Power and the grid
- APS grid service through a dedicated on-site substation PlannedSTACK says the campus has a dedicated on-site substation and will run on 100% renewable energy (company claim); no service agreement or contracted megawatts are public News report · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- July 2, 2025City requires proof of powerPhoenix's new rule asks developers for a utility contract affirming capacity to serve within two years. Local government · July 2025
- Oct. 15, 2026Rate case for large customersAPS seeks a 45% base rate increase for extra-large customers, the tariff environment any campus agreement would sit under. Company · Oct. 2026
- Not setService agreement: none publicNo executed service agreement, interconnection agreement or will-serve letter for the campus is public. see Permits
Permits checklist
1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file
Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.
- ✓Preliminary site plan GrantedCity of Phoenix Planning and Development · Feb. 24, 2023: staff-level approval; Camelback East district Local government · Feb. 2023
- –Checked, nothing on file: Final site plan, Special permit under the citywide data center rule, Utility commitment to serve within two years
What could slow it down
- HighNo power commitmentNo executed service agreement with APS is public, and APS says its queue is full at about 4,000 MW with no more to be taken until supply is guaranteed. News report · Oct. 2026
- MediumNew city rulesThe 2025 data center ordinance requires a utility commitment to serve; only a final site plan approval exempts a project, and this campus has a preliminary approval only. Local government · July 2025
- MediumRising power costsAPS is asking for a 45% base rate increase for extra-large customers, which would apply to a campus like this. Company · Oct. 2026
- WatchTax incentive closedNew state data center tax certifications are barred from July 2026 to June 2029 (press), and no certification for this campus was located. News report · Oct. 2026
Money on record
$50M capital investment needed for the state data center tax program (within five years of certification in Maricopa County; no certification for this campus was located, and the state now bars new certifications through mid-2029). State agency · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- Nov. 8, 2022Site STACK announces the land purchase and a five-building, 230 MW campus in central Phoenix Company · Nov. 2022
- Feb. 24, 2023Permits City staff approve the preliminary site plan for the Skyway data center Local government · Feb. 2023
- Jan. 8, 2024Site STACK restates the campus at 250 MW Company · Jan. 2024
- July 2, 2025Permits Phoenix City Council adopts a citywide data center rule requiring a special permit and a utility commitment to serve within two years; it exempts projects with final site plan approval Local government · July 2025
- June 13, 2026Money Arizona's budget bars new data center tax certifications from July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2029 (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- Oct. 15, 2026Power APS pursues a 45% base rate increase for the largest customers in its state rate case Company · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Low water use: design claim by STACK Company · Nov. 2022
Owners, partners and builders
- STACK Infrastructure: developer and owner
- Arizona Public Service (APS): serving utility, attributed to the campus
- Pinnacle West Capital: APS parent
- City of Phoenix: site plans and zoning
- Arizona Corporation Commission: utility rates and tariffs
- Arizona Commerce Authority: data center tax program
Open questions
- Final site plan approval and any special permit under the 2025 rule.
- An executed power agreement with APS.
- A tenant and a confirmed construction start.
80 records from 16 documents
Drawn from company statements, local government records, news reports, securities filings and state agency records, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (25)
- Collateral is STACK's stabilized operating portfolio; per-property schedules and addresses are not public, and no collateral property is address/APN-matched to this campus (STACK PHX02, Phoenix, a development campus); Po“in connection with the proposed offering of Stack Infrastructure Issuer, LLC, Secured Data Center Revenue Term Notes, Series 2026-1, Class A-2”SEC filing · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- Collateral is STACK's stabilized operating portfolio; per-property schedules are not public, and no collateral property is address/APN-matched to this campus (PHX02, a development campus); Portfolio context only; no camp“in connection with the proposed offering of Stack Infrastructure Issuer, LLC, Secured Data Center Revenue Term Notes, Series 2024-1, Class A-2”SEC filing · March 2024 · grade A
- Announced: Nov. 8, 2022“In addition to STACK’s existing 80-acre, 150MW site in the Phoenix region, this new hyperscale campus will bring STACK’s total investment in the region to 380MW across 130 acres”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade A
- IT capacity: 250 MW“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity, powered by a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Building count: 5 buildings“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity, powered by a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Buildings: 5“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity, powered by a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- IT capacity: 250 MW“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity, powered by a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity, powered by a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Utility service: not stated“A planned five-building data center campus offering 250MW of scale in Central Phoenix with a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Current target date: not stated“The five-building campus is designed to deliver nearly 250MW of critical capacity”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- APS is pursuing a 45% base rate increase for extra-large customers in its ACC rate case (Docket E-01345A-25-0105) under a 'growth pays for growth' framework, the tariff environment any PHX02 service agreement would be w“A 45% base rate increase for extra-large customers to ensure they're paying their full costs”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Campus capacity restated from 230 MW (Nov 2022 announcement) to 250 MW (Jan 2024 release; current campus page: nearly 250MW of critical capacity). No explanation of the increase was published.“A planned five-building data center campus offering 250MW of scale in Central Phoenix with a dedicated on-site substation”Company · Jan. 2024 · grade B
