Data center profile · Tower Road, about 9 miles south of Interstate 84, near Boardman, Morrow County, Oregon

Percheron Data Center (Rowan, Boardman, Oregon)

Rowan Digital Infrastructure's 300 MW, 274-acre powered-land campus near Boardman, Oregon, zoned since 2023; no tenant, power or water contract; statewide permit pause.

Entitled, permits paused. Morrow County rezoned the land for a data center in Sept. 2023; none built. Oregon DEQ's air and water permits, required before construction, are paused for new and pending applications through Jul. 1, 2027 (Gov. Kotek's Oct. 9, 2026 letter).
300 MW
campus capacity, developer says
the developer does not say if this is IT or utility load; no power agreement exists
274 acres
rezoned parcel
development limited to about 190 acres; four buildings, 1.125 million sq ft (press, 2023)
$500M+
investment, developer says in 2023
no financing or tenant has been announced
Jul. 1, 2027
end of the state permit pause
covers new and pending air and water permit applications for data centers
OperatorRowan Digital Infrastructure (developer; owned by Quinbrook with Blackstone as a minority investor)
CustomerNone named; the developer says no end user is under contract and Rowan is not an operator
Planned IT capacity240 MW at full build-out (our estimate from the company's 0.3 GW campus power figure)
Next deadlineJuly 1, 2027: Oregon's permit pause ends, the earliest DEQ could process the air and water permits
Permits

Permits checklist

1 granted · 5 checked, nothing on file

Approvals a campus like this normally needs (including an air permit for backup or on-site generators), and what we found.

Risks

Why it stopped, what could revive it

Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Who supplies what, what it costs, and what is still not public.

  1. Aug. 7, 2023
    Power plan in the county record
    The application says power would come from Pacific Power over a new 230 kV line along Tower Road. Pacific Power was in discussions only. Local government · Aug. 2023
  2. Not set
    Service agreement: none public
    No electric service agreement, interconnection agreement or rate schedule for this campus has been located. see Permits
Money

Money on record

$500M+
investment, developer says in 2023
a stated figure; no financing is on record Local government · June 2023
$267,000
road chip-seal contribution required before construction
a county condition covering the first 9 miles of Tower Road Local government · Sept. 2023
$2,740
price of the state's subsurface rights, June 2025
274 acres; Rowan bought the surface land separately (see the deed above) State agency · June 2025
$9.0M
Land purchase, recorded Sept. 2024
Threemile Canyon Farms LLC to Rowan Percheron LLC (county deed records) County deed records · Sept. 2024

Not on record: enterprise zone or tax abatement: no incentives found, none located in county or state sources Local government · Oct. 2026

Land assembly

1 recorded land document for the campus company in county records (Sept. 2024); 1 lists a price. Parcel counts come from the deed; acreage is not recorded.

Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. May 24, 2023
    Permits Rowan Percheron applies to Morrow County to change 274 acres from farm use to industrial, limited to a data center Local government · May 2023
  2. June 21, 2023
    Site Port of Morrow signs a non-binding letter of intent to supply up to 22 million gallons of water a year Local government · June 2023
  3. July 25, 2023
    Permits County Planning Commission recommends approval 5-2 (a recommendation); 1000 Friends of Oregon files opposition the same day Local government · July 2023
  4. Sept. 20, 2023
    Permits County commissioners give final approval to the plan change, rezoning and land-use goal exceptions Local government · Sept. 2023
  5. Sept. 19, 2024
    Site Rowan Percheron LLC buys the land from Threemile Canyon Farms for $9.0M (county deed records) County deed records · Sept. 2024
  6. June 10, 2025
    Site State Land Board sells the state's mineral and geothermal rights under the site to Rowan for $2,740 State agency · June 2025
  7. April 2026
    Paper trail Blackstone buys a significant minority stake in Rowan; no Percheron-specific news accompanies it Company · Oct. 2026
  8. Oct. 9, 2026
    Permits Gov. Kotek asks Oregon DEQ to pause air and water discharge permits for data centers until Jul. 1, 2027; DEQ confirms it covers new and pending applications News report · Oct. 2026
  9. July 1, 2027
    Permits End of the permit pause, the earliest the required state permits could be processed News report · Oct. 2026
The buildings

