Power and the grid
Energized, size not disclosed
- Grid power from NV Energy (Sierra Pacific) Serving the campusbundled utility service; no campus load or service contract is public News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Nov. 2023Geothermal pilot feeds the gridGoogle says it began using geothermal energy for the campus through Fervo's pilot plant on NV Energy's grid. Company · Oct. 2026
- June 11, 2024Clean Transition Tariff announcedGoogle and NV Energy announce the tariff with 115 MW of Fervo geothermal supply for Google's Nevada data centers (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Dec. 27, 2024State approves NV Energy's resource planThe Public Utilities Commission of Nevada approves the plan whose record includes the geothermal contract behind the tariff. see Permits
- May 2025Tariff approvedThe commission accepts a stipulation approving the tariff and pauses new applications (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 2026Ormat contract signedUp to 150 MW of new geothermal under the tariff, subject to commission approval (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Not setDelivered load not publicNo campus-specific load or electric service agreement appears in the records. State agency · Oct. 2026
- A state memo says about a dozen data centers, mainly at this industrial park, have requested almost 6 GW from NV Energy over the next decade; that is market context, not a Google figure. State agency · March 2026
Permits checklist
1 pending · 3 granted · 2 checked, nothing on file
Approvals this campus needed, and what the records show.
- ◷Ormat geothermal contract approval PendingPublic Utilities Commission of Nevada · Feb. 2026: approval expected in the second half of 2026 (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓State tax abatements GrantedNevada Governor's Office of Economic Development · Sept. 16, 2020: tied to $600M investment and 50 jobs; clawback if commitments are missed Local government · Sept. 2020
- ✓Utility resource plan including the geothermal contract GrantedPublic Utilities Commission of Nevada · Dec. 27, 2024: approves NV Energy's 2025 to 2044 plan Company · Oct. 2026
- ✓Clean Transition Tariff GrantedPublic Utilities Commission of Nevada · May 2025: press report of a unanimous stipulation News report · Oct. 2026
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air quality permit, Building and zoning permits
What could slow it down
- WatchGeothermal supply not yet approvedA multi-site Ormat geothermal contract for Google's Nevada data centers (not dedicated to this campus) awaits state commission approval, with first projects due 2028 to 2030 (press). see Permits
- MediumCrowded gridAbout a dozen data centers at the industrial park have asked NV Energy for almost 6 GW over the decade, competing for the same supply. State agency · March 2026
- WatchTighter abatement rulesA Sept. 2026 executive order sets conditions for future abatements; Google's 2020 abatements predate it (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchTracker figures disagreeEpoch AI shows 161 MW current but 214 MW in its status text; Google gives no MW figure.
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- April 2017Site Google buys 1,210 acres at the Tahoe-Reno Industrial Center for $29.1M (press). News report · April 2017
- Sept. 16, 2020Permits State board approves tax abatements for a $600M Google data center with at least 50 jobs; facility expected fully operational in 2021. Local government · Sept. 2020
- 2021Power Google says the Storey County data center was built and launched; the first phase is two buildings per the tracker. Company · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 2023Power Fervo's geothermal pilot starts feeding the grid that serves Google's Nevada data centers. Company · Oct. 2026
- June 11, 2024Power Google and NV Energy announce the Clean Transition Tariff with 115 MW of geothermal supply (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Dec. 27, 2024Permits Nevada regulators approve NV Energy's long-term resource plan. Company · Oct. 2026
- May 2025Permits Regulators approve the Clean Transition Tariff (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- Feb. 2026Power Ormat signs a contract for up to 150 MW of geothermal supporting Google's Nevada sites (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- April 13, 2026Site Epoch AI tracker estimate: two buildings operating, building 3 shell partly complete, building 4 foundation under way.
- Sept. 18, 2026Permits Gov. Lombardo signs an order setting guardrails for future data center tax abatements (press). News report · Oct. 2026
- June 2027Power Epoch AI's estimated full-build date (estimate; Google has not published one).
