Power
Power and the grid
Contracted, size not disclosed
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- PECO grid (PJM) ContractedFERC-approved transmission service agreement covers how Amazon pays for upgrades; no MW published News report · Nov. 2025
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Sept. 23, 2025Transmission agreement filedPECO asks FERC to approve an agreement setting out how Amazon will pay for any grid upgrades. News report · Sept. 2025
- Oct. 15, 2025Market monitor objectsPJM's independent market monitor urges FERC to reject the agreement, citing capacity and ratepayer impacts. News report · Oct. 2025
- Nov. 2025FERC approvesFERC approves the PECO-Amazon transmission service agreement, holding the capacity questions outside the case. see Permits
- July 14, 2026PECO at the town hallPECO tells residents its present grid can deliver power to the data center without raising rates (press). News report · July 2026
- The 1,338 MW Fairless gas plant nearby is a separate facility; its output is not this campus's generation. Dataset · Oct. 2026
- No MW figure has been published on any basis; a circulating 300 MW tracker figure has no named source. Local government · Oct. 2026
Permits
Permits checklist
1 pending · 4 granted
Approvals on record.
- ◷Phase 2 air plan approval (280 gas + 3 diesel engines) PendingPennsylvania DEP · April 2026: applied April 2026; comments closed Aug. 16, 2026 State agency · April 2026
- ✓Preliminary and final land development plans GrantedFalls Township Board of Supervisors · March 24, 2025: press accounts differ on the tally (3-2 or unanimous) News report · March 2025
- ✓Air plan approval 09-0261 (76 diesel backup engines) GrantedPennsylvania DEP · July 2025: backup only State agency · July 2025
- ✓Transmission service agreement (PECO-Amazon) GrantedFERC · Nov. 2025: approved over the market monitor's objection News report · Nov. 2025
- ✓Keystone Opportunity Innovation Zone and PILOT GrantedFalls Township · March 16, 2021: 15-year exemption through 2035; PILOT at 110% of taxes owed Local government · March 2021
Risks
What could slow it down
- MediumPhase 2 engine permitThe application for 280 gas-fired backup engines is still before the state, amid a 4,000-signature petition. Local government · July 2026
- MediumWater drawPeak use of about 4.4 million gallons a day from the Delaware River has drawn questions (reported, not checked against the permit). News report · July 2026
- WatchRatepayer challengePJM's market monitor argued the load's interconnection was not just and reasonable; FERC approved the agreement anyway. News report · Oct. 2025
Money
Money on record
$1.5B
NorthPoint's transformation of the whole Keystone Trade Center
not an Amazon figure Local government · March 2021
110%
of taxes owed under the PILOT
with a 15-year zone exemption through 2035 Local government · March 2021
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- Dec. 29, 2020Site U.S. Steel sells its former Fairless Works to a NorthPoint affiliate News report · Dec. 2020
- March 24, 2025Permits Supervisors approve land development plans, now for ten data-center buildings News report · March 2025
- June 9, 2025Site Amazon announces its data center at the Keystone Trade Center Local government · June 2025
- July 2025Permits State issues an air approval for 76 diesel backup engines State agency · July 2025
- Nov. 2025Power FERC approves PECO's transmission service agreement with Amazon News report · Nov. 2025
- April 2026Permits Amazon applies to add 280 gas-fired and 3 diesel backup engines State agency · April 2026
- July 14, 2026Site Hundreds attend a town hall; a petition against the project passes 4,000 signatures Local government · July 2026
- July 15, 2026Construction Construction nearly complete on ten buildings totaling 2M sq ft (press) News report · July 2026
- Aug. 21, 2026Permits State register shows the campus's environmental review complete (press) News report · Aug. 2026
The buildings
Specs
Other data centers within 40 km (2)
This campus (footprint)12 ac
Iron Mountain4 ac
Iron Mountain1 ac
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Owners
- Amazon Data Services, Inc.: owner and operator
- NorthPoint Development (NP Falls Township Industrial LLC): site redeveloper
- United States Steel: former owner
Decision-makers
- Falls Township Board of Supervisors
- Pennsylvania DEP: air permits
- FERC: transmission agreement
Power partners
- PECO Energy (Exelon): delivery utility
- Morrisville Municipal Authority: water and wastewater
Opponents
- Falls Township, PA Data Center Resistance (Amanda Westerman's petition)
- Monitoring Analytics, PJM market monitor (objected at FERC)
Still unknown
Open questions
- Campus MW on any stated basis.
