Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Feb. 18, 2026Existing substation adjoins the sitePotomac Edison's Bedington substation sits immediately west; no campus-specific utility investment has been announced. Company · Oct. 2026
- As of Oct. 2026No service agreement foundNo electric service agreement, special contract or state commission filing names the campus. see Permits
- The Bedington Energy Facility, a 100 MW solar project in Berkeley County, shares the name but is unrelated. State agency · Jan. 2024
What is next door
Distances from mapped lines and plants. OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
1 pending · 1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.
- ◷Construction stormwater permit PendingWV Dept. of Environmental Protection · July 21, 2026: filed July 21, 2026; not issued News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓High Impact Data Center certification GrantedWV Department of Commerce · Feb. 26, 2026: first in the state; local zoning and permitting are preempted for certified projects State agency · March 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Local zoning and county approvals, Electric service agreement, Water withdrawal permit
What could slow it down
- HighNo tenant or powerNo end user, utility agreement or financing is on record for a 600 MW campus. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumState law under pressureRepeal and reform of the certification law is a 2026 election issue because no public notice preceded the designation. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumWaterAn advocacy analysis says reclaimed water covers about 60% of cooling demand; no water-use figure is disclosed. see Permits
- WatchOrganized oppositionEastern Panhandle United tracks the stormwater permit and its comment period. News report · Oct. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Nov. 5, 2025Site Penzance Properties completes the first of five land purchase agreements. News report · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 17, 2025Site Bedington Owner LLC registers in West Virginia. News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 26, 2026Permits The governor announces the $4B campus and certifies it as the state's first High Impact Data Center. State agency · March 2026
- March 4, 2026Site Trade press reports plans to start construction before the end of 2026 and deliver power by the end of 2028. News report · Oct. 2026
- July 21, 2026Permits Bedington Owner LLC applies for a construction stormwater permit. News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 12, 2026Site Residents' group holds a panel; Penzance and state officials decline to attend. News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 21, 2026Site County planning commission approves a comprehensive plan marking the area Sustain/Conserve, which does not bind the project. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 22, 2026Site County Commission hearing on that comprehensive plan. News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Reclaimed water: named only as a possible cooling source; no agreement or water-use figure News report · March 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Penzance Management: Washington, D.C. developer; Victor Tolkan is managing partner
- Bedington Owner LLC and Penzance Properties LLC: project and land entities
- WV Department of Commerce and Division of Economic Development: certification
- WV Dept. of Environmental Protection: stormwater permit
- Governor Morrisey: announced the project
- Potomac Edison (FirstEnergy): serving utility
- Eastern Panhandle United: resident group
Open questions
- The end tenant.
- Whether the land purchases have closed.
- Power service terms and water source.
95 records from 19 documents
Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets, state agency records, securities filings, company statements and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (19)
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 1.14 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: 1.12 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 4.01 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Utility service: not stated“Documented absence: no utility-contracted capacity figure exists in any source opened”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“Not separately stated; press paraphrase calling it total power demand describes the same figure, so no second campus-total figure is booked.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“Documented absence: no on-site generation is proposed for this campus in any source opened and no WVDEP Division of Air Quality permit application exists (negative search with positive controls, Oct 18, 2026). HB 2014 microgrid authority exists in the abstract”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Electric service agreement signed: none - no electric service agreement, special contract, or PSC filing naming the campus was located“CASE NO. 23-0929-E-SCS-PW — BEDINGTON ENERGY FACILITY, LLC — Application for a Solar Siting Certificate to Authorize the Construction and Operation of an Exempt Wholesale Electric Generating Facility in Berkeley County, West Virginia.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: announced only - state-certified and announced Feb 26, 2026; land assembly under purchase agreements since Nov 2025; first state permit application (WVDEP construction stormwater) filed Jul 21, 2026 and pending; n“By earning the state's first High Impact Intelligence Center designation, this project positions the Mountain State as a growing hub for artificial intelligence and cloud computing”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Potomac Edison completed a new $6.6 million substation in Berkeley County (Falling Waters / Spring Mills area) in December 2025 serving about 2,400 customers - distribution-level context only; campus supply would come fr“Potomac Edison, a subsidiary of FirstEnergy Corp. (NYSE: FE), has completed a new substation in Berkeley County”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 600 MW“At full build-out, the project is expected to span approximately 1.9 million square feet and deliver up to 600 megawatts of critical IT capacity”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 600 MW“At full build-out, the project is expected to span approximately 1.9 million square feet and deliver up to 600 megawatts of critical IT capacity”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 600 MW“span approximately 1.9 million square feet and deliver up to 600 megawatts of critical IT capacity”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Utility: The Potomac