Power and the grid
169 MW energized
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Aug. 21, 2024First building poweredGeorgia Power service begins as the first building opens with 27 MW. Company · Aug. 2024
- Jan. 2025State rule on large customersGeorgia's utility commission adds minimum billing and longer terms for new large loads; this campus's service predates the rule. Utility regulator · Sept. 2026
- Not setNo contract on recordThe electric service contract is filed with the state but not published. Company · Aug. 2024
- Georgia Power also has a 9,985 MW generation build certified by the state, about 80% for data centers. That is system context, not this campus. Utility regulator · Sept. 2026
Permits checklist
1 draft · 1 pending · 2 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
What we found for this campus. Permits for the first two buildings are not in our sources.
- ◷Air permit amendment (emergency-only engines) DraftGeorgia Environmental Protection Division · April 23, 2025: draft; removes the 500-hour non-emergency allowance State agency · Oct. 2026
- ◷Third-building fit-out permit PendingCity of Atlanta · Oct. 2025: $217M application filed (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Air permit (backup engines) GrantedGeorgia Environmental Protection Division · March 7, 2024: 75 power blocks, 414 engines; not a major source State agency · Oct. 2026
- ✓Third-building shell permit GrantedCity of Atlanta · March 2025: $50M shell, 218,000 sq ft (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Rezoning or council vote
What could slow it down
- MediumOwner may changeKoch Real Estate is running a sale of Edged, reported at about $15B, with no deal yet (press). News report · Sept. 2026
- WatchTenants unknownThe customers and lease terms are not public, so the leased claim rests on the company's word. News report · Oct. 2025
- WatchPower contract privateNo service agreement, minimum bill or exit terms are public. Company · Aug. 2024
- WatchBackup engine rulesThe engine permit's amendment is still a draft; as first issued it allowed 500 hours a year of non-emergency running. see Permits
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- 2023Site Endeavour buys 55 acres of Tilford Yard for more than $94M (press) News report · Oct. 2025
- Jan. 2023Site Plans for the campus first surface (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- March 7, 2024Permits Georgia issues the air permit for 414 backup engines State agency · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 21, 2024Power The first building opens with 27 MW, Edged's first in North America Company · Aug. 2024
- Jan. 13, 2025Power PowerSecure announces its backup power systems at the campus Company · Jan. 2025
- April 23, 2025Permits Georgia posts a draft amendment limiting the engines to emergency use State agency · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 2025Money Two completed buildings, 127 MW combined, reported fully leased (press) News report · Oct. 2025
- April 2026Money Edged prices $1.3B of notes for Atlanta and Chicago (press) News report · May 2026
- Sept. 2026Money Koch's sale process for Edged draws bids, with Bain Capital among them (press) News report · Sept. 2026
- Oct. 2026Site The third building, 42 MW, tops out News report · Oct. 2026
- 2027Site Third building expected to run, early 2027 (press) News report · Oct. 2026
Since July 2025: 1 FAA filing (July 2025): a 200 ft crane. FAA · July 2025
Specs
- Waterless cooling: air-cooled chillers, design PUE 1.15 Company · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Edged (Endeavour company): developer and operator
- Koch Real Estate Investments: owner via Edged US, running a sale process (press)
- Georgia Power: 115 kV service
- PowerSecure: backup power blocks
- Georgia EPD: air permit
- City of Atlanta: building permits
- Develop Fulton: economic development partner
- Brasfield & Gorrie: general contractor, third building (press)
- Morgan Stanley: lead bookrunner on the notes (press)
Open questions
- Tenant names and lease terms.
- Georgia Power contract and any cost-sharing terms.
- Final air permit amendment.
