Power and the grid
286 MW contracted
- Tesla Megapack battery storage Planned (company filing)added to the plant design in the Feb. 2026 contract restatement; MW not disclosed Utility regulator · Feb. 2026
- Rocky Mountain Power grid Not the expansion's supplyserves the original campus; the expansion's gas plant is a closed system with no grid connection and no utility backup Utility regulator · May 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Sept. 2025Power contract signedWilliams and Meta's project company sign a power purchase agreement for a dedicated gas plant, restated Feb. 6, 2026. Utility regulator · Feb. 2026
- Feb. 5, 2026Air permit filed for the plantWilliams' project company files its air permit application with Utah regulators; public comment has ended and an approval order is pending. see Permits
- March 24, 2026State utility commission filingWilliams applies to approve the contract as a closed private generation system, the first filing under Utah's new rules; an amended application followed May 7, 2026. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 20, 2026Delays flaggedUtah's consumer advocate cites delays in the first closed private generation filing; no approval order is on record as of Oct. 18, 2026. Utility regulator · Aug. 2026
- 2027First plant tranche dueWilliams expects the plant in service in two tranches, second half of 2027 and first half of 2028. SEC filing · Dec. 2025
- Because the plant is a closed system, the utility says it owes the campus no duty to serve and no backup power. Utility regulator · May 2026
- Capacity figures in the public power contract (committed energy, plant size) are blacked out; the 286 MW and 521 MW numbers come from a city hearing and an air filing. Utility regulator · Feb. 2026
On-site generation on file
- Notice of Intent Utah Division of Air Quality (UDAQ) · Application filed February 2026 (NOI)… · Feb. 5, 2026Will-Power UT, LLC (Williams) NOI for a new power generation facility at 1499 N Pony Express Parkway, Eagle Mountain, UT 84005, inside the Stadion/Meta expansion area: 17 simple-cycle gas turbines (11 GE Vernova TM2500… State agency · Feb. 2026
- Generating units on the permit: 11 units State agency · Feb. 2026
- Generating units on the permit: 6 units State agency · Feb. 2026
+2 more
- Generator maker and model: GE Vernova TM2500 State agency · Feb. 2026
- Generator maker and model: Solar Titan 250 State agency · Feb. 2026
- Backup generators on the permit: 2 units State agency · Feb. 2026
Evidence from space
NO2 over the site, net of the rural background, was somewhat higher in July–September 2026 (7 µmol/m²) than a year earlier (6), but the change is within normal swings at this level; the rural background stayed flat (about 16 both summers). The satellite sees no new combustion large enough to stand out here. On record here: Project Aquila gas plant (Williams, behind the meter), 286 MW, contracted. No rise fits a plant that is not running yet, or runs little; it does not prove either.
What else could explain it
- The box takes in the fast-growing town of Eagle Mountain. Winter inversions trap valley air, which is why winter months spike at the site but not in the open desert.
- Weather moves NO2 from day to day (wind, sunlight, cloud), and it builds up in winter. Subtracting the background box and comparing the same season a year apart removes most of that.
How this works: the Sentinel-5P satellite measures NO2 in the air over every point on Earth once a day, around 1:30 p.m. local time, in pixels about 5.5 by 3.5 km. NO2 comes from burning fuel (turbines, engines, traffic, power plants), so a rise over a site that open country does not share points to new combustion there. It shows combustion activity, not megawatts. The site box is about 15 km across; the background box is open country about 67 km away. We use only high-quality readings and drop days or weeks when cloud hides more than half of either box. Data: Copernicus Sentinel-5P (ESA), processed with the Copernicus Data Space Ecosystem Sentinel Hub statistics service.
Permits checklist
4 pending · 1 granted
Approvals for the expansion and its gas plant, and where each stands.