Specs
- Air-cooled: Google reported no water used for cooling, only domestic use State agency · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Google: owner and operator
- Design, LLC: Google project entity on the tax abatements
- Tahoe Reno Industrial Center, LLC: park developer and land seller
- NV Energy (Sierra Pacific Power): serving utility
- Fervo Energy: geothermal supplier
- Ormat Technologies: geothermal supplier
- Public Utilities Commission of Nevada: tariff and contract approvals
- Nevada Governor's Office of Economic Development: abatements
Open questions
- Campus load and electric service terms.
- Which buildings are operating and their MW.
- Air permit and backup generator count.
- Timing of the state decision on the Ormat contract.
88 records from 15 documents
Drawn from news reports, state agency records, public and commercial datasets, company statements and local government records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (15)
- Utility service: not stated“roughly a dozen data centers - mainly in Tahoe-Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) - have requested almost six gigawatts of power within the next decade”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“Class II Air Quality Operating Permit - Nevada Division of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Pollution Control”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Sierra Pacific Power Company d/b/a NV Energy“NV Energy is regulated by the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada (PUCN) under NRS Chapters 703 and 704”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Cooling: air-cooled - no water used for cooling (domestic use only)“Google reported that its Storey County data center uses no water for cooling (only domestic use), even at high energy loads”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Google's 2023 milestone for this campus: begins using geothermal energy to power the Storey County data center campus - the Fervo Project Red EGS pilot (about 3.5 MW, online November 2023) feeds the NV Energy grid servin“Google begins using geothermal energy to power our Storey County data center campus”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Nevada LCB background memo: roughly a dozen data centers, mainly at TRIC, have requested almost six gigawatts of power within the next decade (NV Energy public filings via MIT Technology Review). Aggregate market context“roughly a dozen data centers - mainly in Tahoe-Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) - have requested almost six gigawatts of power within the next decade”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Interconnection status: NV Energy service (WECC); energized (operating Google campus at Tahoe Reno Industrial Center); no campus-level MW or service agreement is public; NV Energy's proposed standard large-load service a“Regulators are also examining how NV Energy should serve multiple large customers when available capacity is limited.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: grid - NV Energy bundled service with CTT clean-energy supply overlays (state-wide portfolio)“Signed as part of NV Energy's Clean Transition Tariff (CTT), the PPA will cover a multi-project portfolio of geothermal assets”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google and NV Energy announced the Clean Transition Tariff with 115 MW of Fervo enhanced-geothermal supply for Google's Nevada data centers (state-wide portfolio, both counties - NOT a campus figure). DCD's June 2024 cov“On June 11, 2024, Google announced its partnership with NV Energy to create a new Clean Transition Tariff (CTT)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Ormat Technologies signed a portfolio PPA with NV Energy under the CTT for up to 150 MW of new geothermal capacity supporting Google's Nevada data centers; first projects energised 2028-2030; PUCN approval was still pend“The PPA is subject to approval by the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada (PUCN), which is expected in the second half of 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- NV Energy large-load program: five large-load agreements already filed with Nevada regulators would account for about 3,400 MW of demand by 2032 (PUCN testimony as reported Oct 2026). Utility-wide across all large-load c“testimony that five large-load agreements already filed with regulators would account for about 3,400 megawatts of demand by 2032”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Buildings operational: 2 buildings“as of 2026-04-13: 2 bldgs op, 214 MW; Building 3 has a partially complete shell, electrical and mechanical equipment. Building 4 foundation is under”grade C
- Buildings: 4 buildings“as of 2026-04-13: 2 bldgs op, 214 MW; Building 3 has a partially complete shell, electrical and mechanical equipment. Building 4 foundation is under”grade C
- Construction stage: operating (2 buildings) with expansion under construction - Building 3 shell partially complete, Building 4 foundation underway“as of 2026-04-13: 2 bldgs op, 214 MW; Building 3 has a partially complete shell, electrical and mechanical equipment. Building 4 foundation is under”grade C
