Power and the grid
Contracted, size not disclosed
- PPL Electric Utilities grid Utility arrangement describedAmazon pays for PPL system upgrades; PPL says Amazon agreed to buy power for ten years, curtailable to protect local service; no MW disclosed News report · June 2026
Getting on the grid
- Amazon is paying for upgrades to the PPL Electric Utilities system (press). News report · 2026
- No MW, service voltage or interconnection point has been disclosed, and no state utility commission docket names the campus. News report · Oct. 2026
- A 120-150 MW figure in Sept. 2026 press belongs to Axiom Core's separate Lofty Road project, not Amazon's campus. News report · Oct. 2026
Permits checklist
2 pending · 2 granted
State and township actions on record.
- ◷Two state environmental permits PendingPennsylvania DEP · Nov. 2025: applied Nov. 2025; types and numbers not reported News report · Nov. 2025
- ◷Noise-ordinance exemption for diesel backup generators PendingKline Township · Oct. 2026: sought by Amazon (press) News report · Oct. 2026
- ✓Pennsylvania Permit Fast Track enrollment GrantedPA Office of Transformation and Opportunity · May 22, 2025: coordinates state permitting News report · Aug. 2026
- ✓Land development plan GrantedKline Township Board of Supervisors · Sept. 2026: unanimous, after a conditional planning recommendation Dataset · Sept. 2026
What could slow it down
- MediumSecrecy and oppositionResidents packed hearings over water, power, noise and buffers, held a July rally, and criticized commissioners' NDAs; no lawsuit has been found. see Permits
- MediumGenerator noiseAmazon is seeking an exemption from the noise ordinance for diesel backup generators. see Permits
- WatchCurtailable powerPPL says its supply to Amazon can be curtailed to keep serving the surrounding area. News report · June 2026
- WatchWater use unknownAmazon could not give an annual water-use estimate when asked at the hearing. News report · June 2026
Money on record
$178.6M land purchase (May 2025 (press)). News report · May 2025
- Paid by Amazon: township water authority upgrades to serve the site (press) News report · 2026
Not on record: local tax abatement: searched, Oct. 2026, Amazon's $20B is a statewide figure Dataset · Oct. 2026
What happened, and what is due
- May 22, 2025Permits Project accepted into Pennsylvania's permit fast-track program News report · Aug. 2026
- May 30, 2025Site Amazon buys 380 acres, once planned for a Brewster warehouse, for $178.6M News report · May 2025
- Aug. 4, 2025Site Three county commissioners sign non-disclosure agreements on the project before it is public (press) News report · Aug. 2025
- Nov. 2025Permits Amazon applies for two state environmental permits News report · Nov. 2025
- June 2026Permits Planning hearing: Amazon projects 400 to 500 full-time jobs for the campus News report · June 2026
- Aug. 12, 2026Legal A former state lawmaker removed from a planning hearing faces disorderly-conduct charges (press) News report · Aug. 2026
- Aug. 2026Permits Supervisors grant Amazon an extension to Sept. 30 to answer review comments News report · Aug. 2026
- Sept. 2026Permits Township supervisors approve the land development plan unanimously Dataset · Sept. 2026
- 2028Construction First building anticipated News report · Aug. 2026
Specs
Owners, partners and builders
- Amazon Data Services (AWS): owner, developer and applicant
- CT Projects LLC: seller
- Brewster Development Co.: earlier warehouse developer of the site
- Kline Township Board of Supervisors and Planning Commission
- Schuylkill County Planning Commission
- Pennsylvania DEP and Office of Transformation and Opportunity
- PPL Electric Utilities
- Kline Township Municipal Authority: water and sewer
Open questions
- MW and PPL service terms.
- Construction start date.
- Which state permits were applied for.
40 records from 11 documents
Drawn from news reports and public and commercial datasets, each kept with its date and source. The bar shows documents by type.
Every quote behind this page
Grade key: A = the primary record itself (permit, filing, exhibit) · B = a dated official statement · C = news reporting. Map distances are our own measurements on OpenStreetMap and carry no grade. Allegations in lawsuits are marked as such in the quotes.
