Power
Power and the grid
Sources on record, size not disclosed
- On-site natural gas plant with battery storage Plannedsize not disclosed; no air permit or state siting case found News report · Nov. 2025
- Griffin Energy Project (solar, gas and battery, Copia Power) Plannedsoutheast of Stanfield; to supply the campus primarily (press); no capacity for the link disclosed News report · Oct. 2025
Permits
Permits checklist
1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a gas-powered campus like this needs, and where each stands.
- ✓Comprehensive plan amendment GrantedPinal County Board of Supervisors · Nov. 19, 2025: unanimous; the planning commission had recommended approval 6-2 and a citizen committee denial News report · Nov. 2025
- –Checked, nothing on file: Rezoning, Air permit for the gas plant, Power plant siting certificate
Risks
What could slow it down
- MediumRezoning still aheadThe land-use change does not allow construction; a site-specific rezoning must still pass. see Permits
- MediumTribal and local oppositionThe neighboring Ak-Chin Indian Community and residents opposed the plan, and a citizen committee recommended denial. News report · Oct. 2025
- MediumGas plant unpermittedNo air permit or state siting case exists for the on-site plant, and its size is undisclosed. see Permits
- WatchEnd user unknownPress reports that the end user and data-center capacity are unknown. News report · Oct. 2025
Money
Money on record
Timeline
What happened, and what is due
SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
- Oct. 16, 2025Permits County planning commission recommends approval 6-2, despite a citizen committee's call to deny News report · Nov. 2025
- Oct. 16, 2025Site The Ak-Chin Indian Community and residents raise cultural, environmental and noise concerns (press) News report · Oct. 2025
- Nov. 19, 2025Permits Board of Supervisors unanimously approves the land-use amendment; rezoning still required News report · Nov. 2025
The buildings
Specs
2,495.2 acres
area in the land-use amendment request; the campus parcel is about 495 acres
Who is involved
Owners, partners and builders
Developer
- W Holdings: applicant, a Tempe farming, land and development company
- Copia Power: named as developer in press; developer of the Griffin Energy Project
- Arizona RR Ranches LLC: landowner
Counsel
- Rose Law Group (Jordan Rose, Court Rich): applicant's agents
Government
- Pinal County Board of Supervisors: approved the amendment
- Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission: recommended approval
Opponents
- Ak-Chin Indian Community and local residents
Still unknown
Open questions
- End user and data-center capacity.
- Size of the on-site gas plant and the Griffin connection.
- When the rezoning is filed.
- 4 unconfirmed county land records near the site: the buyer or location could not be tied to this campus.
Where this comes from
32 records from 5 documents
Drawn from news reports, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
News report 5
Evidence
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (6)
- Applicant of record is Tempe-based W Holdings (county case PZ-PA-015-25; landowner Arizona RR Ranches LLC per pre-compaction research), represented by Court Rich of Rose Law Group; Pinal Post identifies the developer as“Tempe-based W Holdings plans to construct a 500-acre Energy Generation and Technology Campus northeast of White-and-Parker and Teel Roads”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Project identity: Energy Generation and Technology Campus: proposed integrated energy and data center campus on about 495-500 acres in Pinal County, AZ (landowner Arizona RR Ranches LLC; applicant of record W Holdings),“The result is a mixed-use development of industrial uses to include data center facilities, generation, transmission, energy storage (battery)”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Project status: LAND USE AMENDMENT APPROVED: the Board of Supervisors unanimously approved the comprehensive plan amendment (about 495 acres to Employment and General Public Facilities) on November 19, 2025, after the Pl“the proposal involves the development of two energy generation and data center campuses that include natural gas-powered electric generation, solar, BESS, and data centers”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Copia Power's Arizona portfolio figures (450 MW of operating capacity and 1,050 MW under construction, per Pinal Post) are portfolio-wide, NOT this campus's capacity; no MW figure for the campus itself has been stated. T“Copia already has 450 megawatts of operating capacity in Arizona and another 1,050 MW under construction”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Power plan as approved: an on-site natural gas power plant plus battery storage on the campus, and a connection to the Griffin Energy Project southeast of Stanfield (solar, gas and battery), which will help power the cam“That solar, gas, and battery facility will help power the data center campus.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- The campus would house data centers, a natural gas power plant and battery storage, supplied primarily by the Griffin Energy Project southeast of Stanfield; no MW figure is stated for the campus or the plant in any fetch“The project would house data centers, a natural gas power plant, and battery storage, supplied primarily by the Griffin Energy Project southeast of Stanfield, AZ.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (1)
- Developer estimates of $4 billion in construction and $5.5 billion in equipment investment, supporting 1,000+ permanent jobs (applicant-side figures via Pinal Post)“Developer estimates $4 billion in construction and $5.5 billion in equipment investment, supporting 1,000+ permanent jobs”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (5)
- Source record“Pinal County's Board of Supervisors last week unanimously approved a land-use amendment that would pave the way for a data center just south of Maricopa.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Non-major comprehensive plan amendment changing the land use designation on abou: Comprehensive plan amendment approved by the Board of Supervisors“Case: PZ-PA-015-25 | Applicant: W Holdings | Landowner: Arizona RR Ranches LLC”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Planning & Zoning Commission:“The Planning & Zoning Commission voted 6-2 to recommend approval despite the Citizen Advisory Committee's recommendation to deny the proposal”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Board of Supervisors:“The Pinal County Board of Supervisors unanimously approved Comprehensive Plan Amendment PZ-PA-015-25 on Wednesday, November 19”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- County code: 04021“The Planning and Zoning Commission of Pinal County voted on October 16 to recommend for approval an amendment to redesignate an approximately 500-acre land parcel”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (2)
- The county Citizen Advisory Committee recommended denial; the Ak-Chin Indian Community and local residents opposed on cultural, environmental and noise grounds“the county's Citizen Advisory Committee previously recommending denial of the proposal”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- County case PZ-PA-015-25 re-designates 2,495.2 acres from Moderate Low Density Residential to Employment; the campus parcel inside the amendment area is about 495-500 acres“W Holdings serves as the applicant, with Jordan Rose of Rose Law Group acting as the agent, seeking to re-designate 2,495.2 acres from Moderate Low Density Residential to Employment designation.”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C