Power and the grid
400 MW contracted plus sources of undisclosed size
- Evergy grid service (Large Load Power Service rate) Contract reportedcampus capacity not published; Evergy's 2.5 GW figure covers five data centers in two states News report · Aug. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- March 20, 2024Power partners namedGoogle says it is working with Evergy to power the site and with Ranger Power and DESRI on 400 MW of new solar. Analysis · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 13, 2025State approves large-load rateMissouri's utility commission approves Evergy's rate for customers of 75 MW or more: 12-year minimum term, 80% minimum bill, two years of collateral. Google signed the settlement. see Permits
- Aug. 6, 2026Evergy reports signed contractsEvergy's CEO counts five signed large-load contracts, three in Missouri including two from Google, totaling about 2.5 GW across all five. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 5, 2026Implementation contestedEvergy and Google file a proposal on applying the rate in Evergy's rate case; commission staff and the public counsel object (advocacy tracker). News report · Oct. 2026
- Google pays all substation and transmission extension costs under the rate; exit needs 36 months notice plus a fee. Utility regulator · Nov. 2025
Permits checklist
3 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ✓Development plan, 1.435M sq ft on 315 acres GrantedCity of Kansas City, Missouri · Dec. 2023: approved by late Dec. 2023 per press; the city record was not located News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Port authority bond authorization GrantedPort Authority of Kansas City · 2019: authorization only; executed bond and tax-payment documents not found News report · Dec. 2019
- ✓Large-load electric rate GrantedMissouri Public Service Commission · Nov. 13, 2025: utility rate order, effective Dec. 13, 2025 Utility regulator · Nov. 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for generation
What could slow it down
- MediumPower terms are opaqueThe campus's own service agreement (capacity, start, ramp) is not public, and the Oct. 2026 rate dispute is contested before regulators. Analysis · Oct. 2026
- WatchNo schedule or size on recordGoogle gave no opening date or MW; press cites typical 18 to 24 month projects, but the campus has run longer. Analysis · Oct. 2026
- WatchTax deal undocumentedOnly the 2019 bond authorization is reported; no executed tax-payment schedule was found. Analysis · Oct. 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- 2019Site Google, under the name Shalerock LLC, buys 78.9 acres; the port authority authorizes up to $25B in bonds. News report · Dec. 2021
- Dec. 2021Site Shalerock adds 236.4 acres. News report · Dec. 2021
- Sept. 2023Permits Google files development plans for up to 1.435M sq ft. News report · March 2024
- Dec. 2023Permits City planners approve the plan (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- March 20, 2024Site Google announces a $1B campus and a 400 MW solar agreement. Company · March 2024
- Nov. 13, 2025Power Missouri regulators approve Evergy's large-load rate. Utility regulator · Nov. 2025
- Aug. 6, 2026Power Evergy reports signed service contracts for two Google sites in Missouri. News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Construction Google confirms Campus 1 is still under construction as it starts a second Kansas City campus. News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- JE Dunn: general contractor named in Google's announcement Company · March 2024
Owners, partners and builders
- Google LLC: developer and user
- Shalerock LLC: Google unit that holds the land
- Evergy Missouri Metro: electric utility
- Ranger Power and DESRI: Beavertail Solar developers
- City of Kansas City: development plan
- Port Authority of Kansas City: bond authorization
- Missouri Public Service Commission: electric rates (not a zoning body)
- JE Dunn Construction: general contractor
- Hunt Midwest: land seller
Open questions
- Campus capacity in MW and opening date.
- Google's service agreement terms with Evergy.
- Executed tax-payment documents.
