Permits checklist
2 pending · 1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ◷Rezoning from rural to industrial (PZ-008-26) PendingPinal County Planning and Zoning Commission, then Board of Supervisors · July 16, 2026: commission continued it 9-0 to a date uncertain; no recommendation made, and the board has not voted Local government · July 2026
- ◷Planned area development overlay (PZ-PD-007-26) PendingPinal County Planning and Zoning Commission · July 16, 2026: continued with the rezoning; 21 staff conditions not acted on Local government · July 2026
- ✓Land-use change to Employment (comprehensive plan amendment) GrantedPinal County Board of Supervisors · Nov. 19, 2025: 5-0, no conditions; the earlier planning commission vote was only a recommendation Local government · July 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for generators, Site plan and building permits, Utility load study and service review
Why it stopped, what could revive it
- HighSelf-supply legality unresolvedThe incumbent electric district could not conclude the island plan is legal, and the commission chair asked that its written sign-off precede any board vote. Local government · July 2026
- HighNo gas, permit or financingThere is no emissions permit, no gas capacity or supplier contract, and no verified financing for the $2.8B cost. Local government · July 2026
- MediumUnproven fuel cell scaleThe applicant's own consultant said fuel cell deployments top out at 20 to 25 MW against about 500 MW proposed. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNo customerNo end user is named; the developer says operators commit close to power-on. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumResident opposition and servicesAt the July hearing six residents opposed it and two industry speakers supported it, and no fire or EMS service reaches the site. News report · Oct. 2026
Power and the grid
None energized or contracted yet
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Oct. 16, 2025First power plan: 225 MW through the local utilityThe developer first said about 40% would come from a nearby gas and battery project, delivered through Electrical District No. 3. News report · Oct. 2026
- March 4, 2026Plan changes to full self-supplyRezoning papers describe 400 MW of load served by about 500 MW of on-site generation, with no grid connection initially. Local government · Oct. 2026
- July 15, 2026Utility cannot judge legalityThe electric district tells the commission it cannot conclude whether the self-supply plan is legal. Local government · Oct. 2026
- Not setLoad study, gas contract, air permit: noneThe developer says it will not file a load study until the site is entitled; no gas contract or air permit exists. Local government · July 2026
- 400 MW of backup engines (about 80 MW per building yard) are also modeled; they are backup only and not part of the supply. Local government · March 2026
- The district's whole system peak was 280 MW in Aug. 2025, similar in size to this one campus (context only). News report · Oct. 2026
- A 500 kV line lies about 1 km from the site (map measurement). OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
What is next door
Distances from mapped lines and plants. OpenStreetMap · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: executed agreements of any kind: no development agreement, power, gas or lease contract on record Local government · Oct. 2026
1 recorded land document for the campus company in county records (July 2019); it lists no price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.
- July 2019 Selma & Midway LLC (seller not named) · price not recorded · 1 parcel County deed records · July 2019
What happened, and what is due
- July 19, 2019Money Land purchase by Selma & Midway LLC recorded, no price on the deed; seller not named (1 parcel) County deed records · July 2019
- May 2025Site First neighborhood meeting on the land-use change draws nine people News report · Nov. 2025
- July 17, 2025Permits Planning and Zoning Commission holds a work session on the proposal News report · July 2025
- Oct. 16, 2025Permits Planning and Zoning Commission recommends the land-use change; developer describes 225 MW served through the local utility News report · Oct. 2025
- Nov. 19, 2025Permits Board of Supervisors approves the land-use change 5-0 Local government · July 2026
- March 4, 2026Power Rezoning and development overlay filed, now with full on-site generation and no grid connection Local government · Oct. 2026
- July 16, 2026Permits Commission continues both cases to a date uncertain; the electric district says there is no gas contract, no air permit and no certainty on legality Local government · July 2026
- July 22, 2026Permits Commission chair requests conditions, including electric-district correspondence before any board vote (requested, not adopted) Local government · July 2026
- Aug. 2026Site Press describes the project as on hold after the district's objections News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Air or closed-loop cooling: proposed zoning condition; average water need 14,500 gal/day, peak 35,200 Local government · May 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- LPI Company (LPI Group), Nevada: developer
- Fairview Capital LLC: applicant of record
- Selma & Midway LLC: landowner
- IDM Companies: earlier named developer
- Pinal County Board of Supervisors: final vote on rezoning
- Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission (chair Robert Klob): recommends
- Electrical District No. 3 (manager Brian Yerges): incumbent utility
- Pinal County Air Quality Control District: generator permit
- Withey Morris Baugh: land-use counsel
- Ameresco: applicant's energy consultant
- Bloom Energy, INNIO, Wartsila: candidate equipment makers, no orders
- El Paso Natural Gas: pipeline crossing the site
Open questions
- When or whether the rezoning returns to a hearing.
