Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- April 17, 2026Idaho Power reports no speculative large-load customersA commission order records that no customers take the speculative high-density service class. Utility regulator · April 2026
- July 1, 2026New Idaho large-load law takes effectAny new large load needs a commission-approved service contract before the utility can serve it. State agency · March 2026
- Oct. 9, 2026Utility says it is too earlyIdaho Power says the proposal is not in its load forecast and too preliminary to scope upgrades. News report · Oct. 2026
- Not setGas plant: no air permit foundThe state environmental agency has no application from Rhea or Arevia. see Permits
- The BLM figure of 600 MW is a demand estimate for the whole campus. Nothing on record gives an IT capacity, so any IT capacity figure is our estimate only. News report · Sept. 2026
- The nearest 345 kV or larger line is about 6 miles away, and no 345 kV substation lies within 10 miles, which is why the application includes a 10.6-mile load line corridor. OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
- A different project with a similar name, the Blacks Creek Energy Center (400 MW solar plus storage for Idaho Power), is under construction nearby. It is not this campus. News report · July 2026
What is next door
Distances from mapped lines and plants. OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
1 pending · 5 checked, nothing on file
Approvals this campus needs (federal land, so county zoning does not apply), and what we found.
- ◷Right-of-way for federal land PendingBLM Four Rivers Field Office · Sept. 2026: application received spring 2025; BLM says it is in a preliminary phase and no grant has been issued News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Federal environmental review (NEPA), Air permit for 450 MW gas plant, County zoning, Large-load service contract, Water rights
What could slow it down
- HighPower is unplannedIdaho Power has no service agreement and has not put the load in its forecast, and the 450 MW gas plant has no air permit application. News report · Oct. 2026
- HighFederal review has not begunThe land grant and environmental review come first; BLM calls the project preliminary and says approval is not given. see Permits
- MediumOrganized oppositionSierra Club Idaho, Idaho Conservation League and hunting groups object, citing a bird reserve and a public shooting range nearby. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNo data-center track recordArevia's delivered projects are solar and storage; it has not built a data center, and no tenant or financing is named. Dataset · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: project financing: Arevia has an infrastructure investor, GCM Grosvenor, but nothing is tied to this site News report · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- 2025Permits Rhea Data files its right-of-way application with BLM (spring 2025) News report · Oct. 2026
- July 23, 2025Site Executive Order 14318 directs Interior to identify federal land for AI data centers News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 2026Site BLM gives project details: 4 million sq ft, 450 MW gas plant, 600 MW expected use News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 18, 2026Site The project first becomes public through press reports News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 9, 2026Power Idaho Power says the project is not in its load forecast News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Site Sierra Club Idaho starts a petition against the project; hunters and conservation groups raise wildlife concerns News report · Oct. 2026
- Dec. 2026Permits BLM expects to publish the notice of intent that starts environmental review News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Substation and water: substation, stepdown yards and a water connection (no quantity given) News report · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Rhea Data: applicant and developer
- Arevia Power (parent): solar developer; GCM Grosvenor is an investor in its projects
- BLM Four Rivers Field Office: right-of-way and environmental review
- Idaho Public Utilities Commission: must approve any large-load contract
- Idaho Power: would serve the load
- Sierra Club Idaho, Idaho Conservation League, Idaho Backcountry Hunters and Anglers
Open questions
- Any tenant or IT capacity figure.
- Whether the gas plant is air-permitted and how much grid power is sought.
- The date the federal environmental review opens.
- The linked Arevia solar project BLM mentioned, which has no published size.
