Power and the grid
Energized, size not disclosed
- Grid power direct from TVA In serviceno contracted MW is public; the service agreement is not public Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- TVA Green Invest solar Contracted (TVA Green Invest)377 MW; 227 MW Muscle Shoals (Alabama) plus 150 MW Elora (Tennessee); renewable matching for the campus, delivered through the TVA grid Company · June 2022
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Nov. 5, 2018Solar supply announcedTVA announces 377 MW of new solar under Green Invest to supply the campus. News report · Nov. 2018
- Sept. 2021Muscle Shoals Solar completedOrsted completes the 227 MW Alabama plant for the campus. News report · Sept. 2021
- May 2022Elora Solar commissionedThe 150 MW Tennessee plant starts under a 20-year contract with TVA. News report · May 2022
- Jan. 19, 2026TVA serves the campus directlyHuntsville Utilities' plan notes TVA, not the city utility, supplies the campus. Utility regulator · Jan. 2026
- Not setService contract not publicNo TVA contract, contracted MW or price for the campus has been found. Utility regulator · Oct. 2026
- TVA reports 11,000 MW of requested new data center demand across its region and raised base rates in FY2024 and FY2025. Utility regulator · Jan. 2026
- Backup power is diesel emergency engines under a city air permit; they are not a power supply. Local government · Oct. 2022
Permits checklist
1 pending · 3 granted
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup generators), and what we found.
- ◷Major source air permit for the expansion PendingCity of Huntsville Natural Resources · Oct. 1, 2022: draft out for comment Oct. 2022; no final permit is posted online Local government · Oct. 2026
- ✓Land purchase, 340 acres GrantedHuntsville City Council · May 24, 2018: unanimous State agency · June 2018
- ✓Amended development agreement for the expansion GrantedHuntsville City Council · Nov. 2020: 197 acres added; text not public News report · June 2021
- ✓Synthetic minor air permit GrantedCity of Huntsville Natural Resources: in effect before 2022; covers the diesel emergency engines; the issue date is not stated Local government · Oct. 2022
What could slow it down
- WatchExpansion timing unclearPart of the 2022 expansion was paused in Dec. 2022 for an AI redesign, and no completion date has been published. News report · Dec. 2022
- WatchTVA capacity and ratesA Huntsville Utilities plan reports that TVA has 11,000 MW of requested data-center demand and raised base rates in FY2024 and FY2025. Utility regulator · Jan. 2026
- WatchAir permit not final in public recordA 2022 major-source air permit application for added emergency engines has no final version posted in the public record. see Permits
- WatchState moratoriums elsewhereSeveral Alabama cities adopted data center moratoriums in 2026; none applies to Huntsville or Madison County. News report · July 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- May 24, 2018Permits City council approves the sale of 340 acres to Starbelt LLC. State agency · June 2018
- June 14, 2018Site Facebook announces a $750M data center in Huntsville with 100 jobs. State agency · June 2018
- Nov. 5, 2018Power TVA announces 377 MW of new solar to supply the campus. News report · Nov. 2018
- Nov. 2020Permits Council approves an amended agreement; 197 acres are added. News report · June 2021
- Sept. 15, 2021Construction The first two buildings go online; three more are under construction. News report · Sept. 2021
- June 9, 2022Construction Meta announces two more buildings, taking the campus to nearly 3.5M sq ft. Company · June 2022
- Oct. 2022Permits Starbelt applies for a major-source air permit covering the expansion's added emergency engines and a fire pump. Local government · Oct. 2022
- Dec. 2022Construction Meta pauses part of the build to redesign it for AI workloads; the operating campus stays open. News report · Dec. 2022
- Sept. 2026Construction Meta confirms it is expanding the campus again. News report · Sept. 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- Meta Platforms: owner and operator
- Starbelt LLC: project entity that bought the land and holds the air permits
- Huntsville City Council: land and development agreements
- City of Huntsville Natural Resources: air permits
- Alabama Department of Commerce: Jobs Act credit
- Tennessee Valley Authority: direct electric service and Green Invest
- Orsted: Muscle Shoals Solar
- NextEra Energy Resources: Elora Solar
- Holder: general contractor (employer on site)
Open questions
- Megawatts, since Meta publishes none.
