Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
- Oncor grid connection Not contractedOncor is the delivery utility; MW not stated separately and no interconnection agreement is on record News report · Sept. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Oct. 14, 2025Principal describes the power planA Prominent Property Group principal said the site would have access to 200 MW from natural gas and grid power. News report · Oct. 2025
- Aug. 3, 2026Statewide energization pauseERCOT says it will not authorize data center load of 75 MW or more to energize until it verifies each project. News report · Aug. 2026
- Sept. 18, 2026Large-load rule adoptedThe Texas PUC adopts a rule requiring $50,000 per MW in financial security before a load enters ERCOT studies, effective Oct. 8, 2026. News report · Sept. 2026
- The PUC and ERCOT set grid-interconnection rules; they do not decide zoning, and no project-specific PUC docket exists for this site. News report · Sept. 2026
Permits checklist
1 pending · 3 granted
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- ◷City incentive agreement PendingCity of Jarrell · 2026: under negotiation; no executed agreement found News report · 2026
- ✓Annexation GrantedJarrell City Council · Oct. 14, 2025: 150.92 acres; tally not stated Local government · Oct. 2025
- ✓Future land use change GrantedJarrell City Council · Oct. 14, 2025: Neighborhoods to Business Park (press) News report · Oct. 2025
- ✓Rezoning GrantedJarrell City Council · Oct. 14, 2025: Agriculture to Light Industrial/Warehousing; the planning commission had recommended approval in Aug. 2025 (press) News report · Oct. 2025
What could slow it down
- HighNo end userNo tenant has been identified; the applicants market a powered-land platform, not a built campus. News report · Oct. 2025
- HighPower unresolvedThe gas plant is planned and the grid share is subject to ERCOT's verification pause and new financial security rule. News report · Aug. 2026
- MediumCommunity oppositionResidents cite water, power, noise and truck traffic near the high school. News report · May 2026
What happened, and what is due
- Aug. 2025Permits Planning and zoning commission votes to recommend the annexation and rezoning (press) News report · Aug. 2025
- Sept. 23, 2025Permits Council Q&A workshop: residents raise water, power and site concerns News report · Sept. 2025
- Oct. 14, 2025Permits Council adopts three ordinances to annex, redesignate and rezone the 150 acres News report · Oct. 2025
- April 2026Money Press says utility, development and tax-incentive agreements are not finalized News report · April 2026
- May 2026Site Residents gather signatures against siting the project near Jarrell High School (press) News report · May 2026
- Aug. 3, 2026Power ERCOT pauses energization of data center load of 75 MW or more pending verification News report · Aug. 2026
- Sept. 18, 2026Power Texas PUC adopts its large-load interconnection rule, effective Oct. 8, 2026 News report · Sept. 2026
Specs
- Water and wastewater: municipal service available at the site (developer says) Company · Oct. 2025
- Business Park: future land use changed from Neighborhoods on Oct. 14, 2025 News report · Oct. 2025
Owners, partners and builders
- Prominent Property Group (principal Dalton Little): applicant and land developer
- Savannah Developers: land developer and construction manager
- Power Infrastructure Partners: infrastructure project manager
- Texas Energy Group: site platform partner
- Jarrell City Council
- Oncor: delivery utility
- ERCOT and the Public Utility Commission of Texas: grid rules
Open questions
- End user.
- Executed power and incentive agreements.
- Whether the gas plant has been permitted.
56 records from 9 documents
Drawn from news reports, company statements, local government records and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (6)
- Stated campus size: 200 MW“The project encompasses approximately 150.92 gross acres (115.82 net acres) of fully entitled land and is planned to support 200 megawatts (MW) of scalable, high-density power”Company · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 264 MW“planned to support 200 megawatts (MW) of scalable, high-density power, with a clearly defined expansion pathway to approximately 264 MW”Company · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Project name: Mesone Data Center“Operator, Prominent Property Group, County, Williamson County, TX, Capacity, 200 MW, Address, Jarrell, TX, Stage, Planned”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- By May 2026 residents were gathering petition signatures against placing the project near Jarrell High School (noise, truck traffic, water and power consumption concerns)“By May 2026, residents were gathering signatures against placing the project near Jarrell High School.”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Substack reports power developer TIDAL PWR publicly lists 'Mesones' in Williamson County with 200 MW of grid capacity and 250 MW of combined-cycle natural-gas generation“The developer TIDAL PWR publicly lists a project called Mesones in Williamson County, with 200 megawatts of grid capacity and 250 megawatts of combined-cycle natural-gas generation.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- Developer: Prominent Property Group“The applicants are listed as Prominent Property Group, land developer and construction manager Savannah Developers, and infrastructure project manager Power Infrastructure Partners.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (5)
- End user not identified in any reporting; applicants are a powered-land platform (site preparation and development readiness rather than vertical construction), so the campus is marketed to data center operators and inst“Mesones Prime is delivered through a unified development platform focused on site preparation and development readiness rather than vertical construction.”Company · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Architect Digital project listing carries Mesone as a planned 200 MW site under Prominent Property Group in Williamson County - consistent with a land listing rather than a build“Operator, Prominent Property Group, County, Williamson County, TX, Capacity, 200 MW, Address, Jarrell, TX, Stage, Planned”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Reporting (citing Texas Scorecard) says utility, development and tax-incentive agreements had not been finalized as of April 2026“Reporting at the time also said utility, development and tax-incentive agreements had not yet been finalized as of April.”News report · April 2026 · grade C
