Power and the grid
- SRP grid service Planned, no agreement publicgrid service through an on-site SRP substation; no MW is published and no service agreement is public Local government · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- Aug. 4, 2025Substations in the site planNTT's site plan includes two substations, one private and one for SRP. News report · Oct. 2026
- Not setService agreement: none publicNo SRP service agreement, contracted MW or tariff filing for this campus is public. see Permits
- SRP is a public power district outside the state utility commission's rate control, so no commission docket exists for this campus. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
1 pending · 1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ◷Site plan modification (seven buildings, two substations) PendingCity of Mesa Development Services · May 13, 2026: the Planning and Zoning Board recommended approval; the final step is administrative, and no approval document has been published News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Annexation, General Plan amendment and rezoning (predecessor plan) GrantedMesa City Council · Aug. 26, 2024: approved for the earlier Pacific Proving plan; NTT's plan is a modification of that approved development News report · Sept. 2024
- –Checked, nothing on file: Air permit for backup generators, Electric service agreement, Building permit
What could slow it down
- HighThe no-vote path is contestedOpponents say a plan tied to a 2024 council approval cannot change without council action. The city says it can, under its administrative-review rules. see Permits
- MediumOrganized oppositionAll eight comments naming the project were opposed, two protests drew crowds in June and July 2026, and another is planned Oct. 26. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumState pause callThe attorney general wants a statewide halt to data center approvals; it carries no legal force, and the governor reportedly opposes a moratorium. State agency · Oct. 2026
- WatchPower and generators undisclosedNo SRP service agreement, substation size or generator count is public. Local government · Oct. 2026
Money on record
Not on record: development, tax abatement or power contract: no agreements, none is public Company · Oct. 2026
1 recorded land document for the campus company in county records (March 2025); 1 lists a price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.
- March 2025 Pacific Proving LLC and Mesaba Land LLC to NTT Global DATA Centers PH10 LLC · $296.4M · 1 parcel County deed records · March 2025
What happened, and what is due
- Nov. 2023Site Landowner Pacific Proving files a pre-submittal for a 178-acre, six-building, 360 MW installed-capacity campus with no operator named News report · Nov. 2023
- Aug. 26, 2024Permits Mesa City Council approves the annexation, General Plan change and rezoning for the Pacific Proving campus News report · Sept. 2024
- March 2025Paper trail NTT buys the site (reported 173 acres) after the earlier plan fell through; the county deed shows $296.4M, recorded Mar. 25, 2025 County deed records · March 2025
- May 13, 2025Site NTT DATA announces the Mesa campus: seven facilities, 324 MW, first opening in FY2028 Company · May 2025
- July 2025Permits Mesa adopts its first data center zoning rules; the 2024 approval proceeds under the earlier rules, and whether the new ones reach this site is disputed Local government · Sept. 2025
- Aug. 4, 2025Permits NTT files its site plan modification with the city (second submittal Sept. 8) Local government · Sept. 2025
- May 13, 2026Permits Planning and Zoning Board unanimously recommends approval of the site plan modification (a recommendation, not a decision) News report · May 2026
- Aug. 7, 2026Legal City tells opponents no council vote will be held and NTT can proceed administratively (per the campaign's account) News report · Oct. 2026
- Aug. 31, 2026Legal Arizona's attorney general calls for a statewide pause on data center approvals; it has no direct legal effect on this site State agency · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 5, 2026Legal Eight public comments naming the NTT project, all opposed, are filed for the council meeting Local government · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 26, 2026Legal Opponents plan a protest at the City Council meeting (not a vote on this campus) News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
7 buildings 2,257,581 sq ft on 173 acres, with two substations. Company · May 2025
- Closed-loop cooling: planned; no water-use figure is published News report · Oct. 2026
- Light industrial zoning: with a planned development overlay, from the 2024 approval Local government · Oct. 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC: owner and applicant (NTT DATA, NTT Group, Tokyo)
- Pacific Proving (William Levine): previous landowner and 2024 applicant
- Burns and McDonnell: NTT's consultant
- Salt River Project: retail utility, with an SRP substation planned on site
- City of Mesa Planning and Zoning Board, Development Services and City Council: land use
- Maricopa County Air Quality Department: air permits
- Mesa Valley Indivisible: leading the opposition campaign
Open questions
- A published administrative approval, or a council vote.