- ◷Development agreement for the Williams gas plant PendingEagle Mountain City · Feb. 24, 2026: Planning commission recommended approval 3-1; the council's final vote is not on record Local government · Feb. 2026
- ◷Air permit, Project Aquila gas plant PendingUtah Division of Air Quality · Sept. 29, 2026: comment period ended; final approval order not yet issued State agency · Sept. 2026
- ◷Air permit, data center source PendingUtah Division of Air Quality · Aug. 7, 2026: draft permit documents under review State agency · Aug. 2026
- ◷Closed private generation contract approval PendingUtah Public Service Commission · May 7, 2026: first filing under the new state rules; utility intervened Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- ✓Development agreement for 541-acre expansion GrantedEagle Mountain City Council · Oct. 21, 2025: 40-year term; Meta can end it at any time Local government · Oct. 2025
What could slow it down
- HighPower plant not yet approvedThe gas plant still needs its final air permit and state utility commission approval; the consumer advocate has flagged delays. Utility regulator · Aug. 2026
- MediumNo grid backupThe plant is a closed system and the utility says it owes no backup power if it fails. Utility regulator · May 2026
- MediumNo build commitmentThe city agreement has no minimum investment, jobs floor or completion date, and Meta can end it at any time. Local government · Oct. 2025
- WatchLocal air-quality concernResidents and regional coverage raise cumulative air concerns as several data-center gas plants queue in Utah County. Local government · Feb. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- May 25, 2018Site Meta's original Eagle Mountain campus agreement is signed with the city Local government · Oct. 2025
- Sept. 2025Power Williams and Meta's project company sign the gas power contract (restated Feb. 6, 2026) Utility regulator · Feb. 2026
- Oct. 21, 2025Permits City council approves the development agreement for 541 acres of new land Local government · Oct. 2025
- Feb. 5, 2026Permits Williams files its air permit application for the gas plant State agency · Sept. 2026
- Feb. 24, 2026Permits Planning commission recommends the Williams plant agreement 3-1 (the council's vote is not on record) Local government · Feb. 2026
- March 24, 2026Permits Williams asks the state utility commission to approve the private power contract Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- July 13, 2026Money Blackstone-led group commits $5.34B to Williams' five gas power projects, including this one Company · July 2026
- Sept. 14, 2026Construction Meta announces the expansion, raising its Utah investment to over $3B Company · Sept. 2026
- Sept. 29, 2026Permits State air-permit tracker (updated Sept. 29, 2026) shows the comment period over; final approval order still pending State agency · Sept. 2026
- Oct. 21, 2026Site Deadline to begin the Pony Express Parkway extension Local government · Oct. 2025
- 2027Power Williams' plant targeted for first service, second half of 2027 (second tranche first half of 2028) SEC filing · Dec. 2025
Specs
- No cooling water: closed-loop liquid cooling with dry cooling in the new buildings (company) Company · Sept. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Meta Platforms: owner-operator and guarantor of the power contract
- Stadion LLC: Meta's project company holding the land and permits
- The Williams Companies and Will-Power UT: build and own the gas plant
- Rocky Mountain Power: local utility; serves the original campus, intervening at the state commission
- Trinity Consultants: prepared the air permit application
- Blackstone Credit & Insurance (with Apollo and KKR): 49% of Williams' five power projects
- Eagle Mountain City Council and Planning Commission
- Utah Public Service Commission and Division of Air Quality
- Mortenson: construction partner for the expansion
Open questions
- The expansion's IT capacity in MW (Meta has not published it).
- Final air permit and utility commission approval for the gas plant.
- The council's vote on the Williams plant agreement.
- Which buildings are under construction now.
