Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
- Bloom fuel cells at Johnstown Approved, status unknownsize confidential; deployment approved May 2025 News report · Oct. 2026
- Framework for up to 1 GW of Bloom fuel cells Framework1,000 MW; supply framework, not a project; includes a separate 702 MW Wyoming plant for Google, which is not in Ohio Company · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Nov. 14, 2024Framework signedAEP and Bloom announce up to 1 GW of fuel cells, with customers covering all project costs. Company · Oct. 2026
- May 28, 2025Contracts approvedThe Ohio utility commission approves the Amazon and Cologix agreements, which are bridge power until grid capacity catches up. News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 22, 2025Siting certificateThe Ohio Power Siting Board certificate takes effect by automatic approval, with a 72.9 MW cap and no connection to the transmission system. see Permits
- Sept. 2027Hilliard in serviceAEP Ohio's target for the fuel cells to run. Local government · Oct. 2026
- Two gas pipelines for a fuel cell site are in the works (about $10M, H1 2027, and another due Oct. 2026), but reports do not say which site they serve. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
1 appealed · 1 withdrawn · 3 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
Approvals on record for the Hilliard deployment, the only one with public filings.
- !Customer-sited generation agreement (Amazon) AppealedPublic Utilities Commission of Ohio · May 28, 2025: approved; rehearing denied; Supreme Court of Ohio appeal pending Court filing · Oct. 2026
- ↩City site plan change, Hilliard WithdrawnHilliard Planning and Zoning Commission · Oct. 20, 2025: AEP Ohio withdrew it, citing state siting board authority; no city vote Local government · Oct. 2026
- ✓Customer-sited generation agreement (Cologix) GrantedPublic Utilities Commission of Ohio · May 28, 2025: size and terms confidential News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Power plant certificate, Hilliard GrantedOhio Power Siting Board · Sept. 22, 2025: automatic approval; overrides local zoning for plants over 50 MW Local government · Oct. 2026
- ✓Air permit, Hilliard GrantedOhio EPA · Oct. 2025: issued about Oct. 2025 (date inferred); the city's appeal was withdrawn Sept. 15, 2026 Company · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Siting certificate and air permit, Johnstown
What could slow it down
- HighCourt could undo the modelIf the Supreme Court sides with OMAEG, utility ownership of customer-sited generation could be struck down. The old statute was also repealed in 2025, with a grandfather clause for filings before the deadline. Court filing · Oct. 2026
- MediumResidents' oppositionHilliard fought the project at council and at the appeals commission before dropping the appeal. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumJohnstown is opaqueSize, permits and build status are not public. see Permits
- WatchGas supplyPipelines serving program sites are due Oct. 2026 and H1 2027; the sites they serve are not named. News report · Oct. 2026
2 cases on record
- Pending, fully briefed OMAEG appeal of the Amazon approvalSupreme Court of Ohio, No. 2025-1240 Court filing · Oct. 2026OMAEG argues the law lets utilities build customer-sited generation, not own and run it, and that the deal breaks corporate separation and anti-discrimination rules; no decision as of Oct. 2026
- Withdrawn Sept. 15, 2026 City of Hilliard appeal of the air permitEnvironmental Review Appeals Commission, No. 25-7227 Local government · Oct. 2026the city said there was no realistic path to the outcome residents wanted.
Money on record
- Customers pay: who covers project costs (AEP says customers cover the full cost; contract financial terms are sealed) Company · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- Nov. 14, 2024Money AEP and Bloom announce a framework for up to 1 GW of fuel cells Company · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 12, 2025Permits AEP Ohio files the Amazon agreement with the state utility commission Local government · Oct. 2026
- May 28, 2025Permits The commission approves the Amazon and Cologix agreements News report · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 22, 2025Permits The power siting board certificate for Hilliard takes effect; OMAEG appeals the commission order to the Supreme Court Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 20, 2025Permits AEP Ohio withdraws its Hilliard zoning application, citing state siting board authority Local government · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 7, 2025Permits The City of Hilliard appeals the air permit Local government · Oct. 2026
- Jan. 2026Site Hilliard construction starts Local government · Oct. 2026
- March 2, 2026Permits The Supreme Court appeal is fully briefed Court filing · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 15, 2026Permits Hilliard withdraws its air permit appeal, saying it is not an endorsement Local government · Oct. 2026
- Sept. 2027Power Hilliard fuel cells targeted for service Local government · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Utility-owned: AEP Ohio buys, installs and runs the fuel cells; customers pay the costs Local government · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Ohio Power Company (AEP Ohio): owns and runs the fuel cells
- American Electric Power: parent; signed the Bloom framework
- OnSite Partners: AEP affiliate party to the Amazon case
- Bloom Energy: fuel cells
- Amazon Data Services: Hilliard
- Cologix: Johnstown
- Public Utilities Commission of Ohio: contracts
- Ohio Power Siting Board: certificate
- Ohio EPA: air permit
- Supreme Court of Ohio: pending appeal
- City of Hilliard (appeal withdrawn)
- OMAEG (Supreme Court appeal)
Open questions
- Supreme Court of Ohio ruling.