- The utility power size and an SRP agreement.
- Backup generator count and air permit.
- Whether 324 MW is IT or utility load.
- A named tenant.
123 records from 24 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets, company statements, state agency records and court filings, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (17)
- Interconnection status: Salt River Project (SRP) territory: the Mesa-approved plan includes two on-site substations, one private and one for SRP (tree); SRP publishes no public interconnection queue and no SRP document n“In 2025, SRP introduced the Large Customer Integration Process (LCIP) to address requests for electricity for new large-load customers such as data centers.”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Nearest substation of 345 kV or more: 7.822 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- Nearest power line of 345 kV or more: 7.852 kmMeasured on OpenStreetMap map data.
- IT capacity: not stated“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- PH10 continues the PH building numbering but is a different site“NTT DATA has an existing 102-acre campus supporting 240MW of capacity. With the new campus, total planned capacity will be just under 600MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Power arrangement: grid service from SRP via a new on-site SRP substation plus a private substation (per the city staff report as published). No interconnection queue entry (SRP is outside an ISO), no ACC docket, no publ“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: 324 MW“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · May 2025 · grade B
- Buildings: 7 buildings“to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · May 2025 · grade B
- NTT DATA announces the Mesa campus in its seven-market land-acquisition release: seven planned facilities, anticipated capacity 324 MW, first data center to open FY2028; the campus sits inside NTT DATA's $10B-through-202“This growth is part of NTT DATA's previously announced $10 billion investment aimed at expanding the business through 2027”Company · May 2025 · grade B
- Utility: SRP (Salt River Project)“consisting of seven buildings and two power substations (one private, one for SRP)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Power plan: grid“consisting of seven buildings and two power substations (one private, one for SRP)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- It is not an NTT figure,“six individual data centers of 400KSF and 60 MW of installed capacity each, according to the conceptual site plan. The overall campus would deliver 2.4MSF of gross built area with an installed capacity of 360MW”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 324 MW“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · May 2025 · grade C
- Site acres: 174 acres“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · May 2025 · grade C
- Stated campus size: 360 MW“At full buildout, the project anticipates up to 1.7 million square feet of floorspace and an impressive 360MW power capacity”News report · April 2025 · grade C
Money and contracts (14)
- Eight online comments naming the NTT project - all opposed, none in support - in the City's official comment file for the Oct 5, 2026 council meeting; themes: water, energy costs, jobs (a commenter claims only 40-60 jobs“Only 40-60 jobs (wages $60K or less) while relying on tax subsidies; Misuse of Critical Water & Energy Resources”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Tenants: None named - owner-operator colocation campus; no end-user tenant named in any source found“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: no tenant announced; NTT owner-operator colocation (space marketed by NTT GDC, no named customer)“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- finding - no executed agreement public: missing clause finding - termination/cancellation/conditions/scope“Acquired 174 acres in Mesa, Arizona to develop a new multi-data center campus, with seven planned facilities and an anticipated capacity of 324MW”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- finding - no power supply agreement public: missing clause finding“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 296378800 USD“Recorded: March 25, 2025 · Price: $296,378,800 · Grantor: PACIFIC PROVING LLC · Grantee: NTT GLOBAL DATA CENTERS PH10 LLC · Parcel number: 313-25-859H · City: MESA”County deed records · March 2025 · grade B
