Data center profile · South of Eloy, unincorporated Pinal County, Arizona

Vermaland Data Center Park (La Osa)

Vermaland's gas-and-grid data center park on 3,385 acres near Eloy, Arizona, cut from 3 GW to 1 GW (developer figures); rezoning denied Aug. 26, 2026.

Rezoning denied. Pinal County supervisors voted 4-1 on Aug. 26, 2026 to deny the rezoning and the planned-area overlay, and the denial is the latest word: no appeal, lawsuit or refiling is on record. A separate Nov. 2025 land-use designation still stands, so the owner could reapply.
The campus, Satellite image, June 6, 2025
1 GW
energy demand cap in the revised plan
developer figure, down from 3 GW; 59 buildings cut to 11
3,385 acres
area covered by the rezoning request
2,393 acres industrial, 992 acres open space
$33B
price tag in the July 2025 announcement
developer figure; its attorney later said $10B or more
4-1
supervisors' vote to deny, Aug. 26, 2026
two measures denied; the comprehensive plan change was not undone
OperatorNone named; Vermaland is a land developer, not an operator
CustomerNone named; the land was listed for sale to an end user
Planned IT capacity2.4 GW at full build-out (our estimate from the company's 3 GW campus power figure)
Next deadlineJune 2029: Arizona's moratorium on new data-center tax exemption applications ends, so a refiled project could not claim the exemption before then
The site

The site from above

Satellite overview
Satellite image, June 6, 2025.
Permits

Permits checklist

2 denied · 1 granted · 3 checked, nothing on file

Risks

Why it stopped, what could revive it

Power

Power and the grid

None energized or contracted yet

Original on-site gas plants (two)Proposed, withdrawn
2,000 MW
up to 2,000 MW in the April 2026 application; no turbine maker, model or count was ever specified News report · April 2026
Revised on-site gas plant (one)Proposed, never contracted
500 MW
500 MW with battery storage in the scaled-back plan; county staff proposed a 1,000 MW cap on gas capacity News report · Aug. 2026
Proposed
Other sources, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. April 7, 2026
    District letter, no contract
    Electrical District No. 4 says it is prepared to serve if infrastructure and financial commitments are met; none were defined. News report · April 2026
  2. April 15, 2026
    APS has no commitments here
    Arizona Public Service tells the county none of its committed data-center load covers any Pinal County project. News report · April 2026
  3. April 16, 2026
    Gas line 2.5 miles away
    El Paso Natural Gas runs about 2.5 miles west; no contract or capacity commitment exists. News report · April 2026
  4. Aug. 26, 2026
    Denial ends the path
    With the rezoning denied, none of the power plans can proceed on this land. News report · Aug. 2026
  5. Not set
    Air permit and plant siting: not filed
    No air permit application exists, and no state power-plant siting filing was made; the developer planned to seek it only after rezoning. see Permits
Money

Money on record

$33B
developer's headline cost, July 2025
press release; no tenant, utility or lender was named Company · July 2025
$10B+
applicant attorney's cost estimate, April 2026
down from nearly $20B in Nov. 2025 News report · April 2026

Not on record: lender, equity or committed capital: the applicant said energy contracts with steep penalties could not be signed before rezoning News report · April 2026; tax incentive: state exemption never approved, new applications closed July 2026 to June 2029 Company · July 2025

Land assembly

No arm's-length land purchase by the campus company is in county records. 2 related-party transfers are shown greyed. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. July 31, 2025
    Site Vermaland announces a $33B, up to 3 GW data center park in a Qualified Opportunity Zone Company · July 2025
  2. Nov. 19, 2025
    Permits Supervisors unanimously approve the comprehensive plan amendment News report · Nov. 2025
  3. April 7, 2026
    Power Electrical District No. 4 writes it is prepared to serve, subject to undefined commitments News report · April 2026
  4. April 15, 2026
    Power APS tells the county it has no data-center commitments in Pinal County News report · April 2026
  5. April 16, 2026
    Permits The planning commission recommends the rezoning 7-2 with 33 conditions News report · April 2026
  6. May 27, 2026
    Permits Supervisors delay the vote to Aug. 26 so the applicant can return with a smaller plan News report · May 2026
  7. June 13, 2026
    Money Arizona signs a three-year moratorium on new data-center tax exemption applications State agency · June 2026
  8. Aug. 21, 2026
    Site Nine organizations send a letter urging the board to deny News report · Aug. 2026
  9. Aug. 26, 2026
    Permits Supervisors deny the rezoning and overlay 4-1 News report · Aug. 2026
  10. June 2029
    Money The state's moratorium on new data-center tax exemption applications ends State agency · June 2026
Construction activity

Satellite captures by quarter

Since Feb. 2022: 71 satellite captures. The chart starts in the first quarter of 2023; 4 earlier records are not drawn.