116 records from 28 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, public and commercial datasets, utility regulator dockets, securities filings, local government records and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (34)
- IPUC Case IPC-E-26-07 (Idaho Power petition on large-load cost-of-service methodology) was on the decision-meeting consent agenda; technical hearing Jan 19-21, 2027; public comments due Dec 14, 2026“Idaho Power Company's Petition to Evaluate Class Cost-of-Service Methodology Pursuant to Order No. 36779 and Determine Cost of Service Considerations for New Large-Load Customers; Case No. IPC-E-26-07”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Site acres: 3226 acres“Key entities: RHEA DATA; AREVIA POWER (parent); BLM right-of-way application covering roughly 3,226 acres”grade B
- Stated campus size: 600 MW“600 MW = campus power demand stated by BLM (load basis, not IT MW)”grade B
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 9.67 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: none within 16kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 3.96 km (, Northwest Pipeline)Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Filing record: No SEC filing states a campus MW figure; the serving utility's FY2025 10-K discusses other large-load special contracts (Micron; Meta's Brisbie LLC) and never mentions Rhea Data or a Blacks Creek data cent“Brisbie, LLC (Brisbie) Data Center and Clean Energy Your Way Special Contract: In May 2023, the IPUC approved a special contract (Brisbie Special Contract) between Idaho Power and a large load customer”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Grid operator: none, Idaho Power balancing authority area“ELECTRIC SERVICE TARIFF NO. 101 (IPUC No. 30)”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade B
- Blm application: BLM right-of-way application by Rhea Data (subsidiary of Arevia Power): 4M sq ft data center on a 3,226-acre federal parcel plus 514 acres for a 10.6-mile electrical load line corridor, with substation,“The data center complex will include a substation, stepdown electrical yards, a water connection, and a 450-megawatt on-site natural gas-fired power facility.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: 450 MW“The data center complex will include a substation, stepdown electrical yards, a water connection, and a 450-megawatt on-site natural gas-fired power facility.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: not stated“Documented absence: no IT-load figure disclosed in any source checked as of 2026-10-18.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: not stated“Documented absence: no contracted utility capacity; Idaho Power states Rhea is not in its system load forecast and no ESA exists.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The Washington Sun first publicly reported the Blacks Creek ROW application; reporters reviewed the ROW records in BLM's Mineral and Land Records System (MLRS)“Last week, D.C. news outlet The Washington Sun first reported that a subsidiary of solar developer Arevia Power submitted a right-of-way application”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM statement to Heatmap gives the only published project parameters: 4M sq ft; 3,226-acre parcel; 514 ac / 10.6-mi load-line corridor; substation, stepdown yards, water connection, 450 MW on-site gas facility; upwards o“a 450-megawatt on-site natural gas-fired power facility. The project is expected to use upwards of 600 megawatts though, which explains the potential load lines”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Idaho Power: proposal too preliminary to scope upgrades; Rhea not in system load forecast; any service would need IPUC review/approval under the new Section 61-335 no-harm framework“Rhea is not currently included in Idaho Power's system load forecast”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sponsor track record is all solar: Gemini Solar (690 MWac PV + 380 MW / ~1,400 MWh BESS, Clark County NV; owners Quinbrook Infrastructure Partners and Arevia Power) reached full commercial operations on Jul 18, 2024 (Pri“Gemini Solar is an operating solar photovoltaic (PV) farm in Unincorporated, Clark County, Nevada, United States”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Libra Solar (Arevia): 700 MW PV + 700 MW / 2,800 MWh BESS, $2.3B, 5,141 acres in Mineral/Lyon Counties NV; NV Energy PPA signed Jun 2024; BLM Record of Decision Sep 2024; planned commercial operations end 2027“Under the PPA, the utility will purchase power generated by the 700 MW Libra solar project, 20 miles south of the Fort Churchill substation in Yerington, Nevada”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Separate BLM data-center proposal: Copia's Snake River Energy Data Center (Jerome/Lincoln/Gooding Counties; solar arrays, battery storage, transmission) is beginning environmental review per BLM's Northwest-region spokes“Copia is also behind the Snake River Energy Data Center proposed on BLM land in Jerome, Lincoln and Gooding Counties in southern Idaho”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The Washington Sun reported (attributed to BLM) that the Blacks Creek data center is connected to a sprawling utility-scale solar project proposed by another Arevia subsidiary, also seeking a BLM right-of-way; BLM's Idah“That project is also connected to a sprawling utility-scale solar energy project proposed by another subsidiary of Arevia Power, which is also seeking a right-of-way on public lands, according to BLM”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power supply: Preliminary design includes an on-site natural gas power plant plus a grid connection to Idaho Power; Idaho Power states Rhea is not in its system load forecast and any service would require Idaho PUC revie“Preliminary plans include on-site natural gas generation, with proposals to connect the project to Idaho Power”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: No grid position exists: Rhea Data is NOT in Idaho Power's system load forecast, no Idaho Power special contract or energy service agreement exists, and no IPUC docket names Rhea Data or Blacks Cr“Any project of this size and scope would require review and approval by the Idaho Public Utilities Commission”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer: Rhea Data“Rhea Data, a subsidiary of Nevada-based