Specs

4 buildings
1.125 million sq ft in total (press, 2023)
190 acres
development footprint within the 274-acre parcel
20 to 60 million gallons a year
water use at full build-out, applicant says; supplied by the Port of Morrow through a pipeline of about 9 miles
35 jobs
full-time employees on average, applicant says
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners and developers
  • Rowan Digital Infrastructure: developer (Rowan Percheron, LLC is the applicant)
  • Quinbrook Infrastructure Partners: sponsor and owner
  • Blackstone: minority investor since Apr. 2026
  • Threemile Canyon Farms: landowner and seller
Power and water
  • Pacific Power (PacifiCorp): intended electric provider
  • Port of Morrow: planned water supplier
Decision-makers
  • Morrow County Board of Commissioners: land use
  • Oregon DEQ: air and water permits, now paused
  • 1000 Friends of Oregon: opponent of the land-use exceptions
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

132 records from 21 documents

Drawn from news reports, local government records, public and commercial datasets, company statements, state agency records and utility regulator dockets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 8Local government 5Dataset 3Company 2State agency 2Utility regulator 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (19)
  • Interconnection status: Entitled only (rezoned Sep 2023, EFU to General Industrial with data-center overlay); no end-user announced, nothing built, and no ESA, interconnection study or utility service agreement naming th
    “Rowan Percheron, LLC, filed a petition to intervene in this docket.”
  • large load interconnection request: Petition to intervene granted
    “Rowan Percheron, LLC, has sufficient interest in the proceedings to participate”
  • Land use authority: Morrow County (unincorporated land); state DEQ permits for air and water; no EFSC siting (no energy facility proposed)
    “Morrow County exercises exclusive land use planning and permitting authority over all unincorporated areas within its boundaries pursuant to ORS Chapters 197 and 215”
  • Utility service: not stated
    “Applicant cannot commit Pacific Power to any particular service route at this point in time.”
  • On-site generation: not stated
    “The data center campus project will also include the installation of onsite back-up power supply systems.”
  • Utility: Pacific Power (PacifiCorp) - intended provider per application; no executed agreement
    “The application indicates that the project will receive power from Pacific Power via a new 230-kV transmission line utilizing existing ROW along Tower Rd, and 34.5kV distribution facilities.”
  • Interconnection status: In discussions only; Pacific Power anticipated a point of interconnection at the Tower Road property line and possibly a colocated interconnection substation on the parcel (Aug 2023 record); no ag
    “Applicant is in discussions with Pacific Power to provide electricity to the project parcel via existing and proposed transmission infrastructure.”
  • Power plan: grid (planned)
    “The application indicates that the project will receive power from Pacific Power via a new 230-kV transmission line utilizing existing ROW along Tower Rd, and 34.5kV distribution facilities.”
  • Substation: Onsite substations planned (applicant) plus possible Pacific Power interconnection substation on the parcel; adjacent existing: PGE Grassland Switchyard and Carty Substation
    “The Portland General Electric Carty site includes a 450-megawatt (MW), combined-cycle natural gas-fueled electric generating power plant, the Grassland Switchyard, the Carty Substation”
  • Substation kV: 230 kV
    “Along the western boundary of the parcel is an existing 230-kV transmission line that runs south approximately 1.6 miles”
  • Nearest gas pipeline: 1.275 km ; Carty Lateral; Gas Transmission Northwest LLC
    Measured on OpenStreetMap map data.
  • Developer: Rowan Digital Infrastructure
    “Quinbrook established Rowan in 2020 with a mission to deliver low-cost, strategically sited powered land solutions for data centre operators focused on sustainability”
  • Stated campus size: 300 MW
    “The 275-acre campus, with some land preserved, is adjacent to high-voltage infrastructure and will support 300 MW.”
  • IT capacity: not stated
