Power and the grid
Contracted, size not disclosed
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative grid power Agreement signedno megawatt, term or price in any public source; Amazon picks the energy supply (including renewables), the co-op delivers it Company · Oct. 2026
Getting on the grid
Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.
- April 4, 2023Energy supply deal with the co-opAmazon and Umatilla Electric Cooperative announce that Amazon chooses the energy supply and the co-op delivers it. Company · Oct. 2026
- Not setCapacity not on recordNo public source gives the megawatts, minimum bill or termination terms of the supply deal. Company · Oct. 2026
- The 113 diesel engines (280 MW nameplate) are emergency backup. The permit bars them from peak shaving, demand response or sending power to the grid. State agency · April 2024
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative serves this site. Amazon's separate fight with PacifiCorp before the state utility commission covers four other campuses, not this one. Utility regulator · Feb. 2026
- Because the campus may be half built, the permitted generator total should not be read as built capacity (press). News report · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
3 granted
Permits on record for this site. Building permits are not in our sources.
- ✓Land use compatibility statement GrantedCity of Umatilla · Nov. 3, 2022: city, not the county, holds land-use authority State agency · April 2024
- ✓Air permit for 113 backup engines GrantedOregon Department of Environmental Quality · April 24, 2024: expires May 2029; no comments or hearing request State agency · April 2024
- ✓Rural enterprise-zone tax abatement GrantedCity of Umatilla · Feb. 18, 2025: council approved a second amendment after the scope cut (press); vote count not found News report · Oct. 2026
What could slow it down
- MediumScale is unclearThe permit covers four buildings, but city staff say two are being built (press). No source gives the campus's megawatts or confirms it is running. Local government · Oct. 2026
- MediumPermit pauseAny expansion or changed permit for this site would wait for the state pause to end in July 2027. News report · Oct. 2026
- WatchWaterAWS used 59 million gallons in Umatilla in 2024, 11% of city supply, and the city is moving from groundwater to river water that AWS is paying to develop. State agency · March 2026
- WatchRegional legal exposureAmazon agreed to a $20.5M settlement over nitrate pollution near Boardman. The wastewater system at issue is not linked to this campus. News report · April 2026
Money on record
What happened, and what is due
- Oct. 2022Money The city and Amazon sign an enterprise-zone tax abatement (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- Nov. 3, 2022Permits The City of Umatilla approves the land use statement for the site State agency · April 2024
- Nov. 16, 2022Permits Amazon applies to Oregon for an air permit for four buildings State agency · April 2024
- April 4, 2023Power Amazon and Umatilla Electric Cooperative announce their energy supply approach Company · Oct. 2026
- April 24, 2024Permits Oregon issues the air permit for 113 backup generators (280 MW nameplate) State agency · April 2024
- Feb. 18, 2025Site Council hears the campus was cut from four buildings to two for steep terrain, and approves an amended tax deal (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- March 27, 2026Site AWS presents its Umatilla water use and its funding of a new water plant and river intake State agency · March 2026
- Oct. 9, 2026Permits Oregon's governor pauses new data-center air and water permits; this campus's 2024 permit predates the pause (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- July 1, 2027Permits Oregon's data-center permit pause is set to end News report · Oct. 2026
Specs
- Air-cooled with water assist: water used on the hottest days State agency · March 2026
Owners, partners and builders
- Amazon Data Services: developer, permit holder and tax-deal counterparty
- Amazon Web Services: operating brand
- City of Umatilla: land use, tax abatement, water and sewer
- Oregon Department of Environmental Quality: air permit
- Umatilla Electric Cooperative: delivers power; not regulated by the state utility commission
Open questions
- Megawatts and in-service dates for each building.
- Terms of the co-op supply contract.
- Whether the second pair of buildings will be built.
