Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Sept. 3, 2026Power need announcedThe state says the project requires about 2.16 GW and that Starwood will pay for infrastructure rather than pass costs to ratepayers. State agency · Sept. 2026
- Not setUtility service: none on recordNo state utility filing, grid queue position or service agreement was found. The state certification filings are confidential. State agency · Oct. 2026
- No on-site generation is announced; the treasurer's analysis counts power-generation property only for the neighboring Monarch project. State agency · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
1 granted · 4 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup generators), and what we found.
- ✓High Impact Data Center certification GrantedWest Virginia Department of Commerce · Sept. 3, 2026: state preempts county ordinances for certified projects; filings are confidential State agency · Sept. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit, Stormwater and water permits, Utility filing or special contract, Zoning and local approvals
What could slow it down
- HighPaper projectA certification and an announcement are the only evidence: no land control, permit, tenant, power contract or closed financing is on record. State agency · Oct. 2026
- HighNo tenantThis is a speculative build with no letter of intent, lease or anchor commitment disclosed. State agency · Oct. 2026
- MediumPower not securedA 2.16 GW grid load has no named utility, queue position or service agreement. State agency · Oct. 2026
- MediumLocal pushback with little local controlResidents and a local advocacy group object, and the county says state law limits its authority. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchMix-ups with the neighboring Monarch projectCoverage of the county's two certified projects is often confused, including the nursery dispute, so claims about Tamarack need checking. News report · Oct. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Sept. 3, 2026Site The governor announces Starwood's certification for Project Tamarack: $12B, about 2.16 GW, about 1,500 jobs State agency · Sept. 2026
- Sept. 4, 2026Legal Residents describe shock at a second Mason County data center; a local group says it came out of nowhere News report · Sept. 2026
- Sept. 11, 2026Permits A county commissioner says local government has limited control; the commission asks lawmakers to amend the state law News report · Sept. 2026
- Oct. 7, 2026Legal Advocates dispute whether a chestnut grove at a former state nursery is on the site; the developer says it is not News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 13, 2026Money The state treasurer's report estimates $3.925B of taxable value and says no details beyond the $12B figure are available State agency · Oct. 2026
Since Oct. 2026: 1 satellite capture.
Specs
- Closed-loop cooling: company says it will limit water use News report · Sept. 2026
- Phases and size: not disclosed: no phase count, building count or square footage published State agency · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Starwood Digital Ventures: developer
- Starwood Capital Group: parent
- Anthony Balestrieri: CEO of Starwood Digital Ventures
- West Virginia Department of Commerce: certifying authority
- Mason County Commission: asked lawmakers for amendments to the state law
- Gov. Patrick Morrisey: announced the project
- Appalachian Power (AEP): incumbent utility, not confirmed as supplier
- Mason County United: local advocacy group
- American Chestnut Foundation, West Virginia chapter: nursery grove campaign
Open questions
- The site parcel and who owns it.
- A tenant or end user.
- A named utility and service agreement.
- Any financing.
