Power and the grid
Energized, size not disclosed
- Oncor and ERCOT grid service OperatingOncor is the delivery utility in ERCOT; no contracted or delivered MW appears in any opened record Company · Oct. 2026
- On-site generating plant Zoning approved (aggregator summary)approved in the Oct. 2026 zoning amendment; size, fuel and air permit not stated News report · Oct. 2026
- Diesel emergency generators Permittedbackup only State agency · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- May 26, 2020Water contractThe city authorizes a 20-year retail water supply contract with Sharka LLC, passed 6-0. Local government · May 2020
- Nov. 14, 2025Google commits to more Texas capacityAt an event on the campus, Google announces a $40B Texas program and continued investment in Midlothian; its 6,200 MW of Texas power contracts are a portfolio figure, not this site (press). News report · Nov. 2025
- Oct. 13, 2026On-site generating plant zonedCouncil approves a zoning amendment adding phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generating plant, with a 20-foot sound wall. see Permits
- Not setUtility service agreement: not publicNo Oncor contract, delivered MW or generator capacity is on record.
- The new on-site generating plant would be a change from a campus built on grid power with diesel backup; its size and fuel are not in the record we hold. News report · Oct. 2026
Backup generators on file
Emergency units only; they are not a power supply for the campus.
- Title V Federal Operating Permit Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) · O4262 · issued · July 21, 2021Federal Operating Permit O4262 issued to Sharka LLC authorizing operation of the Sharka Data Center in Ellis County (RN110495884); revised July 2024 per the March 2026 PBR update letter. Authorized equipment includes… State agency · July 2021
Permits checklist
4 granted · 1 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup generators), and what we found.
- ✓Air permit-by-rule 153622 (generators, tanks, cooling towers) GrantedTexas Commission on Environmental Quality · Oct. 15, 2018: revised repeatedly as buildings were added, most recently Oct. 17, 2025; a Mar. 2026 update to generator emission rates was submitted State agency · Oct. 2018
- ✓Federal operating permit O4262 GrantedTexas Commission on Environmental Quality · July 21, 2021: revised July 2024; a minor revision was noticed Nov. 2025 State agency · July 2021
- ✓Building 4 construction registration GrantedTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · 2025: project closed on completion State agency · Dec. 2025
- ✓Planned development amendment for phases 5 and 6 and generating plant GrantedCity of Midlothian · Oct. 13, 2026: council vote 6-0, per an aggregator summary; city transcript not retrieved News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air authorization for the on-site generating plant
What could slow it down
- MediumState freeze on new data-center permitsThe governor ordered the state regulator in Sept. 2026 to halt data-center permits until ERCOT finishes an audit (report expected around Dec. 10, 2026). Existing permits are unaffected, but new generator or generating-plant authorizations would wait. see Permits
- MediumTaxes, water and noise questionsAt the Oct. 2026 vote, council and residents questioned the applicant about taxes, water use and noise. see Permits
- WatchSecrecy legacyThe original deal was negotiated under a nondisclosure agreement that withheld Google's identity from the public, and the abatement agreement text is not public. News report · May 2019
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Oct. 15, 2018Permits First state air authorization for the Sharka Data Center, before Google's name was public State agency · Oct. 2018
- May 31, 2019Permits City council approves tax abatements for Sharka LLC while the operator's identity is hidden under a nondisclosure agreement News report · May 2019
- June 2019Site Google confirms it bought the 375-acre site and announces a $600M data center, its first in Texas (press) News report · June 2019
- May 26, 2020Permits City authorizes a 20-year water supply contract for the campus Local government · May 2020
- July 21, 2021Permits Federal air operating permit issued for the campus State agency · July 2021
- April 1, 2024Site Building 4 construction starts (170,600 sq ft, $350M filed) State agency · April 2024
- 2025Site Building 4 completed and its state construction file closed State agency · Dec. 2025
- Jan. 2026Site Building 5 construction begins (288,000 sq ft, $880M filed) News report · Jan. 2026
- Oct. 13, 2026Permits Council approves zoning for phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generating plant News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 24, 2027Site Building 5 filed completion date News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Mechanical draft cooling towers: with diesel generators, a fire-water pump and diesel tanks State agency · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Google: developer and operator
- Sharka LLC: site owner and permit holder (Delaware)
- Oncor Electric Delivery: utility
- City of Midlothian: water provider and abating authority
- Midlothian City Council: zoning, abatements, water
- Texas Commission on Environmental Quality: air permits
- Trinity Consultants: environmental consultant
Open questions
- Whether the on-site generating plant will be built and how large.
