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): termination“In the event said agreement with the DECD Commissioner terminates for any reason whatsoever, this Agreement shall terminate”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): condition precedent“NE Edge's obligation to pay a Host Municipality Fee for any Qualified Data Center shall be conditioned on NE Edge entering into a satisfactory binding power purchase agreement with Dominion Energy”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): termination“Immediately upon failure to make the Qualified Investment pursuant to Section 2(b) above within the five-year period contemplated therein, and/or to timely make application for all building permit(s) required by Section 3 above”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): default remedies“Upon one hundred and eighty (180) days written notice by the Town to NE Edge if NE Edge is then in default, Waterford shall have the option to terminate this Agreement”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): clawback“shall be subject to all applicable taxes imposed under Chapter 203 of the Connecticut General Statutes and shall be liable for payment of such”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): assignment“With the prior approval of Waterford, which approval shall not be unreasonably withheld or delayed, NE Edge may assign all or any portion of its rights and obligations under this Agreement”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): sound analysis“the Owner shall retain an Institute of Noise Control Board Certified Noise Control Engineer (Owner Consultant) who will prepare a sound monitoring protocol to determine the pre-existing background sound level”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): efficiency certification“Within one hundred and eighty (180) days after being placed in service, the Qualified Data Center Owner needs to attain certification under one or more of the following green building standards”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): construction schedule bonding“Upon commencement of construction, NE Edge shall provide documentation to the reasonable satisfaction of Waterford of its anticipated construction schedule for each building to be used as a Qualified Data Center and evidence that such construction is adequately bonded”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): force majeure“The financial or fiscal inability of a Party hereto to perform any of its obligations shall not constitute an Event of Force Majeure”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- memorandum of understanding (land lease + power): scope“The MOU between DENC and NEE contemplates the development of a power purchase agreement whereby MPS would supply electricity to the data centers directly from Units 2 and 3”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- ground lease: missing clause finding“The size, configuration and boundaries of the Lease Areas are subject to change as the terms of any lease agreement are not yet final.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement: missing clause finding“A condition of the HMFA requires NEE to enter into a power purchase agreement with DENC to serve the data centers.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- DECD qualified data center agreement (PA 21-1): missing clause finding“NE Edge shall enter into and satisfy all requirements of an agreement with the DECD Commissioner as required by the Legislation with respect to each such Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): missing clause finding“DENC expects the data centers will employ 120 people over 3 shifts with about 40 cars per shift.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- ground lease (contemplated terms): decommissioning“NEE, or its successor in interest, would be responsible for decommissioning the data centers and switchyard.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Town of Waterford approves the HMFA at a joint Board of Selectmen / RTM meeting, the first PA 21-1 host agreement of its kind.“During a joint Board of Selectmen and Representative Town Meeting (RTM) held on February 22, 2023, the Town approved the proposed HMFA with NEE for construction of two data centers at the MPS site.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- HMFA executed; total financial benefit to the Town stated as $231,037,500 over the 30-year term.“The HMFA was executed on March 17, 2023. The total financial benefit to the Town over the 30-year HMFA term would be $231,037,500.