Data center profile · Greater Abilene area, unincorporated Taylor County, Texas (exact site not disclosed)

PowerPlay AI Abilene (Sharon AI joint venture)

Gas-powered, off-grid 400 MW (developer says) data center announced near Abilene, Texas by a new Australian developer; no gas deal, permit or tenant.

Announced only. PowerPlay AI announced the project on July 20, 2026 and says land assembly is complete, but gas agreements are unsigned, no power producer is chosen and no tenant is named. Texas ordered a halt on data-center permits on Sept. 21, 2026, which covers off-grid projects.
400 MW
behind-the-meter power targeted (developer says)
on-site generation, not a stated IT capacity
2028
target for initial power delivery
unchanged since the announcement
$70M
price Sharon AI got in Jan. 2026 for exiting its earlier Texas data-center JV
a different project; context for the partner
Mid-Dec. 2026
expected end of the state audit that gates permits (press)
Governor's Sept. 21 directive
OperatorPowerPlay AI Pty Ltd (Australia), through a joint venture
CustomerNone named; the developer is courting hyperscalers and AI operators
Planned IT capacity246 MW for the first phase; full build-out not stated (our estimate from on-site generation)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet); company says 2028.
Next stepPreferred power producer selection and gas service agreements (developer says in progress; no date)
Power

Power and the grid

None energized or contracted yet

Behind-the-meter natural gas generation (islanded)Planned, unpermitted
400 MW
developer-stated; no producer selected, no gas supply agreement executed, no air permit Company · Oct. 2026
Proposed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. July 20, 2026
    Off-grid design announced
    The developer says the project is fully behind the meter with no ERCOT interconnection. Company · Oct. 2026
  2. July 20, 2026
    Gas and power producer pending
    Gas service agreements are in progress and a preferred power producer is yet to be selected after a request for proposals. Company · Oct. 2026
  3. As of Oct. 2026
    No air permit found
    No state air permit or registration for the sponsors or an unnamed power producer is on record. see Permits
Permits

Permits checklist

1 pending · 3 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.

Risks

What could slow it down

Money

Money on record

$70M Sharon AI's sale of its earlier Texas JV stake (Jan. 2026) (a different project, to New Era Energy & Digital; $50M seller note matured June 30, 2026). SEC filing · Oct. 2026

Not on record: project cost, financing or lender: none disclosed, no figures in the announcement Company · Oct. 2026

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Jan. 16, 2026
    Money Sharon AI sells its stake in an earlier Texas data-center JV for $70M. SEC filing · Oct. 2026
  2. July 20, 2026
    Site PowerPlay AI announces a 400 MW behind-the-meter data center near Abilene with an unnamed Nasdaq-listed neocloud partner. Company · Oct. 2026
  3. July 30, 2026
    Site Data Center Dynamics identifies the partner as Sharon AI; the developer's release does not name it (press). News report · Oct. 2026
  4. Aug. 11, 2026
    Permits Taylor County commissioners' meeting packet has no item on the project. Local government · Oct. 2026
  5. Sept. 14, 2026
    Permits Governor directs the water board to compel data-center water-use reporting. State agency · Oct. 2026
  6. Sept. 21, 2026
    Permits Governor Abbott directs TCEQ to halt data-center permits until the grid audit is complete; off-grid projects are covered. State agency · Oct. 2026
  7. Oct. 2026
    Permits TCEQ compliance update due on the permit halt. State agency · Oct. 2026
  8. End of 2028
    Power Target for initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power (developer). Company · Oct. 2026
The buildings

Specs

Initial 400 MW first phase of a larger development; later phases not described. Company · Oct. 2026

Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners
  • PowerPlay AI Pty Ltd: developer lead
  • Sharon AI (Nasdaq: SHAZ): reported JV partner (press)
  • Luke Velterop: only individual disclosed by the developer
Decision-makers
  • Texas Commission on Environmental Quality: air permits
  • Governor Greg Abbott: permit halt directive
  • Taylor County: land and incentives (no action found)
Separate project
  • New Era Energy & Digital bought Sharon AI's stake in the earlier Texas JV; it has no role here
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