112 records from 18 documents
Drawn from news reports, our own analysis, utility regulator dockets, company statements and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (17)
- Utility: Evergy (Evergy Metro, Inc. d/b/a Evergy Missouri Metro)“EMM is engaged in the generation, transmission, distribution and sale of electricity in western Missouri and eastern Kansas and operates primarily in the Kansas City metropolitan area”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Grid operator: SPP“SPP oversees the bulk electric system and administers the wholesale power market on behalf of a group of electric utilities, including EMM and EMW”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Rate class: Evergy Schedule LLPS (Large Load Power Service), MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154“In the Matter of the Application of Evergy Metro, Inc. d/b/a Evergy Missouri Metro and Evergy Missouri West, Inc. for Approval of New and Modified Tariffs for Service to Large Load Customers”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- utility tariff approval (LLPS Rate Plan): order issued“REPORT AND ORDER — Issue Date: November 13, 2025 — Effective Date: December 13, 2025”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- City: Kansas City“Google's decision to locate their new data center campus at Hunt Midwest Business Center is the culmination of the long-term vision and sustained teamwork of so many strategic partners at every level,”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Utility: Evergy“Google is also working with Evergy to power the site and Ranger Power and D. E. Shaw Renewable Investments (DESRI) to bring 400 megawatts of new carbon-free energy to the grid”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- The 400 MW attached to this campus in announcement coverage is new carbon-free generation capacity (Beavertail Solar PPA) added to the grid - a supply figure, not the campus's load or on-site generation. Recorded as a si“to bring 400 megawatts of new carbon-free energy to the grid as part of the company's ambitious goal to run on 24/7 carbon-free energy”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Project status: building on track - under construction (broke ground 2024; still under construction in Oct 2026 per Google's regional head of data center public affairs)“We have been proud to call Missouri home since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction,”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“It is set to be on a 500-acre site, off the northeast corner of Interstate 435 and 169 Highway in Clay County, and will host five data centers totaling 1.56 million sq ft”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project Kestrel - a further Google-linked Northland campus (six data centers on 379 acres near Kansas City International Airport, Shenandoah Computing LLC) - is a third, separate site. None of its acreage, entities or ta“Current plans for Project Kestrel include the development of five 500,000 sq ft (46,450 sqm) in phased construction.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: grid“Google is also working with Evergy to power the site and Ranger Power and D. E. Shaw Renewable Investments (DESRI) to bring 400 megawatts of new carbon-free energy to the grid”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- IT capacity: not stated“Google's March 20, 2024 announcement (full text read) states investment, site and energy partners but no IT load or any campus MW figure”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility service: not stated“Campbell said the five data centers combined are about 2.5 gigawatts of steady-state peak load”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: not stated“no on-site generation in any source opened”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“Building 1 operational; Estimated based on present construction progress and typical timelines”grade C
- Evergy CEO told investors the five executed LLPS data-center ESAs (2 KS; 3 MO incl. two Google) total about 2.5 GW of steady-state peak load combined, with 2-2.5 GW of expansion opportunities at/adjacent to existing cust“Campbell said the five data centers combined are about 2.5 gigawatts of steady-state peak load”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Electric service agreement signed: reported executed (Aug. 2026)“Only two of those five are in Kansas, with developers Beale Infrastructure and Digital Realty. The other three are in Missouri, with one from Meta and two from Google”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (37)
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): scope / eligibility 75 MW minimum forecast monthly peak demand“The LLPS Proposal outlined in the Agreement incorporates a definite and clear eligibility threshold of 75 MW, that is even broader than the minimum 100 MW threshold set out in SB4”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): term 12 years minimum, plus optional load ramp up to 5 years (17 total) years“service under the proposed Schedule LLPS shall be for a minimum term that includes up to five years of an optional transitional load ramp period plus twelve years (the Term)”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): minimum bill 80 percent of Contract Capacity (minimum demand)“Demand Charge (with minimum monthly demand set at 80 percent of the Contract Capacity (Minimum Demand))”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): collateral 2 years of Minimum Monthly Bills“at the time of executing their LLPS Service Agreement, a Schedule