Power and the grid
250 MW contracted
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- July 2025City and PG&E sign a power delivery agreementPG&E commits 250 MW to the wastewater site, with delivery 30 to 36 months after a go-ahead and subject to permits. Local government · Oct. 2025
- Oct. 27, 2025Five substations in the planThe staff report says the project includes five substations; no on-site generation is proposed. Local government · Oct. 2025
- March 24, 2026Regional transmission line crosses the siteThe council took up an easement for LS Power's South Bay line, a regional project and not a campus contract. Local government · March 2026
- Not setBackup generator review may move to the stateDepending on generator size, the California Energy Commission may handle environmental review; no docket exists. Local government · Sept. 2026
- The 396 MW figure appears only in press coverage of Prologis's concept. The only committed power is PG&E's 250 MW for the first phase. News report · Nov. 2025
- PG&E said it is willing to study load growth beyond 250 MW but has made no commitment. Local government · Oct. 2025
Permits checklist
1 pending · 1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs, and what we found. The land belongs to two cities, so both councils must approve a lease.
- ◷Exclusive negotiation agreement PendingCity of San Jose · as of Oct. 2026: authorized; no signed agreement found News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Developer selection GrantedSan Jose City Council · Nov. 18, 2025: Prologis preferred, Catellus-Deca backup; selection only, not a land-use approval Local government · Nov. 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Ground lease, Planning application, Environmental impact review (CEQA)
What could slow it down
- HighNothing signedNo negotiation agreement, lease or environmental review is on record about 11 months after selection. see Permits
- HighStrong local oppositionResidents, environmental-justice groups and a pause petition cite power and water strain and nearby Alviso and burrowing owl habitat. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumTwo councils must agreeA lease needs approval from both San Jose and Santa Clara, after a multi-year review. Local government · Oct. 2025
- MediumNew city standardsUniform data center rules on energy, water, generators and noise are being written and should apply here. Local government · Oct. 2026
- WatchPower beyond 250 MWPG&E has committed only 250 MW; any larger campus needs more. Local government · Oct. 2025
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- May 12, 2025Paper trail San Jose issues a request for qualifications for the 159 acres Local government · Oct. 2025
- July 25, 2025Power City and PG&E announce a power delivery agreement News report · Aug. 2025
- Nov. 13, 2025Permits Wastewater plant advisory committee recommends approving Prologis Local government · Nov. 2025
- Nov. 18, 2025Permits City council selects Prologis as preferred developer and authorizes exclusive negotiations News report · Nov. 2025
- June 10, 2026Permits Council committee directs staff to write uniform data center standards, expected to apply to this campus Local government · June 2026
- Aug. 20, 2026Site City listening sessions show strong resident opposition to data center growth News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2026Site Local reporting still calls the Prologis plans early stage, with no application filed News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- San Jose-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility: landowner, co-owned by San Jose and Santa Clara
- Prologis, Inc.: preferred developer
- Catellus Development and Deca Companies: backup developer
- San Jose City Council and Santa Clara City Council: lease approval
- Treatment Plant Advisory Committee: recommends on the facility
- California Energy Commission: possible environmental review of backup generators
- PG&E: committed 250 MW
- LS Power: regional South Bay transmission line
- Resident groups and Mothers Out Front Silicon Valley
Open questions
- Whether an exclusive negotiation agreement has been signed.
- A city-stated campus MW figure.
- Any tenant.
- When an environmental review will start.