84 records from 16 documents

Drawn from news reports, company statements, securities filings, state agency records, local government records, utility regulator dockets, public and commercial datasets and court filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 5Company 3SEC filing 2State agency 2Local government 2Utility regulator 1Dataset 1Court filing 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (24)
  • audit directive: directed to audit all data centers in the ERCOT interconnection process; Batch Zero large-load energization paused
    “Governor Abbott directed the PUCT and ERCOT to audit all data centers undergoing ERCOT's interconnection process so their development does not compromise the reliability of the Texas electric grid”
  • Developer: PowerPlay AI (PowerPlay AI Pty Ltd, Australia)
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • Announcement date: July 20, 2026
    “NEW YORK, July 20, 2026 /PRNewswire/ -- PowerPlay AI Announces 400 MW Behind-the-Meter AI Data Center Development in Greater Abilene with Nasdaq-Listed Neocloud Joint Venture Partner”
  • On-site generation: 400 MW
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028.”
  • IT capacity: not stated
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028.”
  • Utility service: not stated
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • Stated campus size: not stated
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • Power plan: behind-the-meter on-site gas generation (islanded; no ERCOT interconnection)
    “anchored by installed natural gas and adjacent fiber infrastructure, an established regional delivery ecosystem, an unincorporated site free of zoning restrictions”
  • Current target date: 2028
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028.”
  • Original target date: 2028
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028.”
  • Gas supply status: natural gas service agreements in progress - not executed
    “the joint venture has moved into active execution, progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • Ipp status: not selected - RFP process run; preferred IPP selection pending
    “the joint venture has moved into active execution, progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • Water source: not stated
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • ERCOT interconnection / Private Use Network registration: not applicable at this stage - no queue position and no PUN registration located
    “This report contains all outages for Resources that are required to enter outages in the ERCOT Outage Scheduler including Generation Resources in Private Use Networks”
  • Every load-bearing element remains open: gas service agreements unexecuted, IPP unselected, no permits applied for, no tenant, no county or city action, no local press coverage. The campus is currently a land position pl
    “the joint venture has moved into active execution, progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • Interconnection status: No grid interconnection - announced as an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter gas development in the greater Abilene area; no utility ESA; independent power producer selection in progress; site not ye
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas”
  • Jv partner: Sharon AI (SharonAI, Inc. / SharonAI Holdings, Inc., Nasdaq: SHAZ)
    “Newly established firm PowerPlay AI announced plans for a 400MW natural gas-powered data center near Abilene. The data center will reportedly be developed as part of a joint venture (JV) with neocloud Sharon AI.”
  • County: Taylor
    “Newly established firm PowerPlay AI announced plans for a 400MW natural gas-powered data center near Abilene. The data center will reportedly be developed as part of a joint venture (JV) with neocloud Sharon AI.”
  • The developer is newly established with a single disclosed individual whose background is junior energy and hydrogen exploration rather than data centers or power generation; no track record, financial statements, or pro
    “The only individual disclosed by the company is Luke Velterop.”
  • Three months after the announcement, the JV partner's identity still rests on one trade-press article: the issuer never named it, and no SharonAI filing or release confirming the JV has been located (EDGAR access blocked
    “Newly established firm PowerPlay AI announced plans for a 400MW natural gas-powered data center near Abilene. The data center will reportedly be developed as part of a joint venture (JV) with neocloud Sharon AI.”
  • Construction stage: none - announced only; the company states site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition are complete, with natural-gas service agreements progressing and selection of a pr
    “The announcement of the joint venture follows comprehensive site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition”
  • On-site generation: 400 MW
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028”
  • Utility: behind-the-meter (no grid utility) - natural-gas service agreements in progress; the independent power producer has not yet been selected
    “progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • PowerPlay AI and its JV partner target delivery of the initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028, with gas service agreements in negotiation and an IPP selection process under way.
    “progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
Money and contracts (13)
  • Six months before this JV, SharonAI exited its only prior Texas behind-the-meter project (TCDC) for $70M; the Abilene JV is its replacement Texas vehicle, announced while capital was still cycling out of the TCDC sale ($
    “the Company acquired SharonAI's equity interests in TCDC for an aggregate purchase price of $70 million”
  • Tenants: none named
    “Together, these strategic advantages position the project for rapid execution and engagement with leading AI infrastructure operators and hyperscalers.”
  • joint venture (announced; instrument not public): existence JV executed and announced July 20, 2026; the JV agreement itself is not public and no filing of it was located
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • joint venture (announced; instrument not public): partner identity - MISSING-CLAUSE FINDING NOT DISCLOSED: the announcement never names the JV partner; identity as Sharon AI rests solely on Data Center Dynamics (2026-07-
    “executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner”