- Johnstown size, permits and build status.
- How much of the 1 GW framework will be ordered for Ohio.
135 records from 22 documents
Drawn from news reports, company statements, local government records, court filings, securities filings and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (33)
- Regulatory basis: R.C. 4928.47 customer-sited renewable generation agreements (term of three years or more, PUCO approval required); solid oxide fuel cells are renewable energy resources per R.C. 4928.01; R.C. 4928.47 wa“enter into an agreement having a term of three years or more with a mercantile customer or group of mercantile customers for the purpose of constructing a customer sited renewable energy resource in this state”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Classification: Programme, utility fuel-cell supply framework with customer-sited deployments; not a single data-center campus“AEP Ohio is moving forward with an innovative project that will provide onsite power generation at two high-demand data centers in Central Ohio”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Ohio Power Company (AEP Ohio)“We are installing a fuel cell system on a customer's property off of Scioto Darby Creek Road in Hilliard”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Programme structure: Utility-owned bridge generation: Ohio Power Company procures, installs, owns and operates Bloom solid oxide fuel cell systems behind the meter at customer campuses until grid capacity catches up“The customer and the Applicant have recently entered an agreement for the Applicant to procure, install, maintain, and operate this electric generation project on the customer's campus”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Framework capacity stated: Up to 1,000 MW (1 GW) of Bloom solid oxide fuel cells under the Nov 14, 2024 AEP-Bloom supply agreement“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Deployment 1: AWS Hilliard campus, 4186 Scioto Darby Creek Road, Hilliard, Franklin County, OH: 72.9 MW net from approx. 228 Bloom Energy Servers on 6.4 acres of Amazon's 142-acre campus“The Applicant proposes to construct, operate, and maintain a nominal 72.9-megawatt (MW) net capacity solid oxide fuel cell system electric generation plant at 4186 Scioto Darby Creek Road”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: not stated“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“The fuel cells provide the energy that allows these data centers to begin operations quickly, while the electric grid grows to support their needs”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“The Applicant proposes to construct, operate, and maintain a nominal 72.9-megawatt (MW) net capacity solid oxide fuel cell system electric generation plant at 4186 Scioto Darby Creek Road”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: Framework signed Nov. 14, 2024; Ohio deployments approved May 28, 2025; Hilliard facility: OPSB certificate by automatic approval Sept. 22, 2025, construction from Jan 2026, in service ~Sep 2027; Johnstown dep“The Applicant proposes to commence construction in January 2026. The Applicant intends to complete construction and place the BTM fuel cell system electric generation facility in service around September 2027”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: building“The facility is being constructed, owned and operated by Ohio Power Company (AEP Ohio) using 228 Bloom Energy fuel cell units”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- County code: Franklin County, OH (39049); Licking County, OH (39089)“The project is a proposed 72.9-megawatt solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) electric generation facility at 4186 Scioto Darby Creek Road, within Amazon's 142-acre data-center campus”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Grid export:, systems are designed to not send energy back to the electric grid; at Hilliard, certificate condition 19 caps output at 72.9 MW and condition 20 bars transmission-system interconnection under the PJM“These customer-sited resources will be required to meet the interconnection rules of the local operating company and will be designed to not send any energy back to the electric grid”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Jurisdiction note: State preemption: the OPSB holds exclusive jurisdiction over electric generation facilities larger than 50 MW under R.C. 4906.13(B); no local government may permit or condition an OPSB-certificated fac“Under Section 4906.13(B) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Ohio Power Siting Board holds exclusive jurisdiction over electric generation facilities larger than 50 megawatts”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: AEP Ohio (Ohio Power Company)“We are installing a fuel cell system on a customer's property off of Scioto Darby Creek Road in Hilliard”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AEP Ohio withdraws its Hilliard Planning & Zoning application, citing OPSB exclusive jurisdiction under R.C. 4906.13(B).“AEP, which will own the natural gas-powered fuel cells, delivered a letter to City leaders Oct. 20 withdrawing its application to the City's Planning & Zoning Commission”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Scioto Darby (Hilliard) facility construction start, per the OPSB application and AEP Ohio's public notice; in service targeted ~Sep 2027.