- Phase 2 engine permit decision.
- Completion and energization dates.
Where this comes from
49 records from 18 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, state agency records and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 13Local government 3State agency 1Dataset 1
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (13)
- County code: 42017“Amazon is constructing a data center at 600 Ben Fairless Drive, Falls Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania.”State agency · July 2025 · grade A
- Developer: NorthPoint Development (site developer); Amazon Data Services Inc. (AWS campus owner/operator and PA DEP permittee)“In July 2025, DEP issued Air Quality Plan Approval 09-0261 to Amazon Data Services Inc. (ADS)”State agency · July 2025 · grade A
- The Fairless Combined Cycle Power Station (1,338 MW) is a SEPARATE gas plant in the same former Fairless Works area - its MW is not this campus's generation and is never attributed to it“Fairless Combined Cycle Power Station is a 1,338MW gas fired power project.”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Project status: under construction“Hundreds of community members turned out to Tuesday's town hall meeting to hear how their electricity rates, water consumption and air quality could be impacted by the Amazon data center under construction at the Keystone Trade Center.”Local government · July 2026 · grade B
- Peak-day water use expected at 4.4 million gallons per day (hottest days), 40 percent returned via the industrial wastewater plant; outside-air cooling about 94 percent of the year. Morrisville Municipal Authority indust“Amazon is expected to use 4.4 million gallons of water per day, with 40 percent of the water expected to be returned through the industrial wastewater treatment plant”Local government · July 2026 · grade B
- B6 opposition: petition opposing the data center begun by Falls resident Amanda Westerman passed 4,000 signatures by Jul 13, 2026; speakers at the Jul 14 town hall raised rates, water, air quality and noise and some call“Falls resident Amanda Westerman, who began the petition opposing the data center, announced that more than 4,000 people have signed it.”Local government · July 2026 · grade B
- Executive Order May 2026 (signed Aug 18, 2026) re-sequenced PA data center permitting: DEP now holds permits until municipal approvals are documented, with a 25 MW peak-demand threshold and a consent-order fast lane tied“The threshold is peak demand above 25 megawatts.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Delivery utility: PECO (distribution; generation is supplied through the PJM wholesale market); PECO presented at the Jul 14, 2026 township town hall alongside Amazon, NorthPoint, Williams and DEP, and assured residents“PECO assured Falls residents that its present grid can handle power delivery to Amazon's data center without needing to increase its rates.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Cooling water: Morrisville Municipal Authority service from the Delaware River; Amazon has requested a maximum peak daily withdrawal of 4.4 million gallons per day. The service-water system is isolated from the potable s“Amazon has requested a maximum peak daily withdraw of 4.4 million gallons of water per day from the Delaware River”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Project status: Construction nearly complete (July 2026 reporting): 10 buildings totalling 2 million sq ft; Phase 2 air plan approval applied for April 2026“Construction is nearly complete at the 10 buildings totaling 2 million square feet across the Falls Township campus.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Utility: PECO (named as the utility participant in the July 2026 town hall on the campus); no campus MW is stated by any source“A few hundred people attended the evening gathering at Pennsbury High School East”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- B7 power: PECO-Amazon transmission service agreement approved by FERC; PJM market monitor (Monitoring Analytics) had urged rejection, arguing capacity/ratepayer impacts were undemonstrated - FERC held those issues outsid“Despite the protections included in the [transmission service agreement], it is not just and reasonable to allow the interconnection of this large new data center load”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Project identity: AWS Falls Township Campus at the Keystone Trade Center (former U.S. Steel Fairless Works), 600/700 S. Port Road / 1 Ben Fairless Drive, Falls Township, Bucks County, PA; redeveloped by NorthPoint Develo“This has now been revised to ten single- or two-story data center buildings ranging from 112,000 sq ft to 217,000 sq ft (10,405 sqm to 20,160 sqm) for a digital infrastructure campus.”News report · March 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (7)
- keystone opportunity innovation zone: tax exemption 15 years“which exempts NorthPoint Development from taxes for a 15-year period through Dec. 31, 2035.”Local government · March 2021 · grade A