Satellite
’23
’24
’25
’26
Dot size: records in the quarter, largest = 6. Two-digit years mark each first quarter.
The buildings

Specs

59 to 11 buildings
original plan of about 400,000 sq ft each, cut to 11 in the revised plan
600 acre-feet a year
freshwater cap offered in the revised plan; the earlier estimate was about 4,288
33 conditions
proposed zoning conditions that never took effect after the denial
100 to 500 jobs
per building, as the applicant claimed; commissioners doubted it and the applicant conceded about 500 in all
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Developer and owners
  • Vermaland LLC: Phoenix land developer and applicant; Kuldip (Ken) Verma, founder and CEO
  • Two landowner companies in the Verma family hold the parcels
Advisers
  • Rose Law Group (attorney Court Rich): applicant counsel
  • EPS Group: applicant engineer
Utilities and suppliers
  • Electrical District No. 4: possible power deliverer
  • Arizona Public Service: owns a 230 kV line; no commitments here
  • Western Area Power Administration: owns two 115 kV lines
  • El Paso Natural Gas (Kinder Morgan): nearest gas line
  • Global Water: prospective water provider
Decision-makers
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors: denied 4-1, with Supervisor Miller dissenting
  • Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission and Citizens Advisory Committee: recommended approval
Opponents and supporters
  • Rural Arizona Engagement and Coalition for Sonoran Desert Protection: led opposition
  • SMART union trades and Arizona Technology Council: supporters
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