150 records from 23 documents
Drawn from utility regulator dockets, news reports, local government records, state agency records, company statements, securities filings and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (27)
- County code: Utah County, UT (49049)“Will-Power UT, LLC- Eagle Mountain Power Generation Facility | Utah | N163220001 | John Jenks | 2026-02-05”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Power plan: hybrid“the closed private generation system from which Customer will receive service is not connected to and operates independently from the transmission system of the qualified electric utility”Utility regulator · May 2026 · grade A
- Code names: Project Aquila (dedicated power plant)“Andrew Johns from Williams presented the project, named Project Aquila, a 286-megawatt generating facility”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 286 MW“Andrew Johns from Williams presented the project, named Project Aquila, a 286-megawatt generating facility”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- The Amended and Restated PPA integrates a Tesla Megapack battery energy storage system into the Aquila Generation Facility via a GF Design Change. BESS MW is excluded from the PPA's Installed Capacity definition and no B“BESS means, a battery energy storage system which is anticipated to include Tesla battery megapacks”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- EIA registration status: Not listed in EIA-860M (Aug 2026) under any sheet; no EIA plant ID; not a CAMPD facility“Inventory of Operating Generators as of August 2026”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Negative observation: the Aquila Power Station is not running. Will-Power UT, LLC told the Utah PSC (Docket 26-2660-01, Exhibit D, filed May 2026) the Aquila Power Station "is not yet in operation"; the Utah DAQ Notice o“the closed private generation facility which will provide the electrical services contemplated in the Power Purchase Agreement ("PPA") is not yet in operation”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: not stated“Today, Meta is thrilled to announce the Eagle Mountain Data Center is growing.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“the qualified electric utility has no duty to serve the Customer which has entered into the PPA with Will-Power”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“we are increasing our investment in Utah to more than $3 billion”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Rocky Mountain Power (PacifiCorp)“helping improve reliability across the Rocky Mountain Power grid”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Faraday Energy Storage, a 150 MW battery facility owned and operated by Lydian Energy, will support the Eagle Mountain Data Center and comes online later this year per the city - battery MW is storage capacity, NOT campu“Faraday can store power and release it when the grid needs it most. It comes online later this year.”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Meta states it has supported 1.7 GW of clean and renewable energy from 13 projects across Utah and 600 MWh of storage - a statewide portfolio figure that must NOT be booked as Eagle Mountain campus load (matches the spin“has supported 600MWh of storage, and 1.7 GW of clean and renewable energy from 13 projects across Utah.”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Meta's Utah-wide portfolio: more than 1.7 GW of clean and renewable energy and 600 MWh of battery storage added across 13 Utah sites“we have added more than 1.7 GW of clean and renewable energy and 600MWh of battery storage to Utah across 13 sites”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Four residents spoke at the Feb 24, 2026 Planning Commission public hearing on the Williams development agreement; regional coverage raises cumulative Cedar Valley air-quality concerns as several data-center gas plants q“Andrew Johns from Williams presented the project, named Project Aquila, a 286-megawatt generating facility”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Generating units on the permit: 11 units“Eleven (11) GE Vernova TM2500 34.8 MW ISO natural gas-fired turbines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Generating units on the permit: 6 units“Six (6) Solar Titan 250 23.1 MW ISO natural gas-fired turbines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Generator maker and model: GE Vernova TM2500“Eleven (11) GE Vernova TM2500 34.8 MW ISO natural gas-fired turbines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Generator maker and model: Solar Titan 250“Six (6) Solar Titan 250 23.1 MW ISO natural gas-fired turbines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 521.4 MW“Will-Power is proposing to construct a power generation facility to provide primary power to a separately owned and operated nearby data center.”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Backup generators: 2 units“Two (2) CAT 3520, 3629 horsepower (hp) natural gas-fired emergency generator engines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 521.4 MW“Eleven (11) GE Vernova TM2500 34.8 MW ISO natural gas-fired turbines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: 5 MW“Emission Units: Two (2) G3520 2500 kW natural gas engines”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- A Williams natural gas plant ('Project Aquila') is reported planned on the Stadion parcel to facilitate the expansion, with a Utah PSC pipeline filing and a DAQ notice of intent - but the only fetched accounts are a real“Williams is looking to "co-locate a natural gas power facility on the Stadion parcel to facilitate the Meta data center expansion."”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: 133 MW“Meta Eagle Mountain: as of 2026-05-02: 2 bldgs op, 179 MW”grade C
- Dataset estimates only - never booked as campus MW“Meta Eagle Mountain: as of 2026-05-02: 2 bldgs op, 179 MW”grade C