    “The 275-acre campus, with some land preserved, is adjacent to high-voltage infrastructure and will support 300 MW.”
  • Current target date: not stated
    “The 275-acre campus, with some land preserved, is adjacent to high-voltage infrastructure and will support 300 MW.”
  • Stage: announced only - entitled, unbuilt, no tenant, no executed power or water agreement (as of Oct. 18, 2026)
    “Currently there is no end user under contract with Rowan.”
  • Stated campus size: 300 MW
    “will offer a notable power capacity of 300 MW by mid-2027”
  • Construction stage: entitled (Sep 2023) but never started - no construction start found through Oct 2026; any DEQ air/water application is paused by the Oct 2026 Kotek directive until Jul 1, 2027 and nothing is grandfath
    “pause processing and issuance of air or water discharge permit applications until July 1, 2027, that involve new or expanded data center facilities within Oregon”
  • Current stage: entitled not started
    “pause processing and issuance of air or water discharge permit applications until July 1, 2027, that involve new or expanded data center facilities within Oregon”
Money and contracts (27)
  • County code: Morrow County, OR (41049)
    “located in Morrow County at Section 28, Township 3 North, Range 24 East, Tax Lot 123, to Rowan Percheron, LLC for $2,740”
  • Subsurface mineral and geothermal rights purchase: scope - sale and release of state subsurface rights approved 2740 USD
    “The Department recommended that the Land Board approve the sale and release of 274 acres of subsurface mineral and geothermal rights, currently held by DAS”
  • State Land Board approved the sale and release of the state's 274 acres of subsurface mineral and geothermal rights under the site to Rowan Percheron, LLC for $2,740 - evidence Rowan was still actively assembling site ri
    “Secretary Read asked about the applicant's plans for the property. Mr. Karas stated that the company builds data centers.”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): condition precedent - road use agreement 267000 USD
    “Prior to construction, Applicant shall enter into a Road Use Agreement with the Morrow County Public Works department to fund $267,000 to pay for chip seal on the first nine (9) miles of Tower Road”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): condition - farm traffic coordination
    “Prior to construction, Applicant shall provide notice to Threemile Canyon Farms, the area farming operator, of its construction traffic schedule”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): condition - DEQ permits required (NPDES 1200-C, onsite septic, Basic ACDP)
    “Applicant shall obtain all local, state and federal permits and approvals for the data center campus construction and operation, including but not limited to”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): condition - third-party electricity and water
    “The project will require delivery of electricity and water from third-party providers, as described in the application record.”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): termination - failure to fulfill a condition invalidates the approval
    “The Applicant's failure either to fulfill a condition of this approval or cause the condition to be met, shall invalidate this approval”
  • Land use approval (comp plan amendment, zone change, Goal exceptions): scope / effective date
    “This Ordinance is a statutory land use decision and shall be effective upon expiration of the 21-day appeal period following the second reading.”
  • Water supply letter of intent (non-binding): missing clause - no executed water supply agreement; no term, price, or termination clause in the LOI
    “Applicant and the POM are continuing to negotiate”
  • Electric service (Pacific Power): finding - no executed ESA or interconnection agreement
    “Applicant is in discussions with Pacific Power to provide electricity to the project parcel via existing and proposed transmission infrastructure.”
  • Applicant entity: Rowan Percheron, LLC
    “Rowan Percheron, LLC (Applicant) is the contract purchaser of the 274-acre parcel.”
  • Water source: Port of Morrow (planned supply; MOU + LOI in the county record, no executed agreement); all wastewater managed onsite
    “POM agrees to supply and sell up to 22 million gallons of water to Rowan annually for the purpose of operating Data facility”