- Which power design is chosen and whether it is legal.
- Who the end customer is.
- Whether the $2.8B is financed.
- 5 unconfirmed county land records near the site: the buyer or location could not be tied to this campus.
173 records from 14 documents
Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets, local government records and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (35)
- IT capacity: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: the staff report, PAD narrative and SWCA noise report state only whole-building power (80 MW per building); no IT-load figure appears anywhere in the county record opened”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Utility service: not stated“No connection to the power grid is being proposed by the applicant/owner at this time since the power needs for the project will be generated onsite”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Rezoning (PZ-008-26) and PAD overlay (PZ-PD-007-26) applications filed, power plan now 400 MW of building demand served by ~500 MW of on-site self-generation with no grid connection“Rezone and PAD Narrative, Case No. PZ-008-26 & PZ-PD-007-26, 1st Submittal: March 4, 2026”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- ED3 letter reaches the commission the morning of the hearing: ED3 is unable to reach a conclusion on the legality of Project Midway's proposed self-supply. The letter itself is not in the county packet; its key sentence“The responses are unable to reach a conclusion on the legality of Project Midway's proposed self-supply”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- ED3 GM Yerges testifies: no emissions permit, no gas capacity contract, no gas supplier contract, financing unverified, tenant unnamed; up to eight gas projects proposed in ED3 territory could island data centers off the“There are upwards of eight gas projects proposed within ED3 service territory”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Buildings: 5 buildings“included within the complex will be 5 data center buildings and a substation and primary power generation equipment yard”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Stated campus size: 400 MW“Each data center building will be approximately 250,000 square feet, using 80 MW as well as a backup generator yard and office”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Power plan: behind-the-meter on-site self-supply (island mode); no grid connection proposed initially“the proposed development will be powered by onsite generation, which will be served by a El Paso gas line bisecting the property”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Utility electric incumbent: Electrical District No. 3 (ED3)“Brian Yerges, I'm the general manager of ED3”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Interconnection status: none, no interconnection, load impact study not filed; ED3 unable to conclude legality of self-supply“The responses are unable to reach a conclusion on the legality of Project Midway's proposed self-supply”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Gas supply: El Paso Natural Gas line bisecting the property (fuel source); no gas capacity or supplier contract“There's no emissions permit. There's no contract for gas capacity. There's no contract for a gas supplier”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Cooling: air-cooled or closed-loop only (proposed PAD stipulation 18)“Any data center facility developed on the property in question shall only utilize an air-cooled cooling system or closed-loop system for the cooling of information technology equipment”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Applicant of record: Fairview Capital LLC“Alex Hayes of Withey Morris Baugh PLC, agent, on behalf of applicant, Fairview Capital LLC, for the property owner, Selma & Midway LLC”Local government · June 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 500 MW“Normal Operations #1: 500 MW consisting of 112 INNIO Jenbacher J624 natural gas-fired engines (4.5 MW per unit) located in the Substation Area”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 500 MW“Normal Operations #2: 500 MW consisting of 54 Wärtsilä 20V34SG natural gas-fired engines (9.4 MW per unit) located in the Substation Area”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 500 MW“Normal Operations #3: 500 MW consisting of approximately 2,500 Bloom Energy Server ES-5700 modular solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) systems (200 kW per unit)”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- On-site generation: 400 MW“Backup Operations: 400 MW consisting of INNIO Jenbacher J624 natural gas-fired engines located in generator yards associated with each Data Center Building (approximately 80 MW per yard; 18 engines per yard)”Local government · March 2026 · grade A