- Faraday Solar (Utah County): 682 MW DC / 525 MW AC, commercial operation Sep 30, 2025, 20-year PacifiCorp PPA under Rocky Mountain Power's Schedule 34 tariff; Meta purchases the energy and environmental attributes to mat“The larger of the two sites is the 682 MW DC (525 MW AC) Faraday solar plant in Utah County, Utah, which reached commercial operation in September 2025”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (46)
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): customer entitlement notice Statutory notices delivered to the customer under R746-318-402 and R746-318-601: load is curtailable above real-time dispatch; the closed“No backup power is available in the event of an outage.”Utility regulator · May 2026 · grade A
- development agreement (Williams / Project Aquila): status - FINDING As of the Feb 24, 2026 Planning Commission minutes the Williams development agreement was recommended for approval 3-1; the executed agreement and the C“The agreement includes provisions for a 10-foot fence, noise exceptions, and aboveground distribution lines within the parcel”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): execution amendment Original PPA dated Sep 30, 2025; First Amendment Nov 20, 2025; Amended and Restated PPA dated Feb 6, 2026 and effective Sep 30, 2025; the restatem“This Amended and Restated Power Purchase Agreement (this Agreement), dated as of February 6, 2026, but to be effective as of September 30, 2025 (the Execution Date)”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): scope Seller to design, engineer, develop, construct, install, own, maintain and operate the Generation Facility (Project Aquila) to self-generate energy for the buye“Buyer agreed to engage Seller to design, engineer, develop, construct, install, own, maintain and operate the Generation Facility”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): regulatory character The parties intend the PPA to be a private generation contract under Utah Code Title 54, Chapter 26 (the SB 132 framework); PSC approval is sough“Buyer and Seller intend, respectively, to be a Large load customer and Large-scale generation provider, and for this Agreement to be a Private generation contract”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): guaranty buyer Parent Guaranty of Meta Platforms, Inc. dated October 8, 2025 (Existing Buyer Guaranty) - the definition identifies the redacted buyer side as Meta fro“Existing Buyer Guaranty means that certain Parent Guaranty dated October 8, 2025, with Meta Platforms, Inc., as Guarantor”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): guaranty seller Parent Guaranty of The Williams Companies, Inc. dated October 9, 2025 (Existing Seller Guaranty)“Existing Seller Guaranty means that certain Parent Guaranty dated October 9, 2025, with The Williams Companies, Inc., as Guarantor”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): assignment Seller may assign the PPA to its affiliate Will-Power UT, LLC without buyer consent (Section 11.4); Will-Power UT, LLC is the PSC applicant of record“Will-Power UT, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): buyout The buyer may buy out the Generation Facility at the Exhibit I Buyout Price (Section 2.3); the Buyout is also triggered by Force Majeure termination (Section 8“Buyout Price means the price calculated in accordance with Exhibit I and payable by Buyer to Seller for a Buyout”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): termination force majeure On termination for a Force Majeure Event, the Section 2.3 Buyout provisions apply“If the Agreement terminates pursuant to this Section 8.3, then the Buyout provisions in Section 2.3 shall be applicable”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): bankruptcy carveout If the Seller becomes Bankrupt and rejects the PPA, the Buyout's exclusivity does not limit the buyer's right to actual and direct damages; the bu“none of Section 2.3 or the Buyout or any other remedy hereunder stated to be exclusive shall apply or limit Buyer's rights or remedies”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): cod schedule Anticipated COD = the later of a redacted date and 365 days after all Conditions Precedent are satisfied; Anticipated Tranche 2 COD = the later of a reda“the date that is 639 days after the date on which all Conditions Precedent described in Section 2.1(c)(i) and Section 2.1(c)(ii) have been satisfied”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): conditions precedent - FINDING (redacted) MISSING-CONTENT FINDING: the Section 2.1(c) Conditions Precedent list and every capacity figure (Committed Energy, Anticipat“Anticipated Nameplate Capacity means, being the Generation Facility's expected generating capacity at an average ambient temperature of”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): availability guarantee - values redacted (FINDING) Seller guarantees availability with Availability Damages for shortfalls (Section 7.5); the guaranteed percentages a“Availability Damages has the meaning set forth in Exhibit F”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): bess scope A GF Design Change integrates a Tesla Megapack battery energy storage system into the Generation Facility; BESS capacity is excluded from the PPA's Install“BESS means, a battery energy storage system which is anticipated to include Tesla battery megapacks”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): gas supply Seller builds a Gas Lateral Pipeline from the MountainWest Pipeline interconnect under gas transportation agreements; after a Buyout the parties enter Repl“maintain ownership of the Gas Lateral Pipeline and (ii) provide gas transportation and supply under the Replacement Agreements at the point of interconnection”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): term (redacted in the filed PPA; stated in Williams' 10-K) 12.5 years“The Aquila project, in Utah, also has a term of 12.5 years”SEC filing · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): extension option The buyer holds an option to extend the term (option length redacted in the filed PPA); Williams' 10-K confirms its Power Innovation PPAs carry custo“The projects are backed by primarily fixed-price power purchase agreements, with options for the customer to