- Final air permit for the expansion engines.
- Completion date for the expansion buildings.
- TVA contract terms.
115 records from 25 documents
Drawn from news reports, company statements, state agency records, local government records, utility regulator dockets, public and commercial datasets and court filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (14)
- Owner companies: Starbelt, LLC (project entity: land purchaser and City of Huntsville air permittee)“Starbelt, LLC has applied to the Natural Resources Division for issuance of a Major Source Operating Permit (MSOP) for expansion of their existing data center”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- On-site generation: not stated“Facility emissions consist of Criteria Air Pollutants (CAPs) from the combustion of diesel fuel during the operation of the emergency engines, with Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) being the highest emitted pollutant”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- Jurisdiction air: City of Huntsville Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management (delegated local air program), not ADEM, not the Alabama PSC“Starbelt, LLC has applied to the Natural Resources Division for issuance of a Major Source Operating Permit (MSOP)”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- County code: Madison County, AL (01089); Colbert County, AL (01033); Lincoln County, TN (47103)“HU supplies electricity throughout Madison County and portions of Marshall County as shown on Figure 2-2. The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), direct service to the campus“The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Grid operator: none (TVA balancing area; no ISO/RTO market)“HU supplies electricity throughout Madison County and portions of Marshall County as shown on Figure 2-2”Utility regulator · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: grid“The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- TVA system context from Huntsville Utilities' 2026 Community Energy Resource Plan: TVA has a reported 11,000 MW in requested new data-center demand across the Valley and raised base rates in FY2024 and FY2025, backgroun“it was reported that TVA has 11,000 MW in requested new demand from data centers”Utility regulator · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Renewable matching: 100% renewable energy matched via TVA Green Invest: 227 MWac Muscle Shoals Solar (Colbert County, AL) + 150 MW Elora Solar (Lincoln County, TN) = 377 MW contracted“The Huntsville Data Center will be supported by 100% renewable energy, including a solar project located in Muscle Shoals, AL”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- Meta states its contracted project has added 227 MW of new renewable energy in Alabama. This is the Muscle Shoals Solar nameplate (Colbert County) and is STATE/portfolio accounting for Meta's Alabama operations, it is n“The project contracted by Meta has added 227MWs of new renewable energy in Alabama”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- County code: 01089“Madison County Commission Chairman Dale W. Strong said the north Alabama county continues to excel in job creation and in the diversification of its workforce.”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- 227 MWac Muscle Shoals solar project in Colbert County, AL completed (completion reported in 2021 coverage) under a long-term PPA with TVA supporting the Huntsville data center. Off-site generation, signal only, never ca“Ørsted has completed the 294-MWDC/227-MWAC Muscle Shoals solar PV project in Colbert County, Alabama”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Electricity use annual: 865803 MWh“865,803 MWh spread evenly across 2024 equals an average load of about 98.6 megawatts. That is a calculation from annual energy use — not the facility's peak demand.”News report · 2024 · grade C
Money and contracts (40)
- Investment: 1500000000 USD“This expansion raises our investment in Huntsville to more than $1.5 billion.”Company · June 2022 · grade A
- Campus sq ft: 3500000 sq ft“we are expanding the Meta Huntsville Data Center campus with two new buildings, reaching nearly 3.5 million square feet.”Company · June 2022 · grade A
- local incentive package: termination / clawback, FINDING: no termination, clawback or recapture clause is stated in any public document opened“To facilitate the project, Facebook will receive an investment credit under the Alabama Jobs Act with an estimated value of $86.25 million, over 10 years”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- state incentive, Alabama Jobs Act investment credit: termination / clawback, FINDING: Jobs Act credits are performance-based by statute, but no project-specific clawback or recapture term for this campus is stated in a“To facilitate the project, Facebook will receive an investment credit under the Alabama Jobs Act with an estimated value of $86.25 million, over 10 years”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- electric service (TVA direct-serve): term / capacity / pricing, FINDING: no term, contracted capacity (MW) or pricing for the TVA service is stated in any public document opened; TVA files no Alabama PSC docket and the“HU supplies electricity throughout Madison County and portions of Marshall County as shown on Figure 2-2. The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- electric service (TVA direct-serve): scope, provider of record“The only exception is that TVA provides electrical service to Redstone Arsenal and the Meta data center”Utility regulator · Jan. 