123 records from 16 documents
Drawn from company statements, news reports, state agency records, local government records and utility regulator dockets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (26)
- On-site generation: not stated“including the construction and operation of 75 diesel engine sets, called PowerBlocks. The facility is comprised of 18 four-engine PowerBlocks and 57 six engine PowerBlocks”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Power plan: grid“is hereby amended as follows: The redesignation of the engines as exclusively emergency generators”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Backup generator engines: 414 engines“The Permittee shall not operate each engine (Source Codes: E1 through E414) in excess of 500 hours of non-emergency operation during any consecutive twelve-month period”State agency · April 2025 · grade A
- Name: Edged Atlanta (ATL01)“Edged Atlanta brings 169 MW of critical data center capacity in a 80+ acre campus near Downtown Atlanta”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site acres: 80 acres“Edged Atlanta brings 169 MW of critical data center capacity in a 80+ acre campus near Downtown Atlanta”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Buildings count: 3 buildings“The Edged Atlanta campus provides 169 MW of critical capacity across three data centers”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 169 MW“The Edged Atlanta campus provides 169 MW of critical capacity across three data centers”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 42 MW“Dedicated Substation: ATL01-1 27 MW; ATL01-2 100 MW; ATL01-3 42 MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 169 MW“Edged Atlanta brings 169 MW of critical data center capacity in a 80+ acre campus near Downtown Atlanta”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“Utility Provider: Georgia Power; Utility Voltage: 115 kV to 25 kV”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Cooling: ThermalWorks waterless cooling (glycol heat transfer, air-cooled chillers); WUE 0.00 L/kWh“Water Usage Effectiveness (WUE) 0.00 liters/kWh of cooling”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“the opening of the first of three data centers located on the 168 MW high-tech campus”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Georgia Power“Utility Provider: Georgia Power”Company · April 2025 · grade B
- Utility service voltage: 115 kV“Utility Voltage: 115 kV to 25 kV”Company · April 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 100 MW“The Edged Atlanta Campus, designed as a 168 MW critical IT campus, includes the recently completed 27 MW data center, a second 100 MW facility currently under construction and a third 41 MW facility”Company · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- PowerSecure alliance (six-year) announced around the Atlanta opening: PowerBlock backup generation, microgrid connectivity and a self-healing 24.9 kV distribution system on campus.“This collaboration, part of a six-year alliance, marks a milestone with the opening of Edged Energy's first North American data center in Atlanta”Company · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- IT capacity: 168 MW“AI-ready campus delivers 168 MW of critical capacity, waterless cooling and ultra-efficient operations to the thriving high-tech market”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Utility: Georgia Power“The event was attended by City of Atlanta and Fulton County officials, local utility provider Georgia Power and key project partners.”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- IT capacity: 27 MW“The first building on the Atlanta campus is now online, delivering 27 MW of capacity to the region”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- ATL01-1 grand opening - Edged's first North American data center; 27 MW online; first of three buildings on the campus.“marked a significant milestone yesterday with the grand opening of its first North American data center”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- IT capacity: 169 MW“All three data centers on the 169MW campus are fully leased.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 80 acres“Set on Edged’s 80-acre campus, the facility is set to offer 42MW.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- ATL01-3 topped out in October 2026: a 42 MW single-story building at 1740 Thomas Street NW with waterless cooling, expected operational in early 2027“Data center firm Edged has topped out a new data center in Atlanta, Georgia.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: operating - partial campus (127 MW of 169 MW in service); final building topped out and in fit-out“Edged's two completed Tilford Yard facilities, encompassing 127 megawatts of power, are fully leased”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- ATL01-3 (42 MW, 1740 Thomas Street NW) tops out; expected operational early 2027; company states all three campus buildings are fully leased.“The Endeavour-owned company last week announced it has topped out its latest data center in Atlanta, ATL01-3”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- The two completed buildings (127 MW combined) are reported fully leased; tenants are not identified.“Edged's two completed Tilford Yard facilities, encompassing 127 megawatts of power, are fully leased”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (30)
- Electric service: regulatory framework GA PSC rule (Jan 2025) allows minimum billing and longer contract terms for new Georgia Power large-load customers and requires Georgia Power to file all new data-center contracts w“Georgia Power also must provide the PSC all new contracts with data centers at least 30 days before execution”Utility regulator · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Electric service: termination (absent - finding) FINDING: no electric service agreement, tariff election, minimum-billing term or exit/termination clause for this campus is public; Georgia Power service contracts are fil“The rule allows for minimum billing requirements and longer contract terms for new large-load customers”Utility regulator · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Electric service: scope“Utility Provider: Georgia Power; Utility Voltage: 115 kV to 25 kV”Company · April 2025 · grade B