extend the term of the agreements”SEC filing · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- power purchase agreement (closed private generation): pricing - FINDING (redacted in filed copy) Primarily fixed-price per Williams' 10-K. FINDING: the PPA's own price schedule (Exhibit E charges) is redacted in the publ“The projects are backed by primarily fixed-price power purchase agreements, with options for the customer to extend the term of the agreements”SEC filing · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- Tenants: Meta Platforms, Inc. (self-use)“Company: Stadion LLC 1 Hacker Way Menlo Park, CA 94025 Attn: IDC (Data Centers)”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: execution Development Agreement entered into October 21, 2025; the City Council adopted an ordinance approving it the same date; recorded as Doc. INB3683962 (ordinance number blank in the posted ex“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: scope 541.4 acres of undeveloped land adjacent to the original campus property; multi-phase data center and energy project; Agriculture zoning with Regional Technology and Industry (RTI) Overlay“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: energy permitted use On-site generation (natural gas, nuclear fission, solar, geothermal), battery storage, transmission and transformation are designated permitted uses on the Property (Section 3.“options to generate power onsite, including without limitation through natural gas, nuclear fission, or alternative energy sources such as solar panels and geothermal cooling”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: term 40 years“The term of this Agreement shall commence on the Effective Date and continue for a period of forty (40) years”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: termination company The Company may terminate the agreement at any time and for any reason, automatically upon notice to the City“The Company may at any time and for any reason terminate this Agreement automatically upon notice thereof to the City”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: default cure 15 days (minimum cure period)“specify a period of not less than fifteen (15) days during which the defaulting Party shall have the right to cure such default”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: remedy limit The Company's sole and exclusive remedy for a City default is specific performance; no consequential damages for either party“The Company's sole and exclusive remedy under this Agreement for a default by the City shall be specific performance”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: termination limit city The City may not terminate for the Company's default of its fiber / Public Ways obligations (Section 6.3 as numbered in the agreement); the City's remedies for that default a“the City shall not have the right to terminate this Agreement as the result of any default by the Company of its obligations under this Section 6.3”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: impact fees Only Water, Transportation and Wastewater impact fees can apply (plus Storm Water if not retained on site), capped at the Effective-Date schedule and offset by ERC-denominated Impact Fe“The Company shall not be required to pay any Water Impact Fees, Transportation Impact Fees or Wastewater Impact Fees”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: tax covenant The City covenants not to support new taxes that target the Project, the Property or the data-center industry during the Term“inequitably target the Project, the Property or the data center industry or in a manner that adversely affects the Project, the Property or the data center industry”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: deadline infrastructure Begin the Pony Express Parkway Extension within 1 year of the Effective Date and complete it before certificate of occupancy, at Company cost with System Improvement reimbur“Company commits to beginning the Pony Express Parkway Extension (defined in section 6.1 below) within one (1) year of the Effective Date”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: no build obligation Nothing in the agreement requires the Company to develop the Project or any portion of it; development is at the Company's sole discretion (Section 3.8); mass grading and excava“Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require the Company to proceed with developing the Project or any portion thereof”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: assignment The Company may assign to affiliates (with release of the assignor) or to subsequent owners or lessees of the Property“The Company may assign its rights and obligations under this Agreement to any (i) affiliate controlling, controlled by or under common control with the Company”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: vesting rules Applicable Rules are frozen as of the Effective Date; post-Effective-Date moratoria and interim ordinances do not apply to the Property unless health/safety and city-wide; expedited p“The Company may elect in its sole discretion, and upon written notice to the City, to have any other changes to the Applicable Rules apply to the Project”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement: clawback investment floor MISSING-CLAUSE FINDING: the executed Stadion development agreement contains no minimum investment, no jobs floor, no completion deadline for the data center itself and no“Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require the Company to proceed with developing the Project or any portion thereof”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement (prior, original campus): scope Prior Development Agreement dated May 25, 2018 governs the original campus property and remains in force for it; the Oct 2025 agreement is a separate agreement for th“On May 25, 2018, the Parties entered into a Development Agreement”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- water and sewer agreement (original campus): scope Water and Sewer Agreement dated May 25, 2018, as amended: the