“The Applicant proposes to commence construction in January 2026. The Applicant intends to complete construction and place the BTM fuel cell system electric generation facility in service around September 2027”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Bloom Energy FY2025 10-K: in 2025 Bloom began working with AEP to deploy projects across the service territory; partnership restated as up to 1 GW with a 100 MW initial order (mirror copy; EDGAR re-verification flagged).“In 2025, we began working with AEP to deploy projects across the service territory as well as the project development landscape broadly”SEC filing · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AEP announces Cheyenne Fuel Cell, LLC (~92% AEP / ~8% Basalt-advised funds): ~$4B, 702 MW Bloom plant near Cheyenne, Wyoming under a 20-year Google PPA; construction from 2026, fully operational end-2028. This is the fra“American Electric Power (Nasdaq: AEP) plans to invest approximately $4 billion to advance a new 702-megawatt fuel cell generation project near Cheyenne, Wyoming, under a long-term 20-year power purchase agreement (PPA) with Google”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: Sept. 2027“The Applicant proposes to commence construction in January 2026. The Applicant intends to complete construction and place the BTM fuel cell system electric generation facility in service around September 2027”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade B
- Power plan: behind-the-meter on-site generation (bridge)“The fuel cells provide the energy that allows these data centers to begin operations quickly, while the electric grid grows to support their needs”Company · June 2025 · grade B
- Program identity: AEP / AEP Ohio (Ohio Power Company) Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cell supply program for data centers and other large users - a multi-site supply program, not a single campus“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Program scale ceiling note: up to 1 GW“announced that it has signed a supply agreement with American Electric Power (AEP) for up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of its products”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Initial order: Initial fuel cell order placed by AEP under the supply agreement, with further expansion orders expected in 2025“As part of this agreement, AEP has placed an order for 100 megawatts (MW) of fuel cells with further expansion orders expected in 2025.”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Initial order stated: 100 MW initial firm order under the Nov 2024 supply agreement; further expansion orders expected in 2025“As part of this agreement, AEP has placed an order for 100 megawatts (MW) of fuel cells with further expansion orders expected in 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aspire Energy Express (Chesapeake Utilities) agrees with AEP to build and operate a ~$10M intrastate gas pipeline serving a programme fuel-cell facility; operational target H1 2027; the served facility is not named in th“AEP struck a deal with Aspire Energy Express, the Ohio subsidiary of Chesapeake Utilities, to build and operate an $10 million intrastate natural gas pipeline”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Northeast Ohio Natural Gas (Hope Utilities) pipeline serving a programme fuel-cell facility targeted in service Oct 2026“The pipeline and supporting infrastructure are expected to be completed and in service by October 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The Hilliard fuel cell installation (228 natural gas-fed fuel cell units on a six-acre site supplying about 73 MW to Amazon's 142-acre data center campus, OPSB Case 25-0649-EL-BLN per the prior batch) belongs to Amazon's“has opposed the project, which would see the hyperscaler install 228 natural gas-fed fuel cell units on a six-acre site to supply 73MW of power to Amazon's 142-acre data center campus.”News report · Feb. 2026 · grade C
- DCD reports the Hope/NEO pipeline is likely to serve a Bloom Energy fuel cell facility, but this is not confirmed and the pipeline announcement names no site; the queue lead's 'gas pipeline due in service Oct 2026' match“While not confirmed, the natural gas pipeline is likely to serve a Bloom Energy fuel cell facility.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Project status: building on track (program level) - supply agreement signed Nov 2024; first two customer projects (Amazon Data Services; Cologix Johnstown) approved by PUCO May 28, 2025; system sizes filed confidentially“Each fuel cell system will use natural gas to generate electricity using solid oxide fuel cells, which qualify as a renewable resource under statute. The size of each system was filed on a confidential basis.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- Deployment sites: No single site - deployments sit at individual customer data center locations; the first two approved are Amazon Data Services and Cologix Johnstown sites in Ohio“AEP Ohio will own and operate two natural gas-powered generation systems (fuel cells) to be located at two customer data center locations”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- AEP frames the fuel cells as a bridge while grid build-out proceeds; no source retrieved confirms any program fuel cell system in operation as of Oct 2026.“These agreements with our data center customers allow us to provide a bridge solution for data centers' energy needs so the electric grid can be built out without compromising service to any of our customers,”News report · May 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (31)