- Epoch tracker snapshot: behind the 2 operating buildings, Building 3 has a partially complete shell with electrical and mechanical equipment being installed and Building 4's foundation is underway - the phased build-out“as of 2026-04-13: 2 bldgs op, 214 MW; Building 3 has a partially complete shell, electrical and mechanical equipment. Building 4 foundation is under”grade C
Money and contracts (29)
- Name: Google Storey County“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: Google LLC (owner-occupied)“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenants: Google (self-use)“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- County code: Storey County, NV (32029)“Google plans to invest $600 million in a data center for Google products and services at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) in Storey County”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: operating - in continuous operation since 2021; phased expansion continuing“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: operating - phased build-out continuing“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- tax abatement: termination“Agreements include clawback provisions to recoup abated taxes if commitments are not met”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Google's Storey County data center launched / was built in 2021 at TRIC (Google's own location page; DCD). First phase = 2 buildings per the Epoch tracker.“Since the Henderson, Nevada data center was built in 2019, and the Storey County, Nevada data center was built in 2021, Google has invested more than $6 billion in the state”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Capital cost announced: 600 USD millions“Google plans to invest $600 million in a data center for Google products and services at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) in Storey County”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- Jobs committed: 50 jobs“employ at least 50 people at an average wage of $31.29 per hour”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- Avg wage floor: 31.29 USD/hour“employ at least 50 people at an average wage of $31.29 per hour”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tax abatement: scope 600 USD millions investment“Google plans to invest $600 million in a data center for Google products and services at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) in Storey County”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tax abatement: employment 50 jobs minimum“employ at least 50 people at an average wage of $31.29 per hour”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tax abatement: tax terms 16.8 USD millions estimated“They were approved for a 2 percent sales tax abatement for 20 years that is worth an estimated $16.8 million”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tax abatement: tax terms 8.25 USD millions estimated“a 75 percent personal property tax abatement for 20 years that is worth an estimated $8.25 million”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tax abatement: scope finding“In return for the $25 million abatement that Google will receive, the company will make a $427 million impact on the economy over 20 years”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- GOED Board approved tax abatements for Google (Design, LLC) tied to the $600M Storey County data center: ~$25.05M in estimated abatements (sales tax ~$16.8M + personal property ~$8.25M) over 20 years, with at least 50 jo“Google plans to invest $600 million in a data center for Google products and services at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) in Storey County”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- Tenant status: operating - owner-occupied since 2021“The company launched its Storey County data center in the Tahoe-Reno Industrial Center in the following year”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- energy supply agreement (CTT): scope 115 MW“Partnering with Fervo Energy, an energy developer, NV Energy has included 115 MW of new advanced geothermal power within the CTT partnership”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- energy supply agreement (CTT): cost allocation“ensuring the CTT insulates other ratepayers while strengthening the reliability of the local power system”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- energy supply agreement (CTT): status“Signed as part of NV Energy's Clean Transition Tariff (CTT), the PPA will cover a multi-project portfolio of geothermal assets”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- power purchase agreement (CTT portfolio): scope 150 MW (up to)“By adding up to 150MW of new clean-firm geothermal capacity in Nevada, we are utilizing a repeatable framework that fully covers all costs associated with our electric service”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- power purchase agreement (CTT portfolio): condition precedent“The PPA is subject to approval by the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada (PUCN), which is expected in the second half of 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- power purchase agreement (CTT portfolio): term“The PPA will come into force when the first project within the portfolio reaches commercial operations and extends 15 years beyond the final project's commercial operations date”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Google announced more than $400M of additional Nevada investment for 2024 across its Storey County and Clark County campuses (announced at a University of Nevada, Reno event by VP Joe Kava); the split between campuses wa“the company announced plans to invest more than $400 million in Nevada this year to support its data center campuses in Storey and Clark counties”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Land purchase price: 29.1 USD millions“Google last week bought land stretching across 1,210 acres at a private industrial park east of Reno, Nev., for $29.1 million”News report · April 2017 · grade C