119 records from 24 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets, securities filings and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (20)
- LS Power Grid California's CAISO-selected Power the South Bay project (12 miles of new transmission, Newark to Santa Clara) requires an easement across RWF lands; the city council took up the $1,240,000 easement agreemen“The California Independent System Operator selected LS Power to develop, construct, and own a high-voltage transmission line to meet electric reliability needs in the South Bay”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- Substations planned: 5“The project includes five electric substations to support the energy needs of these uses”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Utility service: 250 MW“PG&E committed to provide a total of 250 MW of capacity via a dual feed connection from the Los Esteros 230 kV substation”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Utility: Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E)“In July 2025, the City entered into an agreement with the Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) to secure a commitment on speed and certainty of power”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Grid operator: CAISO“including concurrence by the California Independent System Operator (CAISO)”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Power plan: grid (PG&E dual feed from Los Esteros 230 kV substation; no on-site generation proposed)“PG&E committed to provide a total of 250 MW of capacity via a dual feed connection from the Los Esteros 230 kV substation”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Utility: Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) - initial 250 MW committed via dual feed from the Los Esteros Substation (230/115 kV), whose yard is 0.38 km east of the anchor; five on-site substations are part of the Prologis prMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: 27.74 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 23.879 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 0.565 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- On-site generation: not stated“The project includes five electric substations to support the energy needs of these uses”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: not stated“Prologis aims to develop a 1.684 million sq ft, 396MW data center campus, featuring four two-story buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City-run listening sessions on data center growth drew overwhelming resident skepticism (power and water strain, pollution, drought resilience); environmental-justice groups including Mothers Out Front Silicon Valley are“Community members who spoke at the meeting overwhelmingly opposed expanding data center operations in San Jose”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Prologis published a set of responsible data center development commitments in August 2026 as community resistance grew, pledging early infrastructure planning, fair-share cost payment, responsible water use, and disclos“Prologis has introduced a set of responsible data center development commitments as community resistance creates another obstacle for the sector”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 396 MW“Prologis aims to develop a 1.684 million sq ft (156,450 sqm), 396MW data center campus, featuring four two-story buildings.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 396 MW“Prologis aims to develop a 1.684 million sq ft (156,450 sqm), 396MW data center campus, featuring four two-story buildings”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Utility service: 250 MW“PG&E has committed to provide an initial 250MW of capacity via a dual feed connection from the Los Esteros 230kV substation in North San José within 30 to 36 months of a request”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Interconnection status: Not yet interconnected - pre-development (preferred developer selected Nov 18, 2025; CEQA review and ground lease ahead); PG&E initial 250 MW committed via dual feed from Los Esteros 230 kV substa“PG&E has committed to provide an initial 250MW of capacity via a dual feed connection from the Los Esteros 230kV substation in North San José within 30 to 36 months of a request”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 396 MW“Prologis aims to develop a 1.684 million sq ft, 396MW data center campus, featuring four two-story buildings”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- The 396 MW campus figure (four buildings at up to 99 MW each) exists only in press coverage of the developer's RFQ concept; DCD's headline rounds it to 400MW. No city document states a campus MW total, and the only commi“Each data center could offer up to 99MW across 421,100 sq ft (39,120 sqm). The manufacturing buildings could offer up to 25MW each”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (31)
- Tenant status: no tenant announced; speculative developer-led project on public land“uses and tenants for the developed site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Development and ground lease agreement (future): missing - no lease exists“the City will negotiate a corresponding development and ground lease agreement that includes financial compensation for the RWF as landowner”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Stage: announced only“Staff will return to City Council with the outcome of negotiations and seek authorization to enter into a development and ground lease agreement with Prologis”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: term 2 years plus three 1-year option terms at the City's discretion“Negotiate and execute an Exclusive Negotiation Agreement with the preferred developer for a term of two years with three one-year option terms”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement - council conditions: condition - workforce and community agreements“Direct Prologis to negotiate workforce and community agreements, which include benefits such as access to high quality construction jobs that pay prevailing wages”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement - council conditions: condition - sustainability“Recommend that staff include in the agreement with Prologis a goal that the site master plan be developed in alignment with San Jose's Climate Smart objectives”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Site