280 records from 23 documents

Drawn from news reports, company statements, public and commercial datasets, state agency records and satellite captures, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 17Company 2Dataset 2State agency 2Satellite 0
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (28)
  • Stated campus size: 3,000 MW
    “The 3,300-acre complex would support up to 3 gigawatts of power capacity”
  • Nearest substation: 12.75 km
    Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
  • Nearest transmission line: 1.30 km
    Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
  • Transmission line 230 kV distance: 1.33 km
    Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
  • Nearest gas pipeline: 8.04 km
    Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
  • Grid operator: none - WECC region; Arizona has no ISO/RTO market
    “Two of the entities involved in La Osa power supply are not regulated by the ACC”
  • On-site generation: 500 MW
    “On-site generation was specified: a 500-megawatt natural gas plant, plus utility-scale battery storage”
  • Interconnection status: cancelled at county level - identity CONFIRMED: La Osa Energy Center is Vermaland's project (at least three independent sources name Vermaland as the La Osa developer); The Pinal County Board of S
    “Pinal County's supervisors voted 4-1 to deny the rezoning behind La Osa, a data center and gas generation campus south of Eloy”
  • Stated campus size: 1,000 MW
    “Total energy demand was capped at 1 gigawatt, down from an original 3 GW”
  • On-site generation: 500 MW
    “before being scaled back to 11 data center buildings, a 500 MW gas plant, battery energy storage, and total energy demand of up to 1 GW”
  • Power plan: hybrid (proposed only: on-site gas routed through ED4 + grid delivery + contracted solar; never contracted; Phase 1 was entirely grid-dependent)
    “Phase 1 has no on-site generation. It depends entirely on grid interconnection through ED4”
  • Original target date: none - no COD was ever stated in the application or hearing record
    “The actual build-out depends on demand, utility capacity, and permitting outcomes for the on-site gas generation, none of which are committed”
  • Paper or real: Entitled-land play, not a powered campus: land-bank owner, no tenant, no operator, no utility commitment, no gas contract, no air permit, no CEC filing, no financing; claimed size fell from 3,000 MW / 59 b
    “No utility has actually said yes”
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 on Aug. 26, 2026 to reject the La Osa (Vermaland) rezoning and planned-area-development overlay (cases PZ-003-26 / PZ-PD-003-26), cancelling the campus as applied for; the compreh
    “Vermaland proposed to construct its La Osa Energy Center south of Eloy, near the Greene Wash, which is part of the Santa Cruz Wash”
  • Conditions of approval: No approval issued. The PAD case carried 33 stipulations (drainage, traffic, setbacks, buffering, landscaping, noise mitigation incl. stipulation 28 best-available sound technology, decommissionin
    “a stipulation capping the combined generating capacity of the on-site gas plants at 1,000 megawatts”
  • Cooling: Closed-loop / dry (air) cooling pledged for data center buildings (sealed glycol recirculation); commitment sat in the project narrative, not in the 33 PAD stipulations; gas plants would use evaporative ponds
    “nothing is stipulated about anything, the gas, the way the gas plant is, the way the water and closed loop system is”
  • Transmission owner: WAPA owns two 115 kV lines crossing the central site; APS owns the 230 kV line crossing the southern parcels
    “the Western Area Power Administration (WAPA) owns the 115kV transmission lines crossing the central portion of the property, APS owns the 230kV transmission line”
  • Substation kV: 500 (two on-site 500 kV substation/switchyard sites shown in plans at the gas plant locations; off-site bulk connection to the TEP Pinal Central-Tortolita 500 kV corridor never described or secured)
    “The site plans show a proposed 500-kilovolt substation and switchyard at each of the two gas plant sites”
  • On-site generation: 2,000 MW
    “On-site gas plants would generate up to 2,000 megawatts; the campus would support up to 3 gigawatts”
  • Phases: 3 (Phase 1 Northwest: first buildings + fire station site; Phase 2 Central: first gas plant + 500 kV substation; Phase 3 Southeast: second gas plant + second 500 kV substation)
    “Vermaland LLC, represented by Rich, plans to build in three phases”
  • Interconnection status: No interconnection agreement executed with any utility; interconnection studies with ED4 (and APS wires-to-wires discussions) underway as of Apr 2026 with no public results
    “The applicant confirmed at the April 16, 2026 hearing that interconnection studies with ED4 are underway”
  • On-site power technology: Natural gas combustion turbines (two plants in original application; one 500 MW plant in revised) plus battery storage proposed; no OEM, model, unit count or cycle configuration ever specified;
    “the application does not specify the number, manufacturer, model, or cycle configuration of the turbines proposed for La Osa”
  • Gas supplier: El Paso Natural Gas (Kinder Morgan) pipeline ~2.5 miles west is the nearest supply; no gas contract; firm vs interruptible service never addressed; later phases would need the Transwestern Desert Southwest
    “The El Paso Natural Gas (EPNG) pipeline system, owned by Kinder Morgan, runs approximately 2.5 miles west of the site”