- PowerSecure alliance: scope“announced its collaboration with Edged Energy to supply critical electrical and mechanical systems for its highly differentiated data center platform”Company · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- PowerSecure alliance: term six-year alliance“This collaboration, part of a six-year alliance, marks a milestone with the opening of Edged Energy's first North American data center in Atlanta”Company · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- PowerSecure alliance: scope - onsite backup generation“Key features of the Edged Atlanta Campus include PowerSecure PowerBlocks with EPA certified Tier 4 Final ultra-low emissions onsite backup generation”Company · Jan. 2025 · grade B
- Stated capital cost: 1690000000 USD“The project sets a new standard for sustainable development and represents a $1.69B economic investment in the region”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- economic development partnership: projected tax revenue over ten years 70 USD million (nearly)“which will generate nearly $70 million in tax revenue over ten years”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Economic Development Opportunity partnership: scope 70000000 USD projected tax revenue over 10 years“Develop Fulton acknowledges the direct benefits of this Economic Development Opportunity, which will generate nearly $70 million in tax revenue over ten years”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Economic Development Opportunity partnership: community commitment“we are looking forward to the implementation of an outreach program in Atlanta through the developer's Women in Tech Group”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Economic Development Opportunity partnership: environmental commitment“In addition to the financial benefits, the project guarantees minimal environmental impact through zero water usage for cooling and advanced electrical systems”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Economic Development Opportunity partnership: clawback / termination (absent - finding) FINDING: no executed EDO agreement text, bond inducement, abatement schedule or clawback/recapture clause for this campus is public;“Develop Fulton acknowledges the direct benefits of this Economic Development Opportunity, which will generate nearly $70 million in tax revenue over ten years”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Develop Fulton Economic Development Opportunity partnership announced at the opening: nearly $70M projected tax revenue over ten years and a Women in Tech outreach program commitment.“Develop Fulton acknowledges the direct benefits of this Economic Development Opportunity, which will generate nearly $70 million in tax revenue over ten years”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- taxable lease purchase revenue bonds (bond resolution): combined aggregate principal not to exceed 1690000000 USD“ISSUANCE OF FOUR SERIES OF DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF FULTON COUNTY TAXABLE LEASE PURCHASE REVENUE BONDS, IN THE COMBINED AGGREGATE PRINCIPAL AMOUNT NOT TO EXCEED $1,690,000,000”Local government · Dec. 2023 · grade B
- lease agreement (Building One): Building One Bonds - aggregate principal not to exceed 238000000 USD“in the aggregate principal amount not to exceed $238,000,000”Local government · Dec. 2023 · grade B
- All three data centers on the campus are fully leased, per DCD's October 2026 top-out report; no tenant is named in any source checked“All three data centers on the 169MW campus are fully leased.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenants: not stated“Endeavour spokesperson Jennifer Hayes declined to identify the tenant or tenants of the new space due to confidentiality and cybersecurity reasons”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Build-to-suit leases (Atlanta campus): term / termination (absent - finding) FINDING: the Atlanta leases are described only as long-term; no term length, rent, escalator, minimum-billing or termination/cancellation claus“All three data centers on the 169MW campus are fully leased”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: all three buildings reported fully leased; tenant identities undisclosed“All three data centers on the 169MW campus are fully leased”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tenant lease: capacity not named MW (169 MW campus, all three buildings fully leased)“All three data centers on the 169MW campus are fully leased.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Bloomberg reports Koch Real Estate Investments is soliciting bids for Edged that could value the company at around $15 billion, with Bain Capital among the bidders and Goldman Sachs and Newmark advising; no agreement has“Koch Real Estate Investments has been soliciting bids for Edged that could value the company at around $15 billion”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Senior Secured Notes offering: scope 1300000000 USD“The offering supports the development of two large-scale build-to-suit data centers at the Edged campuses in Atlanta and Chicago under long-term leases”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Senior Secured Notes offering: use of proceeds (per-campus allocation absent - finding) FINDING: the $1.3B is a single joint Atlanta + Chicago offering; no per-campus allocation of proceeds is disclosed in any public doc“the first bond offering of its kind to support the simultaneous development of multiple sites serving different customers”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Senior Secured Notes offering: termination (absent - finding) FINDING: no maturity, coupon, redemption or termination terms for the notes are public; Edged US is a private issuer and no indenture or offering memorandum i“The financing includes the pricing of a $1.3bn Senior Secured Notes offering in April 2026”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Build-to-suit leases (Atlanta campus): scope“two large-scale build-to-suit data centers at the Edged campuses in Atlanta and Chicago under long-term leases”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Edged US announces nearly $2B in cumulative 2026 financing: a $1.3B Senior Secured Notes offering priced in April 2026 (Morgan Stanley, Lead Left Bookrunner) supports build-to-suit development at the Atlanta and Chicago“The offering supports the development of two large-scale build-to-suit data centers at the Edged campuses in Atlanta and Chicago under long-term leases”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Land purchase: 55-acre portion of Tilford Yard purchased 2023 from TPA Group for more than $94M“Endeavour purchased a 55-acre portion of the 300-acre Tilford Yard site in 2023 on Atlanta's Westside for more than $94M from TPA Group”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Build-to-suit leases (Atlanta campus): counterparty identity (absent - finding) FINDING: the Atlanta build-to-suit customer is not named in any public document; the company declines to identify tenants, citing confidenti“Endeavour spokesperson Jennifer Hayes declined to identify the tenant or tenants of the new space due to confidentiality and cybersecurity reasons”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Endeavour purchases a 55-acre portion of the 300-acre Tilford Yard from TPA Group for more than $94M.