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): approval“The decisions being appealed are the PUCO's Finding and Order (Order) issued on May 28, 2025 and the PUCO's Entry on Rehearing entered in its Journal on July 23, 2025”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): scope“allows AEP to procure, own, install, maintain, and operate a solid oxide fuel cell generator located on Amazon's in-state site to generate electricity available only to Amazon”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): cost allocation“Any direct or indirect costs, including costs for infrastructure development or generation, associated with the in-state customer-sited renewable energy resource shall be paid for solely by the utility and the mercantile customer”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Equipment supplier: Bloom Energy Corporation, Energy Server solid oxide fuel cells (ES5/ES6 models)“The Applicant has contracted with Bloom Energy Corporation (Bloom Energy) for installation of the fuel cell system equipment. The Applicant would own all equipment.”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Fuel cell supply agreement (framework): scope 1,000 MW“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Fuel cell supply agreement (framework): cost allocation“All costs for the fuel cell projects will be covered by the large customers under a special contract”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Fuel cell supply agreement (framework): design condition (no grid export)“These customer-sited resources will be required to meet the interconnection rules of the local operating company and will be designed to not send any energy back to the electric grid”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Fuel cell supply agreement (framework): termination (finding, not public)“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- OPSB certificate conditions (Scioto Darby facility): condition (output cap)“The facility shall be operated in such a way that the output of the facility does not exceed 72.9 megawatts”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- OPSB certificate conditions (Scioto Darby facility): condition (no transmission interconnection / no export)“The Applicant shall not have a physical or electrical interconnection with the Transmission System pursuant to the PJM Interconnection, LLC Open Access Transmission Tariff”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- OPSB certificate conditions (Scioto Darby facility): condition (decommissioning)“Should the Applicant decommission the generating facility, it shall submit to Staff, at least 30 days before decommissioning, a decommissioning report”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AEP-Bloom supply agreement announced: up to 1 GW of solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large customers; first customer project agreements being finalised; all project costs to be covered by the large custo“AEP has an agreement in place to secure up to 1 gigawatt (GW) of Bloom Energy solid oxide fuel cells for data centers and other large energy users”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: Amazon Data Services, Inc. (deployment 1 customer); Cologix (deployment 2 customer, Johnstown)“AEP Ohio will install onsite fuel cells at facilities operated by Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Cologix”Company · June 2025 · grade B
- Technology: Solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs), co-located at customer sites“The agreement expands Bloom's previous work with AEP to deploy solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs) in commercial and industrial settings.”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Cost bearer: All fuel cell project costs covered by the large customers under a special contract“All costs for the fuel cell projects will be covered by the large customers under a special contract.”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- fuel cell supply agreement: supply ceiling and initial order up to 1 GW“As part of this agreement, AEP has placed an order for 100 megawatts (MW) of fuel cells with further expansion orders expected in 2025.”Company · Nov. 2024 · grade B
- Deployment 2: Cologix Johnstown campus, Johnstown, Licking County, OH, system size and financial terms filed confidentially at PUCO; no public capacity figure exists“The size of each system was filed on a confidential basis”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Fuel cell supply agreement (framework): initial order 100 MW“As part of this agreement, AEP has placed an order for 100 megawatts (MW) of fuel cells with further expansion orders expected in 2025”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): term 6 years“AWS has signed on to a six-year contract, and Cologix has committed to a 15-year deal”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): oversight condition (PUCO audits; ratepayer hold-harmless)“AEP Ohio has committed to making ratepayers whole if an adjustment becomes necessary and the Commission will allow for routine audits to ensure the Company is remaining true to its