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Announced: Feb. 2023“In a February 2023 presentation to the Town, NEE describes the data centers as a reliable base load for MPS and a financial benefit to the Town”State agency · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- Tenants: not stated“NE Edge or its permitted assign shall serve as the Owner, Operator or Colocation Tenant of all Qualified Data Centers”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“on or before thirty-six (36) months after the Execution Date of this Agreement for the first Qualified Data Center and sixty (60) months after the Execution Date of this Agreement for the second Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated capital cost: not stated“if the agreement entered into between NE Edge and the DECD Commissioner has a term of greater than twenty (20) years, such Qualified Investment shall be at least Four Hundred Million Dollars ($400,000,000)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Project status: cancelled“A long-standing agreement between NE Edge-Waterford, LLC and the Town of Waterford has ended due to a default, concluding a project to construct a data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: none (no tenant ever announced; project cancelled pre-permit)“McCoy said he could not describe the particulars of the negotiations over the past several weeks with the unidentified Fortune 500 companies interested in the data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Financing: not stated“Dominion has not announced any plans to resubmit a plan and no petition is listed on the Siting Council's website.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Agreement status: HMFA terminated (Sec. 12(ii) deadline lapse, March 17, 2026); assignment to NE Edge Waterford, LLC approved April 16, 2025“Immediately upon failure to make the Qualified Investment pursuant to Section 2(b) above within the five-year period contemplated therein, and/or to timely make application for all building permit(s) required by Section 3 above”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- host municipality fee agreement (PA 21-1): assignment event“The Board of Selectmen voted 2-1 Wednesday to give proposed data center developer NE Edge LLC permission to assign the host fee agreement it signed with the town in 2023 to a subsidiary company.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sponsor counsel claims active negotiations with unidentified Fortune 500 companies under NDA, with counterparty deadlines driving the assignment's urgency. No tenant was ever named, before or after, treat as an unverifi“McCoy said he could not describe the particulars of the negotiations over the past several weeks with the unidentified Fortune 500 companies interested in the data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The HMFA Sec. 3 deadline for the Building 1 building-permit application (36 months after the March 17, 2023 execution) lapses with no application ever filed, the Sec. 12(ii) termination event. No official town termination o“Immediately upon failure to make the Qualified Investment pursuant to Section 2(b) above within the five-year period contemplated therein, and/or to timely make application for all building permit(s) required by Section 3 above”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NE Edge pivots to Killingly, CT: residents vote on selling ~39 acres at 125 Alexander Parkway for a proposed three-building campus (a $165M/30-yr host fee agreement claimed if built). DIFFERENT campus (different town and“Local residents in Killingly, Connecticut, will vote today on whether to approve the sale of ~39 acres to data center developer NE Edge, LLC.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: cancelled - the host fee agreement ended by default in 2026 after the March 2026 deadline to obtain building permits passed with no building permit application ever filed with the town; nothing was bu“A long-standing agreement between NE Edge-Waterford, LLC and the Town of Waterford has ended due to a default, concluding a project to construct a data center.”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- Owner companies: NE Edge Waterford, LLC“The Board of Selectmen voted 2-1 Wednesday to give proposed data center developer NE Edge LLC permission to assign the host fee agreement it signed with the town in 2023 to a subsidiary company.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Board of Selectmen voted 2-1 (mid-Mar 2025) to let NE Edge LLC assign the Host Fee Agreement to NE Edge Waterford LLC (same ownership)“to allow NE Edge LLC to assign its Host Community Agreement to NE Edge Waterford LLC, a new entity formed by the same ownership group of NE Edge LLC”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: no tenant named - NE Edge said an unnamed very large multinational company would be joint-venture partner and operator; the company was never identified and no lease was ever announced“We have somebody lined up. It's a very large company, multinational. We would be joint venture partners, but we wouldn't run any of it.”News report · April 2024 · grade C
Permits and government (27)
- Operator: NE Edge, LLC (NE Edge Waterford, LLC as permitted assign from April 16, 2025)“NE Edge or its permitted assign shall serve as the Owner, Operator or Colocation Tenant of all Qualified Data Centers”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Opposition: Organized resident opposition from Mar 2023: public comments to the Town, RTM hearing Oct. 2, 2023, 7 CSC hearing requests, one intervenor (Michelle Neri)“Town resident topics of concern include, but are not limited to, location, project developer, overall data center development, data center decommissioning, environmental impacts”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- declaratory ruling petition: filed“DENC's Petition requests the Council to issue a declaratory ruling to modify the boundaries of an existing electric generating facility site over which the Council has jurisdiction.