Power
Power and the grid
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- Caterpillar gas and diesel generation and turbines (planned) Program conceptequipment for on- or off-grid supply; no project size disclosed Company · Aug. 2025
Getting on the grid
- Caterpillar's later data-center power deals with other developers are separate programs, not Hunt Energy projects. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits
Permits checklist
2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a gas-powered data-center project in Texas would need, and what we found.
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for a Texas project, Grid interconnection
Risks
What could slow it down
- MediumNo site or customerMore than a year after the announcement, no site, city, county or customer has been named for the first project. Company · Aug. 2025
- WatchNo scheduleNeither company has disclosed when the first project would be built. News report · Aug. 2025
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- Aug. 21, 2025Power Caterpillar and Hunt Energy announce a long-term collaboration on independent power for data centers, starting in Texas Company · Aug. 2025
- Aug. 22, 2025Site Coverage notes the companies disclosed no deployment timetable News report · Aug. 2025
The buildings
Specs
- Generation and controls: Caterpillar supplies gas and diesel generators, turbines, switchgear, controls and aftertreatment Company · Aug. 2025
- Financing and operations: Hunt Energy contributes development, project financing and operations Company · Aug. 2025
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Developer
- Hunt Energy Company, L.P.: development, financing and operations
Equipment
- Caterpillar Inc.: generation equipment, turbines and controls
Still unknown
Open questions
- Site of the first Texas project.
- Customer.
- Generation size of the first project.
Where this comes from
19 records from 3 documents
Drawn from news reports and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 2Company 1
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (8)
- Project identity: Hunt Energy / Caterpillar long-term strategic collaboration to deliver independent energy production for data centers - a multi-year PROGRAM, not a single campus: the first project is expected to launch“The first project is expected to launch in Texas, marking the start of a multi-year initiative to deliver up to 1GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America, laying the foundation for future global deployment.”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Project status: program announced no named site“The first project is expected to launch in Texas, marking the start of a multi-year initiative to deliver up to 1GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Program target: up to 1 GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America over multiple years, first project in Texas - a portfolio figure with no site attached“The first project is expected to launch in Texas, marking the start of a multi-year initiative to deliver up to 1GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Hunt Energy states it has deployed over 310 MW of battery energy storage (BESS) solutions in the last four years - partner track record, not project capacity“They will also bring their significant experience in battery energy storage (BESS) projects, having deployed over 310 MWs of BESS solutions in the last four years.”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Program-wide ceiling only: up to 1 GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America over multiple years“The first project is expected to launch in Texas, marking the start of a multi-year initiative to deliver up to 1GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Hunt Energy's program credentials include over 310 MW of BESS deployed in the last four years - portfolio experience claimed in the announcement, not capacity at any Texas site“They will also bring their significant experience in battery energy storage (BESS) projects, having deployed over 310 MWs of BESS solutions in the last four years.”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Hunt Energy brings project financing, operational execution, and battery storage experience (310+ MW of BESS deployed in four years) to the program; Caterpillar supplies gas/diesel generation, turbines, switchgear, contr“They will also bring their significant experience in battery energy storage (BESS) projects, having deployed over 310 MWs of BESS solutions in the last four years”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
- Caterpillar's later data-center power deals are SEPARATE programs and are not Hunt Energy deployments: the OnePWR/Vero3 natural-gas and carbon-capture partnership (first project expected 2026, 500 MW initial commitment)“Before this, in August of last year, the company partnered with power infrastructure developer Hunt Energy on a multi-year initiative to deliver upwards of 1GW of generation capacity for data centers in North America.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (1)
- long-term strategic collaboration agreement: generation capacity program 1,000 MW“The first project is expected to launch in Texas, marking the start of a multi-year initiative to deliver up to 1GW of power generation capacity for data centers across North America”Company · Aug. 2025 · grade B
Site and other (1)
- Neither company disclosed a site, county, city, tenant or deployment timetable for the first Texas project in the announcement or in the coverage checked“While the companies have not disclosed a deployment timetable, the partnership underscores the increasing urgency to secure reliable, scalable, and sustainable energy solutions”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C