word”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): confidentiality (finding, terms under seal)“The size of each system was filed on a confidential basis”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): approval“In separate orders adopting similar reasoning, the PUC of Ohio granted AEP Ohio's applications for approval of agreements with two large customers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): scope“authorization from PUCO for separate agreements to own and operate behind-the-meter fuel cell systems to serve separate locations housing Amazon Data Services, and Cologix Johnstown”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): term 15 years“AWS has signed on to a six-year contract, and Cologix has committed to a 15-year deal”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Customer-sited generation agreement (R.C. 4928.47): confidentiality (finding, terms under seal)“The size of each system was filed on a confidential basis”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Natural gas pipeline agreement: scope“Hope Utilities' local subsidiary, Northeast Ohio Natural Gas Corporation (NEO), will build, operate, and maintain the pipeline and associated natural gas facilities for this project”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Natural gas pipeline agreement: scope 10000000 USD“AEP struck a deal with Aspire Energy Express, the Ohio subsidiary of Chesapeake Utilities, to build and operate an $10 million intrastate natural gas pipeline”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- natural gas pipeline construction agreement: build, operate and maintain pipeline; in service deadline October 2026 deadline“Hope Utilities on Aug. 14 announced an agreement to construct a natural gas pipeline to supply a fuel cell project being developed by American Electric Power to power a data center in central Ohio.”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
- Tenant status: Both customer agreements approved by PUCO May 28, 2025 and in force; reported terms 6 years (AWS) and 15 years (Cologix); financial terms confidential“AWS has signed on to a six-year contract, and Cologix has committed to a 15-year deal”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- customer special contract: term and cost bearing 6 years“The systems will be paid for by the utility and data centers over the course of a six-year contract with Amazon Web Services and a 15-year contract with Cologix.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- customer special contract: term and cost bearing 15 years“The systems will be paid for by the utility and data centers over the course of a six-year contract with Amazon Web Services and a 15-year contract with Cologix.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (21)
- PUCO special-contract approval (R.C. 4928.47): Finding and Order approving Ohio Power Company-Amazon agreement“The decisions being appealed are the PUCO's Finding and Order (Order) issued on May 28, 2025 and the PUCO's Entry on Rehearing entered in its Journal on July 23, 2025”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- PUCO Entry on Rehearing denies OMAEG's rehearing application in Case 25-0133-EL-AEC.“the PUCO's Entry on Rehearing entered in its Journal on July 23, 2025”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- OPSB certificate, Letter of Notification: Application filed (Letter of Notification for a Certificate of Environmental Compatibility and Public Need)“Application Filing Date: June 24, 2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- OPSB certificate, automatic approval: Certificate approved by automatic approval“Staff recommends this application for automatic approval September 22, 2025, unless suspended by the Board, an administrative law judge, or the chairperson”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Air, Permit to Install and Operate (PTIO): PTIO application submitted by Ohio Power Company“The Applicant submitted its PTIO application on July 31, 2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Air, Permit to Install and Operate (PTIO): Final PTIO issued (permit number not located)“the Ohio EPA issued a Permit to Install and Operate (PTIO) for this project, which can be found on Ohio EPA's air permits website as well as posted to the Ohio Power Siting Board (OPSB) docket”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- ERAC appeal of PTIO: Notice of appeal filed by City of Hilliard“Filed with the Environmental Review Appeals Commision on 11/7/2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- ERAC appeal of PTIO: Appeal withdrawn by City of Hilliard“The City of Hilliard announced today that it has withdrawn its appeal before the Ohio Environmental Review Appeals Commission (ERAC) challenging the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency's Permit to Install and Operate (PTIO)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Ohio Power Company files its PUCO application for the Amazon agreement under R.C. 4928.47 (Case 25-0133-EL-AEC); the Cologix application (25-0134-EL-AEC) was filed in the same window, both before the Mar 31, 2025 HB 15“In the Matter of the Application of Ohio Power Company for Approval of an Agreement Under R.C. 4928.47, Case No. 25-0133-EL-AEC, Application (February 12, 2025)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Ohio EPA PTIO application submitted for the Scioto Darby (Hilliard) facility.