Arevia Power, proposed a roughly 4 million-square-foot data center near Blacks Creek Reservoir and Interstate 84”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Parent company: Arevia Power“Rhea Data, a subsidiary of Nevada-based Arevia Power”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Idaho Power Company“Sven Berg, a communications specialist for Idaho Power, said the proposal is still too preliminary for the utility to determine what infrastructure upgrades would be necessary”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- ESA status: no ESA, not in Idaho Power load forecast“Rhea is not currently included in Idaho Power's system load forecast”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aliases: Rhea Data Blacks Creek Campus; Blacks Creek data center (press shorthand)“a subsidiary of solar developer Arevia Power submitted a right-of-way application for a data center project on federal lands in Idaho”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 600 MW“The project is expected to use upwards of 600 megawatts though, which explains the potential load lines”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: 450 MW“a 450-megawatt on-site natural gas-fired power facility”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: hybrid (proposed)“a 450-megawatt on-site natural gas-fired power facility. The project is expected to use upwards of 600 megawatts though, which explains the potential load lines”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Land status: federal land, BLM ROW application pending, no grant issued“a subsidiary of solar developer Arevia Power submitted a right-of-way application for a data center project on federal lands in Idaho”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- First public report: Sept. 18, 2026“Last week, D.C. news outlet The Washington Sun first reported that a subsidiary of solar developer Arevia Power submitted a right-of-way application”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Sept. 2026“BLM is reviewing a Rhea Data / Arevia Power proposal for a ~4M sq ft data center on ~3,226 acres of public land south of Boise”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Generally applicable, NOT a campus position: Idaho's 2026 House Bill 911 requires IPUC approval of contracts with new large power users before service begins, and Idaho Power's large-load rate methodology is before the I“Gov. Brad Little signed a bill this year requiring the utilities commission to approve contracts with new large power users before service begins.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“the successful commissioning of the 125-megawatt (MWac) Pleasant Valley Solar 2 project and the start of construction on the 400 MWac Blacks Creek Energy Center in Ada County”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (14)
- tariff framework: active customer status Idaho Power represented (Apr 2026) that there are no active customers under Schedule 20; its marginal-cost methodology applies solely to Schedule 28 (Micron FAB)“this methodology is applied solely to Schedule 28, Micron FAB, as there are no active customers under Schedule 20”Utility regulator · April 2026 · grade A
- statutory framework: condition precedent new Idaho Code 61-335 (HB 911, 2026): a utility may serve a new large load only under a commission-approved service contract filed before service; contract must pass a no-harm tes“they must enter into a contract with the utility that is approved by the Idaho Public Utilities Commission before the utility may provide service”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- tariff framework: tariff class IPUC No. 30 Tariff No. 101 (effective Oct. 1, 2025): Schedule 20, Speculative High-Density Load service classification exists alongside Schedule 19 Large Power Service“SCHEDULE 20 SPECULATIVE HIGH-DENSITY LOAD”Utility regulator · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- statutory framework: review deadline commission decision on a filed large-load contract within 270 days per the introduced bill text“commission shall issue an order approving or rejecting the proposed contract within 270 days of filing”Dataset · March 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: not stated“Documented absence: no tenant announced in any source checked as of 2026-10-18.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: none announced“A proposed data center south of Boise could build millions of square feet on federal public land”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Financing status: not stated“Documented absence: no financing, capex, or jobs figures disclosed in any source checked; Arevia has a capital investor (GCM Grosvenor) but no project-level financing is tied to Blacks Creek.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM right-of-way application: status condition preliminary review; NEPA not initiated; NOI expected around end of 2026“The project is currently in a preliminary phase of permitting and a public notice can be expected this year”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- missing-clauses finding: scope termination cancellation no executed campus agreement exists, so no termination, cancellation, or scope clauses are capturable, the absence is the finding“The project remains in the early stages of the Bureau of Land Management's review process and has not been approved.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- electric service agreement (Idaho Power): absence finding no ESA exists; Rhea is not in Idaho Power's system load forecast; no IPUC case names Rhea“Rhea is not currently included in Idaho Power's system load forecast”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Name: Blacks Creek Data Center Campus“the data center project will be 4 million square feet and include a 3,226-acre parcel of federal land”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Acres: 3226 acres“the data center project will be 4 million square feet and include a 3,226-acre parcel of federal land”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Square feet: 4000000 sq ft“the data center project will be 4 million square feet and include a 3,226-acre parcel of federal land”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- BLM right-of-way application: scope 4M sq ft data center; 3,226-acre parcel; 514-acre / 10.6-mile electrical load line corridor; substation, stepdown yards, water connection, 450 MW on-site gas facility; ~600 MW expected“In Idaho, Rhea Data, a subsidiary of Nevada-based Arevia Power, proposed a 4,000,000-square-foot multi-building data center on 3,226 acres of public lands a few miles south of Boise, according to a BLM spokesperson”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (12)