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 0.94 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: 16.43 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest gas pipeline: 0.51 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Site identity: Approximately 215.8 acres (tax parcel 500-12-001B) at the southwest corner of W Selma Highway and S Midway Road, unincorporated Pinal County southwest of Casa Grande; five buildings; the project plans to g“located at the southwest corner of W Selma Highway and S Midway Road, southwest of the City of Casa Grande”Local government · July 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 400 MW“Project Midway; LPI Group (Fairview Capital); Casa Grande area, Pinal Co.; 216 acres; 5 buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 400 MW“Project Midway; LPI Group (Fairview Capital); Casa Grande area, Pinal Co.; 216 acres; 5 buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Registry status: At-risk, pre-permit project in unincorporated Pinal County SW of Casa Grande (215.8 acres, parcel 500-12-001B, SW corner of W Selma Hwy and S Midway Rd; owner Selma & Midway LLC, applicant Fairview Capit“The project has not applied for air emissions permits”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Original power framing: 225 MW total need supplied through ED3 as pass-through, ~40% from Project Bella (30.82% combustion turbines + 28.19% BESS), 29.41% contracted renewables, 11.57% market purchases; Bella described“About 40% of the power for this project would come from Project Bella from its natural gas generation and battery energy storage”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Scale context: ED3's entire system peak demand set a record of 280 MW in Aug 2025, the size class of a single proposed campus load in its territory (utility-wide figure; context only, not a campus MW)“Electrical District No. 3 (ED3) set a new record for its system demand of 280 megawatts (MW) at 5:13 pm with a temperature of 115 degrees”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Fuel-cell scale risk aired at the hearing: the applicant's own consultant said current fuel cell deployments top out at 20–25 MW against a proposed ~500 MW installation, and the modeled Bloom ES-5700 spec caps operating“The applicant's own consultant said current fuel cell deployments top out at 20-25 megawatts, while the project would use about 500 megawatts”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Press status check: Pinal Post's SRP/power-costs coverage describes Midway as on hold after the ED3 objections; Bisnow (via Phoenix Business Journal) lists Project Midway among delayed Phoenix-area projects after the con“the county's Planning and Zoning Commission voted unanimously to postpone its recommendation on that rezoning”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- No return hearing, approval, site plan or construction located in county packets, agendas or press through Oct 18 2026; the Arizona tracker still lists the rezoning as pending with the hearing postponed“Project Midway | LPI Group (Fairview Capital) | Casa Grande area, Pinal Co. | 216 acres; 5 buildings; 400 MW | Land use approved; rezoning pending”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: At risk CONFIRMED: comprehensive plan amendment approved Nov 19, 2025 (Board of Supervisors 5-0); rezoning (PZ-008-26) and PAD (PZ-PD-007-26) filed Mar 4, 2026; July 16, 2026 P&Z hearing postponed; August“Project Midway, a Casa Grande-area proposal that plans to generate its own power, is on hold after ED3 objections”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: 500 MW“Project Midway would generate all its own electricity on site — roughly 500 megawatts using a mix of solid oxide fuel cells and natural gas engines, with about 400 megawatts of engines as backup”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Electrical District No. 3 (ED3) - the site sits in ED3's service territory, but the current plan is off-grid self-supply (on-site fuel cells + gas engines, no initial grid connection); ED3 told the county it can“a letter that Chairman Robert Klob said arrived the morning of the hearing stating ED3 was unable to reach a conclusion on the legality of Project Midway's proposed self-supply”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Interconnection status: No grid interconnection - off-grid self-supply by design at this stage: the site would not connect to ED3's grid initially, ED3 told Pinal County it cannot conclude the self-supply arrangement is“By the time the first building is powered, it would be powered on site by the generation on site. It won’t be connected to the grid.”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- On-site generation: 500 MW“Project Midway would generate all its own electricity on site — roughly 500 megawatts using a mix of solid oxide fuel cells and natural gas engines, with about 400 megawatts of engines as backup”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- At the October 2025 hearing the applicant's agent said the developer was negotiating with a 'pool of potential users' - no tenant or end user has been publicly named for Project Midway through Oct 2026, a material risk m“No end user has been named: at the October 2025 hearing, Hayes said the developer was negotiating with a "pool of potential users"”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (28)