99 records from 22 documents
Drawn from state agency records, news reports, company statements, securities filings, public and commercial datasets and satellite captures, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (21)
- IT capacity: not disclosed (no IT capacity figure in any source checked) MW“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Grid operator: PJM“We protect existing customers by working with large energy users to ensure that costs of connecting them to the electric grid are not shifted”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Interconnection status: none found (no PJM queue position, WV PSC filing or utility service agreement located; HB 2014 certification filings are confidential)“The letter of intent will be confidential and exempt from the state's Freedom of Information Act disclosure requirements”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Electric service agreement signed: none found (no ESA, special contract or tariff agreement disclosed)“Starwood will pay for the project's infrastructure costs rather than passing them on to West Virginia ratepayers”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: grid“Both Mason County projects are in initial stages of development with full implementation spanning multiple years and final investment numbers still in flux”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: none found (no COD published)“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Current target date: none found (no COD published)“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Paper or real: Paper only as of Oct. 18, 2026: a state certification and a $12B / 2,160 MW announcement, against zero public evidence of land control, permits, a tenant, a power contract or closed financing; WV Treasury its“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Interconnection status: Grid-supplied by design per the developer (Project Tamarack, West Columbia, Mason County WV, PJM); no on-site generation announced; Certified a High Impact Data Center Sep 3, 2026“The West Columbia site is well suited for data center development, with direct access to existing APCo / AEP generation and transmission infrastructure already on the property”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- 2,160 MW stated utility requirement vs 0 MW permitted on-site generation, 0 MW contracted tenant load, 0 MW under construction and $0 of disclosed closed financing - the entire campus rests on one state announcement and“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site power technology: none announced (no on-site generation in any source; WV Treasury analysis attributes power-generation property to Monarch only, none to Tamarack)“Nscale Monarch also includes an associated power plant, increasing the project's taxable value and projected tax revenue generated by the development”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 2,160 MW“The project is expected to require approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and support approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 2,160 MW“the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Workforce estimate: approximately 1,500 jobs (state figure, construction + permanent combined)“the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 2,160 MW“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: 2,160 MW“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Gov. Morrisey announced SDV's High Impact Data Center certification for Project Tamarack at the WV Chamber Business Summit: $12B planned investment, ~2.16 GW power requirement, ~1,500 jobs, developer pays infrastructure“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Power supply: Grid power via Appalachian Power (APCo/AEP); no on-site generation announced; closed-loop cooling“The West Columbia site is well suited for data center development, with direct access to existing APCo / AEP generation and transmission infrastructure already on the property”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Portfolio context ONLY (not a campus fact): AEP reports West Virginia among the states where large-load tariff solutions have been secured, and Appalachian Power/Wheeling Power LCP/IP large-load tariff revisions were app“the utility reported that it has secured new data center tariffs in Ohio, followed by large load tariff solutions in Indiana, Kentucky, and West Virginia”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: not named in any source checked (Appalachian Power Company is the incumbent certificated utility in Mason County; the project website cites existing AEP generation and transmission infrastructure as a site advan“the project website cites existing American Electric Power generation and transmission infrastructure as a site advantage”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- High Impact Data Center certification announced Sep 3, 2026; certification only - no construction start, no tenant and no COD has been announced“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (20)
- Incentives: HB 2014 High Impact Data Center certification: statutory property-tax increment redistribution formula + High Technology Valuation Act salvage valuation (5% of original cost) for high-tech tangible personal p“Current law for certified High Impact Data Centers provides for incremental gains in property tax revenues from such investment to be distributed, according to a special formula”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Assessed value: 3925000000 USD“The report looked at two announced projects in Mason County: Nscale Monarch, with an estimated taxable appraised value of $12.48 billion, and Starwood Tamarack, with an estimated taxable appraised value of $3.925 billion”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- High Impact Data Center certification (HB 2014): tax distribution Regular-levy property-tax increment distributed: 50% Mason County Commission, 30% Personal Income Tax Reduction Fund, 10% All-County Fund, 5% Economic Enh“The increment formula distributes 50% of the combined Nscale Phase 1 and Tamarack Projects regular levy increment to the