Data center profile · 6201 Wellington Road, Bristow, western Prince William County, Virginia

Google-linked Bristow Campus (Sharpless Enterprises)

181-acre, four-building campus on a former missile-factory site in Bristow, Virginia, linked by press to Google via Sharpless Enterprises; wetlands approval March 2024, by-right zoning.

Federal permit approved (press). The Army Corps of Engineers approved the campus plans in March 2024 (press), and the industrially zoned site needed no county vote. No source states a power figure, a construction start or Google's own confirmation.
181 acres
site on the north side of Wellington Road
former Atlantic Research Corp. missile facility
4 buildings
data centers, plus an administrative facility and an electrical substation
as described in press
Not disclosed
megawatts
no source states a power figure for this campus
Mar. 2024
Army Corps wetlands approval (press)
the joint permit application was noticed Nov. 10, 2023
OperatorSharpless Enterprises LLC (Delaware, reportedly linked to Google)
CustomerGoogle, press-linked and not confirmed by Google for this site
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 (range 2027 to 2031).
Next stepNone published
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Permits

Permits checklist

1 restricted · 1 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found.

Risks

What could slow it down

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Nov. 10, 2023
    Permits Army Corps of Engineers issues a public notice on Sharpless Enterprises' application for a restricted data center campus on about 181 acres State agency · Nov. 2023
  2. March 2024
    Permits The Corps approves plans for the campus because of impacts on nearby wetlands and streams (press) News report · March 2024
  3. March 2024
    Site Press reports that Sharpless Enterprises is a shell company linked to Google News report · Oct. 2026
  4. Nov. 25, 2025
    Power Virginia regulators create Dominion's high-load GS-5 rate class, effective Jan. 2027 Utility regulator · Nov. 2025
  5. Sept. 9, 2026
    Permits County planning commission recommends approval of a rule shrinking the data center overlay; no Bristow item was before it News report · Sept. 2026
  6. Sept. 22, 2026
    Permits County supervisors vote 8-0 to shrink the data center overlay district; whether this parcel keeps by-right status was not established News report · Sept. 2026
The buildings

Specs

0.89 acre of wetland and 1,024 linear feet of stream channel in regulated impacts on site, per the Corps notice. State agency · Nov. 2023

Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Developer
  • Sharpless Enterprises LLC: applicant, Delaware company
  • Google: reported link (press), not confirmed
Decision-makers
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District: wetlands permit
  • Prince William County Board of Supervisors: overlay district rules
  • Dominion Energy: likely serving utility
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