LLPS customer must provide collateral in an amount equal to two (2) years of Minimum Monthly Bills, as calculated by Evergy”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): termination / exit fee Minimum Monthly Bill x months remaining in Term, or 12 months, whichever is greater; 36 months written notice required“the customer would be subject to an exit fee equal to the nominal value of the Minimum Monthly Bill times the number of months remaining in the Term or Extension Term, or for 12 months, whichever is greater”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): early termination fee Exit Fee plus 2 x Minimum Monthly Bill x months short of the 36-month notice“the Early Termination Fee shall be equal to the Exit Fee plus two times the nominal value of the Minimum Monthly Bill times the number of months, less than the 36-months notice required for termination”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): condition / direct cost recovery LLPS customer pays all substation and transmission extension costs (excl. SPP network upgrades); Cost Stabilization Rider recovers LL“any LLPS customer requesting service with substation or transmission facilities shall pay all costs associated with such extensions”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): condition / contract capacity schedule each LLPS Service Agreement must state a Contract Capacity schedule (forecast steady-state peak, post-ramp)“a LLPS Service Agreement must include a Contract Capacity schedule specifying the customer's forecasted annual steady-state peak load requirement for the post-load ramp period of the Term”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Tenants: Google (owner-occupied)“Google's data centers help power popular digital services — like Google Cloud, Workspace, Search and Maps — for people and organizations worldwide”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: owner-occupied“Today, Google is proud to announce it is expanding its presence in the Midwest with a $1 billion data center in Kansas City, Missouri”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Google announced expansion of its Skilled Trades and Readiness (STAR) program to Kansas City and a contribution of more than $100,000 to North Kansas City School District's alternative-education STEAM program, alongside“Google is helping support the technology needs of North Kansas City School District with a more than $100,000 contribution to the STEAM center”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Evergy LLPS Rate Plan (MO PSC Case No. EO-2025-0154): extension automatic 5-year extension periods unless 36 months written notice to end service“The service agreement will automatically extend for periods of five years unless there is at least 36 months written notice to end the service”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade B
- Operator: Google“Today, Google is proud to announce it is expanding its presence in the Midwest with an $1 billion investment in a new data center in Kansas City, Missouri.”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Developer: Google (Google LLC)“Today, Google is proud to announce it is expanding its presence in the Midwest with a $1 billion data center in Kansas City, Missouri”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Announced: March 20, 2024“KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI (MARCH 20, 2024) – Today, Google is proud to announce it is expanding its presence in the Midwest with a $1 billion data center in Kansas City, Missouri”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Stated capital cost: 1000000000 USD“a $1 billion data center in Kansas City, Missouri”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- General contractor: JE Dunn Construction“We are thrilled to partner with Google here in Kansas City and support their goal of building a connected and sustainable world for everyone — Chris Teddy, Director of Mission Critical, JE Dunn Construction”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- power purchase agreement (carbon-free energy): PPA supporting 400 megawatts of new-to-the-grid carbon-free energy capacity from the Missouri-based Beavertail Solar farm 400 MW (new carbon-free generation capacity, NOT ca“Today, Google is also announcing a power purchase agreement (PPA) with Ranger Power and DESRI to support 400 megawatts of new-to-the-grid carbon-free energy capacity from the Missouri-based Beavertail Solar farm.”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- Carbon-free energy PPA, Beavertail Solar: scope / capacity 400 MW of new carbon-free energy capacity (grid supply, not campus load)“Google is also announcing a power purchase agreement (PPA) with Ranger Power and DESRI to support 400 megawatts of new-to-the-grid carbon-free energy capacity from the Missouri-based Beavertail Solar farm”Company · March 2024 · grade B