  • Water supply letter of intent (non-binding): scope - supply quantity 22000000 gallons per year
    “POM agrees to supply and sell up to 22 million gallons of water to Rowan annually for the purpose of operating Data facility”
  • Water supply letter of intent (non-binding): cost allocation - Rowan bears all delivery costs
    “Rowan will be responsible for all costs as agreed to by POM and Rowan Percheron LLC for construction and delivery of water from the POM source to Data Center facility”
  • Water supply letter of intent (non-binding): term - to be determined
    “Water will be available on a year-round basis for a length of time to be determined by Rowan and Port of Morrow.”
  • Port of Morrow LOI executed for up to 22M gallons/year; the application estimates 20-60M gallons/year at full build-out, so the LOI cap sits at the bottom of the stated demand range - a gap 1000 Friends of Oregon flagged
    “POM agrees to supply and sell up to 22 million gallons of water to Rowan annually for the purpose of operating Data facility”
  • Land control date: not stated
    “Rowan Percheron, LLC (Applicant) is the contract purchaser of the 274-acre parcel.”
  • Land purchase option / contract: status - contract purchaser; no closing recorded in sources searched
    “Rowan Percheron, LLC (Applicant) is the contract purchaser of the 274-acre parcel.”
  • Tenants: not stated
    “Currently there is no end user under contract with Rowan.”
  • Tenant status: no tenant - end user not contracted
    “It's important to note that Rowan is not a data center operator. Our company builds these facilities”
  • Incentives: not stated
    “The application by Rowan Percheron LLC is approved as proposed, subject to the satisfactory completion of the following conditions of approval.”
  • Incentives: finding - no enterprise zone or abatement agreement located
    “The application by Rowan Percheron LLC is approved as proposed, subject to the satisfactory completion of the following conditions of approval.”
  • Land purchase (recorded deed): contract value 8972730 USD
    “Recorded: Sept. 19, 2024 · Price: $8,972,730 · Grantor: THREEMILE CANYON FARMS LLC · Grantee: ROWAN PERCHERON LLC · Parcel number: 03N24-00123 · City: BOARDMAN”
  • Stated capital cost: over 500000000 USD
    “We recognize that by deploying over half a billion dollars of capital investment locally, the project will lift all boats”
  • Project status: entitled - no construction start confirmed
    “According to the Percheron site, there is currently no end-user under contract with Rowan.”
  • Square feet: 1125000 sq ft
    “Rowan is aiming to develop a 1.125 million sq ft (104,515 sqm) data center complex totaling four buildings.”
Permits and government (29)
  • DEQ NPDES 1200-C construction stormwater permit: required by county Condition 3 - no application or permit located
    “National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 1200-C Permit”
  • DEQ Basic Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (ACDP): required by county Condition 3 - no application or permit located
    “DEQ, Basic Air Contaminant Discharge Permit (ACDP)”
  • DEQ onsite septic permit: required by county Condition 3 - no permit located
    “DEQ, Onsite Septic Permit”
  • Subsurface mineral and geothermal rights: sale and release to Rowan Percheron, LLC approved
    “The Department recommended that the Land Board approve the sale and release of 274 acres of subsurface mineral and geothermal rights, currently held by DAS”
  • Oregon State Land Board: Action Item 4: subsurface mineral and geothermal rights in Morrow County - sale/release to Rowan Percheron, LLC
    “The item was approved at 10:38 a.m. without objection.”
  • Name: Rowan Percheron Campus (Percheron Data Center)
    “to amend the Comprehensive Plan to change the Plan and zoning designation of a 274-acre parcel from Exclusive Farm Use (EFU) to General Industrial (MG)”
  • Zoning: General Industrial (MG) with Limited Use Overlay limiting use to a data center; Goal 3, 11 and 14 reasons exceptions adopted
    “Adopt a Limited Use Overlay Zone to Limit Use to a Data Center and Adopt Exceptions to Statewide Planning Goals 3, 11 and 14”
  • Rezoning date: Sept. 20, 2023