Edison Company (FirstEnergy Corp. subsidiary)“Located near Spring Mills High School, the substation was completed in December and provides an additional power source for customers in the Falling Waters and Spring Mills areas”Company · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Applicant entity: Bedington Owner LLC (project LLC for Penzance's Bedington Campus), per the WVDEP NPDES stormwater permit application as publicly summarized“Project LLCs: Bedington Owner LLC”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site area stormwater application: 637.2-acre campus with 430.92 acres of initial disturbed land, per the WVDEP NPDES stormwater permit application (campus acreage up from 550 acres in the original announcement); runoff d“Data center campus of about 637.2 acres (up from original plans of 550 acres)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: grid“just east of Potomac Edison's Bedington 500/128 KV substation”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Advocacy analysis claims Berkeley County PSD reclaimed water could cover only about 60% of projected cooling demand and that no WVDEP water withdrawal permit for the campus had been published as of May 2026; the develope“As of May 2026, no public water withdrawal permit for the Penzance Bedington Campus has been published by the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WV DEP)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: No public grid position (PJM, Berkeley County WV): grid-connected per announcement reporting, but NO source checked names a serving utility, and the utility power load study is undisclosed; no WV“the Penzance facility will be “grid-connected,” meaning it will rely on existing electric utilities for power rather than developing independent energy generation”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Nearest grid infrastructure: Potomac Edison Bedington 500/138 kV substation immediately west of the site“just east of Potomac Edison's Bedington 500/128 KV substation”News report · March 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (17)
- state certification: termination“Any information provided by a data center pursuant to this section that is identified by the data center as confidential business information shall be exempt from the Freedom of Information Act”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- electric service agreement: missing“CASE NO. 23-0929-E-SCS-PW — BEDINGTON ENERGY FACILITY, LLC — Application for a Solar Siting Certificate to Authorize the Construction and Operation of an Exempt Wholesale Electric Generating Facility in Berkeley County, West Virginia.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Penzance Management“Real estate development firm Penzance Management has announced plans to develop a $4 billion data center campus in Berkeley County”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Capital cost announced: 4000000000 USD“Real estate development firm Penzance Management has announced plans to develop a $4 billion data center campus in Berkeley County”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Building area sq ft: 1900000 sq ft“span approximately 1.9 million square feet and deliver up to 600 megawatts of critical IT capacity”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- state certification: scope“By earning the state's first High Impact Intelligence Center designation, this project positions the Mountain State as a growing hub”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: none announced“Penzance is a developer, and doesn't currently have a end user/customer that we know of”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: no tenant - merchant development; space to be leased to an undisclosed future tenant“the real estate firm that plans to develop the project and lease the space to an undisclosed tenant”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- purchase and sale agreements: scope 5 agreements“Penzance Properties LLC completed the first purchase and sale agreement (5 total)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- purchase and sale agreements: conditions“Penzance Properties LLC completed the first purchase and sale agreement (5 total)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax treatment: prohibition“providing for certification of high impact data centers; prohibiting payment in lieu of taxes and tax increment financing under certain circumstances”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Penzance Properties LLC completed the first of five purchase and sale agreements for the site parcels (per Eastern Panhandle United's timeline, compiled from county records); closing and title status are not public“Penzance Properties LLC completed the first purchase and sale agreement (5 total)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: none found - Penzance is a developer and no end user/customer is known“Penzance is a developer, and doesn’t currently have a end user/customer that we know of”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- reclaimed water agreement: missing“We have already identified a significant opportunity to potentially utilize reclaimed water, which will lower costs for the company”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Incentives: HB 2014 High Impact Data Center statutory treatment: property-tax reapportionment under W. Va. Code ch. 11 art. 6N, local zoning and permitting preempted for certified projects, PILOT/TIF prohibited; no state“Importantly, no state funding was used for this project”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- state certification: conditions“The project qualified for High Impact Intelligence Center designation by exceeding 90 megawatts of projected load, submitting detailed engineering and environmental plans, coordinating utility milestones”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- Governor Morrisey announced the $4 billion Bedington Campus on Feb 26, 2026 as West Virginia's first certified High Impact Intelligence Center; 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of Berkeley County; no development“Governor of West Virginia Patrick Morrisey last week announced Penzance Management would be investing $4 billion in a data center campus in the state”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (11)