- City of Jarrell is negotiating an incentive agreement with Mesones Data Center (reported 2026); no executed agreement located in fetched sources“The city of Jarrell is negotiating an incentive agreement with Mesones Data Center, which includes an on-site natural gas generator.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- No end user / tenant identified in any fetched source“No information about the facility's end-user is available.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (17)
- Jarrell City Council:“2025-449 The City of Jarrell, Texas, proposes to institute annexation proceedings to enlarge and extend the boundary limits of said city to include the following described territories”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- annexation: public hearing held; annexation adopted Oct. 14, 2025“2025-449 The City of Jarrell, Texas, proposes to institute annexation proceedings to enlarge and extend the boundary limits of said city to include the following described territories”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- PUCT rulemaking under PURA 37.0561 (SB 6) governing any ERCOT grid interconnecti: large-load interconnection rulemaking (16 TAC 25.194) - adopted Sep 18, 2026, effective Oct 8, 2026“Project 58481, the large-load interconnection rulemaking under PURA 37.0561, which came to the meeting as a staff-recommended order adopting new 16 TAC 25.194... $50,000 per megawatt in financial security”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Governor Abbott directed ERCOT and the PUCT to audit data-center load (Aug. 3, 2: statewide pause on >=75 MW load energization pending project verification“ERCOT's Market Notice M-A080326-01, issued the same day, said it would not deliver the August 7 Batch Zero classifications... it will not authorize data-center or crypto load at or above 75 MW to energize”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Zoning status: Light Industrial/Warehousing (from Agriculture); future land use Business Park (from Neighborhoods)“the third changed the zoning designation from ‘Agriculture’ to ‘Light Industrial/Warehousing.’”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- future land use amendment: adopted“the second redesignated the land use designation of the parcel from ‘Neighborhoods’ to ‘Business Park,’”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- rezoning: adopted“the third changed the zoning designation from ‘Agriculture’ to ‘Light Industrial/Warehousing.’”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell City Council adopted three ordinances on Oct 14, 2025: annexed the 150-acre parcel at 3911 County Road 305, redesignated future land use from Neighborhoods to Business Park, rezoned Agriculture to Light Industria“On October 14, the Jarrell City Council adopted three ordinances related to a potential data center development.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell City Council:“the second redesignated the land use designation of the parcel from 'Neighborhoods' to 'Business Park'”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell City Council:“the third changed the zoning designation from 'Agriculture' to 'Light Industrial/Warehousing'”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- City Council Q&A workshop Sep 23, 2025: residents raised water and electrical infrastructure impacts, site suitability, and lack of information about the project; organized resident questioning continued after approval“at a Q&A workshop convened by the City Council on September 23, members of the public expressed concerns that included the data center's potential impact on water and electrical infrastructure”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
- Residents voiced concerns at the Sept 23, 2025 City Council Q&A workshop over water and electrical infrastructure impacts, site suitability and lack of project information“members of the public expressed concerns that included the data center’s potential impact on water and electrical infrastructure, the suitability of its location”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell City Council:“at a Q&A workshop convened by the City Council on September 23, members of the public expressed concerns that included the data center's potential impact on water and electrical infrastructure”News report · Sept. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission voted in August 2025 to recommend approval of the annexation, land-use and rezoning ordinances for the ~150-acre parcel at 3911 County Road 305“In August, the Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission voted to recommend the approval of the ordinances.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Announced: Aug. 2025“In August, the Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission voted to recommend the approval of the ordinances.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- rezoning recommendation: recommended approval“In August, the Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission voted to recommend the approval of the ordinances.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission:“In August, the Jarrell Planning and Zoning Commission voted to recommend the approval of the ordinances.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (6)
- Status: entitled“The site is zoned and entitled for data center use, with municipal water and wastewater available”Company · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- County code: 48491“Being a 150.920-acre tract of land, located in the Nataniel Moore Survey, Abstract No. 410, Williamson County, Texas”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Site acres: 150.920 acres“Being a 150.920-acre tract of land, located in the Nataniel Moore Survey, Abstract No. 410, Williamson County, Texas”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Site address: 3911 County Road 305, Jarrell, TX“The first annexed a 150-acre land parcel at 3911 County Road 305 into the city”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Project status: announced only - entitled land, no end user, no construction“No information about the facility’s end-user is available.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- No end user / tenant identified for the Mesone facility in any source checked; site is entitled land marketed for development, not a tenant build“No information about the facility’s end-user is available.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C