Permits
Permits checklist
1 enforcement · 1 pending · 2 granted
County and state approvals on record, and the enforcement case.
- !Notice of violation EnforcementVirginia Department of Environmental Quality · Sept. 29, 2026: seven alleged violations; referred to enforcement, pending News report · Sept. 2026
- ◷Site plan for three buildings PendingChesterfield County · Nov. 9, 2025: filed; approval not in our sources News report · Nov. 2025
- ✓Tax and water agreement GrantedChesterfield County Board of Supervisors · Feb. 11, 2020: equipment tax locked at $0.24 per $100 for 30 years (press analysis) News report · Feb. 2020
- ✓Virginia Water Protection permit GrantedVirginia Department of Environmental Quality: existing permit; the state says impacts went beyond it News report · Sept. 2026
Risks
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighEnvironmental enforcementThe state referred seven alleged violations to enforcement, including unauthorized impacts to 7,735 feet of streams (press). News report · Sept. 2026
- MediumConstruction pausedGoogle has stopped general construction to clean up the site. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumOpposition to secret dealsOver 2,500 residents petitioned the county to reject data-center deals struck under nondisclosure agreements. News report · July 2026
- WatchLittle disclosedGoogle has not disclosed MW, water use, cost or jobs. News report · Oct. 2026
Power
Power and the grid
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- Dominion Energy grid No load disclosedGoogle has disclosed no load; no service agreement or regulator docket names the project News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
- No state utility commission docket names Peanut LLC or the project, and no requested or contracted load has been disclosed. News report · Oct. 2026
- The 300 MW reported for the neighboring PowerHouse and Chirisa Meadowville campus is not a figure for this project. News report · July 2026
Money
Money on record
$18.1M
price for about 307 acres (press analysis)
bought from the county development authority in 2020 News report · 2020
$0.24 per $100
equipment tax rate locked for 30 years
with a grant-back if the county rate rises (press analysis) News report · Feb. 2020
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- 2020Site Peanut LLC buys about 307 acres from the county development authority for $18.1M News report · 2020
- Feb. 11, 2020Money County signs a tax and water agreement with Peanut LLC, locking the equipment tax rate for 30 years News report · Feb. 2020
- Aug. 27, 2025Paper trail Google is publicly identified as the developer behind Project Peanut News report · Aug. 2025
- Nov. 9, 2025Permits Site plan filed for three buildings totaling nearly 856,000 sq ft News report · Nov. 2025
- Dec. 2025Construction Site work begins (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- July 22, 2026Site Residents hand the county a petition with over 2,500 signatures against data-center deals made under nondisclosure agreements News report · July 2026
- Sept. 29, 2026Permits State issues a notice alleging seven stream, wetland and runoff violations News report · Sept. 2026
- Oct. 2026Construction Google blames heavy rain and pauses general construction to focus on cleanup (press) News report · Oct. 2026
The buildings
Specs
7,735 ft
of stream channel affected without authorization, plus 0.75 acre of forested and 0.65 acre of emergent wetlands (press)
Not on record: MW, water use, cost and jobs; Google cites competition (press): not disclosed News report · Oct. 2026
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Owner
- Google: developer and operator
- Peanut LLC: Google affiliate, landholder and permit holder
Builders
- AECOM: architectural design
- Bohler: civil engineer
Government
- Chesterfield County and its Economic Development Authority: land sale and tax agreement
- Virginia Department of Environmental Quality: water permit and enforcement
Utility
- Dominion Energy: area utility
Still unknown
Open questions
- Campus MW and Dominion service terms.
- Outcome of the state enforcement case.
- When construction resumes.
Where this comes from
31 records from 8 documents
Drawn from news reports, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 8
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (4)
- Project status: UNDER CONSTRUCTION (site work reported from December 2025); on September 29, 2026 the Virginia DEQ issued a notice to Peanut LLC alleging seven environmental violations (sediment runoff and unauthorized s“Google says heavy rain overwhelmed stormwater controls and caused sediment runoff at Project Peanut, responding to a Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) notice issued to Peanut LLC on September 29, 2026.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google has not disclosed megawatts“Based on the footprint and modern hyperscale densities, campus IT load plausibly lands between 150 and 400 MW at full buildout.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- PowerHouse Meadowville is also in the park); Figures published for those neighboring campuses - including a reported 300 MW for the PowerHouse/Chirisa Meadowville campus - are not Project Peanut figures; Google has discl“The parcel sits beside Meadowville Technology Park, home to the former Capital One data center (now Chirisa) and other industrial users, near I-295 and the James River.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Google's 200 MW fusion PPA with Commonwealth Fusion Systems (signed June 30, 2025, for half the output of the planned 400 MW ARC plant in Chesterfield County) is a Google portfolio power hedge described by the Review as“A 200 MW power purchase agreement (June 30, 2025) with Commonwealth Fusion Systems for half the output of the planned 400 MW ARC fusion plant”News report · June 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (5)
- DEQ notice of Sep 29, 2026 alleges seven violations; reported impacts of 7,735 linear feet of stream channel, 0.75 acre of forested wetlands and 0.65 acre of emergent wetlands; Google blamed heavy rain and paused general“The notice alleges seven environmental violations at the Google-associated data-center construction site in Chesterfield County, Virginia”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Project identity: Project Peanut: Google data center campus on roughly 307 acres at 2700 Bermuda Hundred Road, eastern Chesterfield County, VA, beside Meadowville Technology Park; site plan filed November 9, 2025 shows t“The campus would have nearly 856,000 square feet of data center facilities spread across three buildings, according to the filings.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Tax rate lock agreement: data center equipment personal property tax rate lock 0.24 USD per $100 of assessed value“personal property tax on its computer equipment at $0.24 per $100, a rate the Board of Supervisors locked for 30 years in a 2020 agreement, with a grant-back clause if the countywide rate ever rises”News report · Feb. 2020 · grade C
- 2020 county agreement: computer equipment taxed at $0.24 per $100 (the state minimum), locked for 30 years, with a grant-back of a share of other tax revenue (advocacy-site summary of the agreement)“personal property tax on its computer equipment at $0.24 per $100, a rate the Board of Supervisors locked for 30 years in a 2020 agreement”News report · Feb. 2020 · grade C
- Land sale: land purchase 18.1 USD million“Roughly 300 to 307 acres at 2700 Bermuda Hundred Road, bought from the county Economic Development Authority in 2020 for $18.1 million by Peanut LLC, a Google affiliate”News report · 2020 · grade C
Permits and government (2)
- Seven alleged violations from Dec 2025 to Aug 2026 at the Project Peanut constru: notice of violation issued; referred to enforcement (pending)“The notice alleges sediment runoff and unauthorized impacts to streams and wetlands.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Residents delivered a petition with over 2,500 signatures to county officials on Jul 22, 2026 asking the county to reject data center deals made under NDAs without identified operators“Members handed a petition that which now has over 2,500 signatures to county officials at the July 22, 2026 Board of Supervisors meeting.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Site and other (4)
- The county promised Peanut LLC as much as 6 million gallons of public water per day under the 2020 arrangements“the county had already promised Peanut as much as 6 million gallons of public water per day”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- County code: 51041“The tech giant recently filed a site plan for the data center campus code-named Project Peanut, which is being planned on a 300-plus-acre site at 2700 Bermuda Hundred Road next to Meadowville Technology Park.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Source record“The company is aiming to develop three 285,000 sq ft (26,477 sqm) buildings on the 300-acre site at 2700 Bermuda Hundred Road.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- do not merge their acreage, buildings or capacity figures into Project Peanut“The sites are near to its Bermuda Hundred (Project Peanut) campus.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C