sq ft data center: 1684000 sq ft“Their schematic shows 1.684 million square feet of data center space, in four two-story buildings on four separate parcels”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Site sq ft manufacturing: 785000 sq ft“They also include 785,000 square feet of advanced manufacturing space in four buildings”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Tenants: not stated“the developer will begin to formulate a development plan including the proposed structures and layout, infrastructure plan, construction phasing, uses and tenants for the developed site”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Financing: Prologis committed to finance 100% of project development costs (per selection panel findings in the staff memorandum)“In-house financing capability and commitment to finance 100% of project development costs”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Incentives: none identified; city states the selection item includes no public subsidy“This item does not include a public subsidy as defined in section 53083 or 53083.1 of the California Government Code”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Jurisdiction: City of San Jose (land use and administering agency); development and ground lease approval also requires the City of Santa Clara as co-owner; CEC may handle environmental review depending on backup generat“Any proposed development and ground lease agreement will be heard by the Treatment Plant Advisory Committee, and authorization will be required from the City Councils of Santa Clara and San Jose”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): scope 250 MW“PG&E committed to provide a total of 250 MW of capacity via a dual feed connection from the Los Esteros 230 kV substation”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): delivery timeline“within 30 to 36 months of receiving a written agreement from the City or assigned developer to proceed with the project”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): condition“The 30 to 36 months is dependent upon the timely receipt of required permits, including CEQA and those from the City of San Jose”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): scope - future capacity“PG&E indicated that while no future power commitments have been made, they are willing to study projected load growth”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: condition - negotiation deadline“The terms of the ENA will be negotiated and finalized within 90 days. At the City's discretion, the period for negotiating the ENA may be extended”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: fallback on failed negotiation“If the City and Prologis are unable to successfully negotiate the terms of the ENA, then the City will proceed with negotiating the terms of an ENA with the joint venture”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: scope - milestones“Anticipated interim milestones to be identified in the ENA include: a community outreach plan; the completion of community outreach; a land use plan”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: cost recovery“The ENA will include the terms of a negotiation cost recovery agreement and a list of and schedule for milestones”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement: financial terms 0 USD“No revenues or expenses will be incurred in connection with pursuing an ENA with the selected developer”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Development and ground lease agreement (future): scope“Staff will seek this authorization after CEQA analysis is complete, which is expected to be approximately two to five years after execution of the ENA”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Consulting agreement: scope“A consulting agreement was ultimately signed with Keyser Marston Associates, Inc. (Keyser Marston) on August 25, 2024”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Exclusive Negotiation Agreement - execution status: missing - execution not evidenced“Among the proposed data center projects that have stoked concern among residents, organizers point to plans, still in the early stages”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- San Jose City Council unanimously selected Prologis as preferred developer on Nov 18, 2025 (Catellus/Deca JV as backup) and authorized an Exclusive Negotiation Agreement - the campus's gating event. Municipal record itse“the San Jose city council this week unanimously approved a Request for Qualification, selecting Prologis as the preferred developer for a 159-acre site.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - developer selection only: the City Council voted unanimously on Nov 18, 2025 to select Prologis as preferred developer and authorized an Exclusive Negotiating Agreement to start design, financi“authorized the city manager to enter an Exclusive Negotiating Agreement to start design, financing and CEQA work”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: none - speculative Prologis development on city-owned land under an exclusive negotiating agreement; no tenant announced“the San Jose city council this week unanimously approved a Request for Qualification, selecting Prologis as the preferred developer for a 159-acre site”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Press coverage projects roughly $30 million per year to the city at full build-out; the mayor-group council memorandum cites about $12 million annually in utility tax initially and about $24 million at full buildout. Fig“a massive plot of empty fields near the regional wastewater plant in North San Jose could become a new data center and advanced manufacturing campus, potentially infusing the city's coffers with tens of millions”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): termination“PG&E has six months to fix any failures to meet its obligations. If it doesn't, San Jose can terminate the agreement within 30 days”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Implementation Agreement (power delivery): consideration 2000000 USD“Pineda said those six positions represent a nearly $2 million commitment”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- The City-PG&E Implementation Agreement was announced July 25, 2025 and reported signed by August 5, 2025; PG&E described processing almost 2 GW of data center requests in San Jose. The agreement covers large-load custome“The city of San Jose has entered into a new agreement with Oakland-based Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) to ensure the type of power required to support large data center operations”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (13)