  • joint venture (announced; instrument not public): scope Initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development, greater Abilene area; initial behind-the-meter power delivery targeted 2028
    “The project is targeting delivery of an initial 400 MW of behind-the-meter power in 2028.”
  • natural gas service agreements: status In progress - NOT executed as of the July 20, 2026 announcement; no supplier named; no executed agreement announced since
    “the joint venture has moved into active execution, progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • IPP selection / power arrangement: status - MISSING-CLAUSE FINDING No IPP selected: RFP process run and formal selection of a preferred IPP still pending; no PPA, tolling, or EPC agreement exists in any public record loc
    “the joint venture has moved into active execution, progressing natural gas service agreements and moving toward the formal selection of a preferred independent power producer following completion of its request for proposal process”
  • land acquisition: status Land assembly and acquisition stated complete by the company; no deed, parcel, acreage, or appraisal-district record located
    “The announcement of the joint venture follows comprehensive site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition.”
  • tax abatement (TX Ch. 312) / Ch. 380-381 development agreement: existence - DOCUMENTED ABSENCE NO agreement located: TX Comptroller Local Development Agreement registry cross-checks, Taylor County minutes, and web-indexe
    “This tool combines information about various economic development agreements created in accordance with Chapters 380 and 381 and tax abatement programs under Chapter 312.”
  • utility electric service / interconnection agreement: existence - ABSENT BY DESIGN : the project is fully behind-the-meter; no electric service agreement, interconnection agreement, or ERCOT queue position announced
    “PowerPlay AI today announced an initial 400 MW behind-the-meter AI data center development in the greater Abilene area of West Texas, executed through a joint venture with a Nasdaq-listed Neocloud partner.”
  • SharonAI exited site development (TCDC sale, pure-play neocloud pivot, Dec 2025) months before the Abilene JV was announced - the JV is structured as a neocloud partnership, not a SharonAI-developed site, which is consis
    “SharonAI sold its 50% interest in TCDC to its joint venture partner, New Era, for a consideration of US$70 million”
  • Tenant status: no tenant; developer-side JV partner identified by press only (Sharon AI)
    “Newly established firm PowerPlay AI announced plans for a 400MW natural gas-powered data center near Abilene. The data center will reportedly be developed as part of a joint venture (JV) with neocloud Sharon AI.”
  • Tenant status: joint-venture partner is an unnamed Nasdaq-listed neocloud (identity not disclosed in the company's release; trade press names Sharon AI - see conflicts); no end tenant announced
    “Additional project details, including the identity of the joint venture partner and the selected independent power producer, have not yet been disclosed”
Permits and government (9)
  • State permit gate: TCEQ permit issuance for data-center projects halted statewide by Governor's directive of Sept. 21, 2026 until the ERCOT audit completes; expressly reaches islanded / behind-the-meter projects
    “Data centers must pay their own way, protect our grid and water, and complete the ERCOT and TWDB audits. Until they do, TCEQ will issue no permits sought by data center projects.”
  • regulatory hold: directive issued - halt all data-center permit issuance statewide until the ERCOT audit completes
    “Governor Greg Abbott today directed the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) to halt all permits sought by data centers until the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) completes its audit.”
  • water-use reporting directive: directed to compel data-center water-use reporting and partner with ERCOT on the audit
    “On September 14, he directed TWDB to compel data centers to comply with water-use reporting requirements, impose legal consequences for past and future failure to comply with state law”
  • The Governor states he will work with the Legislature to eliminate financial incentives for data centers, and the post-audit regime previews new conditions (full infrastructure-cost coverage, water protections, setbacks,
    “Next session, Governor Abbott will work with the Legislature to eliminate any financial incentives for data centers.”
  • Stage: announced / pre-construction (land assembly stated complete; no permits, no IPP, no tenant)
    “The announcement of the joint venture follows comprehensive site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition.”
  • Zoning status: unincorporated site; no zoning restrictions (company statement)
    “anchored by installed natural gas and adjacent fiber infrastructure, an established regional delivery ecosystem, an unincorporated site free of zoning restrictions”
  • Taylor County Commissioners Court (Taylor County, TX): Full 216-page minutes packet text-searched for this campus (terms: PowerPlay, Sharon, data center) - NO item, hearing, abatement, or mention found. Session covered t
    “Consider approval of a Right of Way application from Fiberlight, LLC to install fiber optic on Farris Rd, Spinks Rd, Hayter Rd, and Summerhill Rd in Precinct 2”
  • air authorization: no application located - permit search negative
    “The pause applies to all data center projects regardless of whether they use ERCOT grid power, including fully 'islanded' facilities relying on behind-the-meter generation.”
  • The statewide TCEQ permit halt expressly reaches fully islanded behind-the-meter projects; this campus holds no air permits and cannot receive them until the ERCOT audit completes (~mid-December 2026) - a direct schedule
    “The pause applies to all data center projects regardless of whether they use ERCOT grid power, including fully 'islanded' facilities relying on behind-the-meter generation.”
Site and other (2)
  • Land status: land assembly and acquisition stated complete (company statement, uncorroborated)
    “The announcement of the joint venture follows comprehensive site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition.”
  • Project status: announced; in execution
    “The announcement of the joint venture follows comprehensive site feasibility, infrastructure assessment, land assembly and acquisition.”