- electric service agreement (large-load rate): Google covers the full energy costs associated with powering both of its Kansas City data center campuses; the rate requires long-term contracts, payment of all direct servic“Google has said it will cover the full energy costs associated with powering both of the Google data center campuses.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original target date: not stated“Google's March 20, 2024 announcement (full text read at MO PSC EFIS, Exhibit ADS-D-4) states a $1 billion investment and no opening or completion date”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization / tax exemption: finding, executed documents not public“No executed Chapter 68 bond indenture, development agreement or PILOT schedule for this campus was located in the public sources opened; only the 2019 board authorization is reported”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Source record“Google has said it will cover the full energy costs associated with powering both of the Google data center campuses”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Evergy large-load service agreement (Google): cost terms (as characterized by Google via press) customer pays all direct service costs plus a premium rate covering new generation and transmission; heavy early cancellatio“The company signed an agreement with Evergy under a rate that requires data centers to sign long-term contracts with heavy early cancelation penalties, as well as to pay all direct costs for service to the centers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Evergy large-load service agreement (Google): finding, campus ESA terms not public“Campus 1's individual LLPS Service Agreement (Contract Capacity MW, execution date, ramp schedule) is not published in any source opened; only the EO-2025-0154 tariff framework and Evergy's report of two executed Google ESAs in Missouri are public”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Carbon-free energy PPA, Beavertail Solar: finding, price, term and termination not disclosed“Google's announcement (full text read) discloses the PPA's 400 MW capacity and parties but no price, term, or termination/cancellation clause; none was found in any other source opened”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site address reported: near 9555 Northeast 48th Street, along I-435, Kansas City, MO“The new $1 billion facility will be located near the Hunt Midwest Business Center at 9555 Northeast 48th Street along I-435.”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- Investment: 1 USD billion“Governor Mike Parson announced on Wednesday, March 20, that Google will locate a new data center in Kansas City, investing $1 billion and supporting up to 1,300 jobs.”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- Incentives: Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization up to $25B over 35 years (2019) with property-tax exemption and PILOT structure; Missouri state data-center sales/use tax exemptions (2015 law)“the board voted to approve issuing up to $25 billion in bonds for a potential Google data center in the Northland... It would be located on 78 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- Square feet: 1435000 sq ft“develop up to 1.435 million sq ft (133,316 sqm) of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center”News report · Oct. 2023 · grade C
- Owner companies: Shalerock, LLC“Shalerock, LLC is the Google unit behind a plan that development officials say could lead to a data-center project with a projected cost of $600 million”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- Code names: Project Shale (Port KC finance name: Project Shalerock)“Operating under the pseudonym Shalerock LLC, the company has been pushing to build a $600 million Project Shale data center since 2019”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization / tax exemption: scope 25000000000 USD authorized (cap)“the Port Authority of Kansas City issued up to $25 billion in privately backed Chapter 68 bonds over a 35-year period, covering a property tax exemption”News report · Dec. 2019 · grade C
- Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization / tax exemption: term 35 years“issued up to $25 billion in privately backed Chapter 68 bonds over a 35-year period, covering a property tax exemption”News report · Dec. 2019 · grade C
- Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization / tax exemption: value (first phase) 600000000 USD“The first phase of the plan calls for a $600 million, free-standing building that would employ fewer than 100 people”News report · Dec. 2019 · grade C
- Port KC Chapter 68 bond authorization / tax exemption: payment in lieu of taxes (PILOT)“In lieu of taxes, Google would make payments to the Port Authority, which would be distributed between the North Kansas City School District, the city, Clay County and other taxing jurisdictions”News report · Dec. 2019 · grade C
- bond financing authorization: issuance of up to $25 billion in Chapter 68 bonds signed off in 2019 25 USD billion (authorization ceiling)“the company plenty of upside financing room should it decide to expand on the initial $600 million first phase.”News report · 2019 · grade C
Permits and government (10)
- Google LLC executed a non-disclosure agreement to review confidential information in Evergy Missouri Metro/West 2026 Integrated Resource Plan update dockets (EO-2026-0188 / EO-2026-0189), Google is an active confidentia“have requested review of the confidential information produced in Case Nos. EO-2026-0188 and EO-2026-0189 on behalf of Google, LLC”Utility regulator · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Missouri Public Service Commission: Evidentiary hearing, Case No. EO-2025-0154 (Evergy LLPS tariffs); Non-Unanimous Global Stipulation filed Sep 25, 2025 by Evergy, Ameren, Google, Velvet, Nucor, Data Center Coalition, R“An evidentiary hearing was held on September 30, 2025, through October 1, 2025”Utility regulator · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- groundbreaking: broke ground“since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- development plan / entitlement: approved“October 2023 saw the company file (and later gain permission) to develop up to 1.435 million sq ft (133,316 