- Announced: Nov. 8, 2022“announced its plans to develop a five-building, 230MW campus in the heart of central Phoenix, Arizona”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- On-site generation: not stated“the campus will also feature a dedicated onsite substation to power the future campus and will run on 100% renewable energy”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- Power plan: grid“the campus will also feature a dedicated onsite substation to power the future campus and will run on 100% renewable energy”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- Original target date: not stated“announced its plans to develop a five-building, 230MW campus in the heart of central Phoenix, Arizona”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- STACK announces the Central Phoenix land purchase and five-building campus; combined with its existing 80-acre, 150 MW Phoenix-region site (PHX01, Avondale), STACK's regional total becomes 380 MW across 130 acres.“In addition to STACK's existing 80-acre, 150MW site in the Phoenix region, this new hyperscale campus will bring STACK's total investment in the region to 380MW across 130 acres”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- County code: 04013“PHX02 | STACK Infrastructure | Phoenix, Maricopa Co. | 51 acres; 5 buildings; about 250 MW | Planned”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Project status: planned - announced only“PHX02 | STACK Infrastructure | Phoenix, Maricopa Co. | 51 acres; 5 buildings; about 250 MW | Planned”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: APS (Arizona Public Service)“PHX02A is the first building on STACK's PHX02 campus at 40th Street and Loop 202 in central Phoenix”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Baxtel lists PHX02A as first building at 40th Street and Loop 202, fed from on-site APS substation, with foundation work began in 2026 - unverified, not used to upgrade status“PHX02A is the first building on STACK's PHX02 campus at 40th Street and Loop 202 in central Phoenix: a 221,540 sq ft data center”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: Arizona Public Service Company (APS)“The building will be fed from the campus's dedicated on-site Arizona Public Service substation”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Stage: announced / planned (entitled 2023); construction not verified“PHX02 STACK Infrastructure Phoenix, Maricopa Co. 51 acres; 5 buildings; about 250 MW Planned”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- APS has allocated about 4,000 MW to data centers already in its interconnection queue and will not take on more until it can guarantee supply (trade tracker reporting APS statements). Portfolio context only, no campus a“the company says it has allocated about 4,000 megawatts to data centers already in its queue and will not take on more until it can guarantee supply”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Aggregator Baxtel (search-result evidence only, page never opened) claims building PHX02A, 221,540 sq ft, built by Holder Construction, fed from the on-site APS substation, began foundation work in 2026. No company, ci“PHX02A is the first building on STACK's PHX02 campus at 40th Street and Loop 202 in central Phoenix: a 221,540 sq ft data center built by Holder Construction, fed from the on-site APS substation. Foundation work began in 2026”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (12)
- zoning performance standard (Ordinance G-7396): condition“A LOCAL UTILITY COMPANY PROVIDES A CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT THAT AFFIRMS ITS CAPACITY AND COMMITMENT TO SERVE THE ENERGY DEMAND WITHIN TWO YEARS FOR THE PROPOSED DATA CENTER”Local government · July 2025 · grade A
- zoning performance standard (Ordinance G-7396): scope“THESE REGULATIONS AND THE DESIGN GUIDELINES SET FORTH IN SECTION 507 TAB A.II.D.5., DATA CENTERS ARE NOT APPLICABLE TO DATA CENTERS WHICH HAVE RECEIVED FINAL SITE PLAN APPROVAL”Local government · July 2025 · grade A
- Tenants: not stated“PHX02 offers unmatched access and flexibility for businesses expanding in Phoenix's booming data center market”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Tenant status: No tenant announced; speculative campus marketed for large-scale cloud and AI workloads“ensuring reliability and growth for large-scale cloud and AI-driven workloads”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- land purchase: missing clause (finding)“announced its plans to develop a five-building, 230MW campus in the heart of central Phoenix, Arizona”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- electric service agreement: missing clause (finding)“Data centers and large commercial/industrial customers operate under specialized rate structures and tariffs regulated by the Arizona Corporation Commission”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- tax incentive program (framework; campus certification not located): condition 50000000 USD within 5 years of certification“If the CDC facility is located in either Maricopa or Pima County, a capital investment of at least $50 million must be made within five years of the date of the CDC's certification”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- tax incentive program (framework; campus certification not located): termination“ADOR may revoke a CDC certification