100 records from 15 documents
Drawn from news reports, local government records, state agency records, company statements, utility regulator dockets and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (26)
- County code: Umatilla County, OR (41059)“80939 Powerline Road in Umatilla, OR 97882, Tax Lot #2500, 05N28E5”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- IT capacity: not stated“This permit regulates the operations and emissions from the one hundred and thirteen (113) emergency generators”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade A
- ADS v; PacifiCorp, OPUC Docket UM 2410: ADS alleges PacifiCorp failed to serve four new campuses in PacifiCorp's exclusive service territory; the ALJ denied PacifiCorp's partial motion to dismiss the territory-removal cl“ADS filed a complaint against PacifiCorp. The complaint includes six claims for relief that generally allege PacifiCorp has failed to provide service to four new ADS data center campuses”Utility regulator · Feb. 2026 · grade A
- County code: 41059“Amazon Data Services, Inc. (ADS), AWS Environmental - PDX194 campus, located at 80939 Powerline Road in Umatilla, OR 97882”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Address: 80939 Powerline Road, Hermiston, OR 97838“PLANT SITE LOCATION: AWS Environmental - PDX194, 80939 Powerline Road, Hermiston, OR 97838”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Backup generator count: 113“This permit regulates the operations and emissions from the one hundred and thirteen (113) emergency generators”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Name: Amazon PDX194 (AWS Environmental - PDX194)“PLANT SITE LOCATION: AWS Environmental - PDX194, 80939 Powerline Road, Hermiston, OR 97838”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Operator: Amazon Data Services, Inc. (AWS)“Amazon Data Services, Inc. (ADS), AWS Environmental - PDX194 campus, located at 80939 Powerline Road in Umatilla, OR 97882”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Address: 80939 Powerline Road, Hermiston, OR 97838“AWS Environmental - PDX194, 80939 Powerline Road, Hermiston, OR 97838”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Power plan: grid“Emergency backup power is the only intended purpose for the generators”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- On-site generation: 280.375 MW“the fifty-two (52) 2,500 kW generator sets that will be installed in two buildings and fifty-two (52) 2,750 kW generator sets that will be installed in two buildings with twenty-six (26) generator sets in each building”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Backup generators: 113“The permit regulates the operations and emissions from the one hundred and thirteen (113) emergency generators during times of routine maintenance checks, readiness testing”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Backup generator size (kW each): 2500 (CAT 3516C, buildings PDX194/PDX195); 2750 (CAT 3516E, buildings PDX196/PDX197) kW“Fifty-two (52) diesel-fired emergency generator engines, CAT 3516C, rated at 2,500 kW and 3,633 hp, each”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- On-site power technology: recip (diesel emergency engines)“One (1) portable diesel-fired emergency generator engine, PDX194-Trans Caterpillar 3516C Trans, rated at 1,825 kW and 2,721 hp”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- PDX194 determined a new source for Cleaner Air Oregon; construction will commence after Nov 16 2018“PDX194 has been determined to be a new source for the purposes of Cleaner Air Oregon in accordance with OAR 340-245-0020”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- New datacenter housing computer systems, with diesel-fueled emergency backup generators as only air sources described“The permittee is proposing to construct and operate a new datacenter which will house computer systems and associated components”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Utility service: not stated“UEC continues to be an essential partner and provider of reliable utility service to AWS data centers in UEC's service territory”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stated campus size: not stated“AWS data centers in Oregon are already powered with at least 95% renewable energy”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Construction stage: building - partially operational indicated (City of Umatilla anticipated buildings at the Powerline Road site operational by spring 2024; campus-level energization is not confirmed in any primary docu“By spring of 2024, they anticipate having yet two more additional buildings operational at this site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Stage: partially built / building - permitted 4-building build-out reportedly reduced to 2 buildings by the Feb 2025 enterprise-zone amendment; treat permitted MW as an upper bound, not built capacity“By spring of 2024, they anticipate having yet two more additional buildings operational at this site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Cooling: evaporative-assist (air economization with water use on the hottest days)“Using water improves power efficiency during the hottest days of the year, reducing peak power loads by 25-35%”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Utility: Umatilla Electric Cooperative (UEC)“We partnered with Umatilla Electric Cooperative (UEC) - the electric cooperative serving AWS in Umatilla and Morrow Counties”Company · April 2023 · grade B
- Electric service agreement signed: not stated“The agreement allows Amazon to take on the responsibility of selecting the energy supply that powers its data center operations”Company · April 2023 · grade B
- Utility: Umatilla Electric Cooperative“an agreement with Umatilla Electric Cooperative (UEC), the electric cooperative that serves Amazon Web Services (AWS) in Umatilla and Morrow counties”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Grid operator: none (WECC; BPA balancing area)“BPA balancing area); utility Umatilla Electric Cooperative”grade C