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: Meta Platforms, Inc. (owner-occupied, self-use)“we are expanding the Meta Huntsville Data Center campus with two new buildings, reaching nearly 3.5 million square feet”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- Capital cost current: 1500000000 USD“This expansion raises our investment in Huntsville to more than $1.5 billion”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- Building area sq ft: 3500000 sq ft“we are expanding the Meta Huntsville Data Center campus with two new buildings, reaching nearly 3.5 million square feet”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- Name: Meta Huntsville (Huntsville Data Center)“Governor Kay Ivey announced on Thursday that Facebook will invest $750 million to build a data center in Huntsville, creating 100 high-paying jobs”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- Developer: Meta Platforms, Inc. (announced as Facebook, Inc. in 2018)“Facebook announced plans today to build a $750 million data center in Huntsville”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- Capital cost announced: 750000000 USD“Governor Kay Ivey announced on Thursday that Facebook will invest $750 million to build a data center in Huntsville, creating 100 high-paying jobs”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- state incentive - investment credit: Alabama Jobs Act investment credit 86250000 USD“Facebook will receive an investment credit under the Alabama Jobs Act with an estimated value of $86.25 million, over 10 years.”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- land purchase: scope 340 acres“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook's project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- land purchase: value 8500000 USD“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook's project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- state incentive, Alabama Jobs Act investment credit: value 86250000 USD“Facebook will receive an investment credit under the Alabama Jobs Act with an estimated value of $86.25 million, over 10 years”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- state incentive, Alabama Jobs Act investment credit: term 10 years“Facebook will receive an investment credit under the Alabama Jobs Act with an estimated value of $86.25 million, over 10 years”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- state incentive, Alabama Jobs Act investment credit: projected public revenue 297300000 USD“Total new revenue over thirty years from the Data Center is estimated to be $297.3 million that will be divided between the state, county and city”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- Site acres: 340 acres“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook’s project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park.”State agency · May 2018 · grade B
- Site acres: 340 acres“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook's project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park”State agency · May 2018 · grade B
- renewable PPA / Green Invest: solar supply supporting Huntsville 377 MW solar (off-site)“one in Colbert County, Alabama, a 227MW installation from First Solar. The other will be in Lincoln County, Tennessee, a 150MW NextEra Energy Resources project.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- project development agreement (amended): termination / condition, FINDING: no termination, condition or clawback clause of the amended agreement is public; the executed agreement was not located in any source opened“According to the amended project development agreement, Facebook purchased 197 acres from private owners adjacent to the original campus, which was about 250 acres purchased from the city”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- renewable energy supply (TVA Green Invest): termination, FINDING: no termination or cancellation clause of the Green Invest arrangement is stated in any public document opened“The development stems from TVA's 2017 Request for Proposals when the utility began working with Facebook and called on the nation's top renewable energy developers to submit bids to supply large quantities of solar power”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: operating, owner-occupier; first buildings in service since Sep 15, 2021; expansion construction continuing in 2026“Meta's Huntsville data center is nearly 3.5 million square feet and supports more than 300 jobs”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Meta's two Alabama campuses (Huntsville over $1.5B; Montgomery over $1.5B after its 2026 expansion) total more than $3 billion of investment in the state per Meta statements reported in 2026, context only; the Montgomer“The company has said its investments in Alabama's two campuses total more than $3 billion”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Water infrastructure: Meta funded $2.5 million of a $2.8 million sanitary sewer extension for the campus (City of Huntsville via press)“When it first settled in Huntsville, Meta funded $2.5 million of $2.8 million for a sanitary sewer extension, according to the city of Huntsville”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- utility infrastructure (sewer): cost share, sanitary sewer extension 2500000 USD“When it first settled in Huntsville, Meta funded $2.5 million of $2.8 million for a sanitary sewer extension, according to the city of Huntsville”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Meta paused construction on a PORTION of the Huntsville campus in December 2022 to redesign for AI workloads (part of Meta's global rescoping of about a dozen projects); the operating campus was not shut and Meta stated“In order to best serve our needs for the future, we have decided to change the design of a portion of our Huntsville datacenter, which will result in a temporary construction pause”News report · Dec. 2022 · grade C
