Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
- On-site natural gas engines (behind the meter) Planned (developer says)MW not stated for this campus; the press says Jenbacher J620 gas engines from Conduit Power; no air permit on record News report · Feb. 2026
- Battery storage next to the site Planned (press)ENGIE's adjacent battery system; MW not stated; a battery stores power, it does not generate it News report · Feb. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Sept. 2025Power partners announcedPrometheus announces partnerships with Conduit Power for on-site power and with ENGIE for colocation with renewable assets in Dallas. News report · Sept. 2025
- Aug. 3, 2026Statewide energization pauseERCOT says it will not authorize data center load of 75 MW or more to energize until each project is verified; any grid import here would fall inside it. see Permits
- Sept. 18, 2026Large-load rule adoptedThe Texas PUC adopts a rule requiring $50,000 per MW in security before a load enters ERCOT studies, effective Oct. 8, 2026. News report · Sept. 2026
Permits checklist
1 paused · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- ‖Grid energization PausedERCOT · Aug. 3, 2026: statewide hold on 75 MW and larger data center loads pending verification News report · Aug. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: County development application, Tax abatement, Water service
What could slow it down
- HighNo application or approvalsNothing has been filed with the county, no water service was requested, and no abatement exists. see Permits
- MediumResident oppositionResidents asked the county to freeze utility easements and spending tied to the project. News report · Aug. 2026
- MediumPower is a planThe gas-engine and battery design has no stated MW for this campus and no permit on record. News report · Feb. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- Sept. 2, 2024Paper trail Prometheus Hyperscale registered in Wyoming and Texas
- Sept. 2024Site Developer relaunches as Prometheus Hyperscale, widening plans from 120 MW in Wyoming to 1 GW across sites News report · Sept. 2024
- Sept. 2025Power Prometheus announces partnerships with ENGIE and Conduit Power for Texas sites News report · Sept. 2025
- Feb. 2026Permits Prometheus meets Kaufman County Development Services on a concept plan Local government · Feb. 2026
- Feb. 27, 2026Site Prometheus brings the 500-acre Kaufman County site to market, citing up to 200 MW (press) News report · Feb. 2026
- Aug. 3, 2026Power ERCOT pauses energization of data center load of 75 MW or more pending verification News report · Aug. 2026
- Aug. 24, 2026Permits Residents ask the Commissioners Court to freeze utility easements; county says nothing has been granted News report · Aug. 2026
- Sept. 18, 2026Power Texas PUC adopts its large-load interconnection rule, effective Oct. 8, 2026 News report · Sept. 2026
Specs
FM 987 to CR 272 site between those roads, per a water district's records statement. Local government · 2026
- Liquid cooling: described for the four buildings (press) News report · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Prometheus Hyperscale (president Trevor Neilson): developer
- Conduit Power, backed by Grey Rock Investment Partners: on-site gas and battery partner
- ENGIE North America: adjacent battery partner
- Kaufman County Development Services and Commissioners Court
- ERCOT and the Public Utility Commission of Texas: grid rules
Open questions
- Whether a county application will be filed.
- MW of on-site generation.
- Tenant and land ownership.
51 records from 9 documents
Drawn from news reports, utility regulator dockets, local government records, business registries and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (12)
- Prometheus has not requested or inquired about water service from Rose Hill SUD, NTMWD or any of the four neighboring water providers, per records reviewed by the District“Prometheus Hyperscale has not contacted Rose Hill SUD to request or inquire about water service.”Local government · 2026 · grade B
- The NTMWD 42-inch South Transmission Line is a separate, independent project planned since late 2022; it was not initiated for the data center (Rose Hill SUD, correcting public conflation)“Based on the records and information reviewed by the District, these are two separate and independent projects.”Local government · 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 200 MW“Neilson's post suggests the liquid-cooled site could reach 200MW of utility load and feature four large buildings.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Building count: 4 buildings“Neilson's post suggests the liquid-cooled site could reach 200MW of utility load and feature four large buildings.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Power strategy: Behind-the-meter Jenbacher J620 gas engines plus ENGIE adjacent battery storage“The company is set to use behind-the-meter power through Jenbacher's J620 gas engines and will be connected to Engie’s adjacent battery energy storage system.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Behind-the-meter power via Jenbacher J620 gas engines with Conduit Power; connected to Engie's adjacent battery energy storage system; liquid-cooled, four large buildings, up to 200 MW utility load per the president's Li“The company is set to use behind-the-meter power through Jenbacher's J620 gas engines and will be connected to Engie's adjacent battery energy storage system.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Kaufman County site brought to market (Neilson LinkedIn, reported Feb 27, 2026): 500 acres west of Dallas between Talty and Post Oak Bend City, four large liquid-cooled buildings, up to 200 MW of utility load, behind-the“The 500-acre site is set to be located west of Dallas between Talty and Post Oak Bend City in Kaufman County.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Flexential's Talty campus (110 acres acquired in Kaufman County, up to 108 MW across three buildings, Phase 1 375,000 sq ft / 36 MW) is a different developer's project in the same county - do not conflate with Prometheus“Flexential has acquired 110 acres in Kaufman County, Texas, for the development of a new hyperscale and colocation data center campus”News report · 2026 · grade C