- Tenants: not stated“Who is the customer, the ultimate customer? Whose data center is this?”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- electric service agreement: missing-clause finding, no agreement exists“we cannot say whether this is structured legally or not. We would like our legal counsel to engage with their legal counsel”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- fire services agreement: missing-clause finding, no executed agreement or funding commitment“LPI is coordinating with Pinal County Fire and Medical Authority to support fire service for the Property and the surrounding area”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- development agreement: missing-clause finding, no development agreement; no termination or cancellation clause exists in any filed document“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no executed agreement of any kind (development agreement, ESA, PPA, lease) appears in the county packet, hearing transcript or press record opened”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Financing unverified: ED3's GM asked on the record whether the $2.8 billion in financing is available; no lender, capital stack or funding commitment appears in any document opened“Is the $2.8 billion in financing available? I highly doubt it's gonna be built anytime soon”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): condition precedent, utility correspondence“Prior to Planning & Zoning Commission consideration, the applicant shall provide written correspondence from Electrical District No. 3 acknowledging review of the proposed electrical infrastructure”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): termination / denial remedy“Failure to provide such documentation prior to Board consideration shall constitute grounds for denial”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): operating covenant, utility power cap 5 % of total annual electrical consumption“Annual electrical consumption from the local utility provider (Electrical District No. 3) shall not exceed 5 percent (5%) of the Data Center facility's total annual electrical consumption”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): compliance reporting“An independent third-party engineering firm shall prepare an annual electrical compliance report”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): remedies, revocation / cessation“order cessation of data center operations until full compliance has been verified by the County”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): cost allocation“No costs associated with construction, operation, maintenance, upgrades, emergency response, transmission improvements, or replacement of electrical infrastructure required to serve the project shall be borne by existing ED3 ratepayers or Pinal County taxpayers”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- requested stipulations (P&Z Chairman): condition, fuel cell validation“Provide documentation for a minimum of three (3) operating facilities within the United States utilizing substantially similar fuel-cell technology at comparable scale”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Square feet: 1250000 sq ft“The total square footage of the data center campus will be 1,250,000 square feet across the 5 buildings”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Building height proposed ft: 60 ft“The maximum building height shall be modified from 50 feet to 60 feet”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Capital cost stated: 2800000000 USD“it's a very significant capital investment in this area, totaling $2.8 billion”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- County tax revenue 20yr: 60000000 USD“Overall revenue to the County is $60 million over a 20-year study period”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): condition, permits“Approval of this zone change (PZ-008-26) shall require, at the time of application for development, that the applicant/owner submit and secure from the applicable and appropriate Federal, State, County and Local regulatory agencies, all required applications, plans, permits”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): condition, air quality permit“An air quality industrial permit will be required for the generators that are proposed”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): condition, cooling technology“Any data center facility developed on the property in question shall only utilize an air-cooled cooling system or closed-loop system for the cooling of information technology equipment”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): performance standard, noise 60 dBA day / 55 dBA night“the project maintains a noise level of 60 dba during the hours of 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and 55 dba during the hours from 8:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): condition, generation setback and screening 250 ft setback; 12 ft masonry wall“Primary power generation equipment shall be setback a minimum of 250 feet from a property line adjacent to a Rural or Residential zoning