Power
Power and the grid
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- Bloom Energy natural-gas fuel cells (on-site microgrid) Plannedprimary power, with no backup diesel generators; designed to operate independently of the local utility; MW not disclosed News report · 2026
Getting on the grid
- The design calls for a power purchase agreement with the fuel-cell maker and would send surplus power back to the local grid (developer materials). Company · Oct. 2026
- A second phase reserves a grid connection and battery storage. News report · 2026
Permits
Permits checklist
1 pending · 2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals the campus and its fuel cells need, and what we found.
- ◷City planning application (re-filed) PendingCity of San Jose · Oct. 2026: second filing; the first was in 2023 News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for the fuel cells, State energy commission review
Risks
What could slow it down
- MediumNo approvals yetThe project is a re-filed application with no city decision yet. see Permits
- MediumCity rules in fluxSan Jose is finalizing new data-center rules with 11 applications under review, and Alviso residents are organizing over cumulative impacts. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchFuel cells unpermittedNo air district permit for the gas fuel cells has been found. see Permits
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- 2018Site Terra Ventures pitches the site as the Shops @ Terra entertainment district News report · 2023
- 2021Site Only the TopGolf portion of that plan opens News report · 2023
- 2023Permits First data-center application: two stories, 172,500 sq ft, with an adjacent power plant News report · 2023
- 2025Site A design profile expects the campus to be completed in 2027 News report · 2025
- Oct. 2026Permits A Terra Ventures affiliate re-files a larger three-story plan with the city News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 15, 2026Site Alviso residents raise the site at a city meeting on data-center rules News report · Oct. 2026
The buildings
Specs
167,400 sq ft energy supply hub in the re-filed plan (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- No diesel backup: the fuel-cell microgrid replaces backup generators and large batteries (press) News report · 2025
- Heat reuse: absorption chillers run on fuel-cell heat; a later greenhouse would use data-center heat News report · 2026
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Developer
- Terra Ventures: landowner group; an affiliate filed the application
- Arcadis: design and engineering
Power
- Bloom Energy: fuel-cell supplier
Government
- City of San Jose: planning review
Still unknown
Open questions
- Campus power in MW.
- Any tenant.
- City decision and air permits for the fuel cells.
Where this comes from
30 records from 8 documents
Drawn from news reports, company statements and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 6Company 1State agency 1
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (7)
- Self-sufficient microgrid operating independently of the local utility, natural-gas fuel cells as primary power, no backup generators, and a fuel-cell PPA; surplus power can feed back to the grid (Arcadis/AI Journal)“The power design revolves around establishing a self-sufficient microgrid that operates independently of the local utility.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Source record“The applicant proposes to construct and operate the project, located at 1657 AlvisoMilpitas Road in San Jose, California.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Project identity: Terra Data Center - Alviso district, north San Jose, CA; 9.3-acre site bounded by North First Street, Anderson Alley, Top Golf Drive and Liberty Street; re-filed application for a three-story, 295,100 s“Two buildings are planned on a 9.3-acre site bounded by North First Street, Anderson Alley, Top Golf Drive and Liberty Street.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- Power design: natural gas Bloom Energy fuel cells as the primary source, grid-reactive, feeding DC power to racks, with absorption chillers on fuel cell heat; Phase 2 reserves a grid tie and battery storage (developer/de“the site will utilize natural gas-powered fuel cells from Bloom Energy that will be grid reactive. This will reportedly be the facility's primary power source”News report · 2026 · grade C
- The microgrid is designed to operate independently of the local utility and eliminates backup diesel generators and bulky battery systems; the facility will feed surplus power back into the local grid.“it will operate on a natural gas-powered fuel cell microgrid, eliminating the need for backup diesel generators and bulky battery systems”News report · 2025 · grade C
- First filing in 2023 proposed a two-story, 172,500 sq ft data center and adjacent power-generating facility on the site; the site was pitched in 2018 as the 'Shops @ Terra' entertainment district“This is the second time Terra has filed to build a data center on the site. The company first submitted an application to develop a two-story, 172,500 sq ft data center and adjacent power-generating facility back in 2023.”News report · 2023 · grade C
- Site history: Shops @ Terra entertainment district pitched 2018 (37.7 acres; only TopGolf built, opened 2021); first data center application filed 2023 at 172,500 sq ft; superseded by the Oct 2026 re-filing“The company first submitted an application to develop a two-story, 172,500 sq ft (16,025 sqm) data center and adjacent power-generating facility back in 2023.”News report · 2023 · grade C
Permits and government (1)
- San Jose is finalising new data center rules with 11 applications under review citywide (October 2026); Alviso residents are organising over cumulative impacts in the district“According to the city, there are currently 11 applications for data centers under review.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Legal (1)
- Alviso residents raised the North 1st Street / Anderson Alley site at the Oct 15, 2026 city data-center meeting, citing proximity to homes and the library; no lawsuit or formal opposition filing specific to Terra was fou“He said there are rumors of a data center coming to the intersection of North 1st Street and Anderson Alley, right by the Top Golf site.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (4)
- County code: 06085“Two buildings are planned on a 9.3-acre site bounded by North First Street, Anderson Alley, Top Golf Drive and Liberty Street.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: announced application refiled no approval“Plans to develop a data center have been re-filed in San Jose, California.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Phase 2 will include a greenhouse heated by the data center and a retail center selling on-site-grown produce“a second phase of development will include a greenhouse heated by the data center, which will grow fruit and vegetables to be sold from an on-site community retail store.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google's PG&E/CPUC arrangements in San Jose are likewise not Terra's; No figure from those projects belongs to this campus.“San Jose has also approved major data center projects, including a 99-megawatt campus at 4160 Zanker Road and 1657 Alviso-Milpitas Road”News report · July 2026 · grade C