- solar PPA (Elora): scope 150 MWac“Development of the 150 MW Elora Solar project, which was led by NextEra Energy Resources, began in 2019”News report · May 2022 · grade C
- solar PPA (Elora): status, commissioned“NextEra Energy Resources, Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), and Meta announced in May the commissioning of the Elora Solar Energy Center”News report · May 2022 · grade C
- solar PPA (Elora): term 20 years“Through a 20-year power purchase agreement (PPA), TVA provides the majority of the solar energy to Meta, which built a $750 million data center in nearby Huntsville, Alabama”Company · 2022 · grade C
- solar PPA (Muscle Shoals): scope 227 MWac“The 227 MWac facility is located in the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) service area, an organization with which it has a long-term power purchase agreement”News report · Sept. 2021 · grade C
- solar PPA (Muscle Shoals): status, completed“Clean energy company Orsted recently completed the Muscle Shoals solar PV project in Colbert County, Ala.”News report · Sept. 2021 · grade C
- project development agreement (amended): scope, expansion land 197 acres“The city council in November approved expansion of the Facebook campus in North Huntsville Industrial Park. According to the amended project development agreement, Facebook purchased 197 acres from private owners adjacent to the original campus”News report · June 2021 · grade C
- renewable energy supply (TVA Green Invest): scope 377 MW“As part of the agreement, First Solar will develop the 227MW installation in Colbert County, Alabama, while NextEra Energy Resources will develop a 150MW project in Lincoln County, Tennessee”News report · Nov. 2018 · grade C
- renewable energy supply (TVA Green Invest): scope, renewable matching commitment 100 % of campus consumption“Tennessee and Alabama will get their largest solar power projects yet, to supply a Facebook data center with 100 percent renewable energy”News report · Nov. 2018 · grade C
- Original target date: 2020“a 970,000 square feet (90,116 sq m), $750 million, data center, set to become operational in 2020”News report · Nov. 2018 · grade C
- land purchase option: option, additional acreage 203 acres“Starbelt also has an option to purchase another 203 acres in the same industrial park for $25,000 per acre”News report · June 2018 · grade C
- local incentive package: scope, fee waivers and infrastructure 6600000 USD“the company will receive a $6.6 million non-direct benefit package — $2 million in waived permit fees and $4.6 million of infrastructure work around the center”News report · June 2018 · grade C
- Announced: May 24, 2018“The City of Huntsville, Alabama approved on May 24 a deal that will see the construction of a $750 million “large-scale data campus” there”News report · May 2018 · grade C
Permits and government (10)
- air, major source operating permit (MSOP): final issuance, FINDING: no final MSOP document or permit number is published on the City of Huntsville website as of this capture; the draft permit itself is available only a“A copy of the Draft MSOP as well as information regarding emissions, applicable air pollution control regulations and emission controls is available at the Huntsville Natural Resources office”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 5400 Prosperity Drive NW, Toney, AL (North Huntsville Industrial Park)“Starbelt, LLC has applied to the Natural Resources Division for issuance of a Major Source Operating Permit (MSOP) for expansion of their existing data center located at 5400 Prosperity Drive NW in Huntsville, Alabama”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- air, synthetic minor operating permit (SMOP): issued (in effect before the 2022 MSOP application; exact issue date not stated in the public notice)“The facility has been operating in compliance with a Synthetic Minor Operating Permit (SMOP) issued by Natural Resources”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- air, major source operating permit (MSOP): application filed by Starbelt, LLC for issuance of an MSOP covering the campus expansion (additional emergency engines and a fire pump)“Additional emergency engines and a fire pump are proposed to be installed and will be used to provide electricity/water to the facility in the event of an emergency”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- air, major source operating permit (MSOP): draft permit published for public comment (30-day comment period; 45-day EPA review running concurrently)“A Draft MSOP has been prepared and a thirty-(30)-day public comment period, which begins upon publication of this Public Notice, has been