City provides water and sewer services to the Company for the original campus“dated as of May 25, 2018, as amended, pursuant to which the City agrees to provide water and sewer services to the Company”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Project status: expansion entitled and announced - Oct 21, 2025 Stadion development agreement for the south parcel; expansion publicly announced Sep 14, 2026; construction reported underway (queue 'clearing')“Eagle Mountain City and Meta announced the donations in an event last week alongside Meta's confirmation of its expansion of the Eagle Mountain Data Center”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: owner-occupied (self-use); no third-party tenant“we are increasing our investment in Utah to more than $3 billion”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Total investment: 3000000000 USD“we are increasing our investment in Utah to more than $3 billion and will support more than 1,200 construction workers at the peak of construction”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Community commitments announced with the expansion: a $450,000 grant for the Walden Park Astronomy Park (total Meta contribution $700,000), $600,000 to acquire three acres for a future elementary school with the Lake Mou“a $450,000 grant to the City of Eagle Mountain for construction of the Walden Park Astronomy Park, bringing our total contribution to $700,000”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- project financing joint venture: scope financing $5.34 billion of committed capital ($4.4B = 49% of expected total growth capex, plus ~$0.9B additional consideration) for a 49% noncontrolling interest in Williams' five b“will provide Williams with $5.34 billion of committed capital in exchange for a 49% noncontrolling equity interest in the five Power Innovation projects”Company · July 2026 · grade B
- Development Agreement - Stadion LLC south expansion: right to expand; infrastructure; impact fee credits / system reimbursement $500.00 consideration paid by the Company (non-refundable)“the Company has paid to the City the amount of Five Hundred and No/100 Dollars ($500.00), which amount shall be non-refundable to the Company”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Total utah investment: more than 3000000000 USD“With this expansion, we are increasing our investment in Utah to more than $3 billion”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Blackstone-led joint venture: $5.34B of committed capital for a 49% noncontrolling interest in Williams' five behind-the-meter Power Innovation projects (Socrates, Apollo, Aquila, Socrates the Younger, Neo); Williams ret“Blackstone and its partners will provide $5.34 billion in committed capital in exchange for a 49 percent noncontrolling equity interest in the five projects”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Sweetwater #4 Community Reinvestment Area (CRA) - Utah County participation: tax increment financing for expansion infrastructure“The Utah County Commission on Wednesday approved county participation in Eagle Mountain's Sweetwater community reinvestment agreement (CRA) tied to an expansion of the Meta data-center campus”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (15)
- air construction permit (NOI): NOI received; public comment ended; approval order pending“Will-Power UT, LLC- Eagle Mountain Power Generation Facility; Utah; N163220001; John Jenks; 2026-02-05; Reviewing & Approving Final AO; 247 North Pony Express Parkway”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- air construction permit (NOI): NOI received; draft permitting documents under review“Stadion LLC - Eagle Mountain Data Center; Utah; N159410011; Tad Anderson; 2026-04-10; Reviewing Draft Permitting Documents; 1499 North Pony Express Parkway”State agency · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 1499 N Pony Express Parkway, Eagle Mountain, UT 84005“Stadion LLC - Eagle Mountain Data Center; Utah; N159410011; Tad Anderson; 2026-04-10; Reviewing Draft Permitting Documents; 1499 North Pony Express Parkway”State agency · April 2026 · grade A
- Eagle Mountain Planning Commission: Item 7.A - Williams Development Agreement (Project Aquila natural gas power plant)“Andrew Johns from Williams presented the project, named Project Aquila, a 286-megawatt generating facility”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- Williams FY2025 10-K: Aquila is expected to be placed into service in the second half of 2027 and the first half of 2028 (two tranches), assuming timely receipt of permits - the only company-filed schedule statement; the“Williams expects the project to be placed into service in the second half of 2027 and the first half of 2028”SEC filing · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- development agreement approval (land use): Development agreement approved and executed“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Eagle Mountain City Council: Ordinance approving the Development Agreement with Stadion LLC (541.4-acre expansion property)“The term of this Agreement shall commence on the Effective Date and continue for a period of forty (40) years”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Closed private generation contract (Aquila PPA) approval: Applicant exhibit filed stating plant not yet in operation“The Aquila Power Station, the closed private generation facility which will provide the electrical services contemplated in the Power Purchase Agreement”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- closed private generation contract approval: Application filed; amended application filed May 7, 2026; approval pending“Application of Will-Power UT, LLC for Approval of a Closed Private Generation Contract”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- air permit emission cap (application condition): Synthetic-minor cap proposed in the NOI application“enforceable limit of 95.39 tons of NOX per rolling 12-month period for all natural gas turbines”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- large-scale generation provider registration: Registration docket opened; confidential-filing motion filed in the docket“In the Matter of the Application of WillPower UT, LLC as a Large-Scale Generation Provider and the Forthcoming Application for Approval of Large Load Contract”Utility regulator · March 2026 · grade B