if the requisite capital investment threshold is not satisfied”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Gross sq ft: 1700000 sq ft“The more than 1.7 million square foot campus will include a low water use design that supports client sustainability targets”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- Sustainability design: Low water use design; campus to run on 100% renewable energy (company claim)“The more than 1.7 million square foot campus will include a low water use design that supports client sustainability targets”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- land purchase: scope“This latest land purchase announcement follows a string of additional expansion news from STACK”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- Arizona's FY2027 budget (signed Jun 13, 2026) bars the Arizona Commerce Authority from certifying new data centers under the Computer Data Center program from Jul 1, 2026 through Jun 30, 2029; the 83 already-certified pr“The budget signed June 13 bars the Arizona Commerce Authority from certifying new data centers from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2029”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Permits and government (8)
- Permitting jurisdiction: City of Phoenix (land use / site plan); Maricopa County Air Quality Department (air permits); Arizona Corporation Commission (APS rates and tariffs)“amend Chapter 6, Section 647 (Special Permit Uses), Section 647.A.2 to add data centers within the C-2 (Intermediate Commercial), C-3 (General Commercial), CP/GCP, A-1 (Light Industrial), and A-2 (Industrial) zoning districts, with a Special Permit and performance standards”Local government · July 2025 · grade A
- zoning text amendment (data center framework): adopted“Public Hearing - Amend City Code - Ordinance Adoption - Data Centers - Z-TA-2-25-Y (Ordinance G-7396) - Citywide”Local government · July 2025 · grade A
- City of Phoenix Planning Commission: Z-TA-2-25-Y data centers text amendment (companion GPA-2-25-Y)“The Planning Commission heard this item on June 5, 2025 and recommended approval, per the memo from the Planning and Development Department Deputy Director dated June 4, 2025, by a vote of 9-0”Local government · June 2025 · grade A
- preliminary site plan: approved“Preliminary Review of Preliminary Site Plan Approval PRELIM 2300827 Stack Skyway Data Center”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- City of Phoenix Site Plan Review Team: Preliminary Review of Preliminary Site Plan, Stack Skyway Data Center (PRELIM 2300827, Project 21-5226)“Preliminary Review of Preliminary Site Plan Approval PRELIM 2300827 Stack Skyway Data Center”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- City of Phoenix City Council: Item 108, Ordinance adoption, Data Centers, Z-TA-2-25-Y (Ordinance G-7396)“The Phoenix Mayor and City Council today approved updates to modernize the City's Zoning Ordinance to add data centers as a permitted use”Local government · July 2025 · grade B
- Preliminary Site Plan: Approval“Preliminary Review of Preliminary Site Plan | Stack Skyway Data Center: A development located at Southwest Corner of 202 and 40th Street”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade B
- After Ordinance G-7396 (Jul 2, 2025), at least 11 Phoenix landowners/developers filed Prop 207 (A.R.S. 12-1134) compensation demands over diminished data-center project values (reported total about $753M); the city began“Within months, Phoenix was faced with at least 11 landowners and developers demanding compensation for the lost value of their data center projects under Prop 207”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Site and other (11)
- County code: Maricopa County, AZ (04013)“Stack Skyway Data Center: A development located at Southwest Corner of 202 and 40th Street (Camelback East District 8)”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- Construction stage: Announced and entitled: land acquired Nov 2022; preliminary site plan approved Feb 24, 2023 (PRELIM 2300827). No construction start verified in any opened source as of Oct. 18, 2026“Preliminary Review of Preliminary Site Plan Approval PRELIM 2300827 Stack Skyway Data Center”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- City: Phoenix“Stack Skyway Data Center: A development located at Southwest Corner of 202 and 40th Street (Camelback East District 8)”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- Address: Southwest corner of Loop 202 and 40th Street, Phoenix, AZ (no street address published in opened sources)“Site Location: SOUTHWEST CORNER OF 202 AND 40TH STREET”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade A
- Site acres: 51 acres“Situated on 51 acres in central Phoenix, STACK's PHX02 campus is strategically located near the largest network hub in the region”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Developer: STACK Infrastructure“Situated on 51 acres in central Phoenix, STACK's PHX02 campus is strategically located near the largest network hub in the region”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Name: STACK PHX02“PHX02 Campus”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site acres: 51 acres“Situated on 51 acres in central Phoenix, STACK's PHX02 campus is strategically located near the largest network hub in the region”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Site location: Southwest Corner of 202 and 40th Street, Phoenix, AZ (Camelback East District 8)“Stack Skyway Data Center: A development located at Southwest Corner of 202 and 40th Street (Camelback East District 8).”Local government · Feb. 2023 · grade B
- Developer: STACK Infrastructure“STACK Infrastructure (STACK), the digital infrastructure partner to the world's most innovative companies, and leading global developer and operator of data centers”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B
- Operator: STACK Infrastructure“STACK Infrastructure (STACK), the digital infrastructure partner to the world's most innovative companies, and leading global developer and operator of data centers”Company · Nov. 2022 · grade B