“The Applicant submitted its PTIO application on July 31, 2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- OPSB certificate for the Scioto Darby facility takes effect by automatic approval (staff report Sep 15, 2025; Case 25-0649-EL-BLN).“Staff recommends this application for automatic approval September 22, 2025, unless suspended by the Board, an administrative law judge, or the chairperson”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Hilliard City Council: Motion to appeal the Ohio EPA PTIO for the Scioto Darby Road fuel cell facility to the Environmental Review Appeals Commission and to retain outside environmental counsel“Hilliard City Council unanimously approved a motion Oct. 27 seeking to appeal a decision by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to issue a permit to install fuel cells at the site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- City of Hilliard Planning and Zoning Commission: AEP Ohio / Amazon fuel cell facility application (Amazon minor site-plan change for the fuel cell facility)“AEP, which will own the natural gas-powered fuel cells, delivered a letter to City leaders Oct. 20 withdrawing its application to the City's Planning & Zoning Commission”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- appeal of PUCO order: appeal filed“The decisions being appealed are the PUCO's Finding and Order ("Order") issued on May 28, 2025”Court filing · 2025 · grade B
- PUCO special-contract approval (R.C. 4928.47): Finding and Order approving Ohio Power Company-Cologix (Johnstown) agreement“In separate orders adopting similar reasoning, the PUC of Ohio granted AEP Ohio's applications for approval of agreements with two large customers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Deployment-2 permits (Cologix Johnstown): Documented absence, no OPSB certificate case or Ohio EPA air permit for a Cologix Johnstown fuel-cell system located in sources opened“The size of each system was filed on a confidential basis”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PUCO grants both R.C. 4928.47 applications (Amazon; Cologix Johnstown), holding that 4928.47's specific authorisation supersedes the R.C. 4928.17 corporate-separation bar on utility generation ownership; periodic audits“In separate orders adopting similar reasoning, the PUC of Ohio granted AEP Ohio's applications for approval of agreements with two large customers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- not booked here.“Amazon is also seeking a permit to operate 158 diesel backup generators at the site”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Public Utilities Commission of Ohio: Approval of Ohio Power Company agreements under R.C. 4928.47, Case No. 25-0133-EL-AEC (Amazon) and Case No. 25-0134-EL-AEC (Cologix Johnstown)“The Commission finds that AEP Ohio's application is consistent with the plain language of R.C. 4928.47”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- agreement approval: approved“Case No. 25-0133-EL-AEC, 25-133-EL-AEC -- Amazon”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- agreement approval: approved“Case No. 25-0134-EL-AEC, 25-134-EL-AEC -- Cologix Johnstown”News report · May 2025 · grade C
Legal (4)
- OMAEG appeals the PUCO Amazon order to the Supreme Court of Ohio (Case No. 2025-1240): 4928.47 authorises construction only, not own/operate; violates corporate separation (4928.17) and anti-discrimination (4905.35).“The decisions being appealed are the PUCO's Finding and Order (Order) issued on May 28, 2025 and the PUCO's Entry on Rehearing entered in its Journal on July 23, 2025”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- OMAEG reply brief filed in Supreme Court of Ohio Case No. 2025-1240; appeal fully briefed; no decision located as of Oct 18, 2026.“Reply Brief of Appellant Ohio Manufacturers' Association Energy Group”Court filing · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City of Hilliard files its ERAC appeal of the Ohio EPA PTIO (ERAC No. 25-7227).“Filed with the Environmental Review Appeals Commision on 11/7/2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- City of Hilliard withdraws its ERAC appeal of the PTIO; withdrawal stated not to be an endorsement of the project.“The City of Hilliard announced today that it has withdrawn its appeal before the Ohio Environmental Review Appeals Commission (ERAC) challenging the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency's Permit to Install and Operate (PTIO)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
Site and other (3)
- Current target date: Sept. 2027“AEP has indicated that construction for the project will start in January 2026 with the facility projected to be operational by September 2027”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AEP publicly confirms the two deployments (AWS; Cologix) and that the customers cover the full project costs.“AEP Ohio will install onsite fuel cells at facilities operated by Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Cologix”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Approved deployments: 2 Ohio deployments approved by PUCO on May 28, 2025: Amazon Data Services (Case 25-0133-EL-AEC) and Cologix Johnstown (Case 25-0134-EL-AEC)“Case No. 25-0133-EL-AEC, 25-133-EL-AEC -- Amazon; Case No. 25-0134-EL-AEC, 25-134-EL-AEC -- Cologix Johnstown”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C