Mason County Commission”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- WV State Treasurer released a Mason County data-center tax impact report covering Monarch and Tamarack: Tamarack estimated taxable appraised value $3.925B; modeled Tamarack tax yield $55.3M/yr; Treasury notes no details“Starwood Tamarack, with an estimated taxable appraised value of $3.925 billion, after accounting for applicable tax treatment of certain high-tech tangible personal property”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Tenants: none found (no tenant or end user named in any state, company or press source checked)“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: none found (speculative build; no LOI, lease or anchor commitment disclosed)“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Phases: not disclosed (no phase count, building count or sq ft published)“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: announced only“Greater details beyond the $12 billion investment figure are not yet available”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Financing: none found (no project debt, bonds, JV equity partner or construction financing disclosed; no financing closed on any public record as of Oct. 18, 2026; sponsor is private Starwood Capital Group acting through SD“Starwood Digital Ventures (SDV) is Starwood Capital Group's specialized, in-house platform for digital infrastructure investment”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- High Impact Data Center certification (HB 2014): termination NO termination, cancellation or condition clause is public for this certification: the certification file is confidential under HB 2014 and no executed agreeme“The letter of intent will be confidential and exempt from the state's Freedom of Information Act disclosure requirements”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Announced: Sept. 3, 2026“Governor Patrick Morrisey today announced more than $81 billion in new private-sector investment in West Virginia, led by two major projects from NScale and Starwood Digital Ventures”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Stated capital cost: 12000000000 USD“Starwood plans to invest $12 billion in West Virginia, with the project requiring approximately 2.16 gigawatts of power and supporting approximately 1,500 jobs”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- State certification: High Impact Data Center certification granted (WV)“Starwood Digital Ventures also received High Impact Data Center certification for a planned $12 billion investment in Mason County”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- High Impact Data Center certification (HB 2014, Power Generation and Consumption Act of 2025): scope Certification granted for Project Tamarack, Mason County; certification petitions, letters of intent and supporting fil“Starwood Digital Ventures has received High Impact Data Center certification for a major new project in Mason County”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- High Impact Data Center certification (HB 2014): infrastructure costs Developer pays all project-related infrastructure costs; costs are not passed to West Virginia ratepayers“Starwood will pay for the project's infrastructure costs rather than passing them on to West Virginia ratepayers”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Sponsor capability context ONLY (not Tamarack financing): MARA-SDV strategic partnership release describes SDV as Starwood Capital Group's in-house digital infrastructure platform (94-person team, >10 GW experience) and“Starwood Digital Ventures (SDV) is Starwood Capital Group's specialized, in-house platform for digital infrastructure investment, focusing on the development and management of data centers”SEC filing · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Mason County coverage repeatedly mixes the county's two certified projects: advocacy posts attribute nursery-area development to an Anthropic-related data center (Monarch's tenant) and an NVIDIA-backed campus (Monarch),“Separate advocacy posts this week claim a grove of about 200 blight-surviving wild American chestnuts faces bulldozing for an Anthropic-related data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Certification: WV High Impact Data Center certification announced Sept. 3, 2026 by Gov. Morrisey at the WV Chamber Business Summit; $12B planned investment“Morrisey said Starwood Digital Ventures received a high-impact data center certification for 'Project Tamarack'”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Certification: Starwood Digital Ventures received West Virginia High Impact Data Center certification for the Mason County (West Columbia) project, announced by Governor Morrisey at the WV Chamber Business Summit on Sep“Starwood Digital Ventures has received High Impact Data Center certification for a major new project in Mason County”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Community Advisory Group commitment (company announcement, not a filed agreement): scope SDV announced formation of a Community Advisory Group of Mason County residents and leaders to provide ongoing input throughout con“Project Tamarack said Thursday, it is forming a Community Advisory Group made up of Mason County residents and leaders to provide ongoing input throughout construction and operations”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (8)
