Data center profile · Butts County, Georgia (exact site not disclosed)

AWS Butts County (Georgia expansion)

Butts County, Georgia, part of Amazon's Jan. 2025 plan to spend at least $11 billion; 543 leased acres reported, no rezoning, site plan or construction.

Announced only. AWS named Butts County in its Jan. 2025 Georgia plan, and press reported a 543-acre leased site there. No rezoning, site plan, regional review or construction start for an AWS campus in Butts County has been found, and Amazon has declined to give exact locations.
543 acres
leased site in Butts County (press)
location not disclosed
Jan. 7, 2025
AWS names Butts County in its Georgia plan
the $11B covers Butts and Douglas counties together
rezoning, site plan or regional review found for AWS
searched county records and news, Oct. 2026
OperatorAmazon Web Services (Amazon Data Services)
CustomerAWS (own use)
First building in serviceOur estimate: 2029 or later (no dated power path yet).
Next stepNone published: no site, filing or schedule for a Butts County campus is on record
Power

Power and the grid

Sources on record, size not disclosed

Getting on the grid

Permits

Permits checklist

3 checked, nothing on file

Searches of county, state and utility records found nothing filed for an AWS campus in Butts County.

Risks

What could slow it down

Money

Money on record

$11B+
AWS plan for Butts and Douglas counties combined
not a Butts figure; Douglas County puts its share at $5B or more News report · Jan. 2025
$400,000
community grants across Newton, Butts and Douglas counties
Amazon, July 2026 Company · July 2026
Timeline

What happened, and what is due

SitePaper trailConstructionPowerPermitsMoneyLegalUpcoming
  1. Jan. 7, 2025
    Site AWS announces at least $11B for data centers in Butts and Douglas counties; county leaders welcome it News report · Jan. 2025
  2. Jan. 2025
    Site Press reports a 543-acre leased site in Butts County News report · Jan. 2025
  3. Dec. 19, 2025
    Power State regulators certify 9,885 MW of new Georgia Power generation statewide; none is tied to this site News report · Dec. 2025
  4. July 7, 2026
    Money Amazon's Georgia update reports community grants in Butts County but no site milestone Company · July 2026
Who is involved

Owners, partners and builders

Owners
  • Amazon Web Services (Amazon Data Services)
Decision-makers
  • Butts County Board of Commissioners
  • Georgia Public Service Commission: large-load contracts
Power partners
  • Georgia Power: utility for the area
Still unknown

Open questions

Where this comes from

26 records from 12 documents

Drawn from news reports, public and commercial datasets and company statements, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.

News report 10Dataset 1Company 1
Evidence

Every quote behind this page

Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.

Power (6)
  • Utility: Georgia Power
    “The PSC adopted this agreement on December 19, 2025, authorizing Georgia Power to proceed with procurement and construction for 9,885 MW of new generation capacity.”
  • Georgia PSC on Dec 19, 2025 certified 9,885 MW of new Georgia Power generation largely to serve data center large load statewide; no filing in the record names the AWS Butts site or allocates capacity to it
    “authorizing Georgia Power to proceed with procurement and construction for 9,885 MW of new generation capacity”
  • At least 550 new high-skilled jobs expected across the two-county (Butts + Douglas) AWS Georgia investment; no Butts-only job count stated
    “Amazon says it'll spend at least $11 billion on a pair of data centers in Georgia to help with the demand of artificial intelligence.”
  • Developer: Amazon Web Services (AWS) / Amazon Data Services
    “Amazon says it'll spend at least $11 billion on a pair of data centers in Georgia to help with the demand of artificial intelligence.”
  • Project status: announced
    “Amazon says it'll spend at least $11 billion on a pair of data centers in Georgia to help with the demand of artificial intelligence.”
  • The $11B is a two-county portfolio figure (Butts + Douglas), NOT a Butts-only or campus figure; it is kept out of campus facts MW and out of any Butts-only investment row. Douglas County's announced share is at least $5B
    “Amazon Web Services, Inc., an Amazon.com, Inc. company, plans to invest at least $5 billion to build data center campuses in Douglas County, Georgia”
Money and contracts (6)
  • Amazon's July 2026 Georgia investment update says it awarded $400,000 in Amazon Community Fund grants to 41 community projects across Newton, Butts, and Douglas counties - community spending in Butts, but no Butts constr
    “Amazon also awarded $400,000 in grants to 41 community projects across Newton, Butts, and Douglas counties through the Amazon Community Fund.”
  • The $11B is a portfolio commitment spanning Butts + Douglas counties (Douglas County puts its share at least $5B)
    “In January 2025 AWS announced at least $11 billion for Butts and Douglas counties and at least 550 jobs.”
  • Project identity: AWS data center record for the Butts County, GA share of Amazon's Jan 2025 $11B Georgia expansion (Butts and Douglas counties)
    “Amazon Web Services plans to invest infrastructure in Butts and Douglas counties.”
  • Tenant: AWS (owner-occupied; capacity serves AWS cloud/AI customers)
    “Amazon Web Services says the investments will help support the future of AI from data centers in the state.”
  • no Butts-only dollar figure has been published
    “This could create at least 550 new high-skilled jobs and enhance Georgia's position as a hub for cutting-edge digital innovation.”
  • Site acres: 543 acres
    “Recent acquisitions include a 129-acre property in Douglasville purchased for $64.7M and a 543-acre leased site in Butts County.”
Permits and government (2)
  • Project status: announced only; no Butts County rezoning, site plan, DRI or construction start for an AWS campus found in sources checked
    “An Amazon spokesperson declined to say the precise locations of the data centers citing security and customer privacy reasons.”
  • Any Georgia Power service above 100 MW for a Butts campus would run under the GA PSC's 2025 large-load regime: additional contract requirements (longer contracts, minimum billing) and mandatory PSC review before executio
    “It approved rules allowing Georgia Power to apply additional contract requirements to new customers demanding more than 100 megawatts, including longer contracts and minimum billing requirements”
Site and other (1)
  • County code: 13035
    “FCC Census Block API for site point 33.287836,-83.957184: Block FIPS 130351502013001; County FIPS 13035, Butts County, Georgia”