- City staff told the Umatilla council the campus under the Oct 2022 LTREZ was cut from four buildings (roughly 1 million sq ft) to two (roughly half) because of steep site topography. If that campus is PDX194 (best-eviden“a full original campus would have been roughly 1 million square feet while the revised plan would be roughly half that”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (19)
- Umatilla County assessor's Top 20 taxpayer report (Umatilla Morrow Radio & Data District) lists AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC with $1,860,674,310 real market value and $410,317,836 assessed value - county-wide ADS holdings ac“AMAZON DATA SERVICES INC $6,481,114.16 $1,860,674,310 $410,317,836”Local government · Oct. 2024 · grade A
- Tenant: AWS“Amazon Data Services, Inc. (ADS), AWS Environmental - PDX194 campus”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Tenants: Amazon Web Services“The permittee is proposing to construct and operate a new datacenter which will house computer systems and associated components”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Tenant status: owner-occupied“The permittee is proposing to construct and operate a new datacenter”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- energy supply agreement: scope Amazon takes responsibility for selecting the energy supply (including renewables) that powers its operations; UEC provides delivery and utility service in its service territory“The agreement allows Amazon to take on the responsibility of selecting the energy supply that powers its data center operations, including from renewable energy resources”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- energy supply agreement: term / capacity FINDING: no term, capacity (MW), minimum-bill, collateral or termination terms for the ADS-UEC agreement are stated in any public source opened“UEC continues to be an essential partner and provider of reliable utility service to AWS data centers in UEC's service territory”Company · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- water infrastructure funding: scope AWS-funded new City of Umatilla water treatment facility (3.2 MGD, expandable to 7.8 MGD, May 2026) and new Columbia River intake station (up to 31 CFS; 23 CFS starting April 2028), su“AWS is helping City of Umatilla's goal to shift their supply source to surface water with a new AWS-funded Water Treatment Facility”State agency · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- AWS is funding a new City of Umatilla water treatment plant (3.2 MGD, expandable to 7.8 MGD, May 2026) and a Columbia River intake station (up to 31 CFS; 23 CFS starting April 2028) as the city shifts supply from LUBGWMA“3.2 MGD Treatment Plant Expandable to 7.8 MGD Potable in City of Umatilla - May 2026”State agency · March 2026 · grade B
- Amazon states AWS has invested over $15 billion in the Oregon economy since 2011 and that US West (Oregon) Region data centers are powered with at least 95% renewable energy; state-wide figures only, never booked to this“AWS investing over $15 billion in the state economy since 2011”Company · April 2023 · grade B
- energy supply agreement: energy supply selection“The agreement allows Amazon to take on the responsibility of selecting the energy supply that powers its data center operations”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Announced: Oct. 2022“the amendment returns the contract language to the original performance criteria negotiated in October 2022”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): scope Covers the PDX194 campus; City of Umatilla budget materials name PDX 194 among the individual campuses making enterprise-zone payments to the city“enterprise zone payments from individual campuses (PDX 130, PDX 194, etc.)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): term 15 consecutive property tax years (LTREZ statutory structure, ORS 285C.409) years“the city's long-term rural enterprise-zone tax abatement agreement with Amazon Data Services, Inc.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): payment 5 USD per sq ft per year“Sharma explained the contract's additional payment is computed at $5 per square foot of constructed facilities”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): condition Job-creation minimum and compensation at 130% of the county wage threshold (threshold matrix in the agreement); city staff confirmed the reduced campus still mee“the threshold matrix that references state criteria (130% median wage threshold and a minimum job-creation level described in the agreement)”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): amendment / scope reduction Campus reduced from 4 buildings (roughly 1,000,000 sq ft) to 2 buildings (roughly half) because of steep site topography; second amendment rest“the company will build two buildings at the campus rather than four because of steep site topography”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): payment (fees unchanged) Student-success fee and public-safety fee unchanged by the second amendment; per-square-foot in-lieu payments adjust downward with the smaller foo“other contract payments such as the student-success fee and public-safety fee remain unchanged”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- tax abatement (Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone): termination / clawback FINDING: no termination, cancellation or clawback clause text for the City of Umatilla LTREZ was retrieved from any public source opened; the execut“Council approved the second-amendment agreement for the long-term rural enterprise-zone tax abatement with Amazon Data Services, Inc.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Incentives: Long-Term Rural Enterprise Zone (LTREZ) property tax abatement - City of Umatilla agreement with ADS (Oct 2022; amended 2023; second amendment Feb 18, 2025); in-lieu payment $5 per sq ft of constructed facili“Sharma explained the contract's additional payment is computed at $5 per square foot of constructed facilities”News report · Feb. 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (19)
