Data center profile · 1800 River Park Way, Pocatello, Bannock County, Idaho

Lex Developments Pocatello Data Center

Seven-building, 59-acre data-center plan at the former Hoku polysilicon plant in Pocatello, Idaho, turned down by the city twice in 2026; no tenant.

Denied, appeal lost. The Hearing Examiner denied the conditional use permit on May 19, 2026, and the City Council affirmed it 4 to 1 on Jul. 16, 2026. Lex Developments asked for reconsideration and may seek judicial review; no later filing on record.
Up to 100 MW
capacity Idaho Power says the application requires
utility load; a power study was still pending at the hearing
59 acres
seven buildings of about 100,000 sq ft each (press)
former Hoku Materials plant site, owned by Portneuf Capital LLC (press)
4 to 1
City Council vote upholding the denial
Jul. 16, 2026; the Hearing Examiner denied the permit on May 19, 2026
OperatorLex Developments LLC (Gilbert, Arizona)
CustomerNone named
Planned IT capacity80 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company or utility power figure)
Next stepNone scheduled: a reconsideration request is pending and judicial review is reserved
Permits

Permits checklist

2 denied · 1 pending · 1 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.

Risks

Why it stopped, what could revive it

Power

Power and the grid

None energized or contracted yet

Idaho Power grid serviceProposed, study pending
100 MW
up to 100 MW per the application; the utility's study had not reported; no service agreement or regulator filing found News report · May 2026
Proposed
Other sources, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. May 16, 2026
    Utility study still pending
    The developer says the scale and design of the facility depend on an Idaho Power study that had not reported. News report · May 2026
Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. May 14, 2026
    Permits Hearing Examiner holds a standing-room-only public hearing on the conditional use permit Local government · May 2026
  2. May 16, 2026
    Power Developer says an Idaho Power study will set the scale of the facility; the utility application cites up to 100 MW News report · May 2026
  3. May 19, 2026
    Permits Hearing Examiner issues a written denial Local government · May 2026
  4. June 1, 2026
    Permits Lex Developments appeals the denial and asks for reconsideration Local government · June 2026
  5. July 16, 2026
    Permits City Council votes 4 to 1 to uphold the denial Local government · July 2026
  6. July 29, 2026
    Legal Lex files a reconsideration request alleging due-process defects and reserves the right to seek judicial review (press) News report · July 2026
  7. Aug. 5, 2026
    Permits Bannock County sets a 180-day data-center moratorium for unincorporated land; it does not cover this site inside city limits (press) News report · Aug. 2026
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners
  • Lex Developments LLC and Gus Schultz: applicants
  • Portneuf Capital LLC: owner of the former Hoku site (press)
Decision-makers
  • Pocatello Hearing Examiner and City Council: denied the permit and the appeal
Opponents
  • Shoshone-Bannock Tribes and local residents (press)
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

27 records from 6 documents

Drawn from news reports and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 4Local government 2
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (2)
  • Power plan: Idaho Power grid capacity awaited (study pending at hearing); interim gas turbines proposed while waiting for grid capacity
    “Gas turbines would have been used at the site while it waited for grid capacity.”
  • Utility service: 100 MW
    “In the application, Idaho Power says that the facility would need a capacity of up to 100 MW to function; but in the presentation, the potential data center is identified as having 200 MW.”
Permits and government (6)
  • Project status: cancelled (entitlement denied: CUP denied May 19, 2026; appeal denied 4-1 Jul 16, 2026; developer pursuing reconsideration / judicial review)
    “On July 16, 2026, the Council heard the appeal as the final item of its regular meeting and voted 4-1 to affirm the Hearing Examiner's denial of the application.”
  • conditional use permit appeal: appeal denied - denial affirmed 4-1
    “On July 16, 2026, the Council heard the appeal as the final item of its regular meeting and voted 4-1 to affirm the Hearing Examiner's denial of the application.”
  • Site address: 1800 River Park Way, Pocatello, ID (former Hoku Materials polysilicon factory / River Park Complex)
    “for development of a data center in Pocatello's heavy industrial zoning district at the former Hoku plant site, commonly known as 1800 River Park Way”
  • conditional use permit: denied
    “issued a written denial on May 19, 2026. Lex Developments timely appealed on June 1, 2026, raising three independent grounds for reversal.”
  • conditional use permit: public hearing held
    “The Hearing Examiner conducted a public hearing on May 14, 2026, on the conditional use permit application and issued a written denial on May 19, 2026.”
  • Bannock County set a 180-day data center moratorium for unincorporated county land; it does not affect this project inside Pocatello city limits, but the Hoku controversy likely influenced it.
    “The moratorium won't affect a proposed data center project within Pocatello city limits, since city land falls outside the county's jurisdiction.”
Legal (1)
  • After the Jul 16 affirmance Lex filed a reconsideration request alleging five due-process defects, made to exhaust administrative remedies, and reserves all rights to seek judicial review - the entitlement remains denied
    “the filing was made to exhaust administrative remedies and that Lex Developments "reserves all rights to seek judicial review"”
Site and other (7)
  • Developer: Lex Developments (Lex Developments LLC, Gilbert, Arizona)
    “This firm represents Applicants Lex Developments LLC and Gus Schultz (together, "Applicant")”
  • Announced: April 28, 2026
    “Notice was posted on the subject property and published in the Idaho State Journal on April 28, 2026.”
  • Site area: 59 acres; seven buildings of ~100,000 sq ft each
    “Lex Developments was seeking to develop a seven-building campus on 59 acres at 1800 River Park Way, each measuring some 100,000 sq ft (9,290 sqm).”
  • Landowner: Portneuf Capital LLC (owner of the former Hoku factory site)
    “Hoku Materials went into administration in 2013, and the abandoned factory is now owned by Portneuf Capital LLC.”
  • Former use: Former Hoku Materials polysilicon factory (Hoku went into administration in 2013; plant never entered commercial production)
    “Hoku Materials went into administration in 2013”
  • Pocatello already hosts the FBI's Grey Wolf data center (operating since 2019) - a separate, operating federal facility that is NOT this cancelled Lex project.
    “Pocatello has been home to a data center operated by the FBI, known as Grey Wolf, since 2019.”
  • County code: 16005
    “Lex Developments was seeking to build the data center on the site of the former Hoku Materials polysilicon factory in Pocatello, a city in Bannock County, southeast Idaho.”