Data center profile · Yorkville, Kendall County, Illinois (Baseline Road and Route 47)

Project Cardinal, Yorkville

Pioneer Development's 14-building, 1.8 GW data-center plan on 1,037 acres in Yorkville, Illinois, approved by the city but not yet bought and now challenged in court

Approved, in court. Yorkville approved the planned development in Nov. 2025 and the rezoning and development agreement in March 2026. The developer has not closed on the land, no tenant is named, and a residents' lawsuit against the rezoning is pending.
1.8 GW
stated campus size (press, citing city documents)
11 buildings at 144 MW and 3 at 73 MW; load type not stated
1,037 acres
site the developer has under contract
contract purchaser, per the city ordinance
14
two-story data-center buildings planned
about 17M sq ft in total (press)
$51M
direct payment to the community
development agreement, per a press account
OperatorPioneer Development, LLC (developer and contract purchaser)
CustomerNone named
Planned IT capacity1.4 GW at full build-out (our estimate from the company's 1.8 GW campus power figure)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet).
Next deadline2029: First building slated to operate (industry listing)
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed
Permits

Permits checklist

1 contested · 2 granted

Local approvals on record.

Risks

What could slow it down

Lawsuits

1 case on record

Money

Money on record

$51M direct payment to the community (under the development agreement (press)). News report · March 2026

Land assembly

2 recorded land documents for the campus company in county records (Aug. 2024); none lists a price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Aug. 29, 2024
    Money Land purchase recorded (no price on the deed): Dale L Konicek LLC to Pioneer Development LLC (12 parcels) County deed records · Aug. 2024
  2. July 9, 2025
    Permits Planning and Zoning Commission holds a hearing on the rezoning and recommends approval Local government · July 2025
  3. Nov. 10, 2025
    Permits City Council unanimously approves the annexation agreement and planned development after about two hours of resident comment News report · Nov. 2025
  4. March 10, 2026
    Money Council approves the development agreement with Pioneer Development News report · March 2026
  5. March 2026
    Permits Council rezones the 1,037 acres to manufacturing Local government · March 2026
  6. May 26, 2026
    Legal Residents' group Protectors of Yorkville & County lays out its pending court challenge to the rezoning News report · May 2026
  7. 2029
    Construction First building slated to operate (industry listing) News report · Oct. 2026
The buildings

Specs

1,037 acres
site under contract to the developer
17M sq ft
14 two-story buildings (press, citing city documents)
144 MW
each of 11 larger buildings; 3 smaller ones at 73 MW (press)
M-2
General Manufacturing zoning, rezoned from residential and business
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners
  • Pioneer Development, LLC: developer and contract purchaser
  • Matt McCarron of Cirrus Farms (Sheridan, Wyo.): listed as the person behind Pioneer (press)
  • Landowners: Galena & 47th LLC, MPLIV10 LLC, Sanjay and Sameer Gupta, Dale L. Konicek LLC, Konicek Family LP
Decision-makers
  • Yorkville City Council: approved the planned development, rezoning and development agreement
  • Yorkville Planning and Zoning Commission: recommended the rezoning
Power partners
  • ComEd: serving utility named in an industry listing
Opponents
  • Protectors of Yorkville & County: residents' group suing over the rezoning
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

35 records from 9 documents

Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 5Dataset 4Local government 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (3)
  • Utility: ComEd (two on-site substations and a switchyard in the PUD plan)
    “Provider: ComEd”
  • no public article retrieved in this pass names the Pioneer TSA docket - docket
    “consistent with a project of this size in ComEd territory, though no public article retrieved names the Pioneer TSA docket (UNVERIFIED at docket level)”
  • Stated campus size: 1,803 MW
    “Eleven data centers are set to total approximately 1.9 million sq ft (176,515 sqm) and 144MW each, with three others totaling approximately 940,000 sq ft (87,330 sqm) and 73MW each”
Money and contracts (7)
  • Site acres: 1037 acres
    “Pioneer Development, LLC, an Illinois limited liability company (Applicant), is the contract purchaser of approximately 1,037 acres of property”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD
    “Recorded: Aug. 29, 2024 · Grantor: DALE L KONICEK LLC · Grantee: PIONEER DEVELOPMENT LLC · Parcel number: 02-04-300-017 · Address: 10321 GALENA RD · City: BRISTOL”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD
    “Recorded: Aug. 29, 2024 · Grantor: THE KONICEK FAMILY LIMITED PARTNERS · Grantee: PIONEER DEVELOPMENT LLC · Parcel number: 02-06-100-021 · Address: 345 ASHE RD · City: PLANO”
  • Construction stage: entitled, not built - PUD approved 2025 (Ord. 2025-77); annexation, rezoning and development agreement approved through Mar 10, 2026; developer has not yet closed on the land; first building slated fo
    “Yorkville approved the planned unit development in 2025 and the annexation and rezoning in March 2026. Pioneer has not yet closed on the land, and a residents' lawsuit against the rezoning is pending”
  • Tenant status: none found - no tenant or operator named in the Yorkville record
    “It's not clear which company is behind the project”
  • Development Agreement: agreement approval approved
    “On March 10, 2026, the United City of Yorkville, Illinois approved a Development Agreement with Pioneer Development LLC for "Project Cardinal"”
  • Development Agreement: community payment 51 USD million
    “it comes with a $51 million direct payment to the community”
Permits and government (7)
  • rezoning: approved
    “the Applicant desires to rezone the Subject Property, which is currently classified as a mix of R-2 Single-Family Traditional Residence District, R-3 Multi-Family Attached Residence District, and B-3 General Business District into the M-2 General Manufacturing Zoning District”
  • Announced: July 9, 2025
    “the Planning and Zoning Commission convened and held a public hearing on July 9, 2025, to consider the rezoning”
  • Yorkville Planning and Zoning Commission:
    “the Planning and Zoning Commission convened and held a public hearing on July 9, 2025, to consider the rezoning”
  • litigation: pending
    “Together with POY&C's pending Project Cardinal challenge, approximately 1,577 acres of recent industrial rezoning is now before Kendall County courts”
  • Yorkville City Council:
    “On March 10, 2026, the United City of Yorkville, Illinois approved a Development Agreement with Pioneer Development LLC for "Project Cardinal"”
  • planned unit development: approved
    “the annexation agreement and Planned Unit Development agreement for the project came up again for a vote from the council on Nov. 10 and were approved unanimously”
  • Yorkville City Council:
    “the annexation agreement and Planned Unit Development agreement for the project came up again for a vote from the council on Nov. 10 and were approved unanimously”
Site and other (5)
  • County code: 17093
    “the United City of Yorkville, Kendall County, Illinois (the City)”
  • Campus name: Pioneer Development Yorkville (Project Cardinal)
    “Pioneer Development, LLC is aiming to develop 14 two-story data center buildings totaling 17 million sq ft (1.57 million sqm) and 1.8GW”
  • Developer: Pioneer Development, LLC (Matt McCarron of Cirrus Farms, Sheridan, Wyoming, listed as the person behind Pioneer)
    “Matt McCarron of Cirrus Farms in Sheridan, Wyoming is listed as the person behind Pioneer Development”
  • NAME COLLISION: "Project Cardinal" The Yorkville Project Cardinal is a third, unrelated project; this campus is
    “Google also has a campus known as Project Cardinal in the works outside Charlotte, North Carolina”
  • Prologis "Project Steel" DCD places it close to the appr
    “real estate giant Prologis is looking to develop a 24-building campus in the city, close to a recently approved CyrusOne campus”

Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.