Power
Power and the grid
Energized, size not disclosed
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative grid Serving co-op (press)the co-op serves Hermiston and builds on-site substations for Amazon's projects in the area (press); no service agreement or MW published News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
- Amazon's Nov. 2025 complaint that PacifiCorp left campuses short of power concerns PacifiCorp territory; Hermiston is co-op territory, and no source ties the complaint to this campus. News report · Nov. 2025
Permits
Permits checklist
1 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
Approvals on record for the campus.
- ✓Standard air contaminant discharge permit GrantedOregon Department of Environmental Quality: synthetic minor; expires June 1, 2029 State agency · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Utility service filing
Risks
What could slow it down
- WatchNo public power recordNo service agreement, regulator docket or load figure exists for the campus, so its size cannot be checked. see Permits
- WatchAir permit renewalThe facility's state air permit, which covers its backup engines, expires in June 2029. see Permits
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- 2017Site Amazon first announces plans for a Hermiston data-center site, on 120 acres next to the local power plant (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- 2022Construction First building completed on the Livestock Road site (directory) Dataset · Oct. 2026
- 2023Construction Remaining buildings completed; directory lists all four as operational Dataset · Oct. 2026
- June 1, 2029Permits State air permit expires State agency · Oct. 2026
The buildings
Specs
- Synthetic minor: class of the facility's standard state air permit State agency · Oct. 2026
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Owner
- Amazon Data Services, Inc.: operator and permit holder
Utility
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative: serves Hermiston (press)
Government
- Oregon Department of Environmental Quality: air permit
- City of Hermiston and Umatilla County: enterprise-zone sponsors
Still unknown
Open questions
- Campus power in MW.
- Utility service terms.
- Whether any Hermiston tax abatement covers this campus.
Where this comes from
53 records from 11 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, local government records, public and commercial datasets and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 7State agency 1Local government 1Dataset 1Company 1
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (11)
- Size status: no live MW on any basis - no mw it, mw utility or mw campus stated figure exists for this campus in Umatilla Electric Cooperative, Oregon DOE, Umatilla County or Oregon DEQ records found through Oct 20, 2026“A total of 105 emergency generators and two (2) fire pumps were permitted at the facility in 2018.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Project identity: Amazon Data Services campus at 28803 NW Livestock Rd, Hermiston OR (hence 'Livestock Campus'); Oregon DEQ air-permit records designate the facility 'AWS Environmental - PDX80'. The Greater Hermiston Ent“Amazon Data Services, Inc., AWS Environmental - PDX80”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Regional (not campus-instrument) context: Amazon-UEC agreement lets Amazon select the energy supply powering its data center operations in UEC territory while UEC provides utility service“The agreement allows Amazon to take on the responsibility of selecting the energy supply that powers its data center operations, including from renewable energy resources.”Company · April 2023 · grade A
- Campus buildings: 4 buildings: one 217,900 sq ft and three 250,000 sq ft each; site built on 117 acres with 9 acres for dedicated electrical substations“Amazon's Hermiston Campus is located at 28803 NW Livestock Rd. The site was built on 117 acres.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Amazon began building in Boardman (Morrow County) around 2011 and expanded into Hermiston (Umatilla County) from around 2017; a 2017-era plan covered a five-building Hermiston data center of ~$2.75B under the state Strat“Amazon plans to build a five-building data center near Hermiston”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Hermiston is served by the Umatilla Electric Cooperative (UEC), a consumer-owned cooperative - not PacifiCorp or PGE. Per AWS county filings reported by DCD, UEC builds the on-site substations for Amazon's developments i“According to the filings, the Umatilla Electric Cooperative will build an on-site substation for the development”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Regional context only: in Morrow County filings for a different AWS development, Umatilla Electric Cooperative will build an on-site substation. No fetched source states a substation size, load or MW for the Livestock/PD“According to the filings, the Umatilla Electric Cooperative will build an on-site substation for the development”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Copia's proposed Charlestown Data Center and Battery Energy Storage System on 106 acres of BLM land in Umatilla County (draft plan filed May 8, 2026) is a separate, non-Amazon project in the same county - not this campus“the California-based energy company Copia, submitted an application to site the Charlestown Data Center and Battery Energy Storage System in Umatilla County on 106 acres of BLM land.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Hermiston is Umatilla Electric Cooperative territory and no fetched source names a Hermiston campus in the complaint“One AWS campus, the complaint states, has "insufficient power," a second has no power at all”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- SIGNAL ONLY - off-site generation, never campus MW: Amazon PPA with Avangrid (Feb 2024) for Oregon wind farm output (Leaning Juniper IIA, said to be 98.4MW from 40 turbines). No source ties this PPA capacity to the Lives“was said to have a capacity of 98.4MW generated by 40 turbines.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Amazon's November 2025 complaint to the Oregon PUC against PacifiCorp (four campuses left with insufficient or no power, contracting refused for two more) concerns PacifiCorp service territory“One AWS campus, the complaint states, has “insufficient power,” a second has no power at all”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (3)