established”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- air, major source operating permit (MSOP): proposed conditions“The proposed MSOP limits emissions of NOx from emergency engine fuel combustion below PSD thresholds, imposes monitoring and recordkeeping requirements, allows only for the use of ultralow Sulfur diesel fuel, restricts engine use”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- City of Huntsville Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management (air permit public comment proceeding): Draft Major Source Operating Permit for Starbelt, LLC data center expansion published for 30-day pub“Natural Resources is proposing to issue a MSOP to Starbelt, LLC, which will replace the existing SMOP and which will contain all the substantive requirements currently included in that Permit”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- Huntsville City Council: Approval for Starbelt, LLC to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park (the Facebook data center site, codename Starbelt / Project Cricket)“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook's project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- land purchase approval: approved“The Huntsville City Council gave unanimous approval on May 24 for Facebook’s project entity, Starbelt LLC, to purchase 340 acres at $8.5 million in North Huntsville Industrial Park.”State agency · May 2018 · grade B
- Huntsville City Council: Approval of amended project development agreement for campus expansion; Facebook purchased 197 acres from private owners adjacent to the original campus“The city council in November approved expansion of the Facebook campus in North Huntsville Industrial Park. According to the amended project development agreement, Facebook purchased 197 acres from private owners adjacent to the original campus”News report · June 2021 · grade C
Legal (1)
- Construction-payment litigation by steel-erection sub-subcontractor Johnson Contractors against Starbelt/Meta/Holder/Schuff; Starbelt and Meta dismissed with prejudice Dec 9, 2025.“alleging that JCI has not been adequately compensated for steel erection work JCI performed for the construction of a Facebook data center in Huntsville.”Court filing · Dec. 2025 · grade A
Site and other (12)
- City: Huntsville (postal address Toney), AL“their existing data center located at 5400 Prosperity Drive NW in Huntsville, Alabama”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- County: Madison County“their existing data center located at 5400 Prosperity Drive NW in Huntsville, Alabama”Local government · Oct. 2022 · grade A
- Operator: Meta Platforms, Inc. (Meta / Facebook)“In 2018, Meta was thrilled to add Huntsville, Alabama to our family of data centers.”Company · June 2022 · grade A
- Jobs operational: 300 jobs“And once it's completed, we anticipate the data center will support more than 300 operational jobs”Company · June 2022 · grade B
- Aliases: Huntsville Data Center; Facebook Huntsville; Project Starbelt; Project Cricket“Known previously only by the codename Starbelt, the data center will be located in the North Huntsville Industrial Park”State agency · June 2018 · grade B
- Stage: operating (partial), core campus in service since 2021; expansion buildings still being completed“The first two buildings of the Facebook Data Center in Huntsville went online Sept. 15, 2021”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: operating campus with expansion construction continuing (2022 two-building expansion paused Dec 2022 for redesign; Meta confirms it is currently expanding)“Meta is currently expanding its Huntsville data center, which broke ground in 2018, according to Stacey Yip, Meta spokesperson. The campus is located in the North Huntsville Industrial Park”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Meta confirms the Huntsville expansion is active again: a Meta spokesperson told Business Alabama in 2026 that Meta is currently expanding its Huntsville data center. No Meta announcement states a completion date for the“Meta is currently expanding its Huntsville data center, which broke ground in 2018, according to Stacey Yip, Meta spokesperson”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Several Alabama cities (Homewood, Springville, Leeds, Cullman, Birmingham) adopted data-center moratoriums in 2026, but NO moratorium or restriction applying to Huntsville or Madison County was found in any source opened“Homewood, Springville, Leeds, Cullman and Birmingham all have active data center moratoriums in place”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Meta paused construction on a portion of the Huntsville expansion in late 2022 to redesign for AI workloads; company said it remained committed and would resume with the new design.“we have decided to change the design of a portion of our Huntsville Data Center which will result in a temporary construction pause of a portion of the project”News report · Dec. 2022 · grade C
- Current target date: 2021“The first two buildings of the Facebook Data Center in Huntsville went online Sept. 15, 2021”News report · Sept. 2021 · grade C
- Buildings online: 2 (first phase; campus planned at 6+ buildings)“Facebook has brought two buildings of its data center campus online Wednesday. Construction continues on three other buildings and there will eventually be six buildings at the data center handling traffic”News report · Sept. 2021 · grade C