57 records from 14 documents

Drawn from news reports, state agency records, utility regulator dockets and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 9State agency 2Utility regulator 2Local government 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (7)
  • NO MW is stated for this campus in any source retrieved, including the Corps public notice - consistent with the queue carrying no MW; do not invent one.
    “PROJECT SIZE: approximately 181 acres”
  • The Stack Infrastructure Bristow Campus rezoning (58 acres near Nokesville Road, deferred Nov 19 vote) and the Prince William Digital Gateway rezonings are DIFFERENT projects - none of their approvals, deferrals or cance
    “The proposed campus at 6201 Wellington Road will include four data center buildings, along with an administrative facility and an electrical substation.”
  • Deliberate non-disclosure: as of Oct 19, 2026 no source states any MW for the Bristow campus - not the USACE coverage, not county records coverage, not Google; Do NOT estimate from acreage or building count, and do not i
    “The firm behind the proposal, Delaware-based Sharpless Enterprises, is reportedly a shell company linked with Google, one of the world’s largest users and developers of data centers [no MW figure appears anywhere in the approval coverage]”
  • Neighbouring Wellington Road campuses (Microsoft University Blvd, Amazon Gainesville West/East) are separate projects by different owners; do not merge their MW or acreage into Bristow
    “Google-linked Sharpless Enterprises is also planning a large data center campus nearby.”
  • Site address: 6201 Wellington Road, Bristow, VA
    “The proposed campus at 6201 Wellington Road will include four data center buildings, along with an administrative facility and an electrical substation.”
  • Planned buildings: four data center buildings, an administrative facility and an electrical substation
    “The proposed campus at 6201 Wellington Road will include four data center buildings, along with an administrative facility and an electrical substation.”
  • 6201 Wellington Road: four data center buildings plus an administrative facility and an electrical substation on the former Atlantic Research Corp. missile/rocket site (unused since 2005; EPA groundwater treatment ran 19
    “The proposed campus at 6201 Wellington Road will include four data center buildings, along with an administrative facility and an electrical substation.”
Money and contracts (2)
  • Google's April 2024 announcement of a $1 billion Virginia investment covered its Loudoun campuses and a recently opened Prince William center; the Bristow campus was described in the same coverage as early-stage with no
    “Google will invest $1 billion to improve its two data center campuses in Loudoun County and a newly opened center in Prince William County.”
  • Tenant: Google (press-linked via Sharpless Enterprises; not self-confirmed by Google for this site)
    “The firm behind the proposal, Delaware-based Sharpless Enterprises, is reportedly a shell company linked with Google”
Permits and government (14)
  • GS-5 covers customers demanding >=25 MW at high load factor: 14-year contracts; : Final order Nov 25, 2025 created Dominion's GS-5 high-load rate class, effective Jan 1, 2027 - the tariff the Bristow campus will take ser
    “The State Corporation Commission has approved the creation of a new rate class for the biggest users of electricity, including data centers... the new GS-5 rate class will comprise customers demanding 25 megawatts or more”
  • USACE Norfolk District public notice NAO-2019-00517 (TREC) covers Sharpless Ente: joint permit application public notice issued Nov. 10, 2023; campus approval reported March 2024
    “This project involves the construction of a proposed restricted data center campus and associated infrastructure.”
  • Clean Water Act Sec. 404 / state joint permit (wetlands & streams): joint permit application public notice issued
    “This project involves the construction of a proposed restricted data center campus and associated infrastructure.”
  • Virginia Water Protection Permit / Sec. 401 Water Quality Certification: individual Section 401 certification obtained; site also held a VDEQ VWP permit and a Corps 22-SPGP-RCIR verification
    “The applicant has obtained an Individual Section 401 Water Quality Certification from the VDEQ”
  • Wellington Road corridor clustering continues around the site (Microsoft and Amazon campuses nearby); DCD's Microsoft filing coverage still describes Sharpless as 'planning' its campus nearby - no construction language a
    “Google-linked Sharpless Enterprises is also planning a large data center campus nearby.”
  • Prince William County Board of County Supervisors:
    “The ZTA proposed to reduce the size of the overlay from 9,698 acres to 3,654 acres, cutting the land available for by right development by about 62%”
  • Prince William County Planning Commission:
    “The Planning Commission recommended approval on September 9 with a 120-day filing window and a 500-foot setback from homes and schools.”
  • Project status: announced only - USACE wetlands permit approved Mar 2024; no construction start, site work or building permit evidence found as of Oct 2026
    “It also is in the early stages of developing a 181-acre data center campus on the site of a former military facility in Bristow in Prince William.”
  • Entitlement status: by-right industrial - no Prince William County rezoning or legislative approval required
    “Because the site is already zoned for industrial uses that include data centers, the planned campus does not require approval from lawmakers in Prince William County”
  • Approval required due to potential impact on nearby wetlands and streams; site c: wetlands/stream approval for campus plans
    “However, it did require approval from the Army Corps of Engineers due to its potential impact on nearby wetlands and streams”
  • Clean Water Act Sec. 404 permit: approved (press-reported)
    “The Army Corps of Engineers approved plans for a 181-acre data center campus in the town of Bristow, Virginia”
  • B1 RESULT: no Board of County Supervisors rezoning or special-use vote exists for this campus - it proceeds by-right on industrially zoned land; the only discretionary approval retrieved is federal (Army Corps wetlands,
    “However, it did require approval from the Army Corps of Engineers due to its potential impact on nearby wetlands and streams.”
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers approved the 181-acre campus plan in March 2024 (wetlands/streams); the industrially zoned site needed no county lawmaker approval
    “The Army Corps of Engineers approved plans for a 181-acre data center campus in the town of Bristow, Virginia, in western Prince William County, Inside NoVa reports.”
  • The site's RCRA history and 1992-2018 EPA-mandated groundwater treatment are part of the permitting record and a standing diligence item for any construction start.
    “Atlantic Research Corp. operated an EPA-mandated groundwater treatment system there from 1992 to 2018 to clean up hazardous waste from its former industrial activities.”
Legal (1)
  • Announced: Nov. 10, 2023
    “A filing with the US Army Corps of Engineers’ Norfolk District shows Sharpless Enterprises LLC is looking to develop an 181-acre data center park.”
Site and other (9)
  • Site acres: 181 acres
    “PROJECT SIZE: approximately 181 acres”
  • Site coordinates: 38.7893, -77.5731
    “LATITUDE AND LONGITUDE: 38.7893, -77.5731”
  • Prior site use: former Atlantic Research Corp. military / missile facility (RCRA site); EPA-mandated groundwater treatment operated 1992-2018
    “The project site was formerly used as a military facility, as such was subject to the Resource Conservation Recovery Act of 1976 (RCRA).”
  • County code: 51153
    “The project site is located on the northside of Wellington Road in Prince William County, Virginia (38.7893, -77.5731).”
  • The 'recently opened' Google Prince William County data center in Google's Apr 26 2024 Virginia announcement coverage is the SEPARATE Rollins Ford Road campus (opened 2023), NOT this Wellington Road campus; The same cove
    “It also has a recently opened data center on Rollins Ford Road in Prince William.”
  • Status: approved
    “The Army Corps of Engineers approved plans for a 181-acre data center campus in the town of Bristow, Virginia”
  • Operator: Google (press-linked via Sharpless Enterprises LLC; not self-confirmed by Google for this site)
    “The firm behind the proposal, Delaware-based Sharpless Enterprises, is reportedly a shell company linked with Google”
  • Former Atlantic Research Corp. missile/rocket manufacturing site, unused since decommissioning in 2005; EPA-mandated groundwater treatment ran 1992-2018; RCRA history noted in the Corps notice
    “Until 2005, the property slated to house data centers was home to a manufacturing facility for the Atlantic Research Corp., which produced and tested missiles”
  • Sharpless Enterprises LLC is described in press as a Delaware-based shell company linked to Google; Google itself has not confirmed the Bristow campus in sources retrieved - the link is reported, not primary-confirmed
    “The firm behind the proposal, Delaware-based Sharpless Enterprises, is reportedly a shell company linked with Google”