- finding - no development agreement: missing clause finding“To see the entire legislation: 1. Staff Report, 2. Narrative, 3. Site Plan, 4. Landscape Plans, 5. Grading and Drainage Plans, 6. Elevations, 7. Citizen Participation Plan, 8. Citizen Participation Report, 9. Presentation”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Construction stage: none - land acquired Mar 2025 (~$300M); NTT is modifying a previously approved site plan (application filed Aug 4, 2025); the Mesa Planning & Zoning Board voted unanimously on May 13, 2026 to recommen“On May 13, 2026, the Mesa Planning & Zoning Board quickly and quietly voted unanimously to recommend approval of the 2,257,581 sq ft Mesa Data Center Campus known as the NTT Mesa PH10”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Site acres: 173 acres“NTT Data has acquired 173 acres at the northeast intersection of Pecos and Crismon roads, east of Mesa, for $300 million.”News report · April 2025 · grade C
- Site acres: 173 acres“purchased 173 acres in southeast Mesa, Arizona, for $300 million to develop a data center campus”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- land purchase (reported): transaction 300000000 USD“purchased 173 acres in southeast Mesa, Arizona, for $300 million to develop a data center campus”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- land purchase (reported): scope 173 acres“purchased 173 acres in southeast Mesa, Arizona, for $300 million to develop a data center campus”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- NTT Global Data Centers acquired the 173-acre Pecos/Crismon site for a reported $300M (Arizona Republic reporting) - among the largest Mesa land sales for a data center; NTT DATA announced the acquisition (as 174 acres)“purchased 173 acres in southeast Mesa, Arizona, for $300 million to develop a data center campus”News report · March 2025 · grade C
- Pacific Proving (William Levine) bought the southern 1,800 acres of the former GM Desert Proving Ground (opened 1953; GM relocated to Yuma 2009) for $45M; part became Legacy Industrial Park. The campus site sits within t“Local businessman William Levine acquired the 1,800-acre site in 2004 through Pacific Proving for $45 million”News report · Aug. 2024 · grade C
Permits and government (29)
- Zoning: Light Industrial (LI-PAD) - annexation, minor General Plan amendment and rezoning approved by Mesa City Council Aug 2024 for the predecessor plan; NTT case is a site plan modification to that approved development“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Opposition: Organized campaign (Mesa Valley Indivisible, No NTT Mesa PH10); eight online comments naming the NTT project - all opposed - in the City's published comment file for the Oct 5, 2026 council meeting; protest p“I would like to express my opposition to the proposed NTT Data Center located at East Pecos Road and South Crismon Road”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City of Mesa City Council (regular meeting): NTT Data Center - public comment topic (not a council action item); eight online comments naming the NTT project, all opposed“I would like to express my opposition to the proposed NTT Data Center located at East Pecos Road and South Crismon Road”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- site plan modification (major): application submitted Aug. 4, 2025; second submittal Sept. 8, 2025; pre-submittal conference Aug. 5, 2025; first neighborhood meeting Oct. 15, 2025“Pre-Submittal Conference - August 5, 2025; Application Submittal - August 4, 2025; 2nd Application Submittal - September 8, 2025; First neighborhood meeting - October 15, 2025”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- Applicant neighborhood meeting (NTT / Burns & McDonnell, per Citizen Participation Plan): Mesa PH 10 Campus site plan modification - first neighborhood meeting (virtual, per CPP schedule)“First neighborhood meeting - October 15, 2025”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- zoning text amendment (citywide): introduced July 1, 2025 (Item 8-b; P&Z recommendation 6-1) and adopted July 2025 - adds Data Center definition and use standards; principal-use data centers require GI/HI zoning with a PAD“Proposed amendments to Chapters 6, 7, 22, 31, 32, and 86 of Title 11 of the Mesa City Code pertaining to Data Centers and Planned Area Development Overlay Districts”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- City of Mesa City Council (regular meeting): Item 8-b - Ordinance No. 5957: Title 11 text amendments pertaining to Data Centers and Planned Area Development Overlay Districts (citywide)“It was moved by Vice Mayor Somers, seconded by Councilmember Spilsbury, that Resolution No. 12395 and Ordinance No. 5957 be adopted”Local government · July 2025 · grade A