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- declaratory ruling: declined without prejudice“Staff recommends the Council decline to issue a declaratory ruling at this time as it is premature”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- party status: granted, Town of Waterford“On August 28, 2023, the Town requested party status. During a regular meeting held on September 14, 2023, the Council granted the Town party status.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- intervenor status: granted, Michelle Neri“On September 12, 2023, Michelle Neri (Neri) requested intervenor status. During a regular meeting held on September 28, 2023, the Council granted Neri intervenor status.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- public hearing requests: denied“the Council voted to deny the requests for a public hearing and set the date by which to render a decision in this matter as no later than January 24, 2024”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- building permit: never filed (documented absence)“No applications or site plans for data center development at the MPS site have been submitted to the Town.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- site plan / zoning: never filed (documented absence)“If the Council issues a declaratory ruling in this Petition, construction of the data centers would be evaluated in accordance with Town planning and zoning, and wetland and conservation commission regulations.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- state incentive qualification: never applied / never granted“NE Edge shall enter into and satisfy all requirements of an agreement with the DECD Commissioner as required by the Legislation with respect to each such Qualified Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- federal licensing: no campus filing required or made“The federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has exclusive jurisdiction over nuclear electric generating facilities throughout the nation.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Dominion files CSC Petition No. 1586, the site-boundary carve-out is the gating approval for the entire project; without it the lease areas stay inside CSC jurisdiction and the town process cannot start.“DENC's Petition requests the Council to issue a declaratory ruling to modify the boundaries of an existing electric generating facility site over which the Council has jurisdiction.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- CSC declines the declaratory ruling without prejudice as premature. Dominion never resubmits (docket checked Oct. 18, 2026; The Day confirmed no resubmittal in Apr 2025), the project stalls permanently at the siting gate,“Staff recommends the Council decline to issue a declaratory ruling at this time as it is premature”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Organized resident opposition engages the CSC record: seven public-hearing requests (denied), an intervenor granted status, and Town party status; a Waterford/East Lyme residents' group campaigns against the project thro“Between September 5 and 7, 2023, the Council received 7 requests for a public hearing from interested persons.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Connecticut Siting Council: Decision on Petition No. 1586, declaratory ruling on the Millstone site boundary revision“Staff recommends the Council decline to issue a declaratory ruling at this time as it is premature”State agency · Jan. 2024 · grade A
- Representative Town Meeting (Town of Waterford): Public comments on the proposed Millstone data center development heard“Public comments related to the data center development at the MPS site were received by the Town beginning in March 2023 and heard by the Town during a RTM meeting held on October 2, 2023”State agency · Oct. 2023 · grade A
- Connecticut Siting Council (regular meeting): Petition No. 1586: Town of Waterford granted party status; seven public-hearing requests denied; decision deadline set“the Council voted to deny the requests for a public hearing and set the date by which to render a decision in this matter as no later than January 24, 2024”State agency · Sept. 2023 · grade A
- Joint Board of Selectmen and Representative Town Meeting (Town of Waterford): Approval of the proposed Host Municipality Fee Agreement with NE Edge, LLC for two Qualified Data Centers at the Millstone site“During a joint Board of Selectmen and Representative Town Meeting (RTM) held on February 22, 2023, the Town approved the proposed HMFA with NEE for construction of two data centers at the MPS site.”State agency · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- Town of Waterford (NE Edge presentation to the Board of Selectmen / RTM): NE Edge presentation of the two-building Millstone data center proposal and the draft HMFA“NEE also characterizes the direct purchase of power from DENC for operation of the data centers as behind the meter at no cost to ratepayers.”State agency · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- FAA status: Screened: 70 cases in the 5-NM circle (all statuses, 2021-2026 window). 