- San Jose is developing uniform data center standards (energy sourcing, water, backup-generator air quality, noise, community notification) directed by the Rules and Open Government Committee on June 10, 2026; press repor“The City is currently working on this project and will publish updates as they are available”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Construction stage: not stated“Below is a list of the applications currently on file with the City's Planning Division”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- planning application (data center): none on file“Below is a list of the applications currently on file with the City's Planning Division”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- environmental review routing: no docket opened“Depending on the size of the data center's back-up power generators, the Environmental Review may be handled by the California Energy Commission (CEC)”Local government · Sept. 2026 · grade A
- Rules and Open Government Committee, City of San Jose: Data Center and Large Energy Uniform Standards - direction to the City Manager“On June 10, 2026, the City of San Jose Rules and Open Government Committee adopted a recommendation directing the City Manager to”Local government · June 2026 · grade A
- developer selection resolution: adopted“Select Prologis Inc. as the preferred developer pursuant to the Request for Qualifications offered, for the 159 acres of economic development land”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- CEQA determination (selection action): determined not a project“CEQA: Not a Project, File No. PP17-007, Preliminary direction to staff and eventual action requires approval from decision-making body”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Water: council directed that recycled water use be maximized in the ENA; site adjoins the Silicon Valley Advanced Water Purification Center“Maximize the use of recycled water”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Treatment Plant Advisory Committee (TPAC): Item 5.D - Request for Qualification Selection of Developer and Backup Developer for 159 acres at San Jose-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility (File 25-1212)“At its meeting on November 13, 2025, the Treatment Plant Advisory Committee (TPAC) reviewed this item”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- developer solicitation (RFQ): issued“On May 12, 2025, the City released an RFQ solicitation in accordance with San Jose Municipal Code Title 4”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- As of October 2026 the Prologis RWF plans are still described as early-stage in local reporting, with no planning application filed; the project will also be subject to the city's forthcoming uniform data center standard“Among the proposed data center projects that have stoked concern among residents, organizers point to plans, still in the early stages”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 159 acres“the San Jose city council this week unanimously approved a Request for Qualification, selecting Prologis as the preferred developer for a 159-acre site.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- City Council, City of San Jose: Item 8.2 - Request for Qualification Selection of Developer and Backup Developer for 159 Acres at the San Jose-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility (File 25-1212)“The City Council picked Prologis as the preferred developer for 159 acres at the San Jose-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility, authorizing an exclusive negotiating agreement (ENA)”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (9)
- Developer: Prologis, Inc. (selected preferred developer, Nov 18, 2025)“Select Prologis Inc. as the preferred developer pursuant to the Request for Qualifications offered, for the 159 acres of economic development land”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Developer backup: Catellus Development Corporation and Deca Companies joint venture (backup developer)“select a joint venture between Catellus Development Corporation and Deca Companies as the backup developer for these lands”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Ceqa status: project-level CEQA review not started; the Nov 2025 selection action was determined Not a Project (File No. PP17-007); an EIR is an anticipated ENA milestone“CEQA: Not a Project, File No. PP17-007, Preliminary direction to staff and eventual action requires approval from decision-making body”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Site acres: 159 acres“The RWF lands consist of approximately 2,680 acres, which include about 159 acres of buffer lands located on Zanker Road”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Land owner: San Jose-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility (co-owned by the cities of San Jose and Santa Clara; operated and administered by the City of San Jose)“The RWF is co-owned by the cities of San Jose and Santa Clara and operated by the City of San Jose”Local government · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Original target date: not stated“Among the proposed data center projects that have stoked concern among residents, organizers point to plans, still in the early stages”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: not stated“Among the proposed data center projects that have stoked concern among residents, organizers point to plans, still in the early stages”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- A petition demanding that San Jose pause all new AI data center approvals names the Prologis wastewater-facility development explicitly, alongside the Microsoft Alviso campus. Cited as a searched record only (advocacy pe“including the proposed 1-million-square-foot Prologis development on the San Jose-Santa Clara wastewater facility site and an expanding Microsoft data center campus in Alviso”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: pre-development“Industrial real estate giant Prologis has gained approval for plans to develop a data center campus in San Jose, California.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C