district”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): scope, permitted and prohibited uses“Permitted uses shall include all uses permitted in the I-3 district as outlined Section 2.340 of the County's Development Services Code, except the following uses shall be prohibited”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- zoning stipulations (proposed): development standard, height and parking 60 ft max height; 1 space per 6,000 sq ft“The maximum building height shall be modified from 50 feet to 60 feet”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- gas supply / capacity contract: missing-clause finding, no contract exists“There's no emissions permit. There's no contract for gas capacity. There's no contract for a gas supplier”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- interconnection / load impact study: condition, study deferred by applicant until after entitlement“we didn't intend to file a load impact study and go through the load impact study application process until the site was entitled, because that's a significant investment”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD“Recorded: July 19, 2019 · Grantee: SELMA & MIDWAY LLC · Parcel number: 500-12-001B · City: CASA GRANDE”County deed records · July 2019 · grade B
- Tenant status: no tenant announced; speculative entitlement“No end user has been publicly named”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Tenant status: no end user named - at the October 2025 hearing the developer was negotiating with a "pool of potential users"; applicant's counsel says operators do not buy until close to power-on“No end user has been named: at the October 2025 hearing, Hayes said the developer was negotiating with a "pool of potential users."”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (30)
- Construction stage: none, no construction; rezoning not approved“I'll make a motion to continue case PZ-008-26 to a date uncertain”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Original target date: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no commercial operation date is stated in the staff report, PAD narrative, hearing transcript or any press source opened”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Current target date: not stated“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: no commercial operation date is stated in the staff report, PAD narrative, hearing transcript or any press source opened”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- building permits / site plan: none filed“DOCUMENTED ABSENCE: the Jul 16 2026 hearing record ends with both cases continued to a date uncertain; no later approval, site plan or permit appears in county packets or press through 2026-10-18”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Board of Supervisors approves Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25 (major comprehensive plan amendment, MLDR to Employment), 5-0 per press; county approval confirmed in the Jul 2026 staff report“This amendment was approved by the Pinal County Board of Supervisors through Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25 on November 19th, 2025”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Chairman Klob's requested stipulations: ED3 written correspondence required before P&Z/BOS consideration (failure = grounds for denial), ≤5%/yr utility-power cap, ≤10%-class demand discipline, independent power study, an“Failure to provide such documentation prior to Board consideration shall constitute grounds for denial”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Acres: 215.80 acres“requesting approval of the rezoning of ±215.80 acres from General Rural Zone (GR) to Industrial Zoning District (I-3)”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Current zoning: GR (General Rural)“The subject parcel is currently zoned GR – General Rural and is undeveloped”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- major comprehensive plan amendment: approved 5-0 (vote per press)“This amendment was approved by the Pinal County Board of Supervisors through Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25 on November 19th, 2025”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- rezoning hearing: continued to a date uncertain (roll call, unanimous 9-0)“I'll make a motion to continue case PZ-008-26 to a date uncertain, and we will - each Commissioner will send questions to Harvey, who will forward them on to the applicant”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- PAD overlay hearing: continued to a date uncertain (voice vote, unanimous)“I'd like to make a motion for continuance to a date uncertain for PZ-PD-007-26, sending all of our questions or concerns to Harvey who will forward to the applicant”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Applicant neighborhood meeting (Francisco Grande Hotel, Casa Grande): Rezoning PZ-008-26 / PAD PZ-PD-007-26, second neighborhood meeting“At the neighborhood meeting, 5 members of the public attended”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Pinal County Planning & Zoning Commission: Public hearing, PZ-008-26 (rezone GR to I-3) and