- November 2025: purchase orders for 75 Ecomax 33 power generation units (Jenbacher J620 engines) with AB Energy; ~250 MW of a 300 MW behind-the-meter gas program across Texas and Wyoming sites (program-wide, not this camp“Totaling some 250MW of capacity, the units were part of 300MW of total behind-the-meter natural gas generating capacity being deployed at data center sites in Texas and Wyoming”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Conduit purchase orders for 75 Ecomax 33 units (Jenbacher 620 engines) with AB Energy“In November, the firm announced purchase orders for 75 Ecomax 33 power generation units, powered by Jenbacher 620 engines, with AB Energy.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Partnerships announced September 2025: ENGIE (colocate data centers with renewable assets in Dallas) and Conduit Power (deploy on-site power solutions in Texas)“Conduit first announced a partnership with Prometheus in September 2025 to deploy power solutions in Texas.”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
- Prometheus (as Wyoming Hyperscale Whitebox) launched around 2020 with a planned 120 MW Wyoming campus; relaunched September 2024 with plans revised to 1 GW across multiple sites“The Wyoming-based company initially planned to develop a 120MW campus back in 2020. However, after its relaunch, plans were revised to 1GW”News report · Sept. 2024 · grade C
Money and contracts (2)
- co-location / development agreement: exclusivity“ENGIE North America announced it has entered into an agreement with data center developer Prometheus Hyperscale to co-locate data centers at select renewable and battery storage energy facilities along the Texas I-35 corridor.”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
- power solutions partnership: on-site power deployment“Conduit first announced a partnership with Prometheus in September 2025 to deploy power solutions in Texas.”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (7)
- water service: no request received“Prometheus Hyperscale has not contacted Rose Hill SUD to request or inquire about water service.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- concept plan: discussed - no formal application filed“Kaufman County Development Services met with representatives of Prometheus Hyperscale in February 2026 to discuss the concept plan.”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Kaufman County Development Services:“Kaufman County Development Services met with representatives of Prometheus Hyperscale in February 2026 to discuss the concept plan.”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Same governing rulemaking as for all ERCOT large loads: the PUCT adopted new 16 : large-load interconnection rulemaking (16 TAC 25.194) - adopted Sep 18, 2026, effective Oct 8, 2026“Project 58481, the large-load interconnection rulemaking under PURA 37.0561... $50,000 per megawatt in financial security before a load is included in an ERCOT study”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Kaufman County told the Commissioners Court (Aug 24, 2026) that no applications or abatements have been granted for the project“the county said no applications or abatements have been granted and promised a hearing if an application is submitted”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Kaufman County Commissioners Court:“Two residents asked the Kaufman County Commissioner's Court to freeze utility easements and infrastructure spending tied to a proposed 500-acre Prometheus data center”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Aug. 3, 2026 gubernatorial audit directive / ERCOT Market Notice M-A080326-01: n: statewide pause on >=75 MW load energization pending project verification“it will not authorize data-center or crypto load at or above 75 MW to energize until it finishes a project-by-project verification of MW, site control, financial security, and ownership”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (10)
- Site location: Northeast side of FM 987, between FM 987/FM 2578 intersection and CR 272, Kaufman County, TX“The proposed Prometheus Hyperscale data center would be located on the northeast side of FM 987, between the FM 987/FM 2578 intersection and CR 272.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developed acres planned: 320 acres“The concept plan shows potential development of approximately 320 acres of a 500+ acre property, all of which is located within Rose Hill SUD’s certificated water service area.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Project status: announced only“Since that meeting, the developer has not formally applied to Kaufman County Development Services.”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Prometheus Hyperscale“Prometheus’ multi-gigawatt pipeline includes projects in Evanston, Wyoming, Casper, Wyoming, Kaufman County, Texas, and Reeves County, Texas.”Company · Aug. 2026 · grade B
- As of the Rose Hill SUD records statement (2026), the developer had not formally applied to Kaufman County Development Services after the Feb 2026 concept-plan meeting“Since that meeting, the developer has not formally applied to Kaufman County Development Services.”Local government · 2026 · grade B
- County code: 48257“The 500-acre site is set to be located west of Dallas between Talty and Post Oak Bend City in Kaufman County (campus and on-site plant in Kaufman County -> 48257).”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: announced“Excited to bring to market our newest Prometheus Hyperscale site near Dallas!”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 500 acres“The 500-acre site is set to be located west of Dallas between Talty and Post Oak Bend City in Kaufman County.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- President Trevor Neilson LinkedIn post bringing the Kaufman County site to market with ENGIE North America and Conduit, reported by DCD Feb 2026“Excited to bring to market our newest Prometheus Hyperscale site near Dallas!”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- ENGIE item: first Prometheus co-located sites expected live 2026, more from 2027 - Texas-wide statement, not specific to the Kaufman site“The first sites equipped with high-performance, AI-ready data center compute capacity are expected to go live in 2026, with more locations planned from 2027 onward.”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C