  • Workforce estimate: Applicant claimed 100-500 jobs per data center building plus ~70 permanent power-plant jobs; commissioners challenged the figures (5-10 per building seen nationally) and the applicant conceded total e
    “I am seeing, like, 5 or 10 people per building, not 100 to 500”
  • APS testified it has ~4.5 GW of data center load committed territory-wide through 2030-2032 and 20+ GW requested without commitments, with zero commitments in Pinal County (portfolio context only - not campus MW)
    “APS has committed to serve approximately 4.5 gigawatts of data center load through 2030-2032 across its service territory”
  • Utility: Electrical District No. 4 (ED4) of Pinal County - the local utility district that could deliver power to the site; ED4 generates no power and resells wholesale purchases
    “ED4 is the local utility district that could deliver power to the La Osa site, ED4 does not generate its own electricity”
  • Electric service agreement signed: none - no energy supply agreement with ED4, APS or any other utility
    “No utility has actually said yes. APS confirmed in April it has zero commitments to any Pinal County data center”
  • Aliases: La Osa Project; La Osa Energy Center; La Osa Gas-Fired Power and Data Center Complex
    “The La Osa Gas-Fired Power and Data Center Complex”
Money and contracts (26)
  • tax incentive (state program): moratorium three-year moratorium on new Computer Data Center exemption applications, Jul 1, 2026 through Jun 30, 2029, enacted in the FY2026-27 budget (HB 4168) signed Jun 13, 2026; La Osa
    “a three year data center tax credit moratorium”
  • Owner companies: Vermaland LLC
    “Arizona land developer Vermaland, LLC unveiled plans for a $33 billion data center industrial park”
  • Announced: July 31, 2025 (Vermaland PR Newswire release)
    “Vermaland, LLC unveiled plans for a $33 billion data center industrial park”
  • Stated capital cost: 33000000000 USD
    “unveiled plans for a $33 billion data center industrial park that would become the largest such development in the United States”
  • Incentives: No project-specific incentive, abatement or GPLET agreement. Site sits in a federal Qualified Opportunity Zone. The state Computer Data Center TPT exemption (ARS 41-1519) was the only identified incentive and
    “The development sits within a federally designated Qualified Opportunity Zone”
  • Vermaland announces La Osa by PR Newswire: $33B, up to 3 GW, Qualified Opportunity Zone; no tenant, operator, utility or lender named
    “Vermaland, LLC unveiled plans for a $33 billion data center industrial park”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD
    “Recorded: Feb. 26, 2025 · Grantor: VERMA LA OSA RANCH I 10 SASCO RD CA · Grantee: VERMA LA OSA RANCH I 10 SASCO 3700 · Address: 000 ADDRESS EXCEPTION · City: CITY EXCEPTION”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value USD
    “Recorded: April 21, 2023 · Grantor: VERMA LA OSA RANCH I 10 SASCO RD CA · Grantee: VERMA LA OSA RANCH I 10 SASCO 3700 · Parcel number: 409-01-014A · City: ELOY”
  • Tenants: none - no tenant, LOI, end user or operator publicly identified at any stage of the 15-month entitlement record
    “Fees and contributions will be determined at a later date before the building permit is filed, once a buyer or lessee is identified”
  • Tenant status: none found - no commitment of any kind (no signed lease, LOI or MOU in the record)
    “the developer intends to sell to an end user”
  • Water use stated: 600 acre-feet/yr
    “the developer proposed an 80% scale reduction, a 600-acre-foot annual freshwater cap, and commitments to carry energy infrastructure costs”
  • zoning stipulations (proposed, never effective): termination / lapse the 33 PAD stipulations and the late-added 1,000 MW combined gas cap never took effect because the rezoning and PAD were denied on Aug 26, 2026; no ves
    “includes a stipulation capping the combined generating capacity of the on-site gas plants at 1,000 megawatts”
  • Water source: Unresolved: Global Water will-serve letter per applicant attorney (Apr 16, 2026) but described only as a potential supplier in application documents; private wells and septic for initial phases; attorney cl
    “The applicant has a contract for 1,200 acre feet of historical water rights that can be used on the property”
  • water rights contract: scope contract claimed for 1,200 acre-feet of historical water rights usable on the property, reducing agricultural use; the contract itself is not in the public record acre-feet
    “The applicant has a contract for 1,200 acre feet of historical water rights that can be used on the property”
  • land sale listing: scope property listed for sale online during the rezoning, marketed as Potential to be largest Data Center in the United States; applicant confirmed intent to sell to an end user
    “The property is listed for sale online, where it is marketed as having Potential to be largest Data Center in the United States”
  • The La Osa property was listed for sale online during the rezoning, marketed as the potential largest data center in the United States; the applicant confirmed an intent to sell to an end user
    “The property is listed for sale online, where it is marketed as having Potential to be largest Data Center in the United States”
  • development agreement: existence none - no development agreement was recorded or entered into; project commitments lived in the application narrative, not in binding stipulations
    “The developer commitments are not legally binding... sit in the project narrative, not in the 33 zoning conditions the Board approves”