PZ-PD-007-26 (PAD overlay)“KLOB: Unanimous pass. KRAUSS: Unanimously”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- rezoning application: filed (1st submittal)“Rezone and PAD Narrative, Case No. PZ-008-26 & PZ-PD-007-26, 2nd Submittal: July 7, 2026, 1st Submittal: March 4, 2026”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- PAD overlay application: filed (1st submittal); 2nd submittal Jul 7 2026“requesting approval of a Planned Area Development Overlay (PAD) to amend development standards and uses permitted of the accompanying rezone application, PZ-008-26”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Land use designation: Employment (changed from Moderate Low Density Residential by Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25, Nov 19 2025)“This amendment was approved by the Pinal County Board of Supervisors through Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25 on November 19th, 2025”Local government · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- P&Z work session, commission's first review of the Midway proposal; county filings at this stage name IDM Companies as developer“The Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission held a work session on July 17, 2025, to discuss Project Midway”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Resident opposition at the comp-plan stage: one written opposition letter before the hearing (Deanna Pence, water, light pollution, noise, rural character); Hidden Valley residents raised aquifer decline and well impact“We have lived here for nineteen years and we moved here for the rural ranch style living”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Hearing opposition: 9 public speakers (2 industry in support, 6 residents opposed, ED3 seeking postponement) and 19 letters (2 support, 8 oppose, 9 general data-center concerns). Resident themes: aquifer/well impacts in“Nine speakers: two industry representatives supported the project, six residents opposed the project, and ED3 asked for a postponement”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: at risk / not approved - comprehensive plan (land-use) amendment approved Nov 19, 2025; rezoning + PAD filed Mar 4, 2026 and still pending after the P&Z Commission unanimously postponed its recommenda“On July 16, the county's Planning and Zoning Commission voted unanimously to postpone its recommendations on both the rezoning and the accompanying overlay to a future meeting”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 215.8 acres“the request to rezone ±215.8 acres of vacant desert inside Casa Grande's planning area from rural to heavy industrial remains without a commission recommendation”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- Air permit status: no air quality permit applied for; PCAQCD industrial permit required by proposed stipulation 15“The project has not applied for air emissions permits”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- air quality permit: not applied for“The project has not applied for air emissions permits”News report · July 2026 · grade C
- major comprehensive plan amendment: recommended approval 15-0“The Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 5-0 on November 19, 2025, to approve the Project Midway Data Center comprehensive plan amendment”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Applicant neighborhood meeting (Casa Grande area): Project Midway comprehensive plan amendment, first public meeting“The applicant's neighborhood meeting in May 2025 drew nine attendees”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Citizens Advisory Committee: Major comprehensive plan amendment PZ-PA-013-25“unanimous votes from the Citizens Advisory Committee (15-0) and Planning and Zoning Commission (9-0)”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Board of Supervisors: Major comprehensive plan amendment PZ-PA-013-25, Resolution 2025-PZ-PA-013-25“The Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 5-0 on November 19, 2025, to approve the Project Midway Data Center comprehensive plan amendment”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- major comprehensive plan amendment: recommended approval (vote reported 8-0 and 9-0)“The commission approved Project Midway 8–0 on October 16, 2025”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Planning & Zoning Commission: Major comprehensive plan amendment PZ-PA-013-25, recommendation to Board of Supervisors“The data center's power needs emerged as a central discussion point. Hayes explained the facility would require approximately 225-megawatts total”News report · Oct. 2025 · grade C
- Pinal County Planning & Zoning Commission (work session): Project Midway data center proposal, initial review“The Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission held a work session on July 17, 2025, to discuss Project Midway”News report · July 2025 · grade C
Legal (3)