- PDX138 is tracked separately from PDX80/Livestock“This investment officially broke ground in 2023, and received it's first Certificate of Occupancy in July, 2024.”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- application submitted 10/9/2019, approved 4/13/2020; Annual Improvement Payment no less than $2M/yr rising to $4M/yr once the fourth building is occupied; CY2025 payments in lieu of taxes $2,658,314.07 - is a DIFFERENT A“This investment broke ground in 2023, and received it's first Certificate of Occupancy in July, 2024, which is a trigger point for the beginning of the 15 year exemption to begin in 2025.”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- Under the 2022 Greater Hermiston Enterprise Zone abatement framework, Amazon's two new campuses were expected at full build-out to generate around $5 million in payments in lieu of property taxes and about 120 permanent“At full build-out, the two sites will generate around $5 million in payments in lieu of property taxes and generate 120 permanent jobs each.”News report · Sept. 2022 · grade C
Permits and government (12)
- Amazon Data Services, Inc., AWS Environmental: Standard Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (Synthetic Minor SM-80)“Amazon Data Services, Inc., AWS Environmental - PDX80”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Emergency generator fleet: 112 emergency generators“This permit regulates the operations and emissions from one hundred twelve (112)emergency generators and two (2) fire pump engines”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Facility use: Data center housing computer systems and associated components, with diesel-fueled emergency backup generators“The permittee operates a data center which houses computer systems and associated”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Standard Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (Synthetic Minor SM-80): renewal review report - proposed permit“The proposed permit is a renewal of an existing Standard Air Contaminant Discharge”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Standard Air Contaminant Discharge Permit: original permit issued“Permit (ACDP) that was issued on 01/26/2018 and was scheduled to expire on 1/3/2023”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Water Pollution Control Facilities General Permit: issued (as recorded in DEQ air permit review report)“PDX80 has been issued a Water Pollution Control Facilities General Permit 2501”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Notice of intent to construct approval: generator addition approved“Caterpillar 3512 C, rated at 1500 kWe and 2206 hp, NC# 34086, letter of approval issued on 10/14/2022.”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Standard Air Contaminant Discharge Permit: compliance inspection - in compliance“The facility was inspected on 12/30/2020 and found to be in compliance with the permit”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Oregon DEQ permit 30-0054-ST-01 regulates 112 emergency generators and 2 fire pump engines at the PDX80 Livestock campus: 105 generators permitted in 2018 plus 7 more approved since via notices of intent to construct; ra“This permit regulates the operations and emissions from one hundred twelve (112) emergency generators and two (2) fire pump engines”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Oregon DEQ recently fined an Amazon data center in Hermiston for violating its air quality permit by running an emergency diesel generator about 50 hours beyond the permitted limit (Sightline Institute analysis of DEQ da“the Oregon environmental quality department recently fined an Amazon data center in Hermiston for violating its air quality permit by running an emergency diesel generator for 50 hours more than allowed.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- Hermiston City Council:“the Hermiston City Council at its September 26 meeting, approved Amazon Data Services' application for long-term tax abatement to build the new additional campuses within the Greater Hermiston Enterprise Zone.”News report · Sept. 2022 · grade C
- Announced: Aug. 2017“For Amazon's proposed site near Hermiston, Umatilla County held a public hearing in August 2017.”News report · Aug. 2017 · grade C
Site and other (6)
- PDX146 had not broken ground in 2025; Both are separate GHEZ campuses from PDX80/Livestock.“This investment broke ground in 2024 but had not received a Certificate of Occupancy”Local government · Aug. 2026 · grade A
- Project identity: Amazon Data Services, Inc. campus designated 'AWS Environmental - PDX80' at 28803 NW Livestock Rd, Hermiston, OR 97838 (queue name: Amazon Hermiston Livestock Campus)“Amazon Data Services, Inc. (ADS), PDX80 campus, located at 28803 NW Livestock”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- County code: 41059“Amazon Data Services, Inc. (ADS), PDX80 campus, located at 28803 NW Livestock”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Generator nameplate ceiling: 266475 kWe“One hundred four (104) diesel-fired emergency generator engine sets, CAT 3516C HD, rated at 2500 kWe and 3,634 hp, each (Type B)”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Project status: operating“The campus consists of four buildings: one measuring 217,900 sq ft, and three measuring 250,000 sq ft each.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Project status: operating four buildings first built 2022“The campus consists of four buildings: one measuring 217,900 sq ft, and three measuring 250,000 sq ft each.”Dataset · Dec. 2023 · grade B