Power (5)
- B6 opposition / process: packed hearings, residents pressing on water, power, noise (Amazon seeks a noise-ordinance exemption for diesel backup generators) and buffers; three Schuylkill County commissioners had signed ND“According to Spotlight PA, three Schuylkill County commissioners signed NDAs related to the Kline Township project before it was made public.”News report · Oct. 2026 · grade C
- Utility: PPL Electric Utilities - the utility participant in the project's June 2026 public meetings, with PPL testimony taken at the township hearings on power among water, roads, fire access and sound. No campus MW and“Local hearing coverage records Amazon development representatives, the township planning commission, the township engineer and zoning officer, the municipal authority engineer, the McAdoo fire chief, and PPL testimony.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- B7 power: under its agreement with Amazon, Amazon agreed to purchase power for ten years, curtailable to maintain service to the surrounding area (PPL testimony, Jun 2026). No MW, service capacity or signed service agree“per their agreement with Amazon, the company agreed to purchase power for ten years but can be curtailed to maintain service to the surrounding area”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Water allowances aired at the Jun 2026 hearing: up to 15,000 gallons/day potable from the KTMA system and up to 100,000 gallons/day for cooling, with water cooling used less than 2 percent of the year; Amazon could not g“the plant is approved to use up to 15,000 gallons of water per day from the KTMA system for potable water for workers on site”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Utility: PPL Electric Utilities; the company is also paying for upgrades to the PPL system“They are also paying for upgrades to the PPL Electric Utilities system.”News report · 2026 · grade C
Money and contracts (8)
- Developer: Amazon Data Services (AWS)“On May 30, 2025, Amazon acquired 380.2 acres for $178.6 million from CT Projects LLC.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Former Rep. Todd Eachus was removed from a planning hearing and faces disorderly-conduct charges (preliminary hearing Aug. 2026, with a Sunshine Act argument by his counsel) - a criminal case arising from a hearing, NOT“He also argued in trying to compel Tarantelli to drop the charges against Eachus, that his client and Perna, the Planning Commissioner who yelled "NO" repeatedly were yelling at each other and there was no disorderly conduct.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- 400 to 500 full-time jobs projected for the completed Kline campus (Amazon, Jun 2026 hearing). The earlier per-building estimate (25-30 jobs per building, Jan 2026) is consistent in scale. Statewide 1,250-job / $20 billi“the center is expected to create 400 to 500 full-time jobs”News report · June 2026 · grade C
- Land purchase: AWS bought the Brewster site in 2025 for $178 million (deed reporting puts it near $178.6 million, May 27, 2025). Kline-specific construction capex is undisclosed; the $20 billion Pennsylvania commitment c“AWS purchased the land in 2025 for $178 million, which was previously slated to become a three-million-square-foot warehouse for Brewster Development Co.”News report · Jan. 2026 · grade C
- Planned buildings: 9 data center buildings plus administration, water and security buildings, totalling 2.1 million sq ft (2026 plan as presented to township planners)“Amazon has nine data centers planned along with an administration building, water building, and security building, totaling 2.1 million square feet.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- infrastructure commitment: authority upgrades“the company will fund Kline Township Municipal Authority upgrades to serve the facility.”News report · 2026 · grade C
- Project identity: AWS Kline Township Campus - Amazon data center campus on Lofty Road near McAdoo, Kline Township, Schuylkill County, PA, bounded by Interstate 81 and State Route 309; land acquired May 30, 2025 from CT P“On May 30, 2025, Amazon acquired 380.2 acres for $178.6 million from CT Projects LLC.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
- land purchase: purchase price 178600000 USD“On May 30, 2025, Amazon acquired 380.2 acres for $178.6 million from CT Projects LLC.”News report · May 2025 · grade C
Permits and government (6)
- Project status: Land development APPROVED unanimously by the Kline Township Board of Supervisors on Sep 30, 2026 (after the planning commission's conditional recommendation); not yet constructed“Kline Township campus Approved unanimously by the Kline Township Board of Supervisors on Wednesday 30 September 2026, two days after the planning commission's conditional recommendation; first presented January 2026”Dataset · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Kline Township Board of Supervisors:“Kline Township campus Approved unanimously by the Kline Township Board of Supervisors on Wednesday 30 September 2026, two days after the planning commission's conditional recommendation; first presented January 2026”Dataset · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- Pennsylvania Fast Track record (accepted May 22, 2025 per LVN's review of the state record) with Amazon Data Services as sponsor; project in pre-construction and permitting through 2026; first building anticipated in 202“Amazon's team anticipated the first building in 2028.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- The project is in Pennsylvania's Permit Fast Track Program: the Office of Transformation and Opportunity coordinates the Fast Track record, Kline Township handles land-use review, and the Schuylkill County Planning Commi“Kline Township and the Schuylkill County Planning Commission are part of the land-development review. The Pennsylvania Office of Transformation and Opportunity coordinates the Fast Track record.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Kline Township Board of Supervisors:“Township supervisors here granted Amazon Web Services an extension as its land development plans remain under consideration for a data center near Lofty.”News report · Aug. 2026 · grade C
- Month precision. The campus also sits in the PA Permit Fast Track Program (Offic: Amazon applied for two DEP permits for the Kline Township data center (applications reported Nov 2025; types not specified in retrieved co“Amazon applied in November for two permits for a data center in Kline Twp.”News report · Nov. 2025 · grade C
Legal (1)
- Three Schuylkill County commissioners signed NDAs related to the Kline project before it was public (Spotlight PA); the NDA was signed Aug. 4, 2025, two months after Amazon's deed was recorded“However, I did find out when the NDA was signed - Aug. 4, 2025, two months after Amazon's deed was recorded at the courthouse”News report · Aug. 2025 · grade C
Site and other (2)
- Project status: approved“Kline Township supervisors approved the Amazon data center project in late September.”News report · Sept. 2026 · grade C
- County code: 42107“The 346-acre site would be located on Lofty Road in Kline Township, bounded by Interstate 81 and State Route 309 in the township in Schuylkill County, in western Pennsylvania.”News report · 2025 · grade C