- HB 2014 High Impact Data Center certification: certified - designated first High Impact Intelligence Center“By earning the state's first High Impact Intelligence Center designation, this project positions the Mountain State as a growing hub”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Office of the Governor, State of West Virginia (press conference, State Capitol, Charleston): Announcement of the $4 billion Penzance Bedington Campus and its designation as West Virginia's first High Impact Intelligence“By earning the state's first High Impact Intelligence Center designation, this project positions the Mountain State as a growing hub”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Site acres permit application: 637.2 acres“Data center campus of about 637.2 acres (up from original plans of 550 acres)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - no construction start and no approved construction permits reported as of Oct 2026“To date, construction has not begun and no construction permits have been approved”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NPDES Stormwater Permit Application (construction): Application filed; under DEP review; not yet issued“the application is still under DEP review and will go to public notice with a comment period before approval”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- WV/NPDES construction stormwater general permit registration: application submitted - under review; not approved; public comment period expected“Bedington Owner LLC submitted an NPDES/State storm water construction permit with the WVDEP (Permit No.: WVR113565). The application is still under review”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Berkeley County Planning Commission approved a comprehensive plan designating the Bedington project area Sustain/Conserve; a County Commission public hearing on the plan was scheduled for Oct 22, 2026. The county has no“Berkeley County Comprehensive Plan was approved by the Berkeley County Planning Commission. The plan designates the area where the Bedington Project is proposed as Sustain/Conserve”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- HB 2014 repeal and reform is a live issue in the 2026 election cycle in the Eastern Panhandle, driven by the certification's confidentiality: no public notice preceded the designation and county officials learned of it d“there was no public notice prior to certification, and local county officials have stated they found out only days prior”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Berkeley County Planning Commission: Comprehensive Plan approved; the area of the Bedington project is designated Sustain/Conserve“Berkeley County Comprehensive Plan was approved by the Berkeley County Planning Commission. The plan designates the area where the Bedington Project is proposed as Sustain/Conserve”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Local oversight: none - Berkeley County Commission and Planning Commission have no oversight of the certified project under the HB 2014 implementing rules“local government agencies, including the Berkeley County Commission and Berkeley County Planning Commission, have no oversight of this project under the new rules”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Water supply: reclaimed water identified as a potential cooling source by the Berkeley County Commission president; no water withdrawal permit or water-use figure published“We have already identified a significant opportunity to potentially utilize reclaimed water, which will lower costs for the company”News report · March 2026 · grade C
Site and other (14)
- Filing record: No SEC filing names the Bedington Campus or any campus entity: EDGAR mentions of "Bedington" are all pre-2010 Allegheny Energy filings using the place name“All-filer EDGAR search for "Bedington" returned 30 documents, all pre-2010”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site acres: 548 acres“The planned Bedington Campus will be located on 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of the Eastern Panhandle”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Name: Bedington Campus“The planned Bedington Campus will be located on 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of the Eastern Panhandle”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- County: Berkeley County“The planned Bedington Campus will be located on 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of the Eastern Panhandle”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- District: Falling Waters District“The planned Bedington Campus will be located on 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of the Eastern Panhandle”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Site acres announced: 548 acres“The planned Bedington Campus will be located on 548 acres in the Falling Waters District of the Eastern Panhandle”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- HB 2014 certification: certified - designated West Virginia's first High Impact Data Center (branded High Impact Intelligence Center), Feb 26, 2026“By earning the state's first High Impact Intelligence Center designation, this project positions the Mountain State as a growing hub for artificial intelligence and cloud computing”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Bedington Owner LLC registered to do business in West Virginia (per Eastern Panhandle United“Bedington Owner LLC, a subsidary of Penzance, registered to do business in West Virginia”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Trade press reports Penzance plans to begin construction before the end of 2026 with first capacity delivered by the end of 2028; the state announcement itself shared no timeline“Penzance plans to begin construction before the end of the year, with delivery of the first megawatts of capacity targeted for the end of 2028”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Eastern Panhandle United, a resident opposition group, hosted a data center panel on Sep 12, 2026; Penzance and state officials declined invitations. The group tracks the project, the pending NPDES comment period and the“there was no public notice prior to certification, and local county officials have stated they found out only days prior”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First announced: Feb. 26, 2026“Governor Patrick Morrisey announced the project during a press conference in Charleston on February 26”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: 2028“Penzance plans to begin construction before the end of the year, with delivery of the first megawatts of capacity targeted for the end of 2028”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“Timelines for development weren't shared”News report · March 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - announced Feb 26, 2026 as West Virginia’s first certified High Impact Intelligence Center; no construction start reported as of Oct 2026 and no development timelines were shared“Timelines for development weren’t shared”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C