  • Buildings: 59 (conceptual maximum in original application, ~400,000 sq ft each) buildings
    “Plans show up to 59 data center buildings around 400,000 square feet each”
  • Water use stated: 3828780 gal/day average industrial demand projected by applicant EPS Group memo (~4,288 acre-feet/yr), max day 7,657,560 gal/day; wastewater 2,552,520 gal/day gallons/day
    “Industrial water demand is projected at 3,828,780 gallons per day on average, with a max day demand of 7,657,560”
  • Stated capital cost: 10000000000 (on the order of $10 billion or more, applicant attorney at the Apr 16, 2026 P and Z hearing) USD
    “Rich estimated the total construction cost on the order of $10 billion or more”
  • Financing: none - no lender, equity sponsor or committed capital identified; applicant stated energy/infrastructure contracts with steep penalties could not be signed before rezoning
    “they would be on the hook for billions of dollars of energy”
  • water service: will-serve letter received per applicant attorney (Apr 16, 2026); Global Water planned to create a service territory for the project; its nearest existing facility is ~10 miles away in Red Rock; private we
    “Rich confirmed the project has received a will-serve letter from Global Water, which plans to create a service territory for the project”
  • fire service annexation: condition precedent annexation of the project into the district contemplated; applicant offered to designate and donate a fire station site if the district determines one is necessary; district r
    “Fees and contributions will be determined at a later date before the building permit is filed, once a buyer or lessee is identified”
  • energy supply agreement: existence none - APS testified Apr 15, 2026 that it has no data center service commitments anywhere in Pinal County; only wires-to-wires interconnection discussions with the applicant
    “none of APS 4.5 GW commitment covers any Pinal County data center project”
  • energy supply agreement: existence none executed - ED4 letter of Apr 7, 2026 states the District is prepared to serve subject to significant infrastructure improvements and appropriate financial commitments from the appl
    “the District is prepared to serve subject to significant infrastructure improvements and appropriate financial commitments from the applicant”
  • Stated capital cost: 20000000000 (nearly $20 billion, applicant attorney at the Nov 19, 2025 BoS hearing) USD
    “Rich described the project as an investment of nearly $20 billion, potentially more depending on the final site plan”
Permits and government (28)
  • Arizona FY2026-27 budget signed with a three-year moratorium on new data center tax exemption applications (Jul 1, 2026 - Jun 30, 2029); a refiled La Osa could not obtain the state equipment exemption in that window
    “a three year data center tax credit moratorium”
  • certificate of environmental compatibility (power plant siting): no CEC application found; a thermal plant of 100 MW or more requires a CEC under ARS 40-360 before construction, and the applicant path contemplated ACC ap
    “seek Arizona Corporation Commission approval for the gas-fired power plants before moving into building permitting”
  • Site acres rezoning: 3385 acres
    “The rezoning itself still covered 3,385 acres, split into 2,393 acres of I-3 industrial and 992 acres of proposed open space, under case numbers PZ-003-26 and PZ-PD-003-26”
  • Rezoning outcome: DENIED 4-1 by the Pinal County Board of Supervisors on Aug. 26, 2026 (cases PZ-003-26 / PZ-PD-003-26); verdict confirmed
    “Pinal County's supervisors voted 4-1 to deny the rezoning behind La Osa, a data center and gas generation campus south of Eloy”
  • Name: Vermaland Data Center Park (La Osa)
    “A data center campus planned outside of Eloy hit a roadblock when the Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted against changing the zoning”
  • Rezoning date: Aug. 26, 2026 - DENIED 4-1 by Pinal County Board of Supervisors (cases 2026-PZ-003-26 and 2026-PZ-PD-003-26)
    “the Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted against changing the zoning for the land parcel”
  • Current target date: n/a - rezoning denied; no path to construction
    “It is not immediately clear whether developer Vermaland plans to reapply”
  • Construction stage: none - no construction; vacant desert land; no site plan, grading or building permit ever issued
    “The project spans roughly 3,385 acres south of Eloy... The land is largely vacant desert”
  • Time to service (months): not applicable - rezoning denied
    “It is not immediately clear whether developer Vermaland plans to reapply, but it would likely take months for the matter to come before the board again”
  • rezoning: DENIED 4-1 (Miller dissenting)
    “the supervisors voted 4-1 against two measures to facilitate construction on the La Osa development”
  • planned area development overlay: DENIED 4-1 (Miller dissenting)
    “the Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted 4-1 to reject the rezoning and related planned area development overlay”
  • Denial drew national coverage as the first data center campus proposed in unincorporated Pinal County was rejected after a 15-month entitlement fight; supporters included SMART union trades and the Arizona Technology Cou
    “The 4-1 vote blocks the path to rezone more than 3,000 acres of rural land for the development”
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors: Cases 2026-PZ-003-26 and 2026-PZ-PD-003-26
    “The Board voted 4-1 to deny approval of two continued planning and zoning items related to development of a Data Center”