- air quality construction permit (NSR/PSD): none found (no application or public notice for Starwood/Tamarack/West Columbia)“The Public Notices listed on this page are intended to solicit comments, prior to their expiration date, specifically for the Division of Air Quality (DAQ) Planning Section”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- construction stormwater / state waters permit (WV/NPDES, 401 WQC): none found (no application or public notice for this campus)“Public notices are printed in local newspapers and are available on the WVDEP website”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PSC certificate / special contract: none found (no docket located; consistent with grid service under Appalachian Power's existing large-load tariffs, but no Tamarack-specific filing exists on the public record)“Starwood will pay for the project's infrastructure costs rather than passing them on to West Virginia ratepayers”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- High Impact Data Center certification: certified (announced by Gov. Morrisey)“Starwood Digital Ventures has received High Impact Data Center certification for a major new project in Mason County”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- WV Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting and Business Summit (The Greenbrier): Governor Morrisey announced High Impact Data Center certification for SDV's Project Tamarack ($12B, ~2.16 GW, ~1,500 jobs) alongside NScale Mona“during his address at the West Virginia Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting and Business Summit at The Greenbrier”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Chestnut grove dispute: advocates claim ~200 blight-surviving American chestnuts at the former Clements State Tree Nursery could be cleared as early as Nov. 1, 2026 (advocacy claim, no permit or filing corroborates the dat“Project Tamarack describes itself as a planned data center in West Columbia and says on its official website that the former Clements State Tree Nursery is not part of its site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Mason County Commission (commissioner statements reported by Point Pleasant Register / WV News): Commissioner Sam Nibert reacted to the Tamarack announcement: local government has limited control over data centers under“Mason County Commissioner Sam Nibert said the announcement draws mixed reactions; local government has limited control over data centers under current state law”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Mason County Commission: County-context meeting (predates Tamarack; commissioners state“Mason County residents spent more than two hours Tuesday evening questioning county commissioners about a data center under construction just north of Point Pleasant”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Site and other (14)
- Construction stage: none (certification/announcement only; no construction reported)“Both Mason County projects are in initial stages of development with full implementation spanning multiple years and final investment numbers still in flux”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Owner companies: none found (no SDV project LLC named in any source checked“Business Organization Search - enter one or more key words in the business name”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- County code: 54053“This report looked at two announced projects in Mason County, Nscale Monarch project and the Tamarack project”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Aliases: Starwood Tamarack project (WV Treasurer usage); Starwood Mason County High Impact Data Center“a tax analysis report on two prominent data center projects in Mason County: The Nscale Monarch project and the Starwood Tamarack project”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Starwood Digital Ventures (SDV)“Starwood Digital Ventures has received High Impact Data Center certification for a major new project in Mason County”State agency · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Opposition: Mason County United (local advocacy group) tracking the project; resident concern at announcement (surprise, proximity to homes, unknown long-term effects); American Chestnut Foundation WV chapter campaign ov“Project Tamarack describes itself as a planned data center in West Columbia and says on its official website that the former Clements State Tree Nursery is not part of its site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Land control date: none found (no deed, purchase or site-control record located; the American Chestnut Foundation's April 2026 newsletter reported land around the former state tree nursery had been bought for a data cent“The chapter wrote that land around the nursery had been bought for a data center, and that questions to the governor's office and the commerce office went unanswered”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Mason County Commission has sent state lawmakers a letter requesting amendments to HB 2014, which preempts county control over certified High Impact Data Centers (reported at the Tamarack announcement; reiterated by Comm“Mason County Commissioners sent a letter to State Lawmakers with suggested amendments to House Bill 2014. House Bill 2014 limits local government control over data centers”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Address: West Columbia, Mason County, West Virginia (unincorporated area; no street address or parcel disclosed)“the company says will be located in West Columbia and will be known as Project Tamarack”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Residents reacted with shock to a second Mason County data center; Mason County United said the announcement came out of nowhere; concerns include proximity to homes and unknown long-term effects“Shock was the word used by the dozen Mason County residents whom WSAZ spoke with Friday, about the news that the county would be getting a second data center”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Name: Project Tamarack“Morrisey said Starwood Digital Ventures received a high-impact data center certification for Project Tamarack”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Cooling: closed-loop cooling system (company-stated, to limit water consumption)“the company stated the project will utilize a closed-loop cooling system to limit water consumption”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Workforce estimate: more than 1,000 construction jobs and 300 permanent jobs (SDV figures via WSAZ)“The project is expected to create more than 1,000 jobs during construction and 300 permanent jobs once completed, according to SVP [sic - SDV]”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Site locality: West Columbia, Mason County, WV“Project Tamarack Data Center, West Columbia, WV”Dataset · Sept. 2026 · grade C