70 cases are Groton submarine-base, Pfizer and telecom works; none names NE Edge, Dominion or Millstone data centers“FAA OE/AAA circle pull at 41.3417,-72.1360 (5 NM, 2021-2026): 70 cases; 70 cases are Groton submarine-base, Pfizer and telecom works”FAA · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: none (never permitted; no site work)“No applications or site plans for data center development at the MPS site have been submitted to the Town.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Current target date: not stated“Immediately upon failure to make the Qualified Investment pursuant to Section 2(b) above within the five-year period contemplated therein, and/or to timely make application for all building permit(s) required by Section 3 above”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: cancelled, HMFA terminated by deadline lapse (Mar 2026); CSC carve-out never granted“Immediately upon failure to make the Qualified Investment pursuant to Section 2(b) above within the five-year period contemplated therein, and/or to timely make application for all building permit(s) required by Section 3 above”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- SB-299 (2024), An Act Concerning Data Centers, would require PURA to evaluate large data centers' grid impacts and was aimed squarely at behind-the-meter deals like this one, passes the Senate (May 3, 2024) and dies in“any data center that would be placed behind-the-meter, meaning it would draw power directly from an energy-producing source such as a power plant, wind farm or solar park, would have to submit to an impact study from ISO New England”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- HMFA assigned to newly formed NE Edge Waterford, LLC with the Town's Sec. 23 approval (BOS 2-1). Counsel blames the CSC gate and Dominion's control of the real estate; Dominion confirms continued developer interest in th“we have to await the siting council issues in Hartford. We don't have control over that, because that is solely controlled by Dominion, which is the owner of the real estate”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Board of Selectmen (Town of Waterford, special meeting): Assignment of the Host Municipality Fee Agreement from NE Edge, LLC to NE Edge Waterford, LLC (HMFA Sec. 23 approval)“The Board of Selectmen voted 2-1 Wednesday to give proposed data center developer NE Edge LLC permission to assign the host fee agreement it signed with the town in 2023 to a subsidiary company.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- CT Siting Council denied Dominion's boundary-amendment petition (Jan 2024), halting the project before any permit application“A larger proposal linked to Dominion Energy's Millstone nuclear power station in Waterford was halted in January 2024 after the Connecticut Siting Council denied a necessary boundary amendment”News report · Jan. 2024 · grade C
Site and other (11)
- Developer: NE Edge, LLC“NE Edge, LLC, hereinafter NE Edge, a Connecticut limited liability company with an office at 4433 Post Road, East Greenwich, RI, 02818”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Owner companies: NE Edge, LLC“NE Edge, LLC, hereinafter NE Edge, a Connecticut limited liability company with an office at 4433 Post Road, East Greenwich, RI, 02818”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Landowner: Dominion Energy Nuclear Connecticut, Inc.“The existing MPS site is approximately 526 acres. It is owned and controlled by DENC.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Acres: 55 acres“DENC proposes to revise the MPS site boundaries to lease three areas on the North Parcel totaling approximately 55 acres to NEE”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Acres: 526 acres“The existing MPS site is approximately 526 acres. It is owned and controlled by DENC.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Workforce estimate: 120“DENC expects the data centers will employ 120 people over 3 shifts with about 40 cars per shift.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Engineering immaturity on the record at the CSC: the interconnection design was only conceptual (final design expected late 2024), and the impact of Millstone unit shutdowns on the data centers was unknown, with no dies“It is not known how the data centers could be impacted by MPS unit shutdowns.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Name: NE Edge Waterford Data Center Campus“the Town approved the proposed HMFA with NEE for construction of two data centers at the MPS site”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Cooling: closed-loop cooling (minimal water use, per developer)“The buildings will meet Green Building standards and be designed with a closed loop cooling system for minimal water usage.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PA 21-1 (HB 6514), Connecticut's qualified data center incentive law, is enacted (effective July 1, 2021). NE Edge principal Thomas Quinn had the incentive bill drafted after studying every US data center tax incentive, pe“The bill was designed to partially offset the high regional cost of electricity and relatively high construction costs with a goal to meet national Data Center industry deltas.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Feb. 2023“Data center developer NE Edge LLC has asked the town to serve as a host municipality for a two-building data center on Dominion Energy’s Millstone property.”News report · Feb. 2023 · grade C