    “ADOPTED and read for the first time by title only September 6, 2023. Read for the second time by title only and finally adopted September 20, 2023.”
  • Comprehensive plan amendment / zone change / Goal 3-11-14 exceptions: ordinance adopted (final, second reading)
    “ADOPTED and read for the first time by title only September 6, 2023. Read for the second time by title only and finally adopted September 20, 2023.”
  • Morrow County Board of Commissioners: Ordinance second reading and final adoption
    “Read for the second time by title only and finally adopted September 20, 2023.”
  • Morrow County Board of Commissioners: Continued hearing; deliberation; ordinance first reading
    “The Board reopened the continued hearing on September 6, 2023, accepted Applicant's supplemental evidence into the record, and deliberated.”
  • Morrow County Board of Commissioners: Public hearing on the Rowan Percheron application
    “the Morrow County Board of Commissioners convened a duly noticed public hearing on August 16, 2023, at which time it accepted all manner of public testimony”
  • Partition plat: parcel created (Parcel 2)
    “Parcel 2 of Partition Plat No. 2023-3; a 274-acre parcel described as a portion of Tax Lot 100 of Assessor's Map 3N 24”
  • Comprehensive plan amendment / zone change / Goal 3-11-14 exceptions: recommendation to approve (5-2)
    “at the July 25, 2023 continued hearing, the Planning Commission accepted additional public testimony on the proposal, deliberated and voted 5:2 to recommend approval”
  • Morrow County Planning Commission: Continued hearing; recommendation on the Rowan Percheron application
    “at the July 25, 2023 continued hearing, the Planning Commission accepted additional public testimony on the proposal, deliberated and voted 5:2 to recommend approval”
  • Comprehensive plan amendment / zone change / Goal 3-11-14 exceptions: application deemed complete
    “Morrow County deemed the Application complete on July 7, 2023”
  • Morrow County Planning Commission: AC-145-23 / AC(Z)-146-22 / AZM-147-23 - first evidentiary hearing on the Rowan Percheron comp plan amendment, zone change and Goal exceptions
    “the Morrow County Planning Commission held an initial public hearing on June 27, 2023, took public testimony on the proposal, kept the record open”
  • City of Boardman and the Greater Eastern Oregon Development Corporation filed support letters in the county record; Boardman Fire and Rescue and Threemile Canyon Farms also supported the project (per Rowan's project site
    “We are affirmatively in support of the Rowan project given that it will reposition unfarmable land from a passive, unproductive parcel into one that is economically beneficial to the community.”
  • Address: Tower Road, approx. 9 miles south of Interstate 84, Boardman, OR (unincorporated Morrow County)
    “Property is located on Tower Road approximately 9 miles south of Interstate 84, west and south of the City of Boardman.”
  • Site acres: 274 acres
    “to amend the Comprehensive Plan to change the Plan and zoning designation of a 274-acre parcel from Exclusive Farm Use (EFU) to General Industrial (MG)”
  • Comprehensive plan amendment / zone change / Goal 3-11-14 exceptions: application submitted
    “submitted a development application on May 24, 2023 to Morrow County seeking approval for Comprehensive Plan Amendment and Zone Change”
  • DEQ implementation statement confirming the pause is in effect for data center facilities, new and pending applications alike.
    “DEQ is still evaluating implementation of the order, but we have put a pause on the issuance of new or renewed air and water quality permits for data center facilities”
  • Governor Tina Kotek directed Oregon DEQ to pause processing and issuance of air and water discharge permit applications for new or expanded data centers until July 1, 2027 (letter to DEQ Director Leah Feldon, October 9,
    “I am asking you to exercise your existing administrative authority and discretion to pause processing and issuance of air or water discharge permit applications until July 1, 2027”
  • No primary record corroborates any construction at the Percheron site (no DEQ permits, no county building permit, no Rowan construction announcement) - treated as unverified
    “including active construction on projects representing 1.6 GW across Frederick County, Maryland (MD); San Antonio and Temple, Texas (TX); and Boardman, Oregon (OR)”