“Endeavour purchased a 55-acre portion of the 300-acre Tilford Yard site in 2023 on Atlanta's Westside for more than $94M from TPA Group”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Edged bought 158 acres of Tilford Yard in Fulton County from CSX Corp for $40 million in July 2021; over 70 of those acres were dedicated to the data center development“The company bought 158 acres of Tilford Yard in Fulton County for $40 million in July 2021 from freight company CSX Corp.”News report · July 2021 · grade C
Permits and government (10)
- Air quality permit (synthetic minor): issued“Permit No. 7374-121-0972-S-01-0 issued on March 7, 2024 to: Facility Name: Edged Energy Atlanta Data Center”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Air quality permit amendment: draft amendment noticed (Application No. 29729)“is hereby amended as follows: The redesignation of the engines as exclusively emergency generators”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- GA EPD draft amendment (Application 29729) redesignates all 414 PowerBlock diesel engines as exclusively emergency generators, deleting the original 500-hour-per-year non-emergency operation allowance.“is hereby amended as follows: The redesignation of the engines as exclusively emergency generators”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- FAA OE/AAA: Determined - No Hazard“Construction activities will require the use of a mobile crane with 180' of Jib for a period of 6 months or less.”FAA · July 2025 · grade A
- GA PSC approves a new Georgia Power large-load rule: minimum billing requirements and longer contract terms for new customers, and Georgia Power must provide the PSC all new data-center contracts at least 30 days before“the Commission approved a new rule for Georgia Power. The rule allows for minimum billing requirements and longer contract terms for new large-load customers”Utility regulator · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- GA PSC certifies 9,985 MW of new Georgia Power generation, approximately 80 percent of which is expected to power data centers - portfolio context for this campus's grid supply; not a campus figure.“the Commissioners voted to approve an agreement between the PSC's Public Interest Advocacy Staff and Georgia Power that certifies the construction of 9,985 MW of new energy generation”Utility regulator · Sept. 2026 · grade B
- Building permit: approved“received the green light from the city in March to develop the $50M shell of the warehouse facility”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Building permit application: filed“Now, the developer is seeking to spend an additional $217M to build out the interior”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Campus plans first surface in January 2023 (building-permit activity for the first, two-story building followed).“Plans for Edged's Atlanta campus first surfaced in January 2023”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- building permit: filed (January 2023) for a 210,000 sq ft two-story data center at Tilford Yard“when a building permit was filed to develop a 210,000-square-foot (19,500 sqm) two-story data center at Tilford Yard”News report · Jan. 2023 · grade C
Site and other (13)
- County code: Fulton County, GA (13121)“Facility Address: 1968 Marietta Road NW Atlanta, Georgia 30318 Fulton County”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Design pue: 1.15 PUE“Edged is designed to deliver industry-leading average 1.15 portfolio-wide design PUE, consuming zero water for cooling”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site address: 1800 Thomas Street NW, Atlanta, GA (former Tilford Yard)“The state-of-the-art facility is strategically located at 1800 Thomas Street NW in Atlanta, the site of the formerly vacant and unused Tilford Yard.”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Developer: Edged Energy (an Endeavour company; now branded Edged)“Edged is a subsidiary of Endeavour with nearly a dozen new data centers operating or under construction across Europe and North America”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Address: 1800 Thomas Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30318“The state-of-the-art facility is strategically located at 1800 Thomas Street NW in Atlanta, the site of the formerly vacant and unused Tilford Yard”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- Former site use: Tilford Yard (former CSX rail yard; vacant brownfield)“the site of the formerly vacant and unused Tilford Yard”Company · Aug. 2024 · grade B
- County code: 13121“to be located in what is commonly referred to as the “Tilford Yards” development area at 1968 Marietta Road NW, in Atlanta, Fulton County, Georgia”Local government · Dec. 2023 · grade B
- Project status: operating - ATL01-1 opened Aug 21, 2024 and ATL01-2 operating (both fully leased); ATL01-3 topped out, expected operational early 2027“Located at 1740 Thomas Street NW, the single-story building is expected to be operational in early 2027.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Developer: Edged (formerly Edged Energy), part of Endeavour“Edged (formerly Edged Energy) is part of Endeavour, which was set up by Aligned founder Jakob Carnemark.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: operating (ATL01-1 and ATL01-2) with ATL01-3 under construction“The Endeavour-owned company last week announced it has topped out its latest data center in Atlanta, ATL01-3”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: early 2027“Located at 1740 Thomas Street NW, the single-story building is expected to be operational in early 2027”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First announced: Jan. 2023“Plans for Edged's Atlanta campus first surfaced in January 2023”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction begins on a two-building campus: the two-story 209K SF ATL01-1 and a 450K SF second building, both waterless-cooled.“It began construction that same year on a two-building data center campus with a two-story, 209K SF building and a 450K SF facility”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C