- payment in lieu of taxes: pilot rate 110 percent of taxes owed“the Falls Supervisors approved a payment in lieu of tax agreement requiring the developer to pay 110 percent of taxes owed.”Local government · March 2021 · grade A
- Falls-specific investment: more than $827 million invested by Amazon on the Falls site to date (Jul 2026), campus to reach 3 million sq ft when complete. The $20 billion figure is Amazon's multi-campus Pennsylvania commi“Amazon has invested more than $827 million on the Falls Township site, which will be 3 million square feet once complete.”Local government · July 2026 · grade B
- Approved digital infrastructure campus: 10 structures of 112,000 to 217,000 sq ft (one or two stories) on the 247-acre parcel, plus Building 6 converted to a data center; NorthPoint's overall Keystone plan is 20+ buildin“The four different distribution centers that had been eyed for the 247-acre parcel have shifted to 10 different structures ranging from 112,000 square feet to 217,000 square feet”Local government · June 2025 · grade B
- Investment announced: 800000000 USD“Amazon said it will sink more than $800 million into the data center campus.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Investment to date: 827000000 USD“Amazon said it had already invested more than $827 million in the Falls Township campus”News report · 2026 · grade C
- Amazon's 'at least $20 billion in Pennsylvania' (June 9, 2025 release) is a STATEWIDE portfolio figure initially focused on the Bucks and Luzerne campuses, and the widely quoted 1,250 jobs figure is likewise statewide (F“Amazon plans to invest at least $20 billion in Pennsylvania, initially focused on two data centers in Bucks and Luzerne counties, according to a June 9 news release from the company.”News report · June 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (7)
- Month precision for the submission (April 2026 per DEP). The application does no: Plan approval application SUBMITTED April 2026 and under DEP review - 280 critical natural gas-fired generator engines + 3 diesel-fired em“These generator engines will only provide backup electricity to the data center in the event of a main utility power supply interruption”State agency · April 2026 · grade A
- Application for 280 critical natural gas-fired generator engines and 3 diesel-fi: Air Quality Plan Approval application SUBMITTED (Phase 2)“In April 2026, ADS submitted to DEP a plan approval application for the installation of two hundred eighty (280)critical natural gas-fired generator engines and three (3) diesel-fired emergency generator engines.”State agency · April 2026 · grade A
- Month precision (DEP fact sheet gives July 2025). Facility at 600 Ben Fairless D: Air Quality Plan Approval ISSUED, July 2025 - 72 critical emergency diesel-fired generator engines + 4 house emergency diesel-fired genera“In July 2025, DEP issued Air Quality Plan Approval 09-0261 to Amazon Data Services Inc. (ADS) for the installation of seventy-two (72) critical emergency diesel-fired generator engines”State agency · July 2025 · grade A
- Installation of 72 critical emergency diesel-fired generator engines and 4 house: Air Quality Plan Approval ISSUED“In July 2025, DEP issued Air Quality Plan Approval 09-0261 to Amazon Data Services Inc. (ADS) for the installation of seventy-two (72) critical emergency diesel-fired generator engines and four (4) house emergency diesel-fired generator engines.”State agency · July 2025 · grade A
- Permit reporting cites a maximum peak daily withdrawal of about 4.4 million gallons per day from the Delaware River, returned at ambient temperature - reported figure, not verified against the DEP permit in this pass“Reporting on the permits puts the maximum peak daily withdrawal at about 4.4 million gallons from the Delaware River, with the water returned at ambient temperature.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Falls Township Board of Supervisors:“The Board of Supervisors has declared part of the township's zoning ordinance "substantially invalid," clearing the way for a six-month overhaul.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Falls Township Board of Supervisors:“three of the five Falls Township supervisors - Chairman Jeff Dence (D), Brian Galloway (D), and John Palmer (D) - voted in favor of land use changes”News report · March 2025 · grade C
Legal (1)
- Organised opposition ('Falls Township, PA Data Center Resistance' Facebook group; petition over 2,000 signatures, ~3,800-4,000 by 2026 reporting); supervisors also approved an NDA for the project earlier. NO Falls land-u“Amanda Westerman started a Facebook group called Falls Township, PA Data Center Resistance and circulated an online petition against the data center with more than 2,000 signatures.”News report · 2025 · grade C
Site and other (1)
- Site under active construction for the next two to three years from Jul 2026; no COD published. The 1,250-job figure in the Jun 2025 announcement covers Amazon's Pennsylvania campuses together, not Falls alone.“The site will be under active construction for the next two to three years.”Local government · July 2026 · grade B