  • Amazon purchased about 1,300 acres in Morrow County (March 2026, press) for a separate proposed ~1 GW campus
    “Amazon Web Services (AWS) has acquired 1,300 acres of land near Boardman in Morrow County, Oregon, potentially for a data center project.”
  • Permit freeze status: caught prospectively
    “DEQ is still evaluating implementation of the order, but we have put a pause on the issuance of new or renewed air and water quality permits for data center facilities. This applies to both new and pending applications.”
  • Earlier directive (Sep 8, 2026): Kotek paused land transactions and permits for new data centers on PUBLIC property through July 2027. Percheron is a private-land project, so this directive does not apply to it directly.
    “On Sept. 8, Democratic Gov. Tina Kotek directed state agencies to pause all land transactions and permits for new data centers on public property through July 2027.”
  • Aliases: Percheron Data Center; Rowan Green Data Percheron
    “First reported by the East Oregonian, the County planning commission late last month recommended approval of plans for the Percheron Data Center outside Boardman.”
  • First announced: 2023
    “First reported by the East Oregonian, the County planning commission late last month recommended approval of plans for the Percheron Data Center outside Boardman.”
Site and other (13)
  • Parcel IDs: Parcel 2 of Partition Plat No. 2023-3; part of Tax Lot 100, Assessor's Map 3N 24 (T3N R24E, Sections 28 and 29); Tax Lot 123 per 2025 Oregon DSL minutes
    “Parcel 2 of Partition Plat No. 2023-3; a 274-acre parcel described as a portion of Tax Lot 100 of Assessor's Map 3N 24”
  • Development footprint acres: 190 acres
    “Applicant proposes to limit development to 190 acres of the project parcel (project footprint).”
  • Water use stated: 20000000-60000000 gallons per year
    “For industrial process water, the Applicant anticipates about 20 to 60 million gallons of annual total water use for the data center campus at the time of full buildout.”
  • Opposition: 1000 Friends of Oregon opposed the Goal 3/11/14 exceptions in written comments (July 25, 2023), focused on Port of Morrow water supply, the ~9-mile pipeline, and the LOI/demand gap; DLCD also commented on the
    “the letter of intent is for 22 million gallons of water, while the application is seeking approval for a facility requiring 20 to 60 million gallons of industrial wastewater”
  • 1000 Friends of Oregon filed detailed comments opposing the Goal 11/14 exceptions: the Port of Morrow water pipeline's impacts on adjacent farm uses along its ~9-mile route, the 22M-gallon LOI versus the application's 20
    “the letter of intent is for 22 million gallons of water, while the application is seeking approval for a facility requiring 20 to 60 million gallons of industrial wastewater”
  • Jobs stated: 35 FTE
    “On average, data center will employ at least 35 full-time equivalent employees and many additional third-party vendor employees.”
  • Application date: May 24, 2023
    “submitted a development application on May 24, 2023 to Morrow County seeking approval for Comprehensive Plan Amendment and Zone Change”
  • Original target date: not stated
    “Now, we expect to begin site approvals in late 2023/early 2024 with construction following shortly thereafter.”
  • Construction stage: none (entitlement only)
    “as well as advancing the development of new hyperscale campuses in Oregon, Virginia and Texas”
  • Blackstone acquired a significant minority stake in Rowan; Quinbrook states the partnership will advance development of new hyperscale campuses in Oregon, Virginia and Texas. No Percheron-specific construction or tenant
    “In April 2026 Blackstone acquired a significant minority stake in Rowan.”
  • Site acres: 274 acres
    “The company is requesting to rezone around 274 acres approximately nine miles south of I-84 on Tower Road from Exclusive Farm (EFU) use to General Industrial (MG)”
  • Building sq ft: 1125000 sq ft
    “Rowan is aiming to develop a 1.125 million sq ft (104,515 sqm) data center complex totaling four buildings.”
  • Buildings: 4 buildings
    “Rowan is aiming to develop a 1.125 million sq ft (104,515 sqm) data center complex totaling four buildings.”

Imagery and records: County deeds: ATTOM.