- land purchase: scope 1210 acres“Google last week bought land stretching across 1,210 acres at a private industrial park east of Reno, Nev., for $29.1 million”News report · April 2017 · grade C
- land purchase: consideration 29.1 USD millions“The purchase of the 1,210 acres in Nevada's Tahoe Reno Industrial Center was reported by The Wall Street Journal”News report · April 2017 · grade C
- Google bought 1,210 acres at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center for $29.1M (WSJ via TechCrunch); Google confirmed the data-center intent and denied the rumoured Waymo test-track use; no construction timeline was stated.“Google has acquired a significant piece of land in Nevada, near Reno and Tesla's Gigafactory site, which will house a future data center”News report · April 2017 · grade C
Permits and government (8)
- integrated resource plan order: order issued“Prepared pursuant to Paragraph 60 and Ordering Paragraph 17 of the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada's December 27, 2024, Order in Docket No. 24-05041”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- air quality permit: none located“Class II Air Quality Operating Permit - Nevada Division of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Air Pollution Control”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- tax abatement approval: approved“The Nevada Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED) Board of Directors today approved abatements for Lithium Nevada Corp. and Google (Design, LLC)”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- Nevada Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED) Board of Directors: Abatement approvals - Google (Design, LLC): $600M data center at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center, Storey County“Google plans to invest $600 million in a data center for Google products and services at the Tahoe Reno Industrial Center (TRIC) in Storey County”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- tariff approval: approved“Signed as part of NV Energy's Clean Transition Tariff (CTT), the PPA will cover a multi-project portfolio of geothermal assets”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- PUCN approved NV Energy's Clean Transition Tariff (all-issues stipulation, unanimous) - the tariff mechanism behind the Google-Fervo supply agreement - and paused new CTT applications pending an IRP framework filing.“Signed as part of NV Energy's Clean Transition Tariff (CTT), the PPA will cover a multi-project portfolio of geothermal assets”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Governor Lombardo signed an executive order setting guardrails for future Nevada data-center abatements (Local School Support Tax paid in full, developers bear infrastructure costs rather than ratepayers, water protectio“Nevada Governor Joe Lombardo signed an executive order on Friday, September 18, 2026, establishing strict policy guardrails and tax abatement requirements for data center developments across the state”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- land acquisition: purchase recorded“follows the filing of documents detailing the transaction late last week”News report · April 2017 · grade C
Site and other (8)
- Water withdrawal 2023: 1.9 million gallons“In 2023, according to Google's Environmental report, the Google facility in Storey County withdrew 1.9 million gallons and consumed 200,000 gallons”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Water consumed 2023: 0.2 million gallons“In 2023, according to Google's Environmental report, the Google facility in Storey County withdrew 1.9 million gallons and consumed 200,000 gallons”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Water withdrawal 2024: 14.9 million gallons“In 2024, it used 14.9 million gallons and consumed 1.5 million gallons”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Water consumed 2024: 1.5 million gallons“In 2024, it used 14.9 million gallons and consumed 1.5 million gallons”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: 2021“The company expects the facility to be fully operational in 2021”Local government · Sept. 2020 · grade B
- Address: 7400 USA Pkwy, McCarran, NV (postal: Reno, NV)“Google Storey County - Building 1 | 7400 USA Pkwy | Reno, NV”Dataset · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: April 17, 2017“Google has acquired a significant piece of land in Nevada, near Reno and Tesla’s Gigafactory site, which will house a future data center”News report · April 2017 · grade C
- Land (acres): 1210 acres“The purchase of the 1,210 acres in Nevada's Tahoe Reno Industrial Center was reported by The Wall Street Journal”News report · April 2017 · grade C