- Oncor service agreement and delivered MW.
- Actual operating status of Building 5.
- Whether Data Center Dynamics' claim that Alamo Mission LLC was the original shell is correct (every state record names Sharka LLC).
122 records from 21 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, company statements, local government records, public and commercial datasets and our own analysis, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (5)
- On-site generation: not stated“Equipment authorized at the site includes: Diesel-fired engine-driven emergency generators; Diesel-fired engine-driven emergency firewater pump; Diesel storage tanks; Mechanical draft cooling towers”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power plan: grid“allow for a power supply to protect critical data center functions if the primary power from the grid is unavailable”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Oncor Electric Delivery Company LLC“Oncor is the TDSP for eligible Midlothian addresses. It maintains the poles, wires, and meter and handles outages.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: operating, expanding (Building 4 TDLR project closed; Building 5 filed, due Feb 24, 2027; council approved phases 5-6 Oct 13, 2026)“The Midlothian City Council unanimously approved amendments to PD 106 allowing Google’s Railport campus to add phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generation (OSG) plant”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google states it has contracted more than 6,200 MW of net new energy generation and capacity for the Texas grid through PPAs (AES, Enel, Clearway, ENGIE, Intersect, SB Energy, Orsted, X-Elio). PORTFOLIO figure for all Te“Google has contracted to add more than 6,200 megawatts (MW) of net new energy generation and capacity to the Texas electricity grid through power purchase agreements”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (34)
- County code: 48139“Location Address: 3441 Railport Parkway Midlothian, TX 76065, Location County: Ellis, Start Date: 4/1/2024, Completion Date: 12/31/2025, Estimated Cost: $350,000,000”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Building4 cost filed: 350000000 USD“Project Name: Sharka Data Center - Building 4 Project Number: TABS2024013301 Location Address: 3441 Railport Parkway Start Date: 4/1/2024, Completion Date: 12/31/2025, Estimated Cost: $350,000,000”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Building 4 construction starts (TDLR TABS2024013301: 170,600 sq ft, filed cost $350M).“Start Date: 4/1/2024, Completion Date: 12/31/2025, Estimated Cost: $350,000,000”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Water supply: City of Midlothian retail water supply contract (20-year; authorized May 26, 2020)“CONSIDER AND ACT UPON AUTHORIZING THE CITY MANAGER TO EXECUTE A RETAIL WATER SUPPLY CONTRACT WITH SHARKA LLC”Local government · May 2020 · grade A
- City Council authorizes a 20-year retail water supply contract with Sharka LLC (Item 2020-168, passed 6-0), folding in the earlier water/wastewater MOU.“IT IS A 20 YEAR AGREEMENT. IT HAS THE ABILITY TO BE EXTENDED ON MUTUALLY CONSENT.”Local government · May 2020 · grade A
- Investment: 600000000 USD“We’re investing $600 million to develop the Midlothian site, which will create a number of full-time jobs, as well as hundreds of construction jobs”Company · June 2019 · grade A
- Tenants: Google LLC (owner-occupied)“TENANT Not Assigned”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: owner-occupied“TENANT Not Assigned”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- retail water supply contract: scope Retail water supply to the campus within the City's CCN; incorporates water and wastewater terms from the original MOU“THIS MATTER IS FOR SUPPLYING WATER, WE ARE THE RETAIL PROVIDER FOR THE CITY WITHIN OUR CCN SO THIS CONTRACT REALLY HAS FALLEN IN LINE WITH WHAT WE ARE TYPICALLY DOING WITH OUR INDUSTRY OUT AT RAIL PORT”Local government · May 2020 · grade B
- retail water supply contract: term 20 years“IT IS A 20 YEAR AGREEMENT. IT HAS THE ABILITY TO BE EXTENDED ON MUTUALLY CONSENT.”Local government · May 2020 · grade B
- retail water supply contract: extension Extendable by mutual consent of the parties“IT IS A 20 YEAR AGREEMENT. IT HAS THE ABILITY TO BE EXTENDED ON MUTUALLY CONSENT.”Local government · May 2020 · grade B
- retail water supply contract: termination FINDING: no termination clause is stated in the public council record for this contract; the executed contract text was not opened“CONSIDER AND ACT UPON AUTHORIZING THE CITY MANAGER TO EXECUTE A RETAIL WATER SUPPLY CONTRACT WITH SHARKA LLC”Local government · May 2020 · grade B