- air quality permit: none found - no MCAQD permit or application for NTT / Pacific Proving at 10010 E Pecos Rd appears in web-indexed county records as of Oct. 18, 2026 (facility-level portal query is JS-gated - browser pass“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- No MCAQD air-quality permit/application and no City of Mesa building permit for the site were found as of Oct. 18, 2026; backup-generator fleet size and capacity are undisclosed in every public document found - the largest“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AZ Attorney General Kris Mayes calls for a statewide pause on data center approvals (legislation urged; no direct legal effect on the PH10 entitlement) and holds the campaign's town hall in Mesa on Oct 14, 2026; Gov. Hob“On August 31, 2026, Attorney General Mayes called for a statewide pause on data centers. She urged the Governor and state lawmakers to pass legislation halting data center approvals”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Arizona Attorney General town hall (Mesa): Community Conversation on Data Centers - statewide context meeting held in Mesa during the PH10 dispute (Eagles Community Center); AG called for a statewide pause on data center“Attorney General Kris Mayes today announced her office will hold a town hall meeting, Community Conversation on Data Centers on Wednesday, October 14, in Mesa”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Council study session on Development Plan Modifications under the Administrative Review Text Amendments (A.R.S. 9-500.49): which site-plan changes need Council approval vs administrative approval. This framework later un“provide direction to staff on the process to modify site plans (Development Plan Modifications) as part of the proposed Administrative Review Text Amendments, including provisions related to identifying Council approvals and administrative approvals”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- City of Mesa City Council (study session): Item 26-0166 - direction to staff on the process to modify site plans (Development Plan Modifications) as part of the Administrative Review Text Amendments, incl. provisions ide“provide direction to staff on the process to modify site plans (Development Plan Modifications) as part of the proposed Administrative Review Text Amendments, including provisions related to identifying Council approvals and administrative approvals”Local government · Feb. 2026 · grade B
- Mesa Ordinance No. 5957 adopted: data centers become a defined use with specific application, development and operational standards; principal-use data centers require GI/HI zoning with a PAD overlay. Previously approved“Establish specific use standards (i.e. application requirements, development standards, operational standards, etc.) for Data Centers”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade B
- Name: Pacific Proving Technology Campus“The commission voted in favor of a general plan amendment and rezoning for both the Pacific Proving Technology Campus and CyrusOne's data center campus”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: entitled (2024 predecessor approval); NTT modification pending administrative approval - no council vote per City position stated Aug. 7, 2026“the city shifted its story again - now claiming that councilmembers will not be voting on the data center at all and that NTT can proceed administratively”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- site plan modification: City position stated to residents Aug. 7, 2026: no City Council vote will be held and NTT may proceed administratively; no administrative approval document has been published as of Oct. 18, 2026“the city shifted its story again - now claiming that councilmembers will not be voting on the data center at all and that NTT can proceed administratively”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Mesa City Council approved the Pacific Proving Technology Campus (annexation, minor GPA, rezoning) in Aug 2024; the approved project subsequently fell through - no development followed and the land was marketed“The site, at Pecos and Crismon roads, shown on the map below, was approved by Mesa City Council in August 2024”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Mesa Valley Indivisible has called a protest at the Oct 26, 2026 City Council meeting over PH10 (announced as of Oct. 18, 2026; the meeting is a regular council meeting, not a scheduled PH10 vote)“Join Mesa Valley Indivisible to protest the data center and the Mesa City Council for silencing its constituents - October 26, 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: entitlement“Mesa's Planning and Zoning Commission voted unanimously on May 13 to recommend approval for a large-scale data center project proposed by Tokyo-based NTT Data Group.”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Sq ft total: 2257581 sq ft“the Mesa Planning & Zoning Board quickly and quietly voted unanimously to recommend approval of the 2,257,581 sq ft Mesa Data Center Campus known as the NTT Mesa PH10”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- site plan modification (major): recommended approval - unanimous (May 13, 2026 public hearing)“Mesa's Planning and Zoning Commission reportedly approved the recommendation quickly and without significant opposition during the May meeting”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- Mesa Planning & Zoning Commission unanimously recommended approval of the NTT campus on May 13, 2026 - the entitlement gate for the Pacific Proving site; A5 rows the press record onl“Mesa's Planning and Zoning Commission voted unanimously on May 13 to recommend approval for a large-scale data center project proposed by Tokyo-based NTT Data Group.”