  • Opposition: Organized opposition led by Rural Arizona Engagement (RAZE) and the Coalition for Sonoran Desert Protection; nine-organization sign-on letter urged denial on Aug 21, 2026; 100+ protest letters before the fina
    “The undersigned nine organizations in Southern Arizona urge the Board of Supervisors to deny the cases known as the La Osa data center project”
  • Moratoria: No county moratorium adopted; residents repeatedly asked the Board for a temporary countywide data-center moratorium; county planning staff said in July 2026 they were working on a potential ordinance or stand
    “the county has no standards for them yet. Planning staff said at the July hearing they are working on a potential ordinance or standards”
  • Pinal County has no data center ordinance; planning staff told the Board in July 2026 they were working on potential standards. The absence of data-center-specific zoning standards was a stated ground of the La Osa denia
    “the county has no standards for them yet”
  • rezoning: continued to Aug 26, 2026 at applicant request (no decision; Serdy absent, Vitiello no on continuance)
    “Pinal County supervisors took no final vote on the La Osa data center and continued both zoning cases to August 26, 2026”
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors: Cases 2026-PZ-003-26 and 2026-PZ-PD-003-26
    “After hours of public testimony, the board continued both zoning cases to August 26”
  • rezoning: recommended approval 7-2 (Klob, Scott no)
    “The Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission voted 7-2 on April 16 to recommend the La Osa Energy and Data Center rezoning”
  • planned area development overlay: recommended approval with 33 stipulations
    “A companion Planned Area Development overlay, Case PZ-PD-003-26, applies 33 stipulations across the full acreage”
  • floodplain use permit: never applied for; a large portion of the site is in FEMA Zone A with ~10,000 cfs of offsite flow, and facilities would have needed elevation above the 100-year flood level plus floodplain permits
    “All facilities would need to be elevated above the 100-year flood level and comply with floodplain use permits”
  • Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission: Cases PZ-003-26 and PZ-PD-003-26 (rezoning + PAD overlay)
    “Mooney then moved to recommend approval of PZ-003-26 with the single staff stipulation. The motion passed 7-2”
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors (work session): Data center development presentations (APS, SRP)
    “Asked specifically about Pinal County, Bogle confirmed that none of APS 4.5 GW commitment covers any Pinal County data center project”
  • comprehensive plan amendment: approved unanimously, no stipulations (P and Z recommended 7-3; Citizens Advisory Committee 11-4)
    “The Pinal County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to approve a comprehensive plan amendment for the La Osa Gas-Fired Power and Data Center Complex”
  • Pinal County Board of Supervisors: La Osa comprehensive plan amendment (Employment / GPFS designation)
    “The Board of Supervisors approved the comprehensive plan amendment without stipulations”
  • Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission: La Osa comprehensive plan amendment
    “At the October 16, 2025 Planning and Zoning Commission hearing, Commissioner Hartman asked how many megawatts the gas generation would be”
  • Citizens Advisory Committee: La Osa comprehensive plan amendment recommendation
    “the Citizens Advisory Committee, which voted 11-4 to recommend approval”
  • Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission: La Osa rezoning application informational session
    “the Pinal County Planning and Zoning Commission held a non-voting informational session for the application on July 17”
Legal (1)
  • Lawsuits: none found - no litigation or appeal of the denial in the record reviewed as of capture
    “Opponents prevail in La Osa data center fight in Pinal County”
Site and other (6)
  • Operator: none - no operator ever named; Vermaland is a land developer only
    “It is the owner and developer of the La Osa site, but not itself a data center operator”
  • Address: Along the Greene Canal of the Santa Cruz Wash, south of Baumgartner Road and east of Eleven Mile Corner Road, south of the City of Eloy, unincorporated Pinal County, AZ
    “located along the Greene Canal of the Santa Cruz River, south of Baumgartner Road, and east of Eleven Mile Corner Road, south of the City of Eloy”
  • Buildings: 11 (revised application) buildings
    “the supervisors voted 4-1 against two measures to facilitate construction on the La Osa development, which would have included 11 data centers”
  • Stage: cancelled - entitlement denied 4-1 on Aug 26, 2026; the land retains its Nov 19, 2025 comprehensive plan Employment / General Public Facilities designation (approved separately, not overturned), so a refile is pos
    “The comprehensive plan amendment redesignating the land for Employment and public facilities was approved separately and was not overturned”
  • Developer: Vermaland LLC (Phoenix land-banking company; not a data center operator; stated plan was to sell or lease entitled parcels to end users)
    “The applicant confirmed the land is for sale, saying the developer intends to sell to an end user”
  • Acres: 3385 acres
    “The project covers 3,385 acres south of Eloy, along the Greene Canal of the Santa Cruz Wash”

Imagery and records: Satellite imagery: Maxar via Esri World Imagery Wayback. County deeds: ATTOM.