- memorandum of understanding (water/wastewater): lineage Original MOU with water and wastewater terms predates and is folded into the 2020 retail water supply contract“THERE ARE SOME ITEMS THAT WERE COVERED IN THE ORIGINAL MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING, ALONG WITH THE WATER AND WASTE WATER AGREEMENT THAT'S INCLUDED WITHIN THIS AGREEMENT”Local government · May 2020 · grade B
- TDLR filing for Sharka Data Center Building 5: one-story, 288,000 sq ft, $880M, construction began late January 2026, expected completion February 24, 2027.“Dubbed Sharka Data Center - Building 5, the construction project began in late January this year and is expected to be completed by February 24, 2027.”News report · grade C
- Buildings completed: 4“Google added a fourth building in 2024, revealing plans for a $100 million, 170,600 sq ft data center at the site in March of that year”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Building5 cost filed: 880000000 USD“An estimated $880 million will be invested in the development, which will be a one-story data center spanning 288,000 sq ft”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Building 5 construction begins (288,000 sq ft, filed cost $880M, filed completion Feb 24, 2027).“the construction project began in late January this year and is expected to be completed by February 24, 2027”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- At an event held at the Midlothian campus, Google announces a $40B Texas investment through 2027 (new Armstrong and Haskell County campuses) and confirms continued investment in the existing Midlothian campus.“It would also continue investing in the existing 400-acre Midlothian site and its Dallas Cloud region”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Google November 2025 $40B Texas investment through 2027 includes expansion of its Ellis County presence; statewide program figure, not a Midlothian campus figure.“In November 2025, Google revealed it would spend $40bn to expand its cloud and AI infrastructure in Texas through 2027. This included the expansion of its presence in Ellis County”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
- Google buys an additional 165 acres in Ellis County for expansion of the Midlothian campus (375 + 165 = 540 acres total).“In 2020, the internet giant bought an additional 165 acres for a second facility”News report · Dec. 2020 · grade C
- First announced: June 2019“Google has acquired 375 acres in Midlothian for a new data center, promising $500 million in capital investment in return for significant tax breaks”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- Investment initial announced: 600000000 USD“Google has invested $600 million to develop the site”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): scope 100% abatement of personal property taxes“June saw the council approve a 100 percent personal property tax abatement and an 85 percent improvement tax abatement over a 10-year period for the facility at RailPort Business Park”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): scope 85% abatement of real property (improvement) taxes“June saw the council approve a 100 percent personal property tax abatement and an 85 percent improvement tax abatement over a 10-year period for the facility at RailPort Business Park”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): term 10 years“an 85 percent improvement tax abatement over a 10-year period”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): consideration 500000000 USD“promising $500 million in capital investment in return for significant tax breaks”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): jobs up to 40 jobs“Council documents suggest that the data center could create up to 40 jobs”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- Google publicly confirms it bought the Midlothian property; $600M data center announced at a groundbreaking event - Google's first Texas data center.“Google has invested $600 million to develop the site”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement (TX Ch. 312): nondisclosure Google's identity withheld from the public under a nondisclosure agreement during negotiation and approval“The developer, which incorporated with the state four months earlier, went by the name Sharka LLC. City officials declined at the time to say who was behind Sharka”News report · May 2019 · grade C
- Midlothian City Council approves the Sharka tax abatement package (100% personal property / 85% improvements, 10 years) while the developer's identity is still secret under an NDA.“June saw the council approve a 100 percent personal property tax abatement and an 85 percent improvement tax abatement over a 10-year period”News report · May 2019 · grade C
- tax abatement: property tax abatement, 10 years 100% personal property / 85% improvements percent abated“June saw the council approve a 100 percent personal property tax abatement and an 85 percent improvement tax abatement over a 10-year period for the facility at RailPort Business Park.”News report · June 2018 · grade C