- Idaho Power stated in an IPUC filing that its marginal-cost methodology applies solely to Schedule 28 (Micron FAB) because there are no active customers under Schedule 20 (Speculative High-Density Load)“there are no active customers under Schedule 20”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Federal Register notice of intent: none published, negative finding“Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for a High Desert District Off-Highway Vehicle Travel Management Plan”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IDEQ air quality permit to construct: no application found, negative finding“Permits to Construct (PTCs) authorizing construction and operation of an air pollution source”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Ada County conditional use permit: none, no jurisdiction over the federal parcel“Zoning Ordinance Amendments - Minor: Short Term Rentals; Electrical Service letter requirements for warehouse and distribution; Data Centers; Geothermal Wells”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: not stated“The project is currently in a preliminary phase of permitting”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: announced only“The project is currently in a preliminary phase of permitting”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM right-of-way (FLPMA Title V): application received“the Bureau of Land Management received an initial application for the project in the spring of 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM right-of-way (FLPMA Title V): preliminary review“The project is currently in a preliminary phase of permitting and a public notice can be expected this year”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NEPA review: not initiated, NOI expected“We are very close to releasing that notice of intent, which will start the NEPA process”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Executive Order 14318 (90 Fed. Reg. 35,837) directs the Interior Secretary to identify federal lands for AI data-center development; it is the policy driver behind the BLM data-center ROW reviews including Blacks Creek“At the direction of the White House, the Department of Interior asked BLM to find public lands suitable for data center construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM Four Rivers Field Office: Public scoping or hearing on the Blacks Creek ROW application“We are very close to releasing that notice of intent, which will start the NEPA process”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - preliminary stage only: BLM's Four Rivers Field Office is evaluating Rhea's right-of-way application; a notice of intent formally opening NEPA review is expected around the end of 2026; no NEPA“The project still faces a lengthy approval process. BLM's Four Rivers Field Office is evaluating the application and potential effects on wildlife, recreation and other uses”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (13)
- Arizona congressional delegation (Stanton, Kelly, Gallego, Ansari, Grijalva) wrote Interior Sec. Burgum on Sep 21, 2026 demanding a briefing by Oct 2, 2026 on the BLM data-center proposals fast-tracked by EO 14318, envi“We write regarding recent reporting that the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) is considering four proposed data center and data center-related infrastructure projects in Arizona that would use over 3,000 acres of federal public lands”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Original target date: not stated“Documented absence: no COD published anywhere checked as of 2026-10-18.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“Documented absence: no COD published; only forward milestone is a BLM NOI expected around the end of 2026.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Water use stated: not stated“Documented absence: the BLM statement lists only a water connection with no quantity”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- ROW application received by BLM Four Rivers Field Office in spring 2025 (field manager Jarod Blades), ~17 months before any public reporting“the Bureau of Land Management received an initial application for the project in the spring of 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- BLM expects to issue the NOI around the end of 2026, starting NEPA and a public comment process (minimum 30-day comment period plus in-person meetings)“We are very close to releasing that notice of intent, which will start the NEPA process”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Sierra Club Idaho launched a petition campaign (No Data Centers on Idaho Public Lands) naming Rhea/Blacks Creek; Idaho Backcountry Hunters & Anglers and Idaho Conservation League raising wildlife/recreation concerns (Bla“Sign the petition: Tell BLM: No Data Centers on Idaho Public Lands”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Location: BLM land southeast of Boise near Blacks Creek Reservoir and Interstate 84, south Ada County“proposed a roughly 4 million-square-foot data center near Blacks Creek Reservoir and Interstate 84”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- County: Ada County“set their sights on 3,700 acres of BLM land in south Ada County”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Opposition: Sierra Club Idaho petition (No Data Centers on Idaho Public Lands); Idaho BHA and Idaho Conservation League concerns“Sign the petition: Tell BLM: No Data Centers on Idaho Public Lands”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Application received: spring 2025“the Bureau of Land Management received an initial application for the project in the spring of 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Corridor acres: 514 acres“An additional 514 acres will be needed for a 10.6-mile electrical load line corridor”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Corridor length: 10.6 miles“An additional 514 acres will be needed for a 10.6-mile electrical load line corridor”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C