sqm) of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Advocacy tracker (Act for Missouri) reports Evergy and Google filed an LLPS implementation proposal on Oct 5, 2026 in Evergy Metro's pending general rate case, with PSC Staff and Office of the Public Counsel objecting Oc“October 5-9, 2026 - Contested implementation: Evergy and Google file their LLPS proposal; Staff objects the next day”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City of Kansas City, Missouri (city planners / development plan approval): Development plan for up to 1.435M sq ft of data center floor space on 315 acres, Hunt Midwest Business Center (filed Sep-Oct 2023)“Google bought up around 500 acres in Kansas City's Northland area after getting permission from city planners to buy a smaller plot in the area in late December, 2023”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- development plan / entitlement: filed“Moves on the project began to be made in September 2023, when Google filed planning applications”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- development entitlement (data center floor space): filed October 2023; permission later granted“October 2023 saw the company file (and later gain permission) to develop up to 1.435 million sq ft (133,316 sqm) of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center.”News report · Oct. 2023 · grade C
- Port Authority of Kansas City (Port KC) Board of Commissioners: Authorization to issue up to $25 billion in Chapter 68 bonds for a potential Google data center on 78 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center (Project Sha“the board voted to approve issuing up to $25 billion in bonds for a potential Google data center in the Northland”News report · Dec. 2019 · grade C
- bond authorization: approved“In 2019, the Port Authority of Kansas City signed off on issuance of up to $25 billion in what are known as Chapter 68 bonds”News report · 2019 · grade C
Site and other (18)
- Site: Hunt Midwest Business Center, northeast of Parvin Road and Arlington Avenue, Kansas City Northland“The land, located northeast of Parvin Road and Arlington Avenue, was purchased in two transactions, one in 2019 and another in December 2021.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site acreage: 315 acres“October 2023 saw the company file (and later gain permission) to develop up to 1.435 million sq ft (133,316 sqm) of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Name: Google Kansas City Campus 1“We have been proud to call Missouri home since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aliases: Hunt Midwest Business Center campus“develop up to 1.435 million sq ft of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Address: Hunt Midwest Business Center, northeast of NE Parvin Road and Arlington Avenue, Kansas City, MO“The land, located northeast of Parvin Road and Arlington Avenue, was purchased in two transactions, one in 2019 and another in December 2021”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- County code: Clay County, MO (29047)“An operating unit of Google has added more than 235 acres to a nearly 80-acre plot it acquired in 2019 near Hunt Midwest Business Center in Clay County”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Groundbreaking date: 2024“since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: under construction“We have been proud to call Missouri home since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: building“We have been proud to call Missouri home since we broke ground on our first data center campus in the state in 2024, which is still under construction”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“Details on the expected timeline of the facility were not provided, but Payfer said typical projects are between 18 and 24 months”Analysis · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- records“We're thrilled to confirm we are continuing our growth with another data center campus in Kansas City”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Jobs supported: 1300 jobs“Google's data center will be located in Kansas City's Hunt Midwest Business Center and represents a significant investment in the company's ongoing innovations and growing Google Cloud business.”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- Phases: 4 phases“the data center campus will be developed over four phases and feature several ancillary buildings for a total of 1.435 million sq ft of floor space”News report · March 2024 · grade C
- Site plan approval date: Dec. 2023“October 2023 saw the company file (and later gain permission) to develop up to 1.435 million sq ft of data center floor space on 315 acres”News report · Dec. 2023 · grade C
- Planned floor space: 1.435 million sq ft“develop up to 1.435 million sq ft (133,316 sqm) of data center floor space on 315 acres in the Hunt Midwest Business Center”News report · Oct. 2023 · grade C
- Acres: 315 acres“The cloud giant first purchased 78.9 acres in Northland, Kansas City, in 2019, followed by another 236.4 acres in December 2021”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- Land control date: 2019 (78.9 acres); Dec. 2021 (236.4 acres)“first purchased 78.9 acres in Northland, Kansas City, in 2019, followed by another 236.4 acres in December 2021, at the time stating that it was for a potential data center”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C
- County code: 29047“An operating unit of Google has added more than 235 acres to a nearly 80-acre plot it acquired in 2019 near Hunt Midwest Business Center in Clay County.”News report · Dec. 2021 · grade C