- Tax abatement agreement: PILOT schedule 100% personal property tax abatement; 85% abatement on improvements; 10-year period percent / years“negotiated a deal that was passed by the Midlothian City Council to receive a 100 percent property tax abatement and an 85 percent abatement on improvements over a 10-year period”News report · June 2018 · grade C
- Tax abatement agreement: investment commitment 500000000 USD over five years“the company has made commitments to the city, Ellis County, and the State of Texas to bring at least 40 jobs and $500 million in investment over the next five years”News report · June 2018 · grade C
- Tax abatement agreement: job commitments 40 jobs“the company has made commitments to the city, Ellis County, and the State of Texas to bring at least 40 jobs and $500 million in investment over the next five years”News report · June 2018 · grade C
Permits and government (23)
- Air: update submittal received“Sharka is requesting an update to hourly emissions rates for emergency generators in Emergency Generator Group 4”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- Sharka files a PBR 153622 update for Emergency Generator Group 4 emission rates (manufacturer data); no annual cap change - filed five months before the state permit pause.“Sharka is requesting an update to hourly emissions rates for emergency generators in Emergency Generator Group 4”State agency · March 2026 · grade A
- construction project registration: project closed“Project Name: Sharka Data Center - Building 4 Project Number: TABS2024013301 Facility Name: Sharka Data Center”State agency · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- Construction registration (architectural barriers): registered; project closed“Start Date: 4/1/2024, Completion Date: 12/31/2025, Estimated Cost: $350,000,000 Current Status: Project Closed”State agency · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- Air: draft statement of basis prepared; public notice“Permit Number: O4262 Project Type: Minor Revision Prepared on: November 7, 2025”State agency · Nov. 2025 · grade A
- Air: revisions approved“Effective Date: 10/15/2018, Rev. 11/27/2018, Rev. 2/22/2019, Rev. 9/17/2020, Rev. 9/24/2020, Rev. 6/6/2022, Rev. 7/27/2022, Rev. 12/20/2024, Rev. 10/17/2025”State agency · Oct. 2025 · grade A
- Air: revised“Title V Permit O4262, which was issued for the site in July 2021 and revised in July 2024”State agency · July 2024 · grade A
- Title V Federal Operating Permit: issued“A FEDERAL OPERATING PERMIT IS HEREBY ISSUED TO Sharka LLC AUTHORIZING THE OPERATION OF Sharka Data Center”State agency · July 2021 · grade A
- Air: issued“Permit No: O4262 Issuance Date: July 21, 2021”State agency · July 2021 · grade A
- Title V Federal Operating Permit O4262 issued to Sharka LLC - the operating campus's site-wide air permit.“Permit No: O4262 Issuance Date: July 21, 2021”State agency · July 2021 · grade A
- Midlothian City Council: Item 2020-168 - authorize City Manager to execute a retail water supply contract with Sharka LLC“CONSIDER AND ACT UPON AUTHORIZING THE CITY MANAGER TO EXECUTE A RETAIL WATER SUPPLY CONTRACT WITH SHARKA LLC”Local government · May 2020 · grade A
- Air: initial authorization“The Sharka Data Center was originally authorized under PBR registration 153622 in October 2018”State agency · Oct. 2018 · grade A
- TCEQ PBR Registration 153622 first authorizes the Sharka Data Center (emergency generators and support equipment) - the campus's first primary-document footprint, predating Google's public reveal.“The Sharka Data Center was originally authorized under PBR registration 153622 in October 2018”State agency · Oct. 2018 · grade A
- Permit by Rule registration: update requested“The Sharka Data Center was originally authorized under PBR registration 153622 in October 2018.”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“No original campus completion/operation date was published by Google or the City in any opened source; the facility held a Title V operating permit from July 21, 2021”grade C
- planned development amendment: approved“The Midlothian City Council voted unanimously to approve an amendment to Plan Development District (PD) 106 that authorizes Google’s Railport campus to build phases 5 and 6”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Zoning: approved“The Midlothian City Council approved an amendment to Plan Development District 106 on Oct. 13, 2026, allowing Google's Railport campus to add phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generating (OSG) plant”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Oct 13, 2026 council approval includes a temporary on-site generating (OSG) plant to support phases 5 and 6“to install a temporary on-site generating (OSG) plant to support those phases. Council