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- City of Mesa Planning and Zoning Board (public hearing): NTT Mesa PH10 - site plan modification to the approved Pacific Proving development (seven buildings, 2,257,581 sq ft) and PAD standard adjustments“Mesa's Planning and Zoning Commission reportedly approved the recommendation quickly and without significant opposition during the May meeting”News report · May 2026 · grade C
- zoning: approved (Aug 2024) - Pacific Proving Technology Campus and Merit Legacy Technology Park both approved; ordinance numbers not retrieved (Legistar meeting fetch timed out - browser pass)“The site, at Pecos and Crismon roads, shown on the map below, was approved by Mesa City Council in August 2024”News report · Sept. 2024 · grade C
- City of Mesa City Council: Pacific Proving Technology Campus (and Merit Legacy Technology Park) - annexation, General Plan amendment and rezoning ordinances“The site, at Pecos and Crismon roads, shown on the map below, was approved by Mesa City Council in August 2024”News report · Sept. 2024 · grade C
- City of Mesa Planning and Zoning Board (public hearing): Pacific Proving Technology Campus - General Plan amendment and rezoning (with CyrusOne campus heard the same meeting)“The commission voted in favor of a general plan amendment and rezoning for both the Pacific Proving Technology Campus and CyrusOne's data center campus”News report · Aug. 2024 · grade C
- zoning: recommended approval 6-0 (Jul 24, 2024 hearing); advanced to City Council for final decision“The Commission recommended approval for a rezoning and general plan amendment on a 6-0 vote”News report · July 2024 · grade C
- pre-submittal review: staff reviewed pre-submittal materials and returned initial feedback; minor General Plan amendment required (Mixed Use Community to Employment) before the Light Industrial request could proceed“six individual data centers of 400KSF and 60 MW of installed capacity each, according to the conceptual site plan”News report · Nov. 2023 · grade C
Legal (2)
- Current target date: Nov. 2028“It expects to open the first phase of the Mesa campus by November 2028 with up to 360 megawatts”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Nov. 15, 2023“Pre-submittal materials have been submitted in Mesa for a major new data center project on 178 vacant acres at the NEC of Pecos Road and the Crismon Road alignment.”News report · Nov. 2023 · grade C
Site and other (10)
- Developer: NTT Global Data Centers (owner-operator) via NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC; prior landowner Pacific Proving (William Levine)“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Aliases: NTT Mesa PH10; Mesa PH 10 Campus; Pacific Proving Technology Park“Mesa PH 10 Campus site located at 10010 East Pecos Road in Mesa, Arizona”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- Address: 10010 East Pecos Road, Mesa, AZ (northeast corner of Pecos Road and Crismon Road)“Mesa PH 10 Campus site located at 10010 East Pecos Road in Mesa, Arizona, otherwise known as Maricopa County Assessor's Office Parcel Number (APN) 313-25-962”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- Parcel number: 313-25-962“otherwise known as Maricopa County Assessor's Office (MCA) Parcel Number (APN) 313-25-962”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- Owner companies: NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Sept. 2025 · grade A
- County code: Maricopa County, AZ (04013)“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: none - no construction; vacant land held by NTT; site plan modification recommended by P&Z May 13, 2026, final approval administrative and not confirmed issued“NTT Global Data Centers PH10, LLC (NTT) is proposing a site plan modification to the existing approved development”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“The first data center is scheduled to open in FY2028”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- First announced: Nov. 2023 (predecessor Pacific Proving plan pre-submittal); NTT campus announced May 13, 2025“Pre-submittal materials have been submitted in Mesa for a major new data center project on 178 vacant acres at the NEC of Pecos Road and the Crismon Road alignment”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Water: Closed-loop cooling system planned; no water-use figure published in any source found“The project will use a closed-loop water cooling system to minimize water consumption”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.