- Notice of Intent: Application filed February 2026 (NOI); Approval Order not yet issued in the record retrieved“The proposed installation will provide primary power exclusively and directly to a nearby data center.”State agency · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Eagle Mountain City Council (work session): Presentation - Energy Project for Meta in Coordination with Williams (Senior Project Manager Andrew Johns)“PRESENTATION - Energy Project for Meta in Coordination with Williams - Senior Project Manager Andrew Johns”Local government · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Stadion LLC Development Agreement (INB3683962): Agreement adopted by ordinance and effective Oct 21, 2025“The City Council, after conducting a duly-noticed public meeting, adopted Ordinance No. _______ on October 21, 2025, effective immediately upon adoption, which ordinance (i) confirmed the City Council's approval of this Agreement”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Stadion LLC Development Agreement: Public hearing held Oct 14, 2025“Stadion LLC is seeking to expand its data center project to land immediately south of the existing data center. This property is already zoned with the RTI overlay.”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
Site and other (21)
- Announced: Sept. 14, 2026“Today, Meta is thrilled to announce the Eagle Mountain Data Center is growing.”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- Developer: Meta Platforms, Inc. (via Stadion LLC)“Company: Stadion LLC 1 Hacker Way Menlo Park, CA 94025 Attn: IDC (Data Centers)”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Acres: 541.4 acres“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Stage: building (expansion); original campus operating since 2021“Stadion LLC - Eagle Mountain Data Center | Utah | N159410011”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“Williams expects the project to be placed into service in the second half of 2027 and the first half of 2028”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Current target date: not stated“Williams expects the project to be placed into service in the second half of 2027 and the first half of 2028”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Operational jobs: more than 300 jobs“The expansion is expected to support approximately 1,200 construction jobs at peak, with more than 300 operational roles once complete”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Name: Meta Eagle Mountain Data Center (Stadion) - 2026 expansion“Today, Meta is thrilled to announce the Eagle Mountain Data Center is growing.”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Operator: Meta Platforms, Inc. (owner-operator)“Today, Meta is thrilled to announce the Eagle Mountain Data Center is growing.”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Jobs construction peak: 1200 jobs“will support more than 1,200 construction workers at the peak of construction, as well as more than 300 jobs at the data center once completed”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Jobs permanent: 300 jobs“more than 300 jobs at the data center once completed”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: building (2026 expansion); operating (original campus)“Today, Meta is thrilled to announce the Eagle Mountain Data Center is growing.”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Water cooling: closed-loop liquid cooling with dry cooling; no operational cooling water (new buildings)“we will use a water-efficient, closed-loop liquid cooling system with dry cooling, meaning there will be no operational water use in the cooling system”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Groundbreaking year: 2018“Since breaking ground in 2018, we have been proud to call Eagle Mountain home”Company · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- County code: 49049“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres of undeveloped land located in the Eagle Mountain City, Utah County, State of Utah”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Operator: Meta (owner-operator, self-use), acting through Stadion LLC“by and between EAGLE MOUNTAIN CITY, a municipal corporation of the State of Utah (the "City") and STADION LLC, a Delaware limited liability company”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Expansion land acres: 541.4 acres“The Company owns certain real property consisting of approximately 541.4 acres of undeveloped land located in the Eagle Mountain City, Utah County, State of Utah”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Secondary reporting citing the Daily Herald puts the expansion at three new data-center buildings, an administration building and a warehouse - the company's own announcement shared no building count, so this scope is a“Daily Herald reporting adds the physical scope behind the announcement: three new data-center buildings, an administration building, and a warehouse on a campus of more than 500 acres”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction workers peak: more than 1200 workers“will support more than 1,200 construction workers at the peak of construction, as well as more than 300 jobs at the data center once completed”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Cooling: Closed-loop liquid cooling systems with dry cooling (new buildings)“Full details haven't been shared, but the company said the new buildings will use closed-loop liquid cooling systems with dry cooling.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Existing campus context: Existing Eagle Mountain campus: broke ground 2018, went live 2021 - CONTEXT ONLY, out of scope for this campus record“Meta broke ground on the campus, located outside Salt Lake City, in 2018. The site went live in 2021.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C