- Aliases: PDX195; PDX196; PDX197 (co-permitted buildings of the same DEQ source); AWS Environmental PDX194-PDX197“This permit regulates the operations and emissions from the one hundred and thirteen (113) emergency generators”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Buildings: 4 (permitted)“fifty-two (52) 2,500 kW generator sets that will be installed in two buildings and fifty-two (52) 2,750 kW generator sets that will be installed in two buildings”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Construction stage: building“The permittee is proposing to construct and operate a new datacenter which will house computer systems”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Standard Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (ACDP): issued“This permit is being issued in accordance with the provisions of ORS 468A.040 and based on the land use compatibility findings included in the permit record.”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): application received“Amazon Data Services, Inc. Application No.: 034484 Date Received: 11/16/22”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- land use compatibility statement (LUCS): approved“LAND USE COMPATIBILITY FINDING: Approving Authority: City of Umatilla Approval Date: 11/03/22”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): public notice issued“The public notice was emailed/mailed on March 15, 2024 and the comment period ended on April 22, 2024. No comments were received, a hearing was not requested”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): issued (new source)“Permit Number: 30-0121-ST-01 Expiration Date: 5/1/2029”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): condition imposed (plant site emission limits)“The PSEL is a federally enforceable limit on the potential to emit”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): condition imposed (fuel / NOx cap)“The total amount of fuel used in all emergency engines during combined emergency and nonemergency operations shall be limited such that the resulting NOx emissions shall not exceed 99 tons”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): condition imposed (operating restrictions)“The permittee is prohibited from using the stationary emergency generator engines for peak shaving, non-emergency demand response, or to generate income by supplying power to an electric grid”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- air quality (Standard ACDP): condition imposed (source testing)“The permittee is required to test one of each model of the large diesel-fired emergency generator engines, Caterpillar 3516C and CAT 3516E, within 12 months of the permit issuance”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- DEQ review states no other DEQ land quality or water quality permits issued for this source at time of review“No other DEQ land quality or water quality permits have been issued for this source at the time of this review.”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- City of Umatilla (land use): Land Use Compatibility Statement for the PDX194 plant site, 80939 Powerline Road (predicate to DEQ ACDP 30-0121-ST-01)“LAND USE COMPATIBILITY FINDING: Approving Authority: City of Umatilla Approval Date: 11/03/22”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Land Use Compatibility Finding: approved“LAND USE COMPATIBILITY FINDING: Approving Authority: City of Umatilla, Approval Date: 11/03/22”State agency · Nov. 2022 · grade A
- Project status: building“This permit is being issued in accordance with the provisions of ORS 468A.040”State agency · April 2024 · grade B
- City of Umatilla City Council: Resolution 21-2025: second amendment to the long-term rural enterprise-zone tax abatement agreement with Amazon Data Services, Inc.“The Umatilla City Council approved a resolution Feb. 18 to accept a second amendment to the city's enterprise-zone tax-abatement agreement with Amazon Data Services”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- air quality (Standard ACDP): state pause noted (no action on this permit)“I am asking you to exercise your existing administrative authority and discretion to pause processing and issuance of air or water discharge permit applications until July 1, 2027”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Gov. Kotek directed DEQ Director Feldon to pause processing and issuance of air and water discharge permit applications for new or expanded data centers until July 1, 2027; DEQ confirmed a pause on new and renewed data-c“I am asking you to exercise your existing administrative authority and discretion to pause processing and issuance of air or water discharge permit applications until July 1, 2027”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
Legal (1)
- Pearson v; Port of Morrow (U.S; District Court, D; Or., Pendleton Division; filed Feb 2024): ADS agreed to a $20.5 million settlement (no admission of liability; motion for preliminary approval filed Mar 31, 2026) over a“Amazon will pay $20.5 million to settle with northeast Oregonians living with contaminated groundwater in exchange for no admission of guilt in the polluting”News report · April 2026 · grade C
Site and other (6)
- Developer: Amazon Data Services, Inc.“ISSUED TO: Amazon Data Services, Inc. Application No.: 034484”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Developer: Amazon Data Services, Inc.“ISSUED TO: Amazon Data Services, Inc. Application No.: 034484 Date Received: 11/16/22”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Parcel IDs: Tax Lot 2500, Map 05N28E5 (Section 5, Township 5 North, Range 28 East)“Tax Lot #2500, 05N28E5”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Phases: PDX194 + PDX195 buildings: 26 x CAT 3516C 2,500 kW each; PDX196 + PDX197 buildings: 26 x CAT 3516E 2,750 kW each“PDX194-1.1A through 1.6A, PDX194-1.1B through 1.6B, and PDX194-1C; PDX194-2.1A through 2.6A, PDX194-2.1B through 2.6B, and PDX194-2C”State agency · April 2024 · grade A
- Current target date: not stated“By spring of 2024, they anticipate having yet two more additional buildings operational at this site”Local government · Oct. 2026 · grade B
- Water use stated: AWS City of Umatilla water use 59 MG in 2024 (11% of the city's 560 MG annual utility production); a fully developed AWS campus uses ~22 MG/yr (company figure, Oregon-wide)“City of Umatilla - 59 MG out of 560 MG annual utility production”State agency · March 2026 · grade B