- Agent representative: Alex Hayes, Withey Morris Baugh PLC (Phoenix, AZ)“Legal Representative: Withey Morris Baugh PLC, Alex Hayes / Stephanie Watney, 2525 East Arizona Biltmore Circle, Suite A-212, Phoenix, Arizona 85016”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Developer: LPI Company (LPI Group)“Developer: LPI Company, 276 Kingsbury Grade, Suite 2000, Stateline, NV 89449”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- ED3 asked Pinal County to postpone Project Midway's rezoning and the P&Z Commission voted unanimously on Jul 16, 2026 to delay, after ED3 said it could not reach a conclusion on the legality of the proposed self-supply;“The delay followed a request from Electrical District No. 3 (ED3), the local utility, which had sent a letter that Chairman Robert Klob said arrived the morning of the hearing”News report · July 2026 · grade C
Site and other (21)
- Name: Project Midway“CASE NO.: PZ-008-26, PZ-PD-007-26 | PROJECT MIDWAY”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County: Pinal County“situated in Section 01, Township 07 South, Range 04 East of the Gila and Salt River Base and Meridian, Pinal County, Arizona”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- State: AZ“located at the southwest corner of W Selma Highway and S Midway Road, southwest of the City of Casa Grande in unincorporated Pinal County”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: SW corner of W Selma Highway and S Midway Road, unincorporated Pinal County, AZ (southwest of Casa Grande)“tax parcel 500-12-001B, located at the southwest corner of W Selma Highway and S Midway Road”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Parcel parcel number: 500-12-001B“Pinal County Assessor's Parcel Number (APN) 500-12-001B (the Property)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Legal description: Section 01, Township 07S, Range 04E, Gila and Salt River Base and Meridian“situated in Section 01, Township 07 South, Range 04 East of the Gila and Salt River Base and Meridian”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Stage: at risk, entitlement stalled at P&Z; self-supply legality unresolved with ED3“we cannot say whether this is structured legally or not”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- P&Z continues both cases to a date uncertain (unanimous); applicant had asked for two months, then accepted an open-ended continuance; commissioner questions to be routed through staff“So the request from the applicant is to continue this to a date uncertain”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Landowner: Selma & Midway LLC“Alex Hayes of Withey Morris Baugh PLC, applicant, on behalf of the property owner, Selma & Midway LLC”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Water provider: Arizona Water Company“a connection to a public water system with the extension of a water transmission line by Arizona Water Company”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Wastewater: private on-site septic system“Domestic wastewater needs will be addressed through a conventional septic system to be constructed on-site, and/or using portable toilet facilities”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Jobs permanent stated: 225 jobs“The project is projected to employ approximately 45 people for each data center building for a total of 225 employees with the full campus build-out”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Fire service: no fire service provider currently serves the site; LPI coordinating with Pinal County Fire and Medical Authority“Fire — LPI is coordinating with Pinal County Fire and Medical Authority to support fire service for the Property and the surrounding area”Local government · July 2026 · grade A
- Water demand avg gpd: 14500 gpd“estimates an average daily demand of 14,500 gpd, with an estimated maximum daily demand of 35,200 gpd”Local government · May 2026 · grade A
- Water demand max gpd: 35200 gpd“estimates an average daily demand of 14,500 gpd, with an estimated maximum daily demand of 35,200 gpd”Local government · May 2026 · grade A
- County code: 04021“FCC census block find returned County FIPS 04021, name Pinal County for both the anchor (32.8477,-111.8813) and the Selma/Midway intersection (32.8504,-111.8776)”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Aliases: Midway Data Center“No decision on Project Midway: P&Z sends 215-acre data center back for answers”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First public step: applicant neighborhood meeting on the comprehensive plan amendment, 9 attendees, mixed support and rural-character concerns“The applicant's neighborhood meeting in May 2025 drew nine attendees”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- No fire or EMS coverage serves the site. Service depends on the Pinal County Fire and Medical Authority (formed Mar 2026, per press) standing up a station, planned on the Project Bella site, once either project is unde“The area currently has no fire or EMS coverage”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- First announced: May 2025“The applicant's neighborhood meeting in May 2025 drew nine attendees”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Announced: May 2025“The applicant’s neighborhood meeting in May 2025 drew nine attendees.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.