members asked detailed questions about tax abatements, water use and noise before approving”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- City Council approves the PD-106 amendment adding phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generating plant to the campus entitlement (aggregator summary“allowing Google's Railport campus to add phases 5 and 6 and an on-site generating (OSG) plant to support new data center buildings”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Midlothian City Council: Amendment to Planned Development District 106 - campus phases 5 and 6 plus an on-site generating (OSG) plant“Midlothian council unanimously approved amendments to PD 106 allowing phases 5 and 6 of the Google Railport campus and an on-site generating (OSG) plant”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Governor Abbott directs TCEQ to pause issuance of all data-center-related permits until ERCOT completes its data-center audit (report expected ~Dec 10, 2026). All of this campus's issued permits (2018-2025) predate the p“directs TCEQ to pause the issuance of all permits related to data center projects until ERCOT completes its review”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Midlothian City Council: Tax abatement package for the Sharka LLC data center project (developer's identity not disclosed)“Last May, officials in Midlothian, Tex., a city near Dallas, approved more than $10 million in tax breaks for a huge, mysterious new development”News report · May 2019 · grade C
- IRB/abatement ordinance: passed“negotiated a deal that was passed by the Midlothian City Council to receive a 100 percent property tax abatement and an 85 percent abatement on improvements over a 10-year period”News report · June 2018 · grade C
Site and other (18)
- Name: Google Midlothian (Sharka Data Center)“Site Name: Sharka Data Center Physical Location: 3441 Railport Pkwy”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Aliases: Sharka Data Center; Project Sharka“Site Name: Sharka Data Center Physical Location: 3441 Railport Pkwy”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Address: 3441 Railport Parkway, Midlothian, TX 76065“Site Name: Sharka Data Center Physical Location: 3441 Railport Pkwy”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City: Midlothian“Nearest City: Midlothian”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County: Ellis County“County: Ellis”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- County code: Ellis County, TX (48139)“Site Name: Sharka Data Center Physical Location: 3441 Railport Pkwy Nearest City: Midlothian County: Ellis”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Developer: Google LLC“Company Official Contact Information Name: Zia Khan Title: Data Center Facilities Manager Email Address: ziakhan@google.com”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Owner entity: Sharka LLC“Owner Name: Sharka LLC c/o Corporation Services Co.”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Building 4 completed; TDLR project status closed.“Completion Date: 12/31/2025 Current Status: Project Closed”State agency · Dec. 2025 · grade A
- Site address: 3441 Railport Parkway, Midlothian, TX 76065“The location of the project is listed as 3441 Railport Parkway in Ellis County, the same address as Google’s Midlothian data center campus.”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Operator: Google“we’re extending our commitment to the state with a new data center in Midlothian”Company · June 2019 · grade A
- Stage: operating“The Sharka Data Center was originally authorized under PBR registration 153622 in October 2018”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: Buildings 1-4 complete; Building 5 under construction (started Jan 2026, filed completion Feb 24, 2027)“the construction project began in late January this year and is expected to be completed by February 24, 2027”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Current target date: Feb. 24, 2027“expected to be completed by February 24, 2027”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Land acres total: 540 acres“That 375-acre project was one of the largest in the country when it was built in 2019. In 2020, the internet giant bought an additional 165 acres for a second facility”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google launches its Dallas cloud region (us-south) in June 2022, anchored by its DFW campuses including Midlothian.“Google launched a Texas cloud region in Dallas in June 2022”News report · June 2022 · grade C
- Land acres initial: 375 acres“Google has acquired 375 acres in Midlothian for a new data center”News report · June 2019 · grade C
- Announced: May 2018“That day was the first time officials had spoken publicly about an enigmatic developer's plans to build a sprawling data center.”News report · May 2018 · grade C